Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxVT30 Series Thread Discussion Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ed Van Belkom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oshkosh,WI
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orso View Post

Afaik the power cord doesn't stick out like usually since Pana get rid of its connector on the VT30.

Check this tear down pic


Thanks that helps but I would still like to see a picture with the rear cover on.
Ed Van Belkom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashvilleMark View Post

Chris,
Do you have a model number or source for that wall box?
Thanks,
Mark

CARLON SC300PRB RECESSED 3GANG DUAL VOLTAGE OLD WORK PLATE

Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #33 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 08:36 AM
Member
 
NashvilleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, sir! Much appreciated.
NashvilleMark is offline  
post #34 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dominus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Orso: Now that app is cool.

Cheers!
Dominus is offline  
post #35 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 01:04 PM
Member
 
PhantomRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my TV all setup and rocking.

Thanks to Chris at Cleveland Plasma!
( Prolly shouldn't have snapped the photo when watching Man vs Food )


Anyone know of good settings for it?
PhantomRogue is offline  
post #36 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
PreventerWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomRogue View Post

Got my TV all setup and rocking.

Thanks to Chris at Cleveland Plasma!
( Prolly shouldn't have snapped the photo when watching Man vs Food )


Anyone know of good settings for it?

Off topic question, but that gray device on the bottom right corner of your TV stand... is that a cable box or a power conditioner?
PreventerWind is offline  
post #37 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 01:55 PM
Member
 
PhantomRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PreventerWind View Post

Off topic question, but that gray device on the bottom right corner of your TV stand... is that a cable box or a power conditioner?

The light grey/silver is the DVR (Comcast) ontop of that is the Cable Modem from them.
PhantomRogue is offline  
post #38 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 03:20 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomRogue View Post

The light grey/silver is the DVR (Comcast) ontop of that is the Cable Modem from them.

Just a suggestion: Could you put the AVR on the bottom left and then put the CC on the middle shelf with the PS3 and Xbox on either side?

And BTW SWEET TV!!!!!
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #39 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Ishniknork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orso View Post

There's an app for that : Panasonic Viera AR Setup Simulator
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33h6K...layer_embedded

Whoa!!! That's Cool!

Ishniknork is offline  
post #40 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Am now wondering how this TV will look with bias lighting behind it with that silver trim.
I'm guessing... not great.
fahrenheit is offline  
post #41 of 6436 Old 04-29-2011, 07:47 PM
Member
 
NashvilleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post


Just a suggestion: Could you put the AVR on the bottom left and then put the CC on the middle shelf with the PS3 and Xbox on either side?

And BTW SWEET TV!!!!!

Funny, I was thinking the same thing, but I was trying not to say anything!
NashvilleMark is offline  
post #42 of 6436 Old 04-30-2011, 12:13 AM
Member
 
alucard3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


With the P42VT30 Panasonic has finally managed to produce the same sort of black level response produced by Pioneer’s now legendary KURO TVs. And that’s just the start of an all-round spectacular performance with both 2D and 3D sources.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/panaso...vt30_TV_review
alucard3 is offline  
post #43 of 6436 Old 04-30-2011, 04:55 AM
 
JoeSpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting that review. Wife nixed the Samsung and gave me the green light for a 65" VT30. Of course I bought her a new bed first to grease the way!
JoeSpi is offline  
post #44 of 6436 Old 04-30-2011, 06:41 AM
Member
 
cronuskronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13


But whats the measurement? anyone can say their plasma has blacks as good as the kuro(a fine gent measured last years samsung C8000 with updated firmware to to have better blacks than the kuro in some European website). from what i am reading about this plasma on the internet i see no improvements in black levels compared to the VT25.

From the pictures posted in this thread i see the screen looks more gray when blank and the bezel reflects more than the VT25.
cronuskronos is offline  
post #45 of 6436 Old 04-30-2011, 01:07 PM
Member
 
PhantomRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashvilleMark View Post

Funny, I was thinking the same thing, but I was trying not to say anything!

I will sooner or later, im still re-arranging the living room to accommodate new furniture.
PhantomRogue is offline  
post #46 of 6436 Old 04-30-2011, 04:04 PM
 
GSDTrainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDTrainer View Post

Just a suggestion: Could you put the AVR on the bottom left and then put the CC on the middle shelf with the PS3 and Xbox on either side?

And BTW SWEET TV!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NashvilleMark View Post

Funny, I was thinking the same thing, but I was trying not to say anything!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomRogue View Post

I will sooner or later, im still re-arranging the living room to accommodate new furniture.

I saw that and my OCD kicked in. If I could have I would have reached through the screen and rearranged everything for you and straightened out all the wires nice and neatly
GSDTrainer is offline  
post #47 of 6436 Old 04-30-2011, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
windycitycy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What can the USB ports be used for on the VT30?

WindyCityCy
------------
Earthquake Cinenova Grande 7 - Marantz AV7005 - dual JL F113 subs - James Loudspeaker 63-OW speakers - Oppo BDP83SE - SB Touch
windycitycy is offline  
post #48 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #49 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 02:05 PM
Member
 
alucard3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Review for the VT30 >>> Click Here She tested very well !!

Nice!
alucard3 is offline  
post #50 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
hotskins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks for the review Chris!!
Can someone copy and paste it please.
My link doesnt work. At work and they dont allow access to some sites.
hotskins is offline  
post #51 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 02:35 PM
Member
 
alucard3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12


Quote:


...
So, with that important disclaimer out of the way, the VT30 measured with our Klein K-10 in dark surroundings and calibrated mode we got 0.02 cd/m2 at 0IRE and 79.35 cd/m2 at 100IRE (approx. 3,967:1 on/off) using standard window patterns from our Sencore VP401. Our 8 month old VT20 measured 0.04 cd/m2 at 0IRE and 75.12 cd/m2 at 100IRE calibrated (1878:1 approx on/off). Our 2 year old Pioneer LX5090 Kuro measured 0.03 cd/m2 at 0IRE and 110.1 cd/m2 at 100IRE calibrated (3,670:1 approx). Ansi-contrast measurements on the Pioneer were 0.04 cd/m2 black and 85.4 cd/m2 white averaged results, with the VT30 managing 0.03 cd/m2 black and 72.4 cd/m2 white averaged results.

As we have said take what you will from those measurements for the three TVs we have set up here side by side and calibrated in the same room. Looking at those results there should be a big difference between the VT20 and VT30 by almost double the on/off contrast figures but in actual content viewing (watching the same Blu-ray clip on all three screens together at the same time), it is very difficult to put those numbers into definite visual differences with moving content. The VT30 is blacker than the VT20 by a small margin in real-life viewing (and in ideal conditions) with not a lot to separate the VT30 and LX5090, not just in terms of black level, but with general calibrated image quality. Some will ask why we haven’t pushed the brightness of the sets to higher levels (some claim 120 cd/m2 as a standard), but another important point that is always forgotten with calibrated results is that the image has to be easy on the eye for long term viewing and complimentary to the viewing room conditions. We have gone for what we determine the ideal viewing circumstances based on industry standards and as close to perfect as you can get on a consumer TV. This means a dimly lit viewing room with suitable placement of ambient lighting. These conditions won’t match some reader’s environments and we recommend that you take this in to account when making your purchasing decision. We have tested the VT30 in brighter conditions below in the picture section, however...

alucard3 is offline  
post #52 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 04:06 PM
Member
 
marleebrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here's a full review released today for the Euro vt30 for all you Panny fans out there
http://www.avforums.com/review/Panas...ma-Review.html
I dont know, maybe I'm not supposed to put other forum info on here. Please let me know if I'm not. Thanks. just thought some would find it useful or helpful.
marleebrz is offline  
post #53 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
John Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like this is the set to get. No matter what comes out next year I'm sure people will be happy with this thing. Nice review.
John Kramer is offline  
post #54 of 6436 Old 05-01-2011, 05:56 PM
Member
 
surftb15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by marleebrz View Post

here's a full review released today for the Euro vt30 for all you Panny fans out there
http://www.avforums.com/review/Panas...ma-Review.html
I dont know, maybe I'm not supposed to put other forum info on here. Please let me know if I'm not. Thanks. just thought some would find it useful or helpful.

They get two pair of 3D glasses?
Oh the horror
surftb15 is offline  
post #55 of 6436 Old 05-02-2011, 10:20 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Anyone know the depth of the VT30 at the top? How about the bottom where the speakers are?

I only see the depth under specs of the stand. I can't find the depth without the stand.

Thanks
boe is online now  
post #56 of 6436 Old 05-02-2011, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
trirog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone please tell me if this Plasma can be remote controlled via RS232. I have a HTPC i use to control all features on my Amp and would love to control the tv too.

If not are there any other TVs in this quality range that offer RS232 remote controlling?

Thanks!
trirog is offline  
post #57 of 6436 Old 05-02-2011, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #58 of 6436 Old 05-02-2011, 03:58 PM
Member
 
NashvilleMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe
Anyone know the depth of the VT30 at the top? How about the bottom where the speakers are?

I only see the depth under specs of the stand. I can't find the depth without the stand.

Thanks
Looking at the manual, it appears that the 65VT30 panel is 1.6" at the top and 2.4" at the bottom.
NashvilleMark is offline  
post #59 of 6436 Old 05-02-2011, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucard3 View Post


They got the MLL-measurements wrong.

0.02 cd/m2 On/Off and ANSI 0.03 cdm/2??? That would be worse than the GT30 (and worse than the ST30 for ANSI).

And the LX5090 KURO 0.03 cd/m2?


EDIT: -> Calibrated black level (black screen) 0.012 cd/m2
Calibrated black level (ANSI checkerboard) 0.013 cd/m2

Out of the hdtvtest.co.uk-Review. And that's only the 42"!
Turrican4D is offline  
post #60 of 6436 Old 05-02-2011, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cronuskronos View Post

But whats the measurement? anyone can say their plasma has blacks as good as the kuro(a fine gent measured last years samsung C8000 with updated firmware to to have better blacks than the kuro in some European website). from what i am reading about this plasma on the internet i see no improvements in black levels compared to the VT25.



1) The VT25 rises

2) The VT25 has floating blacks
Turrican4D is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt30 65 Inch 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt30 55 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off