Does your 2011 Samsung "D" plasma have brightness pops? - Page 73 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your 2011 Samsung D series plasma have brightness "pops"?
Yes 1 100.00%
No 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2249 Old 02-21-2012, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachB10 View Post


Cool. I just wanted to make sure, didn't want to screw anything up. So far I am really impressed with the picture quality, much better than the D550 once I applied the 10 point settings posted.

Off topic but where did you get Zoyds settings? Could you link them?

Xbox One Gamertag = The Barbeerian

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2249 Old 02-21-2012, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751 View Post

Off topic but where did you get Zoyds settings? Could you link them?


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1333561

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2163 of 2249 Old 02-21-2012, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1333561

Larry

Thanks

Xbox One Gamertag = The Barbeerian

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is offline  
post #2164 of 2249 Old 02-22-2012, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Had a Samsung tech come out to look at my set. I showed him the couple of movies that had brightness jumps. He couldn't figure it out and got with someone higher up. It apparently is 3D related in my case. I never got it with tv and 2D and don't have cable. And only happens with Narnia 3D (same scene) and a couple of Imax 3D features (Dinosaurs of Patagonia and the other Imax dino movie). In light of what others have posted about brightness pops, does "only in 3D mode" fit anyone else? I've had the update and it didn't help in the instances mentioned above.
jbug is online now  
post #2165 of 2249 Old 02-23-2012, 09:17 AM
Member
 
iButterfingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iButterfingers View Post

Here is my complete conversation I had over the Samsung chat service today about my brightness popping issue .......

Please wait for a Samsung Agent to respond.

You are now chatting with 'Patty'. There will be a brief survey at the end of our chat to share feedback on my performance today.

Your Issue ID for this chat is **************

Patty: Hi, thanks for reaching out to Samsung tech support. How can I help you today?
Alan : I am having "brightness pops" issues. I understand that there is a fix for this. How can I get the update?
Alan : I have a PN64D8000
Patty: I understand that there is "brightness popping issue" on your TV. Right?
Alan : yes
Patty: Thanks for confirming.
Patty: Let me see how I can help you in this regard.
Patty: May I know the firmware installed on your TV?
Alan : 1024.3
Patty: Thank you for the information.
Patty: Would you mind holding a few minutes while I gather the required information for your request?
Alan : sure
Patty: I'm sorry for the delay. I'll be right with you.
Patty: Thank you.
Patty: Please hold on for a few more minutes, I am still working on the issue.
Patty: Thanks for holding.
Patty: Please try connecting different devices like a blu ray player or cable box and check if the issue persists on all the devices or a particular device.
Alan : the issues happens when watching a blu-ray / DVD, Cable and or streaming content like VUDU.
Patty: Thanks for confirming.
Patty: Please try resetting the TV and check if the issue persists.
Alan : I did that last week with my setting and the issue still is happening.
Patty: Thanks for confirming.
Patty: As the issue persists even after performing all the troubleshooting steps, I understand that the firmware on your TV is not supported. We will send you an updated firmware. Please provide me with the following details.
Patty: 1) Full name.
Patty: 2) Mailing address.
Patty: 3) Contact number.
Patty: 4) Email Id.
Patty: 5) Model code.
Patty: 6) Serial number.
Patty: 7) Date of purchase.
Alan : **** ******, **** **** **** ** ****** ** *****, ***-***-****, ****@******.com, PN64D8000, Purchased back on March 2011 from Best Buy ... I am getting the S# now
Patty: Thank you for all the information.
Patty: Sure, please go ahead.
Alan : S# is Z33************
Patty: Thank you for the serial number.
Patty: Please allow me few minutes while I process the request to send you the updated firmware:
Alan : ok
Patty: Thank you.
Patty: Please hold on for a few more minutes, I am still working on the issue.
Alan : ok
Patty: I apologize for the delay; it is taking me some time to process the request. Please be on hold while I process the request.
Alan : ok
Patty: Thank you.
Patty: Thank you so much for being on hold.
Patty: I have processed the request to send the USB with the updated firmware to fix the issue. Here is the service order number:**********. You will receive the No Charge part within 7-15 business days.
Alan : Thank you very much
Patty: You're welcome. Is there anything else I can assist you with?
Alan : nope thats it ... thank you
Patty: Thank you for chatting with us. If you have a minute, please click on the blue X close button to receive a transcript of your chat and fill out a brief survey to help us serve you better. Have a wonderful day!
Follow Samsung Service on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.
Chat session has been terminated by the Samsung Agent.


So will see after I get the USB stick if this works.


***UPDATE***

I received my USB stick with instructions ...


IMG_1549 by APedini, on Flickr

I went from firmware 1024.3 to 1024.8 and thus far, there have been no pops that I have noticed. I went back to my reference material and they were gone. Looks like we have a winner.
I am not sure that there was an optimization done for I was doing other things while it was updating. So I can not speak to wether or not it did or didn't optimize. To be honest, I am not sure what that even means or what steps it takes to "optimize".
Anyway, if the pops ... well pop up again (yeah, I meant for the pun), I will repost my findings.
iButterfingers is offline  
post #2166 of 2249 Old 02-23-2012, 06:16 PM
Member
 
Frogmen911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pn59d530--had it for one week. Love it except for the pops. Buzzing is not bad. If I cant fix this I'm going to get a d7000 or st30--although id hate to do it. Has anyone had any success eliminating pops on a series 530 tv?? I tried downloading kings 1019.5, however my tv doesn't register it. I can't do the rusamsungcommnicator bc my tv can't connect to the internet. help!
Frogmen911 is offline  
post #2167 of 2249 Old 02-26-2012, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
tegrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iButterfingers View Post

***UPDATE***

I went from firmware 1024.3 to 1024.8 and thus far, there have been no pops that I have noticed. I went back to my reference material and they were gone. Looks like we have a winner.
I am not sure that there was an optimization done for I was doing other things while it was updating. So I can not speak to wether or not it did or didn't optimize. To be honest, I am not sure what that even means or what steps it takes to "optimize".
Anyway, if the pops ... well pop up again (yeah, I meant for the pun), I will repost my findings.


Can someone post the firmware that is being sent out on USB sticks by Samsung? It seems that it would be easier just to download the firmware than have everyone contact Samsung to have them mail it. Thanks.
tegrady is offline  
post #2168 of 2249 Old 02-26-2012, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Amazingly Smooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tegrady View Post

Can someone post the firmware that is being sent out on USB sticks by Samsung? It seems that it would be easier just to download the firmware than have everyone contact Samsung to have them mail it. Thanks.

I have the files for the D8000, but zipped it is 128MB. PM me and I can use files over miles.

Except, of course, in paranoid delusions for those that believe.
Amazingly Smooth is offline  
post #2169 of 2249 Old 02-26-2012, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 328
All the firmwares are in the first post of the FBr thread

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is offline  
post #2170 of 2249 Old 02-26-2012, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
tegrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

All the firmwares are in the first post of the FBr thread

Sorry, I'm new to these forums. Where is the Fbr thread?

Also, I have the 59D6500.

Does anyone know which, if any, of the firmwares fixes my set?

Thanks.
tegrady is offline  
post #2171 of 2249 Old 02-26-2012, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,557
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 328
np, link.

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is offline  
post #2172 of 2249 Old 02-27-2012, 10:38 PM
Member
 
killerz298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tegrady View Post

Can someone post the firmware that is being sent out on USB sticks by Samsung? It seems that it would be easier just to download the firmware than have everyone contact Samsung to have them mail it. Thanks.

We WANT everyone to contact Samsung and report the problem. It is the only way they will keep working on it. You can download it from here, but make sure you report it to them as well.
killerz298 is offline  
post #2173 of 2249 Old 02-28-2012, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Amazingly Smooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerz298 View Post


we want everyone to contact samsung and report the problem. It is the only way they will keep working on it. You can download it from here, but make sure you report it to them as well.

+1

Except, of course, in paranoid delusions for those that believe.
Amazingly Smooth is offline  
post #2174 of 2249 Old 03-03-2012, 11:47 AM
Member
 
alexmanny01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So for the downgrade Samsung will send a tech out? On the d7000
alexmanny01 is offline  
post #2175 of 2249 Old 03-03-2012, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
No reports of a service call resulting in a firmware downgrade (I think at least one person had one, but ended up with them saying it could not be fixed). This probably requires a new main board (which are loaded with old firmware), but they are too cheap to replace it just for a downgrade. Further complaining might get you somewhere though.
AvidHiker is offline  
post #2176 of 2249 Old 03-03-2012, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
kitvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

No reports of a service call resulting in a firmware downgrade (I think at least one person had one, but ended up with them saying it could not be fixed). This probably requires a new main board (which are loaded with old firmware), but they are too cheap to replace it just for a downgrade. Further complaining might get you somewhere though.

I just purchased a PN59D6500 and have been noticing the brightness fluctuations, so I contacted Samsung's 24 hour support chat.

My current firmware version is 1015.0, but the agent told me that I'd be shipped a USB drive with 1014.6 loaded, as that's the one I need to remedy the problem.

I inquired about the fact that this was a downgrade, but she said to just follow the instructions that would come with the package.

I have my doubts, and I hope I don't have to have a Samsung Tech come out... I'll report back after the deed is done.
kitvan is offline  
post #2177 of 2249 Old 03-04-2012, 04:25 PM
Member
 
alexmanny01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just did the upgrade via the Samsung simulator on d7000
The logic board didn't upgrade... Is it really necessary?
Looks like the pops are gone
alexmanny01 is offline  
post #2178 of 2249 Old 03-04-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

Had a Samsung tech come out to look at my set. I showed him the couple of movies that had brightness jumps. He couldn't figure it out and got with someone higher up. It apparently is 3D related in my case. I never got it with tv and 2D and don't have cable. And only happens with Narnia 3D (same scene) and a couple of Imax 3D features (Dinosaurs of Patagonia and the other Imax dino movie). In light of what others have posted about brightness pops, does "only in 3D mode" fit anyone else? I've had the update and it didn't help in the instances mentioned above.

Still waiting on some info on my situation from other users. I was watching Journey To The Center of the Earth and was got about 4 pops during the movie even though I have every thing updated.
jbug is online now  
post #2179 of 2249 Old 03-04-2012, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
JMUdukes07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachB10 View Post

I just picked up my d7000 this afternoon. I applied Zoyd's calibration settings and this looks spectacular. I haven't seen brightness pops so far but the TV is running version 1015.


Did zoyd post settings for the D7000? I see from the settings thread that he posted settings for the D8000 but if he posted some for the D7000 then I would appreciate it if someone could link me to that post.
JMUdukes07 is offline  
post #2180 of 2249 Old 03-04-2012, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUdukes07 View Post

Did zoyd post settings for the D7000? I see from the settings thread that he posted settings for the D8000 but if he posted some for the D7000 then I would appreciate it if someone could link me to that post.


Zoyd has the D8000. Try these for the D7000. This discussion belongs in the calibration thread.

1757 12/23/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post21391301

1348 10/21/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post21111093

922 8/25/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post20868696

921 8/25/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post20868689

553 6/30/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post20639973

320 5/30/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post20505682

224 5/21/2011
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post20470008


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2181 of 2249 Old 03-06-2012, 05:19 AM
Member
 
killerz298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

Still waiting on some info on my situation from other users. I was watching Journey To The Center of the Earth and was got about 4 pops during the movie even though I have every thing updated.

Do the pops happen at the exact same time whenever you play the disc? Are you watching the movie on a DVD, blu-ray, or regular tv? Do you have cinema smooth on? Does it happen during regular tv content? I don't have that movie or I would try it out for you on my set. You should post the exact time codes you see the pops so others can test.
killerz298 is offline  
post #2182 of 2249 Old 03-06-2012, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerz298 View Post

Do the pops happen at the exact same time whenever you play the disc? Are you watching the movie on a DVD, blu-ray, or regular tv? Do you have cinema smooth on? Does it happen during regular tv content? I don't have that movie or I would try it out for you on my set. You should post the exact time codes you see the pops so others can test.

I'm at work now so no exact times for the pops but early on in Narnia 3D blu ray it's the scene in the bed room just before the room floods. The girl and the guy are sitting on the bed, the girl gets up and goes to the picture on the wall as she turns and walks away there is a pop there. Happens same time, same place, every time on this disc and a few other 3D BD disc. I have thirty something 3D BD. I can count on one hand the ones that pop. TV was calibrated by Jeff (UMR). No cinema smooth on, doesn't happen on 2D BD, OTA TV, DVD and PS3 games.

I have Samsungs BDC6900 3D BD player. The pops also happen same time, same place, every time if I play those 3D BD in the PS3. Before I call Samsung back, I wanted to get some user info to see if others are having the exact same problem.
jbug is online now  
post #2183 of 2249 Old 03-06-2012, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Don't think most of us spend much time watching 3D, so I wouldn't expect much feedback. I still find pops on certain material - the "fix" was a major improvement, but not a 100% fix.

Have you tried enabling cinema smooth for 3D films? Just might do the trick.
AvidHiker is offline  
post #2184 of 2249 Old 03-06-2012, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Don't think most of us spend much time watching 3D, so I wouldn't expect much feedback. I still find pops on certain material - the "fix" was a major improvement, but not a 100% fix.

Have you tried enabling cinema smooth for 3D films? Just might do the trick.

Thanks Hiker but I'm sure there are a lot of folks here that use this 3D tv to watch 3D BD.
jbug is online now  
post #2185 of 2249 Old 03-06-2012, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Sure, that's just my impression given all the D-series thread reading I've done over the last few months, and the fact that you've gotten no response in 2 weeks and 2 bumps. Seems these sets attaract a lot of purists with limited interest in 3D capability, such as myself. But I have watched Coraline and Pirates with no popping on my 59D7000 pre-"fix" (CS enabled).

So did you try cinema smooth or is there a reason you don't want to???
AvidHiker is offline  
post #2186 of 2249 Old 03-06-2012, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Sure, that's just my impression given all the D-series thread reading I've done over the last few months, and the fact that you've gotten no response in 2 weeks and 2 bumps. Seems these sets attaract a lot of purists with limited interest in 3D capability, such as myself. But I have watched Coraline and Pirates with no popping on my 59D7000 pre-"fix" (CS enabled).

So did you try cinema smooth or is there a reason you don't want to???

I'm pretty sure CS is off or not selectable in the menu, I'll have to check that when I get home.
jbug is online now  
post #2187 of 2249 Old 03-22-2012, 02:07 AM
Newbie
 
jafo818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to find out what was changed in the new 1026 firmware for the PN64D8000? I installed it tonight and it did not optimize or update my logic f/w.
jafo818 is offline  
post #2188 of 2249 Old 03-23-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
This thread is pretty much dead, current discussion is in zoyd's FBr thread now. Don't expect an official fw to include the logic upgrade, they probably haven't figured out how to do it reliably and may have abandoned the whole idea (not sending USB sticks anymore). Your last option is probably using the resources in zoyd's thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1389562
AvidHiker is offline  
post #2189 of 2249 Old 03-24-2012, 09:34 AM
Member
 
mikediamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

This thread is pretty much dead, current discussion is in zoyd's FBr thread now. Don't expect an official fw to include the logic upgrade, they probably haven't figured out how to do it reliably and may have abandoned the whole idea (not sending USB sticks anymore). Your last option is probably using the resources in zoyd's thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1389562



Samsung is NOT sending USB sticks upon request anymore to fix the brightness pops??? really? why not? And if that IS the case, shouldn't it be easy for someone to post the files on their usb stick and for people to just copy that firmware (because that firmware is only available by mail, not on Samsung website)?
mikediamond is offline  
post #2190 of 2249 Old 03-24-2012, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I am so frustrated by the very noticeable brightness pops that I am almost certainly trading in my set this spring for a Panasonic plasma instead. Samsung has lost my business. The brightness pops are incredibly annoying to me, and I have already updated to 1015, unaware that this would wreck my chances of installing the supposed fix (without going into the service menu which invalidates the Samsung warranty).

So if I want to apply the logic update at this point, my options are:

1. use the method described elsewhere which allows downgrading, but requires access to the service menu which violates the warranty agreement

2. call Samsung and demand a service call for them to apply the logic update, and argue with them because they won't want to do this

Is this correct?

(or 3. Trade it in for a Panasonic 2012 model)

F8000 2D settings:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


F8000 3D settings:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
eagle_2 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off