Panasonic S30 Series (NOT ST) Picture Settings - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 238 Old 04-23-2011, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpyGuy311 View Post

Well I've found the grain goes away when in any mode except Normal. In Normal everything, even the menu, looks very bad. Cinema or any other mode and everything looks great. Strange.

That's how the S2 is in Standard mode. It has horrible dithering even in the menu. It's also the lowest light output mode (energy star compliant mode). So perhaps Normal mode is the 2011 version of Standard for 2010 sets.

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings

Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 238 Old 04-23-2011, 11:43 AM
Member
 
ertoil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In the specs of the S30 i ve read... screen filter "monochrome" so it is
supposedly the same filter and screen of the 2010 G20 plasma right ?
ertoil is offline  
post #33 of 238 Old 04-23-2011, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
BWDinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no its not the same as the g20. They have new tech in all the new panels that reflect the new 3D phosphors.
BWDinc is offline  
post #34 of 238 Old 04-24-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redwolf4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairchild99 View Post

That's how the S2 is in Standard mode. It has horrible dithering even in the menu. It's also the lowest light output mode (energy star compliant mode). So perhaps Normal mode is the 2011 version of Standard for 2010 sets.

My S1 is like that too. Super-Dithering, the menus are washed and noisy with dithering also. There seems to be some motion-smoothing effect on as well, that I cannot turn off. Standard mode is junk.

If they now use 600hz sub field drive in modes like "cinema", that produces little to no dithering...I don't understand why ALL the modes don't have that.
redwolf4k is offline  
post #35 of 238 Old 04-24-2011, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TnTBigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had this tv for 2 weeks now from Sears. My cable isn't HD but digital, but Blu-rays (with my Pioneer BFD 51 via HDMI) are outstanding! After calibration (Disney WOW disc) the darks in "The Dark Knight" was awesome- especially so in the Joker interrogation scene. I'm extremely pleased.

You'll rarely hear anyone say, "I wish I'd gotten less Sub."

$ubwoofer$ and premium mango tree cultivar$

TnTBigman is offline  
post #36 of 238 Old 05-10-2011, 05:17 AM
Member
 
JerseyJoeIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anyone post some picture settings for the S30? I'm interested in seeing if a calibration is really necessary...
JerseyJoeIII is offline  
post #37 of 238 Old 05-30-2011, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
maxbrothersinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
some picture settings would be great.
maxbrothersinc is offline  
post #38 of 238 Old 05-30-2011, 03:30 PM
Member
 
The Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok folks...I will be getting another Plasma TV very soon here, so I'm doing my research again, but I have some more questions about these S30 sets from you owners.

First off, and maybe most importantly, do these sets offfer, what is called the Viera Connect? I ask because I want to be able to mainly watch what Netflix has to offer on the new TV, without the use of a Wii device, or the like.

Secondly, from what I am reading in this Topic (and other places), these panels do NOT have the Pioneer Kuro-like panels, correct? These, that are in the S30's are good panels, none-the-less, but I don't believe that these are the Kuro-like panels, whatever they are called...am I correct about this? and is it worth it to spend more money on a ST30's that I believe DO have the better panels?

Thanks for the upcoming replies folks!
The Hornet is offline  
post #39 of 238 Old 05-30-2011, 10:12 PM
Newbie
 
stevenightgolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The S30 is great. If I had the extra change I think the ST30 is probably the best overall bang for the buck, but I am in no way unsatisfied. When I was breaking the tv in I primarily used Cinema mode (which actually is pretty good out of the box), but nevertheless I wanted to have it calibrated anyway.

I had it calibrated by Best Buy who, though they are indeed ISF certified and my guy had done over 1,000 sets, I believe do not delve deeply into an exhaustive calibration beyond grey scale adjustment. Even so, this is an integral step to maximizing the tvs potential and I recommend having it done.

Beyond these adjustments (which you can only change in the service menu), I'll go ahead and post the other basic settings here for those who are interested.

Contrast: 75
Brightness: 65
Color: 45
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 30
Color temp.: Normal
Color mgmt.: Off
C.A.T.S.: Off
Video NR: Off
Screen format: Full
HD Size: Size 2
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off

It was calibrated during the day with all blinds and curtains closed.
stevenightgolf is offline  
post #40 of 238 Old 05-31-2011, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenightgolf View Post

The S30 is great. If I had the extra change I think the ST30 is probably the best overall bang for the buck, but I am in no way unsatisfied. When I was breaking the tv in I primarily used Cinema mode (which actually is pretty good out of the box), but nevertheless I wanted to have it calibrated anyway.

I had it calibrated by Best Buy who, though they are indeed ISF certified and my guy had done over 1,000 sets, I believe do not delve deeply into an exhaustive calibration beyond grey scale adjustment. Even so, this is an integral step to maximizing the tvs potential and I recommend having it done.

Beyond these adjustments (which you can only change in the service menu), I'll go ahead and post the other basic settings here for those who are interested.

Contrast: 75
Brightness: 65
Color: 45
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 30
Color temp.: Normal
Color mgmt.: Off
C.A.T.S.: Off
Video NR: Off
Screen format: Full
HD Size: Size 2
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off

It was calibrated during the day with all blinds and curtains closed.

coo thanks is this using the cinema mode? I noticed that it's a pretty bright setting and would of thought color temp would of been at warm 2?
stang323 is offline  
post #41 of 238 Old 06-06-2011, 03:49 PM
Member
 
NickFromWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone clarify for me the "Game Mode." Does it actually do anything to reduce lag? Or is the lag already minimal? If I want the most lag-free gaming do I need to go to the Viera Tools and select "Game Mode" each time?
NickFromWA is offline  
post #42 of 238 Old 06-18-2011, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
redwolf4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpyGuy311 View Post

Well I've found the grain goes away when in any mode except Normal. In Normal everything, even the menu, looks very bad. Cinema or any other mode and everything looks great. Strange.

Thats how all the Panasonics are. The standard mode uses heavy dithering for darker gradation. The rest of the modes seem more advanced in handling the dark end of the picture. Just avoid the vintage "Standard" setting at all costs, unless you want your new plasma to perform like the Panasonics of 2005, lol.
redwolf4k is offline  
post #43 of 238 Old 07-15-2011, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
REP05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Calibration settings can be found at

televisioninfo.com/
content/
Panasonic-TC-P50S30-Plasma-HDTV-Review/
Calibration

Sorry I can't post as link yet
REP05 is offline  
post #44 of 238 Old 07-15-2011, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
REP05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's another recommendation for settings

reviews.*******************.com/
panasonic-plasma-tv/
panasonic-tcp50s30-page2.html
REP05 is offline  
post #45 of 238 Old 07-15-2011, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
REP05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry the text after reviews is *******************
REP05 is offline  
post #46 of 238 Old 07-15-2011, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
REP05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
plasma tv buying guide
REP05 is offline  
post #47 of 238 Old 07-17-2011, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redwolf4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFromWA View Post

Can someone clarify for me the "Game Mode." Does it actually do anything to reduce lag? Or is the lag already minimal? If I want the most lag-free gaming do I need to go to the Viera Tools and select "Game Mode" each time?

Yes, game mode has the least dithering. It turns off many processes. This was tested and found true with several test patterns.

You shouldnt have to change to Game mode each time. When your on your game systems input, go into the MENU > PICTURE > Game

It should remember it from that point on.
redwolf4k is offline  
post #48 of 238 Old 07-18-2011, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been doing some calibration research on this tv and notice that everyone's settings are way different. I would think being professionally calibrated they would be around the same (due to each set being a bit unique themselves) what gives?
stang323 is offline  
post #49 of 238 Old 07-20-2011, 10:30 AM
Newbie
 
jdougmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SoFla
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the 42" S30 and put in stang323's settings-- looks very nice. I think I used Warm1 instead though-- Warm2 looked too yellow in my living room, but I was just eyeballing it.

J Doug
jdougmc is offline  
post #50 of 238 Old 07-20-2011, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdougmc View Post
I just got the 42" S30 and put in stang323's settings-- looks very nice. I think I used Warm1 instead though-- Warm2 looked too yellow in my living room, but I was just eyeballing it.
Warm2 is yellowish because it has too much red in the greyscale. As you move down in color temp towards cool you get less red but more blue. That is why on cool the whites have a bluish tint. Just cycle through the color temps until you find the one that shows the whitest whites to your eyes. Without proper calibration of the greyscale you won't get perfect whites.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #51 of 238 Old 07-27-2011, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
benny123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
..never having had a plasma before, I'm getting a little confused with "burn in period".

From what I can gather, I should:

1) use the settings here for panel prep (http://www.**************.com/showth...-Issues-Thread)
with the SD color files, then (after 100 or so hours)

2)...change the settings to post #2 in the same thread or settings in one of these threads ?
benny123 is offline  
post #52 of 238 Old 08-19-2011, 04:53 PM
Member
 
eeee87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any updates?
just bought the 42 inch version of this tv and still haven't found any settings I'm completely happy with.

I mainly play videogames and watch movies(standadrd dvd's and some blu rays via ps3 and hdmi) in a dark room.
eeee87 is offline  
post #53 of 238 Old 08-19-2011, 07:57 PM
Member
 
GTP LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 60 inch S30 and my settings are:

Picture mode - Custom
Contrast - 69 or 75 (I can't decide)
Brightness - 59
Color - 47
Temp - Warm 2
Sharpness - 12
Black level - light
Tint - 0
24P Direct in - 60HZ

When I switch back to Cinema mode the difference is like night and day. I prefer my settings much more.

I am enjoying this set and so far am very satisfied with the TV.
GTP LS1 is offline  
post #54 of 238 Old 08-21-2011, 08:08 PM
Member
 
eeee87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTP LS1 View Post

I have a 60 inch S30 and my settings are:

Picture mode - Custom
Contrast - 69 or 75 (I can't decide)
Brightness - 59
Color - 47
Temp - Warm 2
Sharpness - 12
Black level - light
Tint - 0
24P Direct in - 60HZ

When I switch back to Cinema mode the difference is like night and day. I prefer my settings much more.

I am enjoying this set and so far am very satisfied with the TV.


May I ask what did you use to calibrate?
disc,professional etc?
eeee87 is offline  
post #55 of 238 Old 08-22-2011, 02:37 PM
Member
 
GTP LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found those settings on a website called *******************.com or something like that. I tried the settings they recommended for the TV and like them.
GTP LS1 is offline  
post #56 of 238 Old 09-13-2011, 01:41 AM
Newbie
 
rzimmerman30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran D-Nice's slides for 100 hours straight, then applied his settings for the ST30. While looking good, and maybe the way it's "supposed" to look, it wasn't exactly how I liked it. So I used the same website I used to calibrate my 23" LED 1080p monitor (http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/). I saved the images, used Paint to Save them as .jpg (tv woudln't load .png), and used it to calibrate the black, white, color, contrast ratio, and sharpness. Not sure if this is the "reccomended", or "correct" way, but it's how I like my TV and monitors to look. This gives the TV a bit more brightness and "punch". I watch my TV at night with all my lights on (4 lights total in living room). I won't be able to watch the TV very well during the day, I have 4 eight feet tall ceilings that face south, and mostly all I can see is my living room from the reflection (which I'm not too happy about) All in all, these are the settings I wound up with:

Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 80
Brightness: 70
Color: 50
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 20
Color Temp: Warm 2
Color Mgmt: Off
C.A.T.S: Off (but am considering turning it on, will test it out during day tomororw)
Video NR: Off

Aspect Adjustment:
Screen Format: Full
HD Size: Size 2 (so it doesn't crop 5% of picture)

Advanced Picture
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Black Level: Light

This is the first plasma I've ever owned, had a 27" LCD prior to this. It definately lacks the crispness and brigthness as my LCD, but with these settings, I'm getting pretty close! All in all, I probably will never buy plasma again, but I think after a while I'll get used to this picture. It reminds me very much of the picture I got from my old CRT TV, LCD/LED just has a much sharper, more distinct image it seems that plasma lacks. I guess I just assumed my LCD looked good because it was 1080p, and both plasma and LCD would all look pretty close to the same. After years of having only LCD/LED I'm probably just used to that certain type of image, and so hopefully I'll get used to the plasma! If I had the option, I'd return this and get the 46" LED instead, but no returns allowed where I purchased it from. Hope these settings help out for people who are looking for more of that bright LCD/LED crisp picture!
rzimmerman30 is offline  
post #57 of 238 Old 09-13-2011, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
ziggychu1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lavon Texas
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
firmware Version 1.16
date code: 8/15/2011


affected models: TCP42X3, TCP46X3, TCP50X3, TCP42S30, TCP46S30, TCP50S30, TCP60S30
Issues Addressed

Version 1.16
 Brightness fluctuation when the TV is set to the Standard picture mode.


Has anyone tried this release and did it work.....
Thanks
ziggychu1000 is offline  
post #58 of 238 Old 09-16-2011, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
MisterPlasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ziggychu,

I bought my tc-p50s30 in July. Mine already had firmware 1.16 installed on it, so I can't say if Standard mode had brightness fluctuation before this. Like others, I do not prefer Standard mode anyway.

HOWEVER, I DO EXPERIENCE FLUCTUATING BRIGHTNESS (Fbr) ON MY S30. YES, I DID SAY S30 (NOT ST30 OR GT30). I had heard about all of the Fbr trouble on the ST30 and GT30 after I purchased my S30. Naturally, I wanted to see if this was a problem with the S30. I did not find a concrete answer. Some said yes, all models have this feature as Panasonic calls it. Others said only the ones with the Infinite Black 2 panel had it. As I had watched a few blu rays and did not notice it, I figured the S30 was in the clear.

Then I watched Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. I had it in Cinema mode with stangs awesome settings. There is a scene around 1:24 where Hagrid is speaking with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Here is where I first noticed Fbr. I then did a reset of Cinema mode, ran the scene again, and the same thing. I then tried the other modes and the Fbr was gone. I retried Cinema mode with CATS set to ON and no Fbr was noticeable, but this setting is way too dark. So, to summarize, in Cinema mode with CATS set to OFF I experience Fbr. I have seen enough video examples from ST30 and GT30 owners to know what Fbr looks like. I hate it. BTW - I tried everything with the lights on, and everything with the lights off. Cinema mode with CATS OFF presents the problem no matter what the room lighting.

My solution to this feature is to contact Panasonic, get the word out, and see if I can tweak anything good out of Custom in case Panasonic doesn't do anything. Anyone else having Fbr issues with the S30 series?
MisterPlasma is offline  
post #59 of 238 Old 09-16-2011, 10:31 AM
Member
 
techowiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post

I did daytime settings by eye no disk .

Stang Can you post your daytime settings (done by your "eye")?
techowiz is offline  
post #60 of 238 Old 10-18-2011, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
AHutch825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jester959 View Post

Another update.

As I had posted, I ran the slides for over a hundred hours straight, then used the ST30 settings. I use them for cable (1080i), Xbox360 & Blu-Rays (1080p) in a darkened (usually) living room, and sweet baby jeebus. ...

I completely recommend using the ST30 break-in process with the slides as well as D-Nices settings on your S30. Compared to my old Samsung A650, I can certainly tell a much more crisper picture.

I haven't noticed anything negative from the process yet, except my TV looks like it's "on" when it's not, if that makes any sense. The glass/image when the TV is off is a very light shade of black, like it's on but with no signal. A minor
complaint, and I for one am glad I went ahead with the process.

Where can I find this so called "slide/s" by D-Nice along with his settings? I have just purchased the S30 and I'm not happy so I like to try this. I have search all his posts without any luck.
AHutch825 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P46s30 46 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50s30 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - P50s30 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off