Official Panasonic GT30 Series Discussion Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 4163 Old 07-01-2011, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
dbo1021's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digger44 View Post

Thanks for response....

No, I'm not using those settings... I DID read all of that (and more) and considered it all when deciding on my break-in process.

As I'm doing a 'mixed' break-in of slides and regular (borderless) viewing, I didn't want to have to flip settings back and forth. I suppose I could (if I was convinced it was really ALL that critical) to the process.

The way I see it is that regardless of the settings (within reason, of course) I'm am still evenly aging and breaking in the phosphors by running the slides. IMO, the THX setting are sufficiantly bright as to be OK for this purpose. I think those recommended settings are just to push the intensity of the brightness and colors to quicken the process.

BTW... the heat generated (coming off the panel) when running the slides for an extended period of time is incredible! (wow)

Although I'm sure I will try D-Nice's reference settings after my break-in, I will probably try other settings and also do an AVIA calibration...etc before landing on my preferred calibration... which, in the end, will be determined by how well it pleases my eyes!

John

I'm with you. I am breaking in using slides whenever I can and then watching full picture movies/TV on the side when I feel like it. Here's a neat trick/feature though that I discovered with our TV's: You can watch your movies/TV etc on say HDMI 1 on THX mode. Switch to the media player and run the slideshow and set the picture mode to "Custom" using D-Nice or your own settings. As soon as you go back to TV/movie watching the picture goes back to THX. If you hit the slideshow button it knows to stay in the Custom mode. So you don't actually have to manually flip anything back and forth.
dbo1021 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 4163 Old 07-01-2011, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I am also running slides in during the daytime hours and overnight.
Reqular viewing hours are between 7:00 and 12:00

The 65GT30 is a very nice looking display.
So far, I am very pleased.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Parasound A51 Black (for sale) | Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1083 of 4163 Old 07-01-2011, 03:05 PM
Member
 
BovineD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So wait, what is the best way to break in the TV? Are you intended to use DNice procedure to get the pic quality using his process AFTER using the standard burn in slides from this thread?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=949107
BovineD is offline  
post #1084 of 4163 Old 07-01-2011, 05:44 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dnice has repeatedly asked that his settings stay at the other forum and are not to be distributed here, there, and everywhere. It would be nice if you respected his wishes and remove this post
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #1085 of 4163 Old 07-01-2011, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post
Dnice has repeatedly asked that his settings stay at the other forum and are not to be distributed here, there, and everywhere. It would be nice if you respected his wishes and remove this post
Fair request. You should consider not quoting it.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Parasound A51 Black (for sale) | Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1086 of 4163 Old 07-02-2011, 05:46 AM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Fair request. You should consider not quoting it.

- Rich

OOPS (I can screw up boiling water )

Its edited now
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #1087 of 4163 Old 07-02-2011, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
JLennerth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post

Dnice has repeatedly asked that his settings stay at the other forum and are not to be distributed here, there, and everywhere. It would be nice if you respected his wishes and remove this post

can someone pm me w/a link to the other site/thread?
JLennerth is offline  
post #1088 of 4163 Old 07-02-2011, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
JLennerth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post

Dnice has repeatedly asked that his settings stay at the other forum and are not to be distributed here, there, and everywhere. It would be nice if you respected his wishes and remove this post

can someone please pm me w/a link to the other site/thread?
JLennerth is offline  
post #1089 of 4163 Old 07-02-2011, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLennerth View Post

can someone please pm me w/a link to the other site/thread?

Link is blocked via PMs also.

Dude, just GOOGLE D-Nice Settings - it's super easy to find.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #1090 of 4163 Old 07-03-2011, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Saw this on another site -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ux-b...layer_embedded

Said to be available in Europe now.
Dave_O is online now  
post #1091 of 4163 Old 07-03-2011, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
Dual_Everything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone here know how to turn off overscan for the hdmi ports?

I am connecting the p65gt30 to my computer(htpc).
Dual_Everything is offline  
post #1092 of 4163 Old 07-03-2011, 03:14 PM
Member
 
digger44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dual_Everything View Post

Does anyone here know how to turn off overscan for the hdmi ports?

I am connecting the p65gt30 to my computer(htpc).

There is a setting in the 3rd or 4th page of the video settings (I forget the name), but the options are HDMI1 and HDMI2. One has no overscan and the other has a slight overscan. THX by default has no overscan. The other modes do...
digger44 is offline  
post #1093 of 4163 Old 07-04-2011, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
Dual_Everything's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. THX works for me.
Dual_Everything is offline  
post #1094 of 4163 Old 07-04-2011, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Duffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Which set will show less room reflections, the GT30 or VT30?
Duffinator is offline  
post #1095 of 4163 Old 07-04-2011, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Micker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I am also running slides in during the daytime hours and overnight.
Reqular viewing hours are between 7:00 and 12:00

The 65GT30 is a very nice looking display.
So far, I am very pleased.

- Rich

I would not keep a tv I paid thousands of dollars for if all I could say was it's very nice looking. If I couldn't write OMG!! about the picture, it would be on a boat back to china. That's a big problem with this years hdtvs, by now we should be having our jaws hit the floor with the picture quality, not thinking it looks nice, my 5 year old toshiba in the bedroom looks nice....
Micker is offline  
post #1096 of 4163 Old 07-04-2011, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker View Post

I would not keep a tv I paid thousands of dollars for if all I could say was it's very nice looking. If I couldn't write OMG!! about the picture, it would be on a boat back to china. That's a big problem with this years hdtvs, by now we should be having our jaws hit the floor with the picture quality, not thinking it looks nice, my 5 year old toshiba in the bedroom looks nice....

To each his own.
Personally, I would not send a Japanese TV to China

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Parasound A51 Black (for sale) | Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1097 of 4163 Old 07-05-2011, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dual_Everything View Post

Does anyone here know how to turn off overscan for the hdmi ports? I am connecting the p65gt30 to my computer(htpc).

Go to Picture settings, scroll down to Advanced picture settings, and you'll find the HD Size setting. Select HD Size 2 - that gives you 1:1 pixel mapping with zero overscan. But the HD Size 1 gives 5% overscan.

On my older G10 the signal has to be 1080i for the HD Size setting to be available so i keep my DVRs set to output everything at 1080i Fixed. If i set my DVR to output 720p instead then the HD Size setting is grayed out and unavailable, and the TV is stuck on HD Size 1 with 5% overscan. I don't know if the newer models have this same 1080i/720p signal limitation.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #1098 of 4163 Old 07-05-2011, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
MikeAlletto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Go to Picture settings, scroll down to Advanced picture settings, and you'll find the HD Size setting. Select HD Size 2 - that gives you 1:1 pixel mapping with zero overscan. But the HD Size 1 gives 5% overscan.

On my older G10 the signal has to be 1080i for the HD Size setting to be available so i keep my DVRs set to output everything at 1080i Fixed. If i set my DVR to output 720p instead then the HD Size setting is grayed out and unavailable, and the TV is stuck on HD Size 1 with 5% overscan. I don't know if the newer models have this same 1080i/720p signal limitation.
When I set it to size 2 I've noticed that a lot of channels aren't setting their size correctly so you get junk on the edge of the image that the station is broadcasting. Usually people don't see it because of overscan or the image doesn't take up the whole screen, a very thin black border around the entire image. So I've reverted to just doing size 1 so i get rid of the garbage.

XBL: Mr MichaelJames
MikeAlletto is offline  
post #1099 of 4163 Old 07-05-2011, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you measure with Calman using APL Windows instead of Windows for source patterns, the result is very good. See attached. Looks like THX likes APL Windows
LL
LL
Dave_O is online now  
post #1100 of 4163 Old 07-05-2011, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeAlletto View Post

When I set it to size 2 I've noticed that a lot of channels aren't setting their size correctly so you get junk on the edge of the image that the station is broadcasting. Usually people don't see it because of overscan or the image doesn't take up the whole screen, a very thin black border around the entire image. So I've reverted to just doing size 1 so i get rid of the garbage.

I hear ya, I cant seem to ever be able to set mine to size 2, because there is always a black border around the left side of the screen. With or without anti image retention on
Wermey is offline  
post #1101 of 4163 Old 07-05-2011, 10:28 PM
Member
 
turbo94gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wermey View Post

I hear ya, I cant seem to ever be able to set mine to size 2, because there is always a black border around the left side of the screen. With or without anti image retention on

+1. Im having the same problem when on HD size 2. I get black borders on either left, right, top or bottom sometimes up to an inch. If i put on HD size 1 its fine but the picture is stretched and doesnt look as good. Some people say its the source which is fine i can accept that but I also get these black bars on Bluray and Xbox 360. These are supposed to be excellent sources with no garbage.

Does anyone know why i would be getting these black bars on Bluray and Xbox? I just returned my first 55gt30 due to this thinking it was a bad panel but my 2nd came today and i noticed it does the same exact thing.
turbo94gt is offline  
post #1102 of 4163 Old 07-06-2011, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post
If you measure with Calman using APL Windows instead of Windows patterns, the result is very good. See attached. Looks like THX likes APL Windows
So in the long run, what does this mean?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #1103 of 4163 Old 07-06-2011, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

So in the long run, what does this mean?

I'm not sure. It seems to me that the APL windows are close to actual media content without triggering an ABL problem. I've sent the data in an email to THX, asking for their comment. It's their brand that is at stake.

It could mean, that the GT30 in THX mode is very good, has great gamma accuracy, and no additional calibration is really needed, if the brightness of THX mode is not an issue.
Dave_O is online now  
post #1104 of 4163 Old 07-06-2011, 07:45 PM
Member
 
orediggers10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the GT series really do better in a bright room compared to the ST? The cnet review states that the ST series struggles in bright rooms.

I had the ST50 in a room with a large east facing picture window and I had few problems with the TV, ie: glare, etc. As for the break in stuff, to each his own. I've never used it on the plasmas I've had and the pics have been most excellent. I have a Panny 720 plasma in our bedroom that is 6 or 7 years old, and it has a great pic and always has.
orediggers10 is offline  
post #1105 of 4163 Old 07-07-2011, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Well after my first 55GT30 was lost by Pilot, Amazon did right by me and sent me another one and matched the price of the seller I bought it from and now I am set to get the tv tomorrow but directly from Amazon.

For the inconvenience Amazon gave me the price match which to me is not a gift but their right. And they gave me the free Avatar 3d glasses set

Not bad at all.
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #1106 of 4163 Old 07-07-2011, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquablue View Post

Does the GT series really do better in a bright room compared to the ST? The cnet review states that the ST series struggles in bright rooms.

There are a lot of variables between different "bright rooms" that can either be a problem or actually be no problem at all. North-facing windows are less of a problem than south-facing windows, and placement/location of the TV in a bright room can make or break bright room performance. Lighting brightness and location are also factors at night.

The GT30 uses the exact same panel and exact same Anti-Reflective Louver Filter as the ST30 so both will perform equally in a bright room. But bright rooms aren't good for watching any kind of TV, be it plasma, tube, or LCD and all of them will struggle in their own ways. I've had all three types in my bright west-facing living room, and my older G10 is plenty watchable on a sunny afternoon. And the newer GT30/ST30 is brighter, blacker, and has a better AR Filter than my older model.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #1107 of 4163 Old 07-07-2011, 11:38 AM
Member
 
JasonMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brandywine, MD
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you all recommend or use to clean your GT30? Mine just came out of the box and looks great, just not as clean as it ought to be (yet)...
JasonMK is offline  
post #1108 of 4163 Old 07-07-2011, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonMK View Post

What do you all recommend or use to clean your GT30? Mine just came out of the box and looks great, just not as clean as it ought to be (yet)...

I use the blue bottle and blue cloth I bought for $15 at Best Buy made from Monster.

I spray some on the cloth and not directly on the screen. I use that and it cleans well...
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #1109 of 4163 Old 07-07-2011, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
microfiber cloth and distilled water. Anything else is a waste of time and money
Suzook is offline  
post #1110 of 4163 Old 07-07-2011, 12:46 PM
Member
 
JasonMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brandywine, MD
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

I use the blue bottle and blue cloth I bought for $15 at Best Buy made from Monster.

I spray some on the cloth and not directly on the screen. I use that and it cleans well...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

microfiber cloth and distilled water. Anything else is a waste of time and money

Thank you. I've got some microfiber cloths from my DSLR and a gallon of distilled water. Next time I'm out I'll likely pick up a larger cloth.
JasonMK is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off