Does your 2011 Samsung "D" plasma have brightness pops? - Page 63 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your 2011 Samsung D series plasma have brightness "pops"?
Yes 1 100.00%
No 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Soapsuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that my PN-51D550 has the "pop" issue resolved, it's going to be hard to relax and just enjoy the fine picture that these units are capable of.
It will probably be a long time before I forget this and just enjoy what I'm watching.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Soapsuds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 06:53 AM
Member
 
KTM250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok I installed the update for my D8000 last night. I did not see the message for the optimization but when the tv restarted after installing the update the screen went black for at least 30 sec (I was beginning to wonder if something was wrong) and then it shut off and restarted. I wonder if this is were it did it's optimization. Since the update I have not seen one brightness pop. The other thing is I'm not so sure that it has not jacked the black level up, blacks look more gray to me then before. Will do some more looking and testing.
KTM250 is offline  
post #1863 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 07:07 AM
Member
 
redrayderz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soapsuds View Post

Now that my PN-51D550 has the "pop" issue resolved, it's going to be hard to relax and just enjoy the fine picture that these units are capable of.
It will probably be a long time before I forget this and just enjoy what I'm watching.

If we're not miserable, we're not happy!
redrayderz01 is offline  
post #1864 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
danielc1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me fix doesn't work(PN59D8000),still got the pops in exactly same moments.I roll back to 1024.3,check the pops,then upgrade again to 1024.8 (this time without optimization message). Exactly same moments and intensity
danielc1205 is offline  
post #1865 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Randroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@ Danielc so you updated the new firmware fix twice, and the first time you got the optimization screen and the second time you didnt?
Randroid is offline  
post #1866 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
bfinleyui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can someone provide a netflix example with timestamp of where brightness pops can occur? I believe I've seen one or two in the week or so I've had the PN51D550, but I want to verify before upgrading to 1019.5
bfinleyui is offline  
post #1867 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Amazingly Smooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielc1205 View Post

For me fix doesn't work(PN59D8000),still got the pops in exactly same moments.I roll back to 1024.3,check the pops,then upgrade again to 1024.8 (this time without optimization message). Exactly same moments and intensity

What shows/movies?

Except, of course, in paranoid delusions for those that believe.
Amazingly Smooth is offline  
post #1868 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 09:02 AM
Member
 
jbdeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTM250 View Post

Ok I installed the update for my D8000 last night. I did not see the message for the optimization but when the tv restarted after installing the update the screen went black for at least 30 sec (I was beginning to wonder if something was wrong) and then it shut off and restarted. I wonder if this is were it did it's optimization. Since the update I have not seen one brightness pop. The other thing is I'm not so sure that it has not jacked the black level up, blacks look more gray to me then before. Will do some more looking and testing.

This mirrors my experience (64D8000), although I'm not sure I noticed any rise in black level after update.
jbdeen is offline  
post #1869 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
danielc1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randroid View Post

@ Danielc so you updated the new firmware fix twice, and the first time you got the optimization screen and the second time you didnt?

Yes,that's correct.I did this twice,first time optimization screen,second none.Still pops.
danielc1205 is offline  
post #1870 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
danielc1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazingly Smooth View Post

What shows/movies?

I am using STAR WARS REVENGE OF THE SITH chapter 38 as my reference pop fest.Beginning of the every episode of 24 season 7(blu ray),and a lot more titles.
danielc1205 is offline  
post #1871 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 11:06 AM
Member
 
KTM250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
One other thing, I just want to know where all the people are that thought we were making this all up? Haven't heard a peep from them, wonder why?
KTM250 is offline  
post #1872 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chikoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I chatted with Arnold@Samsung and here is how it went

Quote:
Arnold: Hi, thanks for reaching out to Samsung tech support. How can I help you today?
Arnold: I am truly sorry you had to be on hold for so long, but we've had an unusually high volume of chats coming in. I'd be happy to help you with any questions you have about our products.
Chikoo: Hi
Chikoo: Are you still there?
Arnold: Hello, how may I assist you today?
Chikoo: I am having brightness issues with my 2011 PN59D6500 TV
Chikoo: I see brightness pops on various materials
Arnold: I am sorry to hear that brightness pops up on the screen.
Arnold: Do you have the same issue when you connect any other input sources like a DVD player, VCR, satellite, cable box, Xbox, PS3, etc to your TV?
Chikoo: I even have it on streaming NEtflix
Arnold: Reset the TV by pressing the 'EXIT' button for 10 seconds on the remote control of the TV and facing it towards the TV.
Chikoo: How will that help? I tried to find out more about this issue and discovered on AVSforums that Samsung is actually providing a firmware fix via usb
Arnold: May I know the firmware version of the TV?
Chikoo: 1014
Arnold: Is the firmware version 1014.6?
Chikoo: no. I only have 1014
Arnold: The firmware version 1014.6 will fix the issue.

Arnold: Have you registered the TV?
Chikoo: Yes.
Arnold: May I know your email address?
Chikoo: xxx@hotmail.com
Arnold: Let me check that for you.
Chikoo: Thanks
Arnold: Thank you for waiting. I'll be with you in just a moment.
Arnold: Would you mind holding a few minutes while I file the request?
Chikoo: Sure. No problem
Arnold: Thank you.
Arnold: Thank you for your patience.
Chikoo: Not a problem Arnold.
Arnold: The request number for your request is 4119x9x9x9.
Arnold: You will receive the USB drive within 5 to 14 business days.
Arnold: Is there anything else that I can assist you with?
Chikoo: No. That was all. Thanks for the quick help and give my thanks to Samsung Engineers for making such a fantastic Plasma TV.
Arnold: Thank you for chatting with us. If you have a minute, please click on the blue X close button to receive a transcript of your chat and fill out a brief survey to help us serve you better. Have a wonderful day & Happy Holidays!

chikoo is offline  
post #1873 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chikoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751 View Post

OMG! my wife asked me the EXACT same thing last night LOL!!!

OMG, I asked the same question to myself, no less
chikoo is offline  
post #1874 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 11:40 AM
Member
 
nesbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielc1205 View Post

I am using STAR WARS REVENGE OF THE SITH chapter 38 as my reference pop fest.Beginning of the every episode of 24 season 7(blu ray),and a lot more titles.

Danielc, I am also having the same pops with REVENGE OF THE SITH, both pre firmware and post firmware update. (I have the PN64D8000)

I have a tech coming out next week since Samsung reiterated again to me that the firmware update should have fixed the pops.
nesbo is offline  
post #1875 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
danielc1205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nesbo View Post

Danielc, I am also having the same pops with REVENGE OF THE SITH, both pre firmware and post firmware update. (I have the PN64D8000)

I have a tech coming out next week since Samsung reiterated again to me that the firmware update should have fixed the pops.

Let me know how it goes with tech Nesbo.
danielc1205 is offline  
post #1876 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 12:28 PM
Member
 
redrayderz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nesbo View Post

Danielc, I am also having the same pops with REVENGE OF THE SITH, both pre firmware and post firmware update. (I have the PN64D8000)

I have a tech coming out next week since Samsung reiterated again to me that the firmware update should have fixed the pops.

Nesbo, my tech is coming on Monday. Do you think something is wrong with our boards? Perhaps we will be getting a panel replacement?
redrayderz01 is offline  
post #1877 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
robertw11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well seems like the pops have been resolved, going to tell my buddy to get in touch with Samsung so he can get a stick sent to his house.

Pioneer Elite 111FD
Pioneer 4280HD
Pioneer VSX-1021K
PS3 Slim


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
robertw11 is offline  
post #1878 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 12:58 PM
Member
 
nesbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrayderz01 View Post

Nesbo, my tech is coming on Monday. Do you think something is wrong with our boards? Perhaps we will be getting a panel replacement?

Not sure, Red, but something seems to be slightly different in our sets. Also wanted to tell you that I just reinstalled the firmware for the 10th time and this time I noticed the letters BT-Q / G are gone after the 1024.8. Gonna test to see if pops are still there.
nesbo is offline  
post #1879 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 01:37 PM
Member
 
alexmanny01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does anyone have the update for the d7000?
alexmanny01 is offline  
post #1880 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
roreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chikoo - I think that you're the first person with a 6500 that has posted that they've asked for the firmware. Could you please upload it when you get it so that your less-fortunate cousins to the North (i.e., Canada) can download it?

Thanks
roreman is offline  
post #1881 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 02:50 PM
Member
 
redrayderz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nesbo View Post

Not sure, Red, but something seems to be slightly different in our sets. Also wanted to tell you that I just reinstalled the firmware for the 10th time and this time I noticed the letters BT-Q / G are gone after the 1024.8. Gonna test to see if pops are still there.

I like your persistence!
redrayderz01 is offline  
post #1882 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmanny01 View Post

So does anyone have the update for the d7000?

I posted the update, but I didn't need a rollback drive so I don't have that one. What current firmware are you on?
muffinmcfluffin is online now  
post #1883 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 02:52 PM
Member
 
alexmanny01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea I'm on 1015.
Did the update fix your tv?
Thanks
alexmanny01 is offline  
post #1884 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmanny01 View Post

Yea I'm on 1015.
Did the update fix your tv?
Thanks

Sounds like you need the rollback drive, then.

As of now, the fix is uncertain. With CS on, I'm seeing similar patterns as I always have. With regular television, pops appear slightly diminished, but are still there. I didn't have anything specific to test in CS-off scenarios, though.

Since there is still FBr, it did not fix the issue. It certainly may have reduced them, though.
muffinmcfluffin is online now  
post #1885 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 03:00 PM
Member
 
alexmanny01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Damn
I complete fix would be nice
Thanks for info
alexmanny01 is offline  
post #1886 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 03:29 PM
Member
 
nesbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrayderz01 View Post

I like your persistence!

Ok, I'm done. Still getting pops.
nesbo is offline  
post #1887 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 03:45 PM
Member
 
redrayderz01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nesbo View Post

Ok, I'm done. Still getting pops.

LoL. I'm still trying to get TIVO's version updated to my tv. Trying a different USB stick now, maybe my other one was formatted wrong for doing this. I can't get the TV to recognize the firmware. Gonna keep playing around with it till Monday when the tech comes. I better get a list of specific examples ready for him of content that pops.
redrayderz01 is offline  
post #1888 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 04:32 PM
Member
 
hamiltonpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have upgraded your firmware and your see no POPS can you please post the model of your set and SETTINGS you have so we can compare them?

For those of us who did not get the OPTIMIZATION step I am wanting to see if maybe adjusting settings to your current settings corrects the issue with the right firmware installed.

Thanks.
hamiltonpl is offline  
post #1889 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamiltonpl View Post

If you have upgraded your firmware and your see no POPS can you please post the model of your set and SETTINGS you have so we can compare them?

For those of us who did not get the OPTIMIZATION step I am wanting to see if maybe adjusting settings to your current settings corrects the issue with the right firmware installed.

Thanks.


Zoyd announced in this thread a Google spreadsheet that does exactly what you want.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1389562

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1890 of 2249 Old 01-26-2012, 04:52 PM
Member
 
hamiltonpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay folks. Here it is regarding the OPTIMIZATION issue - at least for me:

Martin: Hi, thanks for reaching out to Samsung tech support. How can I help you today?
Me: Thank you. I have a PN64D550 that is experiencing brighness fluctuations/pops. I was on 1018.1 and have been sent firmware to upgrade to 1019.5 which fixes the problem or is advertised to.
Me: Anyway, I did the upgrade and my understanding that in addition to the upgrade an OPTIMIZATION step occurs or is supposed to. The OPTIMIZATION actually corrects the issue.
Me: When I upgraded last night to 1019.5 - no OPTIMIZATION screen appeared and now the issue is still there.
Me: Can you show me how to force the optimization or do you need to send a service tech to the house to perform this?
Martin: Does this happen on all inputs (like DVD and cable box)?
Me: yes I am watching with HDMI from CABLE and from PS3.
Me: I somehow think something didn't toggle right and the optimizaiton step was fixed. On the AVSForum, everyone who is getting this firmware fix says that the firmware seems to have corrected the issue IF the OPTIMIZATION step occurs. Not everyone is gettting this though.
Me: I mean OPTIMIZATION step was skipped - not fixed.
Me: Someone else reported that 1018.1 upgraded to 1019.5 like me with same model did not work and Samsung is dispatching a tech to do something.
Martin: Just to confirm, have you got any USB from the Samsung with the firmware?
Me: yes i have the firmware file T-MST4AUSC 1019.5
Me: version info SWU_T-MST4AUSC_001019_I01_ES000_111202
Martin: Okay, I am checking the issue.
Me: Thank you.
Martin: I will be right with you.
Martin: Please hold on for a few more minutes, I am still working on the issue.
Me: No Problem.
Martin: Thank you.
Martin: I will file a service request so that current firmware will be sent to you.
Me: I thought 1019.5 WAS the current firmware.
Me: That's what the TV set now says on screen.
Martin: Please let me know your full name, contact number, email address, shipping address and serial number of the unit so that I can file the ticket.
Me: So what are you sending me if I have the current release?
Martin: Thank you for waiting. I'll be with you in just a moment.
Martin: We will send two USB drives, one for roll back to the previous version and one is for latest version.
Me: Which version will it roll back too? Can you explain please?
Martin: It will roll back to previous version.
Me: which version number? I was on 1018.1 before I did the update.
Martin: Yes, it will roll back to that.
Me: If you roll me back to 1018.1 and then reapply 1019.5 - that is no different than what I did already.
Martin: Now it will resolve the issue.
Me: Can you please explain to me how that will resolve the issue if I go back to the very release I was on?
Martin: I'm sorry for the delay. I'll be right with you.
Me: Thanks.
Martin: Please wait for a while I am filing the request.
Martin: You will get it with in 7 to 14 business days.
Me: But, what about my question? I don't understand why rolling back to the version last night only to re-apply the same upgrade will fix the problem?
Martin: Generally this fix the issue.
Me: So doing this will cause the OPTIMIZATON step to kick in?
Me: So you are saying that your documentation is stating that this is the fix for the Optimization step to kick in?
Martin: Yes, you are correct.
Me: If this doesn't fix the problem can CHAT help me or should I just call a technician for warranty repair?
Martin: It should fix the issue.
Me: But if it doesn't?
Martin: then you contact technician for warranty repair.

Anyone ELSE have luck with rollback and upgrading??
hamiltonpl is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off