Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD7000 Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 4123 Old 05-12-2011, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by descendo View Post


I'm having trouble getting my glasses as well. At least until the last couple of days, the only press release I could find was this one, which makes no mention of any exclusions or retailer option:

http://www.samsungusanews.com/2011/0...ble-than-ever/

"Beginning April 24, Samsung will provide two pairs of 3D active glasses for its entire 3D TV lineup at no additional cost with the purchase of any Samsung 3D LED TV or 3D Plasma TV".

I was told by Samsung again today that it was up to the retailer to fulfill the promotion, but they are under no obligation to do so. I posted this in the Samsung glasses/kit thread as well, but the article about this promotion on CNET was updated yesterday with this potential good news:

Update May 11, 2011: Since this blog post published we have received reader mail and comments from customers who said that, despite purchasing a qualifying TV after the date(s) below, they did not receive 3D glasses. We brought these complaints to Samsung, and today were told the following by a Samsung representative:
"Samsung will be issuing an official statement on this matter soon. We're aware consumers have been frustrated by the lack of clarity on how they can get their 2 pairs of 3D glasses with the purchase of a 2011 Samsung TV, as stated in our promotional announcement. We'd like to reassure you and your readers that they will get their glasses and will be sharing information shortly."
We'll update this post when we receive the statement or more information.

http://news.cnet.com/samsung-3d-tvs-to-include-two-pairs-of-glasses-additional-pairs-drop-to-$50-each/8301-17938_105-20051253-1.html#ixzz1MAIjwBlt

I ordered the pn59d6500 via best buy and got the kit right away. Getting the TV tomorrow. Surprisingly the online companies are not giving the kit. Called Paulstv and us-appliance etc. They told me 6500 did not qualif but will qualify in 2 weeks. I just went ahead with bb. 5% more for tax but kit included seems like a good deal to me.
mallu2u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 4123 Old 05-12-2011, 08:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaychamp View Post

I have to choose the split screen method every time for the DirecTV 3D channels

I don't have to do anything on my 2010 c8000. It automatically changes to the correct 3D mode. I will say this, the methods or type of 3D is different on ESPN 3D and some 3D PPV, and some live sporting events. Those don't work at all when I go through my Pioneer 1020 AVR, I get a false Directv error message about not getting 720p on those rare occasions. If I bypass the AVR those channels, everything, works fine and automatically. I never to switch to split screen 3D mode on the Samsung.

That said, we should try to get to the bottom of why some folks have to change the mode manually. Could it be AVRs? version of HDMI cables? Does it happen on all programming? some?
ItzMe is offline  
post #1083 of 4123 Old 05-12-2011, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Orakulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys any comparison in between the d7000 and the c7000?
Orakulo is offline  
post #1084 of 4123 Old 05-12-2011, 11:17 PM
Newbie
 
dettxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: OKC
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post

I don't have to do anything on my 2010 c8000. It automatically changes to the correct 3D mode. I will say this, the methods or type of 3D is different on ESPN 3D and some 3D PPV, and some live sporting events. Those don't work at all when I go through my Pioneer 1020 AVR, I get a false Directv error message about not getting 720p on those rare occasions. If I bypass the AVR those channels, everything, works fine and automatically. I never to switch to split screen 3D mode on the Samsung.

That said, we should try to get to the bottom of why some folks have to change the mode manually. Could it be AVRs? version of HDMI cables? Does it happen on all programming? some?

I read somewhere that while our Pioneer VSX-1020s won't work with a 720p SbS input like DirecTV's ESPN3D the new 2011 model 1021 will. But do we really want to shell out another $549 for the latest receiver?
I don't see DirecTV switching to the ESPN3D TnB feed.
dettxw is offline  
post #1085 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 04:28 AM
Member
 
roraniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you use this link at Amazon you get the free starter kit. Using this link also ensures it comes from Amazon and not a third party.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.htm...d_i=B004MN3EZ4
roraniel is offline  
post #1086 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 04:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post

I don't have to do anything on my 2010 c8000. It automatically changes to the correct 3D mode. I will say this, the methods or type of 3D is different on ESPN 3D and some 3D PPV, and some live sporting events. Those don't work at all when I go through my Pioneer 1020 AVR, I get a false Directv error message about not getting 720p on those rare occasions. If I bypass the AVR those channels, everything, works fine and automatically. I never to switch to split screen 3D mode on the Samsung.

That said, we should try to get to the bottom of why some folks have to change the mode manually. Could it be AVRs? version of HDMI cables? Does it happen on all programming? some?

It must be a C or D7000 issue. Like i said i had the D8000 and i never had to press the 3d button on the remote, it would just automatically switch to 3d. But now witht the D7000 it automatically puts the screen in split mode. Which is stupid. Why is there even a split mode?? But as soon as i Hit the 3D button it changes for the better.
Wermey is offline  
post #1087 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
Ranchdip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked the PN64D7000 up from Fry's yesterday ($2875) and all I can say is WOW!

The demos in the stores can't do this TV justice!

App's - Netflix, Google Maps, etc worked flawlessly and were surprisingly smooth and fast.

Black Levels - To my eyes looked amazing

Colors/sharpness/contrast - The best I've seen so far.

Remote - Nothing special but I felt the menus were fairly intuitive.

2D to 3D - Very surprised how well this looked on American Idol. It's not the gimmick I thought it would be.

3D - Exceeded my expectations... I recently tried the new 60" Sharp LED and the Samsung was noticeably better.

That's the best review I can do for a newbie, non-tech guy.

I'm very happy with this purchase... No buyers remorse here!
Ranchdip is offline  
post #1088 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Rickylane44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranchdip View Post

Just picked the PN64D7000 up from Fry's yesterday ($2875) and all I can say is WOW!

The demos in the stores can't do this TV justice!

App's - Netflix, Google Maps, etc worked flawlessly and were surprisingly smooth and fast.

Black Levels - To my eyes looked amazing

Colors/sharpness/contrast - The best I've seen so far.

Remote - Nothing special but I felt the menus were fairly intuitive.

2D to 3D - Very surprised how well this looked on American Idol. It's not the gimmick I thought it would be.

3D - Exceeded my expectations... I recently tried the new 60" Sharp LED and the Samsung was noticeably better.

That's the best review I can do for a newbie, non-tech guy.

I'm very happy with this purchase... No buyers remorse here!


My feelings exactly, except for the 2D>3D mode. I get constant brightness flickering/fluctuations in this mode. Have you noticed anything like that yet? First noticed it on sports broadcasts, but tried it with a movie and it was bad on that also. This is with Directv HD. Just curious if you've seen it, as I know others here have seen it too.
Rickylane44 is offline  
post #1089 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 10:33 AM
Member
 
dezicartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for all those folks with a 64"..what mounts are you guys using to hang it up on the wall? Im doing some shopping on monoprice, but there are too many options..im looking for a simple tilt mount, since itll be placed on the top of the fireplace.
dezicartel is offline  
post #1090 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 35
This is the one I have but it is no longer on sale at BB. It was easy to setup and the TV is still on the wall

http://www.sanus.com/eu/en/products/...ng-mount/VLT15


Quote:
Originally Posted by dezicartel View Post

for all those folks with a 64"..what mounts are you guys using to hang it up on the wall? Im doing some shopping on monoprice, but there are too many options..im looking for a simple tilt mount, since itll be placed on the top of the fireplace.

Bigham16 is online now  
post #1091 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Ranchdip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickylane44 View Post

My feelings exactly, except for the 2D>3D mode. I get constant brightness flickering/fluctuations in this mode. Have you noticed anything like that yet? First noticed it on sports broadcasts, but tried it with a movie and it was bad on that also. This is with Directv HD. Just curious if you've seen it, as I know others here have seen it too.

Hmmm... I didn't notice it with the 10min's I tried it. I'll look into it more tonight.
Ranchdip is offline  
post #1092 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orakulo View Post

Hey guys any comparison in between the d7000 and the c7000?

The major difference is the RBF for improved perceived contrast under bright lighting. The true contrast is also better due to marginally lower black levels. The brushed plastic bezel on the C7000 is replaced by a thinner, brushed metal bezel. Buzzing is also improved vs the C7000 I had. The only negative is subtle fluctuating brightness/gamma. It's been a non-issue for me... I've had the set since March and have only caught it a handful of times.
koffas is offline  
post #1093 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
mpestrada74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
After yet another call back to Samsung I was finally given a number to call.

Samsung Rebate Center - 800.635.8478

Called, gave the rep my Model # and she asked for the "Verification Code". I told her that I didn't have one. After a brief hold, she came back and asked for the serial number, date of purchase, store purchased from, shipping address, email address and phone number. She then told me it will take 10-12 weeks for the glasses to arrive. I did not have to mail or fax a copy of my receipt.

YMMV

"my credenza allows me to conceal tech geekiness...while giving a euro cabinet furniture impression... " - jaybrubin
mpestrada74 is offline  
post #1094 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Orakulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by koffas View Post

The major difference is the RBF for improved perceived contrast under bright lighting. The true contrast is also better due to marginally lower black levels. The brushed plastic bezel on the C7000 is replaced by a thinner, brushed metal bezel. Buzzing is also improved vs the C7000 I had. The only negative is subtle fluctuating brightness/gamma. It's been a non-issue for me... I've had the set since March and have only caught it a handful of times.

So in terms of PQ this year's D7000 would be last year's C8000...

What about the lack of checkerboard 3d mode? do you guys think a future firmware will bring it back?
Orakulo is offline  
post #1095 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
nito3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpestrada74 View Post

After yet another call back to Samsung I was finally given a number to call.

Samsung Rebate Center - 800.635.8478

Called, gave the rep my Model # and she asked for the "Verification Code". I told her that I didn't have one. After a brief hold, she came back and asked for the serial number, date of purchase, store purchased from, shipping address, email address and phone number. She then told me it will take 10-12 weeks for the glasses to arrive. I did not have to mail or fax a copy of my receipt.

YMMV

Same here, called today or they called me and some executive operater heard my story and told me to call rebate center. At rebate center took some info down and told me a date of shipping.
nito3 is offline  
post #1096 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
dvrmstrng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pull the trigger now on a 59 or save up a few more months for a 64? Seating is 12' in a 900sq ft apartment.
dvrmstrng is offline  
post #1097 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orakulo View Post

So in terms of PQ this year's D7000 would be last year's C8000...

What about the lack of checkerboard 3d mode? do you guys think a future firmware will bring it back?

The D7000 PQ will hold up better under bright lights vs the C7000. PQ in moderately-lit viewing conditions will be a slight improvement over both the C7000/C8000. Buying a 2011 set also gets you bluetooth compatibility for 3D glasses. Samsung has dropped IR-sync.

I don't know why they dropped checkerboard 3D this year, but I doubt they'll resurrect it.
koffas is offline  
post #1098 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
work permit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: ny,ny,usa
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by thp427 View Post

I don't know how long the included cord is -- but I need about 13 feet. I'm assuming that it uses the standard power cord that computers, most HD tvs, etc use. I have a wide routered groove in my baseboard to run it to the closest outlet.

A 15' 14 gauge power cord from monoprice is only $6. No more expensive than an extension cord, and no bulky connection in my baseboard.

Not sure about the D7000, but my D8000 cord is 5' long and is NOT a standard (IEC 320) computer cord.

Alex
work permit is offline  
post #1099 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Ranger519v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just trying out 3D on my PN64D7000 (using Megamind) and I'm not sure I'm going about this right. For starters, I have a 1.4HDMI between my Samsung 3D BD and the 7000. I've also sync'd the glasses. When I put in the DVD and start it up... NOTHING 3D. So I go into the Picture menu down to the 3D sub-options. By choosing 2D->3D, I then get a 3D image. However, this has me wondering if the 7000 thinks it is receiving a 2D image and then doing a convert. Shouldn't my 3D Samsung BD player already be sending the 3D image without me changing any TV settings?

Anyone have a simple test suggestion on how to make sure all is functioning properly (or what I'm doing wrong!)?
Ranger519v is offline  
post #1100 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
mirak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does any one know how to turn the networking off on these TVs? I've encountered some internet problems since installing my pn64d7000, and I want to make sure it isn't somehow causing some interference with my other PCs' connections to the wireless router.
mirak is offline  
post #1101 of 4123 Old 05-13-2011, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger519v View Post

I'm just trying out 3D on my PN64D7000 (using Megamind) and I'm not sure I'm going about this right. For starters, I have a 1.4HDMI between my Samsung 3D BD and the 7000. I've also sync'd the glasses. When I put in the DVD and start it up... NOTHING 3D. So I go into the Picture menu down to the 3D sub-options. By choosing 2D->3D, I then get a 3D image. However, this has me wondering if the 7000 thinks it is receiving a 2D image and then doing a convert. Shouldn't my 3D Samsung BD player already be sending the 3D image without me changing any TV settings?

Anyone have a simple test suggestion on how to make sure all is functioning properly (or what I'm doing wrong!)?

I had the 59d8000 before i got the 64d7000 and the 8000 would automatically switch to 3d when it was receiving 3d. But for some reason the 7000 doesnt do this. You have to manually press the 3d button on the remote.
Wermey is offline  
post #1102 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 06:19 AM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wermey View Post
I had the 59d8000 before i got the 64d7000 and the 8000 would automatically switch to 3d when it was receiving 3d. But for some reason the 7000 doesnt do this. You have to manually press the 3d button on the remote.
If he's using the 2D>3D mode he must be pressing the 3D button.

To be clear, I only have to press 3D for DirecTV not BluRay 3D, it's automatically detected. My uneducated guess is because DTV uses split screen where as BluRay sends out a true 3D signal. Ranger, sounds like the source of the issue is the player, not the TV. Maybe there's a setting in the player you have to change? I noticed some the Samsung players have a 3D option in settings, auto, 3D only and 2D only. If yours does I'd try auto first, and then 3D only.
jaychamp is offline  
post #1103 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 07:01 AM
Member
 
hunter52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wermey

I had the 59d8000 before i got the 64d7000 and the 8000 would automatically switch to 3d when it was receiving 3d. But for some reason the 7000 doesnt do this. You have to manually press the 3d button on the remote.
On my PN647000 it does the switch automaticall!
hunter52 is offline  
post #1104 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 08:13 AM
Member
 
SCOMCAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my pn64d7000 yesterday. Looks fantastic. Main problem I see is lousy pq from some channels is very noticeable now. Watched Inception BD looked great.

One thing I noticed. When I play a 3d souce, so far either Starz or HBO on demand, it switches to 3d but does not switch to the correct type, e.g. Side by side. I have to use the controller to select. I'll have to try out a 3d BD on my ps3. Also when I cancel the source it doesn't automatically go back to 2d.

Haven't set up internet yet. Will do that today once I get digital cable so I can output sound to my avr.
SCOMCAT is offline  
post #1105 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Ranger519v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaychamp View Post
If he's using the 2D>3D mode he must be pressing the 3D button.

To be clear, I only have to press 3D for DirecTV not BluRay 3D, it's automatically detected. My uneducated guess is because DTV uses split screen where as BluRay sends out a true 3D signal. Ranger, sounds like the source of the issue is the player, not the TV. Maybe there's a setting in the player you have to change? I noticed some the Samsung players have a 3D option in settings, auto, 3D only and 2D only. If yours does I'd try auto first, and then 3D only.
You nailed it - thanks! My Samsung player was set to 2D only. Switching to auto resolved. Guess I should have RTFM!
Ranger519v is offline  
post #1106 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Vcolassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have any idea why i cannot get my surround sound to work with my smart TV apps like netflix, vudu & such. My receiver has a HDMI repeater that uses 3 inputs and 1 output. I have My tv hooked up to a different HDMI input then to my receiver and still cannot get any sound from vudu and such. The input i use for my direct TV outputs sound just fine. Am i missing something?
Vcolassi is offline  
post #1107 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 04:37 PM
Member
 
AstroDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does your receiver and HDMI cables support/have ARC (audio return channel)? I believe this is required to listen to the apps that originate from the TV through the receiver
AstroDad is offline  
post #1108 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Vcolassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea it does. Here is a link to the system i got. http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Insignia...stem&cp=1&lp=1 .Went with this over the more expensive Dennon set. This model is basically a Onkyo system after i did some research. Anyway perhaps its my cable. But i would think my cable is fine being i am able to view 3D. Perhaps im wrong.

OK never mind, i think i found a solution. I just read the super duper confusing manual that provide. And it states The tuner must be on TV/CD to support the ARC function. I will go give it a shot and than report back.

Other than that this tv kicks ASS!
Vcolassi is offline  
post #1109 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hudson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcolassi View Post

Anybody have any idea why i cannot get my surround sound to work with my smart TV apps like netflix, vudu & such. My receiver has a HDMI repeater that uses 3 inputs and 1 output. I have My tv hooked up to a different HDMI input then to my receiver and still cannot get any sound from vudu and such. The input i use for my direct TV outputs sound just fine. Am i missing something?

It's because your internet-based signal is coming straight into the TV from your network, not via your receiver. To get the audio from the TV to the receiver, you'll need a digital optical (Toslink) cable to send the audio out from the TV to the receiver.
Hudson1 is offline  
post #1110 of 4123 Old 05-14-2011, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Vcolassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hudson1 View Post

It's because your internet-based signal is coming straight into the TV from your network, not via your receiver. To get the audio from the TV to the receiver, you'll need a digital optical (Toslink) cable to send the audio out from the TV to the receiver.


Ohhh, ok gotcha. Thanks hudson. I am usually pretty good figuring these things out. However have never read up much on the ARC function. That does make sense what you said. A optical cable did come to mind, but i was trying to get around it. IF that is the case i guess ill have to go donate some more of my money to BB tomorrow lol. Thanks again.

Unless if i can get one cheap off Mono.

PS: Just checked BB online prices for a Toshilink. What a joke. That should be illegal for that price jump lol. Mono it is. I can wait to enjoy my free Vudu movie. Hell for the price difference i could watch 5 more HD movies on Vudu lol.
Vcolassi is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv With Pn51d7000 Bdd5500 3d Blu Ray Player 2 Ssg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off