Does your 2011 Samsung "D" plasma have brightness pops? - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your 2011 Samsung D series plasma have brightness "pops"?
Yes 1 100.00%
No 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2249 Old 04-14-2011, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Aletuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan - Go Wings!
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does your 2011 Samsung "D" series plasma (550, 6500, 7000 or 8000, any size...) have brightness "pops" or instant level changes when viewing?

-Lee
PSN ID: AlphaShepherd
XBL: AlphaShepherd
Aletuner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2249 Old 04-14-2011, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Aletuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan - Go Wings!
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I forgot to request this... but if you vote please note which D series you have and how long you have had it.

I own the PN59D550. I've had it for about three weeks now.

Thanks!

-Lee
PSN ID: AlphaShepherd
XBL: AlphaShepherd
Aletuner is offline  
post #3 of 2249 Old 04-14-2011, 05:16 PM
Member
 
GonzoJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only did when I first bought mine and eco mode was on. Once I went to movie mode and turned that off no more problems.
GonzoJoe is offline  
post #4 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 06:54 AM
Member
 
Erik C. Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 51 inch 550. Yes, I do have pops on mine. I have had it around 2 1/2 weeks now. Eco Sensor is off. I have limited the problem with my other settings, but it is not 100% perfect.
Erik C. Johnson is offline  
post #5 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frankthetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I also have the problem. Bought it at the end of March. Every single advanced option is off, no eco setting is on...it's not bad, but I still occasionally see it.

------------------------------------
PSN/XBO: frankthetoad
frankthetoad is online now  
post #6 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Aletuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan - Go Wings!
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way Toad has a PN59D550.

-Lee
PSN ID: AlphaShepherd
XBL: AlphaShepherd
Aletuner is offline  
post #7 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rr6966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a new 1 week old 59D7000, and I have zero problems right now ( no hum or brightness issue, etc). "Knock on wood", don't want to jinx myself! This TV has exceded my wildest expectation, picture is awesome!
rr6966 is offline  
post #8 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Danno312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a 59D550 since the Sunday it was released for sell, and have yet to see any kind of brightness pop or fluctuation. I also don't have the poor blacks that some people were talking about, I only noticed an improvement in the picture coming from a 58C550.
Danno312 is offline  
post #9 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
PassedPawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Just below the treeline, in Clearwater, FL.
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I voted NO, because I don't think I have "pops". But I do get another anoying overall screen dimming on certain scenes. This only showed up after messing with all the settings, so I think there might be a way to make it go away.

59D6500

#include stdsig.h
PassedPawn is offline  
post #10 of 2249 Old 04-15-2011, 11:23 PM
Member
 
spazzman90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 64D550. Not as noticable in movie mode. The 64d550 and the 64d8000 at the dealer also 'popped'. I'm hoping its a firmware thing and gets fixed soon.
spazzman90 is offline  
post #11 of 2249 Old 04-18-2011, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Aletuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Michigan - Go Wings!
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm swapping my 59D550 out for a 59D6500 this Saturday. Hopefully that will resolve my issue.

-Lee
PSN ID: AlphaShepherd
XBL: AlphaShepherd
Aletuner is offline  
post #12 of 2249 Old 04-18-2011, 09:14 AM
Member
 
tripod39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Blandon.Pa.
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No. PN51D450.Over a month.(Blacks are great.)

WAP 16.

tripod39 is offline  
post #13 of 2249 Old 04-18-2011, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Calcvictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
64D550, no buzz but I do get brightness pops. All eco crap is off, the pops occur in move mode, I only notice it when watching sports(Basketball) in both 2d and 3d.

When the brightness pops occur the whole picture changes brightness, not just darks or lights.

I changed cinema smooth from off to auto1 yesterday and haven't seen them since but it doesn't mean anything yet because I didn't watch any basketball since.


The blacks are awesome.
Calcvictim is offline  
post #14 of 2249 Old 04-18-2011, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Can someone with brightness fluctuations take a video of it occuring? My PN59D7000 exhibits some black level fluctuation that is a function of the APL of the frame. I can perceive it in letterbox bars, but it's not distracting -- the entire frame is certainly not fluctuating in brightness.

For those with the issue, I assume you're in the movie preset with all eco options / motion lighting / dyn contrast, etc. options are off. Does it occur with GAME mode turned on? That disables some extraneous video processing.

Edit to add... could also try max'ing out the cell light (i.e., no more room for the display to "pop" the brightness).
koffas is offline  
post #15 of 2249 Old 04-18-2011, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Calcvictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by koffas View Post

Can someone with brightness fluctuations take a video of it occuring? My PN59D7000 exhibits some black level fluctuation that is a function of the APL of the frame. I can perceive it in letterbox bars, but it's not distracting -- the entire frame is certainly not fluctuating in brightness.

For those with the issue, I assume you're in the movie preset with all eco options / motion lighting / dyn contrast, etc. options are off. Does it occur with GAME mode turned on? That disables some extraneous video processing.

Edit to add... could also try max'ing out the cell light (i.e., no more room for the display to "pop" the brightness).

It's weird, but I think mine actually becomes dimmer and not brighter during the "pop"


I do not have a camcorder so I cannot take a video
Calcvictim is offline  
post #16 of 2249 Old 04-20-2011, 10:26 PM
Member
 
chisler33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calcvictim View Post

It's weird, but I think mine actually becomes dimmer and not brighter during the "pop"


I do not have a camcorder so I cannot take a video

mine too
chisler33 is offline  
post #17 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 12:18 PM
Member
 
andrewbaddeley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My d450 certainly has this occuring. Blacks levels will suddenly rise within a scene where it's obvious they shouldn't. I have extremely good vision at spotting imperfections with this fortunately being the only one at present on the unit. All energy saving and picture processing options off. Occurs on both hdmi and via usb. In the process of doing more testing. Latest firmware didn't fix the issue. I won't be buying a d550 for the living-room at this rate.

Well I did and it does but so slight it's not a problem. I think there is tendency for this to happen more on std def than 720p + content. Up-scaling processing issue?
andrewbaddeley is offline  
post #18 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
hotskins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calcvictim View Post

64D550, no buzz but I do get brightness pops. All eco crap is off, the pops occur in move mode, I only notice it when watching sports(Basketball) in both 2d and 3d.

When the brightness pops occur the whole picture changes brightness, not just darks or lights.

I changed cinema smooth from off to auto1 yesterday and haven't seen them since but it doesn't mean anything yet because I didn't watch any basketball since.


The blacks are awesome.

You sure your not mistaking photographers taking pictures at the game for Brightness pops.
hotskins is offline  
post #19 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 04:51 PM
Member
 
matz8916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No

model: Pn51d6900
matz8916 is offline  
post #20 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 05:58 PM
Member
 
yippykiyaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine changes (becomes slightly dimmer) but only lasts a second or less than returns to normal brightness. Does this several times every hour or so. I don't know what setting I might have the TV set to but seems to change whatever i'm watching!
yippykiyaa is offline  
post #21 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,899
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 409
zoyd is online now  
post #22 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 07:22 PM
Member
 
marleebrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PN51D8000 no problems
marleebrz is offline  
post #23 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
dandaroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
59d8000. have seen brightness dims a few times here and there.
dandaroy is offline  
post #24 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
PN64D7000, no problems.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #25 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 08:23 PM
Member
 
MrJai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
PN59D8000, no problems.

MrJai is offline  
post #26 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 08:57 PM
Member
 
EvanVanVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PN51D7000, no problems...such a sick TV.
EvanVanVan is offline  
post #27 of 2249 Old 05-22-2011, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
dandaroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ones that say no problems are not seeing it. This issue cannot vary from set to set as it is in how the software that drives the panel.
dandaroy is offline  
post #28 of 2249 Old 05-23-2011, 12:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Yoeddy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those that don't see it:

Are your settings at default?
Which mode? Standard, Movie, Dynamic?
Blu-ray 1080p/24 with Cinema Smooth on or off?

Thanks,
Jason
Yoeddy1 is offline  
post #29 of 2249 Old 05-23-2011, 03:28 AM
Newbie
 
legendary82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 59d6900 and my blacklevel rise on certain scenes and my Blackbars are also not stable (im using larryinri settings)
legendary82 is offline  
post #30 of 2249 Old 05-23-2011, 04:59 AM
Newbie
 
IGNIS777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS64D8000FS (EUR, zusammenbauen in Russia).
Movie/Warm 2/Cell light 6/SC - off/All circuits, incl. ECO&light sensor - off.
1080p/24
Brightness pops - YES.

1) Cell light - 20 -> not help
2) Game mode - on -> not help
3) Enter to service menu (INFO-MENU-MUTE-POWER - in EUR).
There is NO OPTION to turn off auto dimming.
IGNIS777 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off