Official Panasonic GT30 Series Discussion Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 157
D-Nice measured .0065fL on his GT30. Sorry guys.
StinDaWg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdo View Post

As long as the floating and rising black levels are truly resolved, you could make a case for exchanging the 5020 for a larger TV with hopefully only slightly lighter black levels such as with the VT30. I would only do it if you're thinking about the 65" and maybe have some interest in 3D.

I can care less about 3D. I can buy a used 9G 60" Elite Kuro or wait out and see how well the blacks hold up in the new Panny's.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #33 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 07:14 PM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

D-Nice measured .0065fL on his GT30. Sorry guys.

Wow....thats....not what panasonic said.

See, thats why I don't get excited about MLL measurements before D-Nice does it. Everyone else has differing results and D-Nice has consistant results.
The GT25 that Ed measured was at .003, and now Ed re-measured and its at .006. What is going on here?!

I am only paying attention to D-Nice's calibrations from now on.
Nobl3 is offline  
post #34 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,947
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post

D-Nice measured .0065fL on his GT30. Sorry guys.

Please note that measurement was with about 6 hours on the panel and there were visable sparkles in the background that I expect to disappear one the display has more hours on it.

The only thing I'm disappointed with on the GT30 so far is the gamma (1.9). Unfortunately, that will not change as the panel ages
D-Nice is offline  
post #35 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I am going to go with the 50 as this is for the bedroom, if the GT30 proves to be the better choice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spincut View Post

Just out of curiosity, having gravitated towards a 51", what size are you going to get? 50" or 55"?

Thank you Randy for clearing the air for me. I do read a lot of your posts on here and thanks for all the effort you give.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

The GT30 does not have last year's (13G) panel or filter. The GT30 has an all new 14G panel and has an all new louver filter. Both are different from what was on the VT25.

I have the 51 and it is not like my VT But I will say it is a very nice TV. That is strange that the size makes a difference...well because 55-51=4 and 63-59=4...oh well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hhaller View Post

What size Samsung do you own? The larger sizes (59/63) should equal the VT25 for black levels, at least. The 51" is a different story.

Bigham16 is offline  
post #36 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigham16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yes, this is the type of TV shopper I am.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XciteMe83 View Post

I agree, though, that having the option to just turn on THX and have the PQ already beautiful and calibrated, is a nice option on Panasonics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

That's kind of the point though, isn't it? I mean 99% of people who buy one of these sets do not opt for any kind of professional calibration...but obviously if someone is not going to do that then they should get the set with the best PQ out of the box.

Bigham16 is offline  
post #37 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 08:07 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hello,
I can't seem to decide if I should go for the panasonic gt30/VT30 or a pioneer krp 500. I have a few questions, that maybe you guys can answer.
Does the KRP still have an advantage over the GT 30 like picture quality?
Is the GT30s power consumption significantly better that the krp500?

Which TV should I buy?
mike kaw is offline  
post #38 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Please note that measurement was with about 6 hours on the panel and there were visable sparkles in the background that I expect to disappear one the display has more hours on it.

The only thing I'm disappointed with on the GT30 so far is the gamma (1.9). Unfortunately, that will not change as the panel ages

And you were able to get 2.2 on ST30 in Custom mode right?
StinDaWg is offline  
post #39 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gmarceau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike kaw View Post

hello,
I can't seem to decide if I should go for the panasonic gt30/VT30 or a pioneer krp 500. I have a few questions, that maybe you guys can answer.
Does the KRP still have an advantage over the GT 30 like picture quality?
Is the GT30s power consumption significantly better that the krp500?

Which TV should I buy?

Overall, the krp 500 would be the best flatpanel display ever made.

"If you weren't such an ignorant troll, you'd be adorable" -rogo
gmarceau is offline  
post #40 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Please note that measurement was with about 6 hours on the panel and there were visable sparkles in the background that I expect to disappear one the display has more hours on it.

The only thing I'm disappointed with on the GT30 so far is the gamma (1.9). Unfortunately, that will not change as the panel ages


There is more to life than a good black level. That gamma curve posted on the other forum is really disappointing. Oh well...


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #41 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 08:53 PM
Member
 
senkoskipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone explain what 1.9 gama is? How does this affect pq?
senkoskipper is offline  
post #42 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 10:05 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmarceau View Post

Overall, the krp 500 would be the best flatpanel display ever made.

So kuro krp 500 is still best neither gt30 and vt30 can match it?

I hope i wont regent my decision.
mike kaw is offline  
post #43 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 10:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,985
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrysplasma View Post


I am using the credit from this purchase towards the Panasonic 65 inch GT30. I was told to expect them in Mid-May. Does anyone have any different information?

That is about right, don't hold your breath though.......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #44 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

There is more to life than a good black level. That gamma curve posted on the other forum is really disappointing. Oh well...


Larry

I agree.

Pre-calibration was 1.1.

How many buyers will even realize 1.9 by gettin their sets professionally calibrated?

sheshechic is offline  
post #45 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 10:27 PM
Member
 
jl4069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"D-Nice measured .0065fL on his GT30."

The other guy got what d-nice implys he might get after break-in. However this could be attributable to the on-off brightness issue some have mentioned with the ST's. Why else would the other tester first test a low number then high while D measures high and expects lower. j
jl4069 is offline  
post #46 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by senkoskipper View Post

can someone explain what 1.9 gama is? How does this affect pq?

Gamma measures how quickly the TV rises out of black and this set rises too quickly. Target is about 2.2.

What that means is that the image will appear sort of washed out. That's why even though the black measurements are important if the set rises out of black to fast then the image won't meet expectations.

That's the way I understand it.

sheshechic is offline  
post #47 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by jl4069 View Post

"D-Nice measured .0065fL on his GT30."

The other guy got what d-nice implys he might get after break-in. However this could be attributable to the on-off brightness issue some have mentioned with the ST's. Why else would the other tester first test a low number then high while D measures high and expects lower. j


I can't recall if it was mentioned in the review but I do wonder how many hours were on their set. Maybe 24, 30 at most?

sheshechic is offline  
post #48 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Grendell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The big question for me is, has the issue regarding rising black levels in Panasonic Plasma displays been resolved with the S/G/VT30's? I guess the only way to know for sure is to wait and see. Given Panasonic's stance on the issue ("It's a feature not a bug") I personally have a hard time trusting them.
Grendell is offline  
post #49 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Grendell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oh and of course the OTHER major issue... no 65" or even 60". The biggest size screen available is 55". VERY disappointing to say the least.
Grendell is offline  
post #50 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grendell View Post

Oh and of course the OTHER major issue... no 65" or even 60". The biggest size screen available is 55". VERY disappointing to say the least.

Huh? ST GT and VT all go up to 65.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #51 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grendell View Post

Oh and of course the OTHER major issue... no 65" or even 60". The biggest size screen available is 55". VERY disappointing to say the least.

The bigger sets just haven't been released yet but they do come in 60" & 65".

sheshechic is offline  
post #52 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Grendell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My mistake. I was using Panasonic's web site as a source (obviously I haven't been shopping yet). Kind of pathetic when you can't trust the manufacturer's web site! (It doesn't even list VT at all.)
Grendell is offline  
post #53 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grendell View Post

My mistake. I was using Panasonic's web site as a source (obviously I haven't been shopping yet). Kind of pathetic when you can't trust the manufacturer's web site! (It doesn't even list VT at all.)

LOL

You won't see them in the stores either.

BTW, it looks like flashing blacks is a Samsung problem this year and Panasonic has a sort of flashing whites (luminanece).

sheshechic is offline  
post #54 of 4163 Old 03-31-2011, 11:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,985
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

The bigger sets just haven't been released yet but they do come in 60" & 65".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grendell View Post

Oh and of course the OTHER major issue... no 65" or even 60". The biggest size screen available is 55". VERY disappointing to say the least.

It is a big drag. I think on the GT models, Chad and I will wait until the 60" or 65" comes in to write the reveiw. Until then, the largest, most cost effective flat panel was released yesterday !!

--Chad and I had a big choice to make tonight, we ended up going with a 70" one..... >>>> Click Here

Chad is working hard as I type.....
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #55 of 4163 Old 04-01-2011, 12:36 AM
Senior Member
 
XciteMe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvnuby View Post

I can get this TV for under $800 - should I buy even though my wife will kill me?

Seriously - what is likelihood I can unload this on craigslist for $1000 if she makes me get rid of it (no return option)?

If she gives you hell for buying the TV, give her some good sexin' and she might change her mind?
XciteMe83 is offline  
post #56 of 4163 Old 04-01-2011, 12:36 AM
Member
 
Robert311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

The only thing I'm disappointed with on the GT30 so far is the gamma (1.9). Unfortunately, that will not change as the panel ages

Hold on. On my ST30 I can choose between 4 or 5 different gammas, including 2.2. The GT30 doesn't offer a choice of what gamma you want to use? The only gamma option is 1.9? That doesn't sound right.

LOST is the best tv show ever.

Go Dodgers!

Go Lakers!
Robert311 is offline  
post #57 of 4163 Old 04-01-2011, 01:19 AM
 
Nobl3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvnuby View Post

I can get this TV for under $800 - should I buy even though my wife will kill me?

Seriously - what is likelihood I can unload this on craigslist for $1000 if she makes me get rid of it (no return option)?

How about be a grown man and tell your wife that you will spend your money how you want?

I mean, come on.
Nobl3 is offline  
post #58 of 4163 Old 04-01-2011, 01:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert311 View Post

Hold on. On my ST30 I can choose between 4 or 5 different gammas, including 2.2. The GT30 doesn't offer a choice of what gamma you want to use? The only gamma option is 1.9? That doesn't sound right.

Once you start actually measuring TVs, you find that manufacturer's claims are more like goals while looking through rose colored glasses, and their settings labels are more like Christmas wish lists...
Chad B is online now  
post #59 of 4163 Old 04-01-2011, 03:13 AM
 
pneumatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by senkoskipper View Post

can someone explain what 1.9 gama is? How does this affect pq?

Gamma is the exponent the TV uses to determine how much light should be coming off the screen for a given input signal. A gamma that is too low will result in an overly bright, washed out image that is lacking contrast. To see this for yourself go into your video card properties and raise the gamma slider.
pneumatic is offline  
post #60 of 4163 Old 04-01-2011, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gmarceau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 46
D-Nice said he was able to get gamma hovering around 2.2 when he changed the setting in Custom mode to 2.4- so it's attainable, just not in THX.

Custom mode calibrated well on the ST30, so it may be the same with the GT30.

Still doesn't mean it's acceptable, though.

"If you weren't such an ignorant troll, you'd be adorable" -rogo
gmarceau is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off