Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxVT30 Series Thread Discussion Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 6436 Old 05-22-2011, 02:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Techlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topspin14m View Post

Looks great to me. I've honestly only spent 2 hours with it so far, but the flesh tones look pretty spot on (I did notice a touch of red on Clint Eastwood in Sudden Impact...but that is probably not the best movie to use as a reference). I did notice some things in Sudden Impact (dust flying through the air, etc.) that I have never noticed before...may be just due to the sheer size of the set, but I have seen that movie 5-10 times. There is a chance I'll have it calibrated (my Kuros were professionally calibrated), but honestly, THX mode looks great. I am sure that it is not as accurate as the Kuros, but to my untrained eye, it pops. I have 0 complaints.

I'll also add that hockey/lacrosse were perfect on it. The advantages of plasma were obvious. No motion blur, perfect viewing angles from everywhere.

Where are your brightness and contrast settings? You definitely have a gorgeous panel, I've seen them in person and its pure gold! Just pop in Avatar and you will wet yourself!

Techlord
Techlord is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 6436 Old 05-22-2011, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I'm also very happy with uncalibrated THX. I might consider a professional calibration in a few months (after the firmware upgrade), but not sure whether I'll do it since PQ looks great now.
BillP is online now  
post #363 of 6436 Old 05-22-2011, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Topspin14m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techlord View Post

Where are your brightness and contrast settings? You definitely have a gorgeous panel, I've seen them in person and its pure gold! Just pop in Avatar and you will wet yourself!

Techlord

Not at home with the TV right now, but I just have it set to THX. Whatever the default THX settings are, that is what I have.
Topspin14m is offline  
post #364 of 6436 Old 05-22-2011, 08:32 AM
Member
 
foxdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 65VT30 have the netflix ap built-in? I tried messing with it this morning, but I had to stop fussing with it and do other things.
foxdie is offline  
post #365 of 6436 Old 05-22-2011, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Topspin14m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxdie View Post

Does the 65VT30 have the netflix ap built-in? I tried messing with it this morning, but I had to stop fussing with it and do other things.

Yes. The first page when you enter Viera Cast has it for me.
Topspin14m is offline  
post #366 of 6436 Old 05-22-2011, 09:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxdie View Post

Does the 65VT30 have the netflix ap built-in? I tried messing with it this morning, but I had to stop fussing with it and do other things.

Yes, Netflix is easy to use (the VT30 gives you a code to enter on your computer in your Netflix account, and then you're good to go). But, as I wrote in a previous post, Netflix PQ is better streaming from my Panny 110 BluRay player than from my VT30 (don't understand why, but it's very obvious).
BillP is online now  
post #367 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
jamur87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having the TC-P55VT30 tv delivered on Wednesday to replace my 52" Sony LCD that had a bad LCD panel (thank you extended warranty). Can someone tell me how much the VT30 weighs? The Sony LCD weighs about 50 lbs and hangs above my fire place. I did a search and found a link to a VT30 datasheet and it said this set weighs 85 lbs???? This is my first plasma and I'm now concerned my full motion bracket (spent a lot on it) won't be able to hold the vt30. Based on this thread I can't wait to until Wednesday.
jamur87 is offline  
post #368 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamur87 View Post

I am having the TC-P55VT30 tv delivered on Wednesday to replace my 52" Sony LCD that had a bad LCD panel (thank you extended warranty). Can someone tell me how much the VT30 weighs? The Sony LCD weighs about 50 lbs and hangs above my fire place. I did a search and found a link to a VT30 datasheet and it said this set weighs 85 lbs???? This is my first plasma and I'm now concerned my full motion bracket (spent a lot on it) won't be able to hold the vt30. Based on this thread I can't wait to until Wednesday.

85 lbs without the stand is correct. Remember that the VT30 has a large sheet of glass over the entire front of the TV that has a substantial weight.

If you want a lighter TV then get the GT30.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #369 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
jamur87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

85 lbs without the stand is correct. Remember that the VT30 has a large sheet of glass over the entire front of the TV that has a substantial weight.

If you want a lighter TV then get the GT30.

Wow really? My other choice before choosing this TV was the SONY 55" HX929 backlit LED. That tv has the gorilla glass over the entire front as well and it weighs in at just over 50 lbs. Although it is a totally different technology I did not think the diffrence in weight was that much. I thought it was a typo when I saw it
jamur87 is offline  
post #370 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamur87 View Post

Wow really? My other choice before choosing this TV was the SONY 55" HX929 backlit LED. That tv has the gorilla glass over the entire front as well and it weighs in at just over 50 lbs. Although it is a totally different technology I did not think the diffrence in weight was that much. I thought it was a typo when I saw it

LED and Plasma are completely different and have totally different picture so you should pick whichever one you prefer.

A piece of good electronics "weighing too much" is a problem that I wish we faced more often.

Most wall mounts for 55" screens are rated for 100 lbs anyway, so as long as you check out the spec for yours it should be fine.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #371 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,765
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamur87 View Post

I'm now concerned my full motion bracket (spent a lot on it) won't be able to hold the vt30.

You need to find out what your wall mount is rated to hold. Did you attach it to studs?
htwaits is online now  
post #372 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I just got my panasonic 55VT30 yesterday. I think its ok.. I was kind of expecting more, been sitting around all day messing with the settings. Any ideas? Picture isn't as crisp as I was hoping or bright.
Mo
mohanman is online now  
post #373 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

I just got my panasonic 55VT30 yesterday. I think its ok.. I was kind of expecting more, been sitting around all day messing with the settings. Any ideas? Picture isn't as crisp as I was hoping or bright.
Mo

Did you demo it in store before ordering it?
jmpage2 is offline  
post #374 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Nope, no one had it on display in my area.
mohanman is online now  
post #375 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Nope, no one had it on display in my area.

Well if you are underwhelmed then you should return it. If you are looking for "bright" with a lot of pop then LCD/LED might be better for you.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #376 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

I just got my panasonic 55VT30 yesterday. I think its ok.. I was kind of expecting more, been sitting around all day messing with the settings. Any ideas? Picture isn't as crisp as I was hoping or bright.
Mo

Plasmas need a break in period. For example, the black level at hour 1 is not as dark as at hour 150 for the set. This has been reported by several calibrators...including the infamous D-NICE
Frohlich is online now  
post #377 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Techlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

I just got my panasonic 55VT30 yesterday. I think its ok.. I was kind of expecting more, been sitting around all day messing with the settings. Any ideas? Picture isn't as crisp as I was hoping or bright.
Mo

What is you viewing envirement like, is it brightly lit with direct sunlight? I've seen the ST30s in cosco lighting and it seemed pretty good considering the lighting conditions, is this with or without the 3D glasses? You don't want you picture to be bright, for example my brother-in-law has a older Panasonic plasma and never took it out of "Factory Torch" (Vivid) mode and the dam thing still works after 6 years!

Techlord
Techlord is offline  
post #378 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey guys,
I have it in the lower level. Its not too bright downstairs. Its actually on the ground right now because I don't have the tv stand yet. I have a boxee box and a tivo series 3 hooked up via HDMI. My HDMI cables are pretty good. Movies look pretty good, sometimes I think it lacks the color and crisp. My tivo only goes to 1080i, so I tried switching it to 72op and I think it looks better. I'm using custom and have a lot of the brightness/gamma turned up.
Mo
mohanman is online now  
post #379 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The VT has a louvered filter so if you are looking at it from above it may appear darker than if you look at it straight on, since you say it's on the floor that can be a slight contribution to any darkness you might be seeing. Let us know if viewing angle makes a diff. Also there is a panel brightness setting with low, med, hi for something else to try.
whipit is offline  
post #380 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 04:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
mohanman, try THX mode (IMO, THX out-of-the-box looks best).
BillP is online now  
post #381 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
dont mean to be a bit off topic just trying to find best settings, would u guys recommend my tivo at 1080i or 720p?
Thanks
Mo
mohanman is online now  
post #382 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techlord View Post

for example my brother-in-law has a older Panasonic plasma and never took it out of "Factory Torch" (Vivid) mode and the dam thing still works after 6 years!

Is something wrong with his eyes?
Turrican4D is online now  
post #383 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Techlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turrican4D View Post

Is something wrong with his eyes?

Nothing is wrong with his eyes, it just go's to show you how ignorant consumers can be when it comes to adjusting their display.
Techlord is offline  
post #384 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Techlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

dont mean to be a bit off topic just trying to find best settings, would u guys recommend my tivo at 1080i or 720p?
Thanks
Mo

Which ever looks best to you, only you can judge what is right for your preferences. I know your expectations might be that you should see colors pop out at you, and while this may look better it is not very realistic looking and doesn't represent real life. Plasmas provide a much more realistic picture than most LCDs, LCDs tend to look more like an artificial picture because of all that extra video processing that gives a "Soap Opera" look to where things look to smooth and unnatural.

Techlord
Techlord is offline  
post #385 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 06:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,765
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

dont mean to be a bit off topic just trying to find best settings, would u guys recommend my tivo at 1080i or 720p?
Thanks
Mo

It's your choice. If your Tivo passes ABC, ESPN, and Fox "as is" you could chose the one that best matches what you watch most. When I had a 720p, I had our cable box change everything to 720p. Now that I have a 1080p display, I go with 1080i for everything.
htwaits is online now  
post #386 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
pcdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Hey guys,
I have it in the lower level. Its not too bright downstairs. Its actually on the ground right now because I don't have the tv stand yet. I have a boxee box and a tivo series 3 hooked up via HDMI. My HDMI cables are pretty good. Movies look pretty good, sometimes I think it lacks the color and crisp. My tivo only goes to 1080i, so I tried switching it to 72op and I think it looks better. I'm using custom and have a lot of the brightness/gamma turned up.
Mo

Turning up the brightness is going to wash out your picture and make your black levels worse.
pcdo is offline  
post #387 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
Bdub25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a panny vt30 and I'm new to plasma tvs so I was wondering if I could ask a question.
I just bought Then Fighter on blue ray and it only comes in at the wide screen aspect will this damage my new tv? or is it safe to watch a movie like this every now and again? I'm just a little worried because I really like this tv and I really dont want to hurt it . Thanks
Bdub25 is offline  
post #388 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 06:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Be careful with the black bars on the sides (stretch it for the 1st 100 hours). For bars on the top and bottom, don't worry about it (just make sure to vary it a bit between bars and full screen HDTV). I have only 12 hours on my VT30 and have watched 2 or 3 movies with bars on the top and bottom, and have not seen any image retention.
BillP is online now  
post #389 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 06:54 PM
Member
 
Topspin14m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ohh boy... I totally forgot to run an optical line from the TV to my stereo. Oops. Anyone know if the VT30 can output audio via HDMI? I think I'll be watching Netflix through the PS3 or the TV speakers...
Topspin14m is offline  
post #390 of 6436 Old 05-23-2011, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
Bdub25's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

Be careful with the black bars on the sides (stretch it for the 1st 100 hours). For bars on the top and bottom, don't worry about it (just make sure to vary it a bit between bars and full screen HDTV). I have only 12 hours on my VT30 and have watched 2 or 3 movies with bars on the top and bottom, and have not seen any image retention.

Sweet so I should be fine watching a movie with the bars on the top and bottom? I only have about 7-12 hours on it and have the pixel shifter on and the contrast at 48 brightness at 41 is this good or no and thank you again
Bdub25 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt30 65 Inch 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt30 55 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off