Panasonic S30 Series (NOT ST) Picture Settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 238 Old 04-07-2011, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

My Panasonic 50" S30 Plasma got here today, and I'm on the lookout for good picture settings and/or break-in slides. I found the thread for D-Nice's stuff, but they advised to only use those slides & settings for the ST30 series. I'm kind of a stickler when it comes to getting the best picture I can, so if anyone can link me or post some calibration for the S30, that would be wonderful. Most viewing would be with 1080p content in a darkened living room. (I don't do much day watching.)

Thanks again,
Mike
jester959 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 238 Old 04-07-2011, 03:07 PM
Member
 
natsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am looking foward to some feedback on this model also
natsp is offline  
post #3 of 238 Old 04-07-2011, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I'd suggest picking up a calibration disc and calibrating it. (Spears & Munsil is good as well as the DVE HD) If you have a DVD writer, I would also strongly suggest you download and make yourself a copy of the AVS HD 709 disc found here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496

The only thing you won't be able to do yourself is calibrate the greyscale, but at least you can look at a greyscale pattern and see how far you are off. You'll be able to tweak the most important settings: Contrast, Brightness, Color/Tint (if you have a blue filter), Sharpness, set the color temperature to one of the Warm presets, and turn off all the extra un-needed processing options.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is online now  
post #4 of 238 Old 04-07-2011, 11:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I might have to look into that.

Anyone else...??
jester959 is offline  
post #5 of 238 Old 04-10-2011, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
chadofsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up the 42s30 today. Trying to figure out optimal settings adjustments myself.
chadofsix is offline  
post #6 of 238 Old 04-10-2011, 10:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
cinema mode gave me the best results
stang323 is offline  
post #7 of 238 Old 04-10-2011, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm almost done with the slide break-in that was recommended for the ST30. I don't see why it would have any negative effect on the S30. Once it's done, I'll insert D-Nice's ST30 settings (the ones I can anyways) and then tweak from there based on what looks good to me, I reckon. If anyone else has any other info please post it.
jester959 is offline  
post #8 of 238 Old 04-13-2011, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
Tyler2106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya I just bought a 50" S30 model and haven't been able to find any calibration settings like with some TVs. I have adjusted the settings to where I'm happy with. I just need to get a few hours on it then I'm going to buy a calibration disk.
Tyler2106 is offline  
post #9 of 238 Old 04-13-2011, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
fronzizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased this TV about a month ago, and despite playing with the settings over and over again, I can't seem to find the right combination.

I'm watching the Red Wings/Coyotes game, and the ice actually looks a little yellow. I've tried going through all of the settings and tweaking them without any luck. My wife and I have noticed this on other things as well, such as baseball games and even some TV shows. If anyone can recommend/point me to some good settings, I would appreciate it.

Also...I'm not positive, but I think that the picture mode is changing by itself. Maybe not, but I'm pretty convinced that I had it set to Game, and when I went in last time to check some settings, it was on Vivid. Not sure if it has some kind of "auto" setting or if I just changed it and don't remember.

Anyway, thanks for any advice on the picture settings.
fronzizzle is offline  
post #10 of 238 Old 04-13-2011, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Mercuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fronzizzle View Post

Also...I'm not positive, but I think that the picture mode is changing by itself. Maybe not, but I'm pretty convinced that I had it set to Game, and when I went in last time to check some settings, it was on Vivid. Not sure if it has some kind of "auto" setting or if I just changed it and don't remember.

Maybe you're aware of this already, but most flat panels these days save different settings for each input. So when you switch from a gaming console to cable TV to a Blu-ray player, you'll get three different profiles. On the other hand, if you have all of those hooked into a receiver, then I'm not sure if that would still apply. Or you just forgot
Mercuri is offline  
post #11 of 238 Old 04-13-2011, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TnTBigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought a 50" S30 at Sears on Sunday. Also got the Disney WOW HD calibration disc http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1303667 there as well with the 5yr warranty. So far, I'm loving the picture on it. This is my first HDTV. If I had to do it over again, I might as well spend the extra $150 for the ST30 version that has 1080 lines for motion (vs 900 on the S30). But so far, I am extremely pleased. The Disney WOW disc is very detailed and has calibration categories for different user level experience. I wanted a plasma, and it had to be bought at a brick n mortar store. The LGs (pk550 and pv450) gave it a run for it's money

You'll rarely hear anyone say, "I wish I'd gotten less Sub."

$ubwoofer$ and premium mango tree cultivar$

TnTBigman is offline  
post #12 of 238 Old 04-14-2011, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update..

So I ran the d-nice break-in slides recommended for the ST30 on my S30, for 102 hours. I then set my settings to what he recommends for the ST30, excluding the settings that aren't available on my model.

After having done only HDMI HD cable viewing so far, I gotta say, it looks f'n spectacular. I'm going to try out the 360 & maybe a blu-ray tonight, but so far I am very impressed. I can tell a difference between this & my old Samsung A650 so far pretty easily.
jester959 is offline  
post #13 of 238 Old 04-16-2011, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LL3HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Flushing, New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have a family member who's taking delivery on this set today. I was hoping to find some tips for her. She's not an AVS type and she lives a few thousand miles away so I can't help her with any hands on tweaks. I'll check back in here to see if anyone posts some suggestions. In the meantime, I'll continue to hunt around for settings.

Larry

I thought we were
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LL3HD is offline  
post #14 of 238 Old 04-16-2011, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll post some settings that one of the members here did for me and it came out very nice
stang323 is offline  
post #15 of 238 Old 04-17-2011, 08:22 AM
Member
 
natsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post

I'll post some settings that one of the members here did for me and it came out very nice

thanks,i will like to compare them also
natsp is offline  
post #16 of 238 Old 04-17-2011, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redwolf4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fronzizzle View Post

I purchased this TV about a month ago, and despite playing with the settings over and over again, I can't seem to find the right combination.

I'm watching the Red Wings/Coyotes game, and the ice actually looks a little yellow. I've tried going through all of the settings and tweaking them without any luck. My wife and I have noticed this on other things as well, such as baseball games and even some TV shows. If anyone can recommend/point me to some good settings, I would appreciate it.

Also...I'm not positive, but I think that the picture mode is changing by itself. Maybe not, but I'm pretty convinced that I had it set to Game, and when I went in last time to check some settings, it was on Vivid. Not sure if it has some kind of "auto" setting or if I just changed it and don't remember.

Anyway, thanks for any advice on the picture settings.

If the S30 is anything like the previous generations of Panasonic Plasmas, this yellow ice your seeing is the nature of the beast.

Only my oldest Panasonic plasma doesn't do this, but all my newer ones do.

It is very distracting. It has to do with the color temperature preset's (like "warm") white balance. Yellow ice would usually show up with a lack of blue in the grayscale, and/or too much green. I am not sure if there is adjustments on the S30's custom mode for white balance, but if there is, you could always eye-ball it.

Otherwise, Using a higher color temperature like "normal" or "cool" is the only fix besides professional calibration.

Without a pro calibration, I found using a higher color temp along with intentionally moving the tint into the red 2 ticks helped reduce the issue as much as it could.

If white balance is too yellow, like the text of credits, hockey ice, etc, only adjusting the grayscale controls will fix this.

In closing, I have noticed that "VS" network coverage of some hockey games has a yellow tint to it as well.
redwolf4k is offline  
post #17 of 238 Old 04-17-2011, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
picture mode :cinema
contrast: 56
brightness:49
color: 53
tint:2
sharpness:0
color:warm 2
color mgmt ff
catsff
video nrff
screen format :full
hd size:size 2
advance picture : everything off and black level light
24p:48hz if possible

best setting so far for me
stang323 is offline  
post #18 of 238 Old 04-18-2011, 03:27 AM
Member
 
natsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post

picture mode :cinema
contrast: 56
brightness:49
color: 53
tint:2
sharpness:0
color:warm 2
color mgmt ff
catsff
video nrff
screen format :full
hd size:size 2
advance picture : everything off and black level light
24p:48hz if possible

best setting so far for me

Thanks,do you use the same settings for movies and live sports on tv?
natsp is offline  
post #19 of 238 Old 04-18-2011, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes. it was calibrated for dark room. I made another one for day time
stang323 is offline  
post #20 of 238 Old 04-18-2011, 05:39 PM
Member
 
natsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post

yes. it was calibrated for dark room. I made another one for day time

what changes did you go with for daytime?
natsp is offline  
post #21 of 238 Old 04-18-2011, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did daytime settings by eye no disk .
stang323 is offline  
post #22 of 238 Old 04-19-2011, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've been looking seriously at this display because I just need a good TV for my living room. It has pretty much everything I want and I'm not worried about having absolute awesome blacks or perfect PQ. I've seen it at BB and liked how it looks so I was just wondering if anyone who has bought this set would talk a bit about what you think about it. It's a fairly good price and I do want a plasma but don't really want a 3D display (even though 2D PQ is supposedly better) or really want to spend the extra for that. thanks.

subavision212 is offline  
post #23 of 238 Old 04-21-2011, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jester959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another update.

As I had posted, I ran the slides for over a hundred hours straight, then used the ST30 settings. I use them for cable (1080i), Xbox360 & Blu-Rays (1080p) in a darkened (usually) living room, and sweet baby jeebus.

Game of Thrones on Sunday looked unbelievable, as do my games and movies on the PS3.

I completely recommend using the ST30 break-in process with the slides as well as D-Nices settings on your S30. Compared to my old Samsung A650, I can certainly tell a much more crisper picture.

I haven't noticed anything negative from the process yet, except my TV looks like it's "on" when it's not, if that makes any sense. The glass/image when the TV is off is a very light shade of black, like it's on but with no signal. A minor complaint, and I for one am glad I went ahead with the process.
jester959 is offline  
post #24 of 238 Old 04-21-2011, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
fronzizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone provide a link or point me to these settings?
fronzizzle is offline  
post #25 of 238 Old 04-22-2011, 02:42 AM
4ML
Member
 
4ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm lookin' at this model as well as the ST30 - and was curious about the motion picture resolution, if there is any diff. between 900 lines and 1080 lines. Any help will be much appreciated, thanks.
4ML is offline  
post #26 of 238 Old 04-22-2011, 03:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4ML View Post

I'm lookin' at this model as well as the ST30 - and was curious about the motion picture resolution, if there is any diff. between 900 lines and 1080 lines. Any help will be much appreciated, thanks.

It's usually hard to spot the difference between 900 or 1080 with regular content. Perhaps if you are watching some content that has alot of massive and fast motion you may notice it. It's mostly something that is tested with patterns and whatnot.

Don't let the motion resolution be the only factor, factor in picture quality improvements as well.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is online now  
post #27 of 238 Old 04-22-2011, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post

picture mode :cinema
contrast: 56
brightness:49
color: 53
tint:2
sharpness:0
color:warm 2
color mgmt ff
catsff
video nrff
screen format :full
hd size:size 2
advance picture : everything off and black level light
24p:48hz if possible

best setting so far for me

btw this calibration set up was done with the DVE disk
stang323 is offline  
post #28 of 238 Old 04-22-2011, 03:30 PM
Member
 
SpyGuy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this TV, the 50". It is the first plasma I have owned. When I first opened the box the first thing I noticed was how the screen didn't seem black, like an LCD does. My 5yr old even said "why is it blue?" It *seems* to go away once the TV is on though, and actually I think the blacks look better than my LCD. Just thought it odd to be so bright for being off.

The picture overall seems kinda grainy compared to my older 42" LCD. Is that something that will go away after it's "broken in" ? I haven't messed with calibrating it too much yet as it sounds like I should wait 50+hrs anyway
SpyGuy311 is offline  
post #29 of 238 Old 04-22-2011, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
you should lower contrast levels for a while and maybe your sharpness levels to 0. that should help "grainny" pic
stang323 is offline  
post #30 of 238 Old 04-23-2011, 05:11 AM
Member
 
SpyGuy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I've found the grain goes away when in any mode except Normal. In Normal everything, even the menu, looks very bad. Cinema or any other mode and everything looks great. Strange.
SpyGuy311 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P46s30 46 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50s30 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - P50s30 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off