Official LG XXPZ950 Owners Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 1122 Old 02-11-2012, 04:42 AM
Newbie
 
seevee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewwho View Post

I don't think this set does 2D->3D conversion. I've never noticed the feature, at least. The only 3D I've watched has been "real" 3D via the LG 3D app sample videos, and about 3 minutes of Cars-2

Drew

Yep she does 2d to 3d conversion all right. I even looked at my Fiji holdiay snaps on it in 3d (that is, when the *&^%$#@ glasses weren't switching off every 10 minutes)
seevee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 1122 Old 02-12-2012, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
TXSTYLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh it definitely does 2D to 3D.

My Home Theater = Investment In My Entertainment!
TXSTYLE is offline  
post #903 of 1122 Old 02-13-2012, 10:13 AM
Member
 
audioengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try the simplink button and choose HT speaker instead of TV speaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewwho View Post

Is there any trick to getting ARC to work? I've just gotten an Onkyo tx-nr609, and I've tried multiple HDMI 1.4 cables, etc, to feed the audio back to the receiver. I've tested using both DLNA and Amazon video playback and just cannot get it to work.

I'm finding that about the only thing I use my BD player for is the apps, and if I can get ARC to work, then I can get rid of the BD player & free up some space. The TV/receiver are located such that running an optical cable would not be convenient.


Thanks,

Drew

audioengine is offline  
post #904 of 1122 Old 02-13-2012, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by seevee View Post

Hi AVSers

I have the 0.63 AGS250 glasses. If anyone has the 0.64 glasses, could you kindly post a macro photo of the 0.64 label on the side of the box ? Reason being that my local LG reps advise that they do not exist (!).

Thanks

seevee

Call or Live chat with LG. They will send you .64 glasses at no charge. That's what they did for me.
bhazard is offline  
post #905 of 1122 Old 02-13-2012, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
seevee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

Call or Live chat with LG. They will send you .64 glasses at no charge. That's what they did for me.

Maybe for the US market, I am having a "free and frank exchange" with the local LG arm to even acknowledge the 0.64 version exists (!)
seevee is offline  
post #906 of 1122 Old 02-13-2012, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
seevee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabney View Post

Just ask I ordered some yesterday from Adorama.com and they had a them for a few bucks above fifty cheapest i've seen them online but you need a special link to access that price. I called in the order as i wanted to verify they were .64 firmware and he assured me they would be as they were out for a while waiting for the .64 to come in so all glasses from Adorama going forward should be .64 firmware. My glasses are scheduled to be delivered today i'll report back on if they actually are .64 firmware. I love this tv so far can't wait to check out how 3D looks. I actually said i'd never get a 3D set much less with active glasses but the design of this set just drew me in.

Lately Adorama has been my go to company scored my 50PZ750 from them a couple weeks ago for 879 via buy.com. If you want the glasses here's the instructions i followed to get the special price. It's the third one down on this link and by far the cheapest I've ever seen. It will show $71.00 initially but will change to $54.00 once added to your cart.

http://bountii.com/product-11192-lg-...FQnd4AodTmBbug


My glasses are scheduled to be delivered today i'll report back on if they actually are .64 firmware. I love this tv so far can't wait to check out how 3D looks. I actually said i'd never get a 3D set much less with active glasses but the design of this set just drew me in the 3D was just a bonus!

Hmm..I got a reply from Adorama which said:

Hi,


We apologize but our stock is the .63 version.


Thank you for shopping with us we appreciate your business.


Sincerely,

xxxxxxxx. - Sales Representative
E. sales@adorama.com
P.(800)223-2500 or (212)741-0401
seevee is offline  
post #907 of 1122 Old 02-14-2012, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
drewwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXSTYLE View Post

Oh it definitely does 2D to 3D.

Sorry for the mis-information. I'd forgotten that. I tried it last night, and now I remember why I forgot about it

Drew
drewwho is offline  
post #908 of 1122 Old 02-14-2012, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
drewwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioengine View Post

Try the simplink button and choose HT speaker instead of TV speaker.

Aha! That was it!

Thanks,

Drew
drewwho is offline  
post #909 of 1122 Old 02-14-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Why not buy the .63 ones? Doesn't everyone realize by now you'll get new glasses for free from LG because of this? I didn't even have to return mine. 4 free glasses.
bhazard is offline  
post #910 of 1122 Old 02-15-2012, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
TXSTYLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

Why not buy the .63 ones? Doesn't everyone realize by now you'll get new glasses for free from LG because of this? I didn't even have to return mine. 4 free glasses.

And so tell the "exact process/method" I must do to get LG to send me new/correct ones?
Receipts involved?
Forms?
or a simple call?

Thanks

My Home Theater = Investment In My Entertainment!
TXSTYLE is offline  
post #911 of 1122 Old 02-15-2012, 11:24 AM
Member
 
pz750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got new glasses and a letter a week or two later asking for the 0.63 glasses back or else I would be charged... havent sent them back (maybe two weeks since the letter came) so I am just waiting for the bill.... then I will send them back
pz750 is offline  
post #912 of 1122 Old 02-15-2012, 11:32 AM
Member
 
pz750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewwho View Post

Try the simplink button and choose HT speaker instead of TV speaker.

I love the Simplink! I use it with my ps3. turning on the ps3 will turn on the tv and change to hdmi, or if tv is already on, it will change to hdmi. Also great that I can use the tv remote to control my ps3 (at least ps3 menus, and during movies) turning off the tv will also turn off the ps3 but this doesnt always work. i think the ps3 has to be in the main menu i.e. game must have been quit...

anyways Simplink is awesome!
pz750 is offline  
post #913 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 12:18 AM
Member
 
bryster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there no way of updating the firmware on the glasses?

LG 50PZ950T | Panasonic DMP-BD55 | Marantz SR-6006 | Mission M35i Floorstanders | B&W HTM2 Centre | Mission 77DS Rears | B&W DS6 THX Rears | Paradigm PS-1000 Sub | PS3 Slim 320GB |
bryster is offline  
post #914 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 04:19 AM
Member
 
audioengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the thing is, if you have a similar receiver as drew and mine's tx-nr609, turning it off mith the hdmi pass through ON, still draws current.
p.73
"power consumption in standby mode may reach up to a maximum of 43 W"

i have to turn off the power conditioner to calm my "green" mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pz750 View Post

I love the Simplink! I use it with my ps3. turning on the ps3 will turn on the tv and change to hdmi, or if tv is already on, it will change to hdmi. Also great that I can use the tv remote to control my ps3 (at least ps3 menus, and during movies) turning off the tv will also turn off the ps3 but this doesnt always work. i think the ps3 has to be in the main menu i.e. game must have been quit...

anyways Simplink is awesome!

audioengine is offline  
post #915 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 04:49 AM
Newbie
 
mrglu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have been reading this thread for a while and posting for the first time. I have read a lot about the LG Plasma TVs in the past couple of weeks and purchased a 60PZ950. I have been having issues with the sound not working, and at times not getting a picture. I have a time warner hd box connected with a HDMI cable. I have had to turn the box and tv off to get the tv to work again. I have changed HDMI ports and cables and still am having problems. I am able to get the cable guide/menu but no channels or sound. I am getting a new cable box this afternoon to see if that is the issue. I hooked up a DVD player with no issues, connected the cable box with component cables and it worked; however connecting the box with HDMI only got the picture flashing on and off. I am hoping there is no issues with the TV as I really like the picture, the look and the features. Are there any known sound issues? Anything else I can try. I would appreciate any help or info. Thanks.
mrglu is offline  
post #916 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
drewwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioengine View Post

the thing is, if you have a similar receiver as drew and mine's tx-nr609, turning it off mith the hdmi pass through ON, still draws current.
p.73
"power consumption in standby mode may reach up to a maximum of 43 W"

i have to turn off the power conditioner to calm my "green" mind.

Yes, I discovered this immediately after I got the receiver. With HDMI passthrough on, I measured something like 40w at the wall with the receiver "off". My current setup has HDMI passthrough disabled, and runs everything through the receiver, and so requires the receiver to be on to watch TV, since the HDMI passthrough is useless from an energy perspective.

I'm trying to come up with an energy friendly, wife/kid friendly way to do things, that does not require the receiver to be on (for late night TV watching), yet allows everything to be controlled via the harmony.

I can check later myself, but if simple-link is enabled, will the TV volume control the receiver's volume? The main stumbling block in my head is how to make the receiver "optional", yet let the volume control always work.

Drew
drewwho is offline  
post #917 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This is 1296 now at PCRichards. Is that a good deal? Thanks
Dave Mack is offline  
post #918 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 08:11 PM
Member
 
TheAnalyst13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

Any wall mount recommendations for this tv?!?
TheAnalyst13 is offline  
post #919 of 1122 Old 02-17-2012, 10:16 PM
Member
 
TheAnalyst13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How often and how long do you white wash and color wash the
LG?
TheAnalyst13 is offline  
post #920 of 1122 Old 02-18-2012, 05:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
drewwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAnalyst13 View Post

Hey guys,

Any wall mount recommendations for this tv?!?

I used this:
http://www.omnibasics.com/Product/Wall_Mounts/OB120FM/

I picked it up from my local Sam's Club.

Drew
drewwho is offline  
post #921 of 1122 Old 02-18-2012, 08:39 AM
Member
 
th3third's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAnalyst13 View Post

How often and how long do you white wash and color wash the
LG?

I was gaming about 3 hours when I noticed some image retention. It took 5 hours of White Wash and 3 hours of Color Wash in 30 min. intervals, mixed into regular TV and movie watching to completely get rid of the image retention. Overall about 2 days to complete. If there is no source signal, the TV will shut off the Wash screens after 10-15 min. That had an influence on my self-imposed 30 minute limit. The brightness is more intense too.

The one tech that visited my house tried to say the reason I had DSE and bright edges is because the panel wasn't fully broken in (700 hrs) and I should use the Wash screens more. Even though I personally think he is an idiot I have been using them more often.
th3third is offline  
post #922 of 1122 Old 02-22-2012, 05:02 PM
Member
 
derod68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any of you pz950 owners calibrated with an idisplay 2 with HCFR software? Just purchased one and will post results once I give a 2nd go-around but got some really nice results thus far!

Thanks to member pz750 for inspiring me to get one and glad I did!! Feel like scraping surface as only did the color greyscale. Need to fix gamma.
derod68 is offline  
post #923 of 1122 Old 02-25-2012, 06:22 AM
Member
 
iketech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PZ950 Sound issues

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello, I have been reading this thread for a while and posting for the first time. I have read a lot about the LG Plasma TVs in the past couple of weeks and purchased a 60PZ950. I have been having issues with the sound not working, and at times not getting a picture. I have a time warner hd box connected with a HDMI cable. I have had to turn the box and tv off to get the tv to work again. I have changed HDMI ports and cables and still am having problems. I am able to get the cable guide/menu but no channels or sound. I am getting a new cable box this afternoon to see if that is the issue. I hooked up a DVD player with no issues, connected the cable box with component cables and it worked; however connecting the box with HDMI only got the picture flashing on and off. I am hoping there is no issues with the TV as I really like the picture, the look and the features. Arethere any known sound issues? Anything else I can try. I would appreciate any help or info. Thanks.

mrglu


I had the same problem with my 50PZ750, it seems to be a communication problem between the cable box and tv, on the cable box settings I changed the picture format from Auto DVI/Hdmi to Fixed and that fixed the problem.
iketech is offline  
post #924 of 1122 Old 02-26-2012, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
benicio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all - I purchased the 50PZ950 around June of last year and am completely satisfied. I followed the break in instructions and gave it 100+ hours of break in.

Recently, I've noticed two ghostly lines running up each side of the screen (most likely from the non-HD kids programming that gets watched by the children) I would like to run the slides again 1920 x 1080 but for some reason when running through Picassa, they are no longer the right size on the screen and for the life of me, I can't remember how to get them to fill the entire screen. Can someone help?
benicio1 is offline  
post #925 of 1122 Old 02-27-2012, 09:26 PM
Member
 
bryster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any closer with those settings derod?

LG 50PZ950T | Panasonic DMP-BD55 | Marantz SR-6006 | Mission M35i Floorstanders | B&W HTM2 Centre | Mission 77DS Rears | B&W DS6 THX Rears | Paradigm PS-1000 Sub | PS3 Slim 320GB |
bryster is offline  
post #926 of 1122 Old 03-01-2012, 08:39 AM
Member
 
TheAnalyst13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey got another question.

When watching TV on uverse the voice is off, meaning the sound is lagging, lips and sound are not synchronized. I'm using the TV speakers. It happens i think on some channels more than others. Sometimes my wife watches the own network and on the show the voices are lagging the picture by a second or so. i hope I could explain myself. Is it the TV or AT&T?
TheAnalyst13 is offline  
post #927 of 1122 Old 03-01-2012, 09:04 AM
Member
 
TheAnalyst13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pz750 View Post

I had two glasses with this issue. firmware 0.63. they kept turning off every ten minutes so I emailed LG tech support and they sent me two new pairs with firmware 0.64 which do not have this issue. In the email, they let me know that the 0.63 glasses were in fact defective and they were aware of the issue.

Hey guys, I called lg and let them know about these glasses turning off every 10 minutes. I sent a copy of my receipts and they send me 4 new glasses, but all of them are 0.63 again even though I told them I wanted 0.64. I called these idiots at customer service again and they are completely incapable. Which number did you call?
TheAnalyst13 is offline  
post #928 of 1122 Old 03-01-2012, 08:36 PM
Member
 
pz750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just found an email address on lg's website for tech support and wrote a very simple email stating glasses turned off every ten minutes and i read that 0.64 firmware fixed it. Then i asked how can i get LG to fix this?

They sent a polite email saying they were aware of the issue. They asked for serial numbers from my defective glasses and once i provide that they had new glasses sent to me with 0.64 firmware. No phone call necessary.

Give that a shot...
pz750 is offline  
post #929 of 1122 Old 03-02-2012, 06:37 AM
Member
 
audioengine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
id like to try those settings...

Quote:
Originally Posted by derod68 View Post

Have any of you pz950 owners calibrated with an idisplay 2 with HCFR software? Just purchased one and will post results once I give a 2nd go-around but got some really nice results thus far!

Thanks to member pz750 for inspiring me to get one and glad I did!! Feel like scraping surface as only did the color greyscale. Need to fix gamma.

audioengine is offline  
post #930 of 1122 Old 03-02-2012, 07:32 AM
Member
 
FiLeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I jumped in on the 60pz950 from Groupon.com $1299. I hope I will be happy with the set.

I really wanted to go with a larger set, like a 65" or 70", but owning a 58" panny plasma and a 55" hitachi LCD, The wife agro would not put up with more money being spent.

This will be a long wait for the tv it is coming from onecall.com via the groupon.
FiLeZ is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off