Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxVT30 Series Thread Discussion Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 185 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5521 of 6439 Old 02-16-2012, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
ShawnV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0-X View Post

I received a January 2012 build as replacement from Panasonic. Serial is MJ2011xxxxxx.

Thanks for the info, appreciate it.
ShawnV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5522 of 6439 Old 02-16-2012, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Hammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC Metro Area
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeet25 View Post

Has anyone used a Monoprice LP wall mount, model 6523 to mount your 65VT30 with good results? If so, what was your installation procedure?

I've always been satisfied with Monoprice products in the past, so picked up the 6523 wall mount to use with my 65VT30. I used the 3/4" spacers to gain a bit more room. After hanging the set (sure feels heavier than 124 lbs), I realized that there wasn't enough room behind the panel to plug in all the cables.

So, had to remove the 65VT30 to install the cables prior to hanging and noticed that the upper edge of the wall plate where the hooks attach to was bent (no longer at 90 degrees)! Apparently, the weight of the panel via the hooks pulling on this edge caused it to distort. I was surprised this happened, since the 6523 is rated for 200 lbs. Maybe my unit is defective, I will check with Monoprice.

I have the 4174 model from Monoprice. There is NO bending what so ever. It is their thicker steel one. I used it fort my 50" Panny 850u and not my replacement 65" VT30. Just make sure you put the mount in the CENTER of where the TV is. The mounting holes are wider than the 50" was and I have about 1.75" per side.
Hammie is offline  
post #5523 of 6439 Old 02-16-2012, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Fineberg View Post

does netflix from viera tools offer 5.1? mine are HD only and stereo soudn...doesnt even mention 5.1 ...but on ps3 it does...any help?

There are only a few devices that can currently get Netflix 1080P / 5.1 sound.

From this article http://www.techofthehub.com/2011/10/...ing-to-my.html

'The existing universe of 1080P Netflix devices includes the Sony Playstation3, Roku 2 XS and XD, WD TV Live and now LG 2011 Smart TVs and Samsung Smart Hub enabled devices'

I don't think you will get Netflix 5.1 audio from a VT30. I think it is probably 720P / stereo sound.

You can double check by looking in the Netflix menu for few HD titles to see if 5.1 is available as an option. I use a ROKU 2XS to get 1080P / 5.1 Netflix and it looks and sounds pretty good - not Blu-Ray but certainly not bad.

Edit: This why I really only consider the TV as a display - online options will change much quicker than the life of an average TV and are much better served by cheap external boxes that can be updated or replaced.
undecided is offline  
post #5524 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MrVizio is offline  
post #5525 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 03:18 AM
Senior Member
 
nevea2be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVizio View Post

New firmware update.


http://thetechjournal.com/electronic...-updates.xhtml

That's v2.060 which came out back in June 2011

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c.../down_na1.html
nevea2be is offline  
post #5526 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Sabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm very impressed with the deep black level and shadow detail on my 65vt30..the best I've ever seen on a tv I've owned. I see most reviews say the contrast and black level is superior to the samsung 8000 (rated at 25,000,000 to 1, dynamic). I can't find any published figures for the vt30's contrast ratio. Anyone know how it measures? Thanks

Andrew Sabin
Andrew Sabin is offline  
post #5527 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Just wanted to post my updated Vt30 55 experience. Again I purchased this in May 2011. I was about to take it back, but for the past 2-3 weeks the picture has been absolutely amazing. I have no idea what I did, I didn't change anything. Maybe it was just kick in period. I'm actually so happy now, I don't look at this forum anymore, and I actually do things outside! Yippie! I have actually left the couch rather than messing with all the stupid settings for hours at a time! I'm alive!!!

Mo
mohanman is online now  
post #5528 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

Just wanted to post my updated Vt30 55 experience. Again I purchased this in May 2011. I was about to take it back, but for the past 2-3 weeks the picture has been absolutely amazing. I have no idea what I did, I didn't change anything. Maybe it was just kick in period. I'm actually so happy now, I don't look at this forum anymore, and I actually do things outside! Yippie! I have actually left the couch rather than messing with all the stupid settings for hours at a time! I'm alive!!!

Mo

How do you return a tv bought almost a year ago?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5529 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Amazon is coming to pick up my 65VT30 that has a couple of dead pixels which are pissing me off

I found 3

They will come with a new one on Monday and take back this one


Once question I have is how do you activate the ISF Day and Night setting

And I downloaded the latest FW which is 2200 I believe...

Is the color gamut patch already installed or do I have to do that on my own?
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5530 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:41 AM
Member
 
menace2society's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today my 100hrs are up and I would like to begin putting in D-nice's settings, I would like to make sure I'm clear about how this is to be done so please bare with me if I'm asking a questions that has all ready been answered. 1)values without a - should be considered a + 2)When entering the values, one should add or subtract from the default value. ex. 10 Gain: -50 means to subtract 50 from the default value.? If this is wrong could someone please explain. After 100hr of waiting I would hate to have it all for naught

TIA:Menace

PS: the TV is the 65vt30 mj1294

I'd rather give you $10 than 10 minutes. I can always earn $10, where do I go to earn 10 minutes.
menace2society is offline  
post #5531 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by menace2society View Post

Today my 100hrs are up and I would like to begin putting in D-nice's settings, I would like to make sure I'm clear about how this is to be done so please bare with me if I'm asking a questions that has all ready been answered. 1)values without a - should be considered a + 2)When entering the values, one should add or subtract from the default value. ex. 10 Gain: -50 means to subtract 50 from the default value.? If this is wrong could someone please explain. After 100hr of waiting I would hate to have it all for naught

TIA:Menace

PS: the TV is the 65vt30 mj1294

Yes its self explanatory.

-50 is from default 0 +50 is up from 0
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5532 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mvp2005fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by menace2society View Post

Today my 100hrs are up and I would like to begin putting in D-nice's settings, I would like to make sure I'm clear about how this is to be done so please bare with me if I'm asking a questions that has all ready been answered. 1)values without a - should be considered a + 2)When entering the values, one should add or subtract from the default value. ex. 10 Gain: -50 means to subtract 50 from the default value.? If this is wrong could someone please explain. After 100hr of waiting I would hate to have it all for naught

TIA:Menace

PS: the TV is the 65vt30 mj1294

There is a link in the FAQ for this where D-Nice explains it. I would also suggest reading the link to avoid the other common question people have with this procedure (i.e. where to find some of the settings).

Good luck!
mvp2005fan is offline  
post #5533 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mvp2005fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

Amazon is coming to pick up my 65VT30 that has a couple of dead pixels which are pissing me off

I found 3

They will come with a new one on Monday and take back this one


Once question I have is how do you activate the ISF Day and Night setting

And I downloaded the latest FW which is 2200 I believe...

Is the color gamut patch already installed or do I have to do that on my own?

If you are referring to the unofficial "professionals only" patch, you'll have to install that on your own. The latest official patch deals with Vieracast.
mvp2005fan is offline  
post #5534 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 10:20 AM
Member
 
menace2society's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvp2005fan View Post

There is a link in the FAQ for this where D-Nice explains it. I would also suggest reading the link to avoid the other common question people have with this procedure (i.e. where to find some of the settings).

Good luck!

Thank you. Just wanted to be clear.

I'd rather give you $10 than 10 minutes. I can always earn $10, where do I go to earn 10 minutes.
menace2society is offline  
post #5535 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvp2005fan View Post

If you are referring to the unofficial "professionals only" patch, you'll have to install that on your own. The latest official patch deals with Vieracast.

How those that unoffical patch help me in terms of setting up my tv

Or is that only for people paying to have it calibrated by a pro
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5536 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

Once question I have is how do you activate the ISF Day and Night setting

This requires special software (either ControlCAL 2.0 or CalMan) and is normally done in the course of a professional isf Calibration. Those two modes lock out most of the user adjustments as those are set ("calibrated") during the calibration.

That is not to say that the other modes (Custom, etc) cannot be calibrated.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #5537 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post

This requires special software (either ControlCAL 2.0 or CalMan) and is normally done in the course of a professional isf Calibration. Those two modes lock out most of the user adjustments as those are set ("calibrated") during the calibration.

That is not to say that the other modes (Custom, etc) cannot be calibrated.

Thank YOU

And this other user patch to download...DO I need it for my tv or is that something that is only required if you call a pro to calibrate the set

I know that CNET said that calibration reports on the VT30 under custom were perfect but did not look perfect when watching

Would this patch help that color issue they had
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5538 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Nizyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Played 1h30mins of BF3 today nonstop. Haven't reached 100hrs yet. Oh my god it's amazing. No problems whatsoever. It's going to be nice when I can up the brightness a bit more on game mode though.

This together with my new HT system OMFG IT's SO FRICKIN EPIC. BF3 has one of the best sound mapping I've ever heard. So far I have no complaints about my purchase. I just wish I could get rid of this annoying way of thinking about IR when I game.. however it's probably for the best in the beginning.

I reckon STAR WARS will be frickin EPIC on this set. Peace out
Nizyo is offline  
post #5539 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post


How do you return a tv bought almost a year ago?

American express why?
mohanman is online now  
post #5540 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

American express why?

Just was not aware that you could do that. Thats a good perk
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5541 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I've been going back and forth between the TC-P65VT30 and the Samsung UN60D8000 (led) for a few weeks now. The panasonic is a better price but, I've never owned a plasma and am skeptical, even though the reviews are phenomenal. I own an led now, Samsung UN55C8000, and have been very happy with it - with the exception of slight flashlighting. I'm torn because I know I'll be happy with the led but, I might be amazed by the Panasonic. Any advice from former LED owners that could be shared with me? Will I be happy with daytime brightness? I mostly watch in daytime - sports - and lighting in my living room can be very bright.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is online now  
post #5542 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by menace2society View Post

Today my 100hrs are up and I would like to begin putting in D-nice's settings, I would like to make sure I'm clear about how this is to be done so please bare with me if I'm asking a questions that has all ready been answered. 1)values without a - should be considered a + 2)When entering the values, one should add or subtract from the default value. ex. 10 Gain: -50 means to subtract 50 from the default value.? If this is wrong could someone please explain. After 100hr of waiting I would hate to have it all for naught

TIA:Menace

PS: the TV is the 65vt30 mj1294

For the VT30, all defaults are 0, so it's very easy.
BillP is offline  
post #5543 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tank_PD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohanman View Post

American express why?

How exactly does this work? I bought mine w/ an AmEx card and went through a warranty issue, etc. I should have just tried this. The store does not take the return. Does AmEx come and get the TV?
Tank_PD is offline  
post #5544 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post

I've been going back and forth between the TC-P65VT30 and the Samsung UN60D8000 (led) for a few weeks now. The panasonic is a better price but, I've never owned a plasma and am skeptical, even though the reviews are phenomenal. I own an led now, Samsung UN55C8000, and have been very happy with it - with the exception of slight flashlighting. I'm torn because I know I'll be happy with the led but, I might be amazed by the Panasonic. Any advice from former LED owners that could be shared with me? Will I be happy with daytime brightness? I mostly watch in daytime - sports - and lighting in my living room can be very bright.

LED sucks if it is Edge and the flashing alone is enough to make me want to throw that tv into the river

A plasma has incredible pq with great uniformity.

If I want to plug my pc into a tv I go with an LED

If I want to watch tv and movies along with sports there is nothing like a plasma

Even the great Sharp Elite has uniformity issues which is a killer personally
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5545 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 04:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

LED sucks if it is Edge and the flashing alone is enough to make me want to throw that tv into the river

A plasma has incredible pq with great uniformity.

If I want to plug my pc into a tv I go with an LED

If I want to watch tv and movies along with sports there is nothing like a plasma

Even the great Sharp Elite has uniformity issues which is a killer personally

I think you plug your pc into a LCD with perhaps a LED back light.
htwaits is offline  
post #5546 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I think you plug your pc into a LCD with perhaps a LED back light.

Yea what he said. LOL
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #5547 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mvp2005fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post

I've been going back and forth between the TC-P65VT30 and the Samsung UN60D8000 (led) for a few weeks now. The panasonic is a better price but, I've never owned a plasma and am skeptical, even though the reviews are phenomenal. I own an led now, Samsung UN55C8000, and have been very happy with it - with the exception of slight flashlighting. I'm torn because I know I'll be happy with the led but, I might be amazed by the Panasonic. Any advice from former LED owners that could be shared with me? Will I be happy with daytime brightness? I mostly watch in daytime - sports - and lighting in my living room can be very bright.

If you are completely happy with the LCD look, then I wouldn't suggest buying the Panny without seeing the Panny in person in a bright area.

Most who love LCD's like it because of the bright, punchy image achievable with that technology. If you need maximum brightness in a bright room, they can't be beat.

If that's what you are after, I'd suggest the Sony 929 or the Sharp Elite which is more pleasing to my eye than the Sammy.

OTOH, there are those that prefer the softer plasma look for it's realism, blacks, and film-like look.

I think it comes down to personal preference and the main type of material you are planning on watching. (For example, if you're a huge hockey fan, the VT30 may not be the TV for you! )
mvp2005fan is offline  
post #5548 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 08:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Unfortunately, none of the stores in my area have the VT30. I did take a look at the GT30 up against a Sony EX720 led and it was surprisingly bright - not nearly as the led but good enough for my room. I keep my led at 50% of it's backlight for daytime viewing - not a fan of dynamic mode. So, I'm going to go with the VT30 and see how I like it.

fdsfds
Tom Riddle is online now  
post #5549 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
M5Rahul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ to TX to CO.... missing New Jersey :(
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShawnV View Post

So no one has received a TV lately with a serial number higher then xx1215xxxxxx ?

MJ1319xxxxxx
November 2011
65VT30

Seller: Amazon
M5Rahul is offline  
post #5550 of 6439 Old 02-17-2012, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
M5Rahul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ to TX to CO.... missing New Jersey :(
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post

...
I was also extremely dissapointed with the Amazon white glove service
....

I am upset because how am I going to unload the tv myself and pack it all by myself and then these guys come and leave the new tv there in the box and not help me load it

Very upsetting

I can understand. The 65" is one heavy SOB!!

Try offering some $$ politely... works every time!!

I can't imagine having to pack this titanic of a TV lol..
M5Rahul is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt30 65 Inch 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt30 55 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off