Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD7000 Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
themoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, just getting my first plasma, a 51D7000. Would I be better off calibrating to the 64D7000 in the settings thread, since it's a 7000, or the 51D8000 since the 51" panels are not the same as the larger models?
Or can anyone point me in the direction of decent settings for the 51D7000 since I can not seem to find anything directly pertaining to this model?
themoll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hudson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by themoll View Post

Hi, just getting my first plasma, a 51D7000. Would I be better off calibrating to the 64D7000 in the settings thread, since it's a 7000, or the 51D8000 since the 51" panels are not the same as the larger models?
Or can anyone point me in the direction of decent settings for the 51D7000 since I can not seem to find anything directly pertaining to this model?

I would suggest trying multiple calibrations to see which looks best to you. Keep in mind every room is different and that influences what's going to look better vs best.
Hudson1 is offline  
post #1263 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks to ElwayLite for his initial work !!

 

Samsung PN64D7000 Calibration.pdf 341.2939453125k . file
Dave_O is offline  
post #1264 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Dave_O,

Very nice. Were your white balance settings left at the default values of 25?

Your calibration results would be a good addition to the Samsung D7000 & D8000 Settings/Calibration Thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1333561

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1265 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks, Larry. I didn't know about that thread. All 'enhancements' were turned off, and white balance was at the default. This was my first time using a CMS.

Dave
Dave_O is offline  
post #1266 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 01:29 PM
Member
 
jaychamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by themoll View Post
Hi, just getting my first plasma, a 51D7000. Would I be better off calibrating to the 64D7000 in the settings thread, since it's a 7000, or the 51D8000 since the 51" panels are not the same as the larger models?
Or can anyone point me in the direction of decent settings for the 51D7000 since I can not seem to find anything directly pertaining to this model?
As Hudson1 pointed out, try different ones regardless of model. I have a 59D7K but thought Zoyd's 51D8K settings look great on my set for low light viewing.
jaychamp is offline  
post #1267 of 4123 Old 05-26-2011, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
HD_novice_0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since most of you are owners of the D7000, how prevalent is the screen peeling issue? Is it something that is either there at the beginning or isn't, or does it seem to develop over time? If yours has it, what are you doing (returning or having it repaired)? I was about to buy a 59 inch D7000 tomorrow but after reading about this I am scared to buy one.
HD_novice_0001 is offline  
post #1268 of 4123 Old 05-27-2011, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for someone with a D7000 or a D8000 who also has a Pioneer 1020-k AVR and whose found a good combination of HDMI-CEC and AnyNet settings. Ideally I don't want to see the rectangular volume indicator on the screen, but I DO want the AVR to sense when to get audio from HDMI and when to switch over to TV/SAT. I seem to be soooo close to accomplishing that.

NOTE: all my HDMI devices go into the Pioneer AVR and then out into the HDMI2 panel input.
ItzMe is offline  
post #1269 of 4123 Old 05-27-2011, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
globalsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first visit to this great forum. Just received a 59d7000 after having a sony 20 yr old tv. Where have I been?

Anyway, the picture is great But, there are thin lines across the bottom of the TV . A total of six lines from the bottom to just 2 inches up. Does anybody have a clue what I'm dealing with? I've already confirmed it is not any external
device fault. Thank you in advance for any help you can bring this grateful newbie
globalsong is offline  
post #1270 of 4123 Old 05-27-2011, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hudson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by globalsong View Post

This is my first visit to this great forum. Just received a 59d7000 after having a sony 20 yr old tv. Where have I been?

Anyway, the picture is great But, there are thin lines across the bottom of the TV . A total of six lines from the bottom to just 2 inches up. Does anybody have a clue what I'm dealing with? I've already confirmed it is not any external
device fault. Thank you in advance for any help you can bring this grateful newbie

Welcome to the board!

Which input sources have you seen this with?
Hudson1 is offline  
post #1271 of 4123 Old 05-27-2011, 05:18 PM
Newbie
 
globalsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your interest in my problem.

I see these lines regardless of the source. Went through picture diagnosis w/ samsung tech and determined it was the tv not inputs.
globalsong is offline  
post #1272 of 4123 Old 05-28-2011, 04:03 PM
Member
 
thepostman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've ordered my 64D7000 on 5/24 from East Coast......now the wait begins !!!!!!
thepostman is offline  
post #1273 of 4123 Old 05-30-2011, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
dvrmstrng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys...setting up my 2nd set (first one had bad screen peel, this one not so much) and I am trying to have the TV see the files that are on my computer. I set this one up the same way I did my first but all im getting is "there is no device connected" when i click on videos, photos, or anything from the smart hub. Thoughts?
dvrmstrng is offline  
post #1274 of 4123 Old 05-30-2011, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
ItzMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvrmstrng View Post

Hey guys...setting up my 2nd set (first one had bad screen peel, this one not so much) and I am trying to have the TV see the files that are on my computer. I set this one up the same way I did my first but all im getting is "there is no device connected" when i click on videos, photos, or anything from the smart hub. Thoughts?

You need to tell a media serving software which library or folder to share. That software can be Windows Media Player. Just turn on sharing. Heres some help. If your pc is on the network your tv should now see the device.
ItzMe is offline  
post #1275 of 4123 Old 05-31-2011, 03:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dvrmstrng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMe View Post

You need to tell a media serving software which library or folder to share. That software can be Windows Media Player. Just turn on sharing. Heres some help. If your pc is on the network your tv should now see the device.

I can see everything now, but cannot stream anything. No mp4, mkv, or .avi. I am using MediaLink on my mac with perian and all the goodies installed. Files stream fine over PS3.
dvrmstrng is offline  
post #1276 of 4123 Old 05-31-2011, 09:58 AM
Member
 
BiotypE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetherin View Post

It did absolutely nothing for me. I still experience the brightness fluctuations whenever the screen has a certain amount of white/bright pixels.

I'm still unsure whether it's "ABL" that's causing our problem or if we just have defective units. I'm not going to contact any servicemen until I know for sure. Some people on here are saying they aren't experiencing what we are, but it could just be that they don't have discerning enough eyes or don't know what to look for.

I have the same problem with my pn59d7000, and it occurs a lot more than I would like it to. My son even noticed it and asked me why the set does that. Very annoying. Might have to return the set. Everything else it does wonderfully.
BiotypE is offline  
post #1277 of 4123 Old 05-31-2011, 10:08 AM
Member
 
BiotypE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetherin View Post

It did absolutely nothing for me. I still experience the brightness fluctuations whenever the screen has a certain amount of white/bright pixels.

I'm still unsure whether it's "ABL" that's causing our problem or if we just have defective units. I'm not going to contact any servicemen until I know for sure. Some people on here are saying they aren't experiencing what we are, but it could just be that they don't have discerning enough eyes or don't know what to look for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by namkyu View Post

is nobody else having issues with horizontal line bleeding? I have the PN64D7000 by the way. I attached those magnet circular things to the inputs and my power cord to block interference, but the bleeding seems to still happen.

I've also ran the burn protection thingy overnight.. but still bleeding.

any suggestions? or should i call samsung?

My d7000 has noticeable line bleed. Mostly see it when banners are up such as in a commercial but I do occasional see it during movie sequences where there is dark object on a light background. Not nearly as annoying as the brightness fluctuations I am having and see all of the time. Might have to return this set.
BiotypE is offline  
post #1278 of 4123 Old 05-31-2011, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Why don't you people that have such discerning eyes let us in on your settings. I mean all your settings. When all else fails, check out the Samsung D7000 & D8000 Settings/Calibration Thread


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1279 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
MeleeDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz11 View Post

I got the same on mine.

Center of the top mounting holes to the top of the TV = 8"

Center of the bottom mounting holes to the bottom of the TV = 9"

The above measurements are for the 59" TV. Does anybody have these same measurements for the PN64D7000? I'd also like to get my mount on the wall before the TV arrives, and none of my local stores have the 64" on display, so I can't measure there.

Thanks,
Dave
MeleeDave is offline  
post #1280 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 09:13 AM
Member
 
alexkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when this will be coming to Canada?
alexkidd is offline  
post #1281 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
New f/w rev is available...
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/do...7000FFXZA#tab4

1. Title
2011 PDP Firmware
2. Applicable Model
D6450, D6500, D6900, D7000
3. Carrier or Corporate Customer
All Customers
4. Description
The firmware makes TV available for 3D explore and Compassion apps
koffas is offline  
post #1282 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 11:58 AM
Member
 
thepostman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still waiting..............
LL
thepostman is offline  
post #1283 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by koffas View Post

New f/w rev is available...
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/do...7000FFXZA#tab4

1. Title
2011 PDP Firmware
2. Applicable Model
D6450, D6500, D6900, D7000
3. Carrier or Corporate Customer
All Customers
4. Description
The firmware makes TV available for 3D explore and Compassion apps

Supposedly as reported on another forum this FW will reset your greyscale. This means if you have had your set calibrated you better write down your greyscale settings before you apply it.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #1284 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 02:09 PM
Member
 
iceman3699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my shipping confirmation from Samsung for the two Free 3D Glasses..yay!
iceman3699 is offline  
post #1285 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnymac51 View Post

Supposedly as reported on another forum this FW will reset your greyscale. This means if you have had your set calibrated you better write down your greyscale settings before you apply it.


The update made no changes to the values any of my settings -- none at all. Maybe it made some underlying changes but looking at the AVSHD 709 grayscale patterns, I don't see anything unusual. I'll visually check later when it gets dark.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1286 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

The update made no changes to the values any of my settings -- none at all. Maybe it made some underlying changes but looking at the AVSHD 709 grayscale patterns, I don't see anything unusual. I'll visually check later when it gets dark.

Larry

I happened to be finishing a Grayscale calibration when I got the update notice. In my case, all the numeric values for the CMS settings and 10 point Grayscale changed, but the actual calibration remained pretty much the same. I think my old firmware was 007, and the new one is 009.

I've uploaded the CMS settings, Before and after the FW upgrade, with no other changes made.

Dave
LL
Dave_O is offline  
post #1287 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

The update made no changes to the values any of my settings -- none at all. Maybe it made some underlying changes but looking at the AVSHD 709 grayscale patterns, I don't see anything unusual. I'll visually check later when it gets dark.

Larry

Hi Larry,
I'm just the messenger. Passing on what was reported over on HDJ.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #1288 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Don,

Understand completely. My comment was just that -- a comment.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1289 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Don,

Understand completely. My comment was just that -- a comment.

Larry

I understand. If my post came across with an attitude it certainly wasn't meant that way. I'm just curious now as to what the deal is cause not too often that fw updates reset settings.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #1290 of 4123 Old 06-01-2011, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnymac51 View Post

I understand. If my post came across with an attitude it certainly wasn't meant that way. I'm just curious now as to what the deal is cause not too often that fw updates reset settings.


The only update that I know of that changed settings was the one by James Cameron for the Panasonic VT25 and Panasonic was careful to make it known with a warning in bright red lettering.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Plasma Hdtv With Pn51d7000 Bdd5500 3d Blu Ray Player 2 Ssg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off