Official Panasonic 2011 TC-PxxVT30 Series Thread Discussion Thread [No Price Talk] - Page 41 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 6455 Old 07-03-2011, 05:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,690
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Firmware update come out all the time for all types of products. They will get it right sooner or later if there are any bugs left.

I hope you are correct. But it's fair to acknowledge there have been dozens (hundreds?) of CE products in the 2000s with known bugs and upgradeable firmware where there has never been an appropriate fix.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
bontrager's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Murrysville, PA
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthTV View Post

Can one wait to do the 100 hours of slides or is there some reason it has to be done when you first get the TV.? At some point in time I will probably want to use D-Nice's settings, but as I understand it they are not even available yet for the VT-30's.

I used the break in slides for about 8 hours when the TV was new (the first day).

I no longer feel it's necessary since my 2011 model doesn't seem to have any burn in effect what so ever. A good case in point is when using it as a computer monitor for hours, I don't see any faint burn-in images when I switch to another source ( my original 65 " 2010 model had this problem for awhile. Also, my 2010 model had a defective 3D picture ( red, blue and green video noise. Panasonic replace it with this VT series model at no charge).

Can anyone else verify this?
bontrager is offline  
post #1203 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 05:32 AM
Member
 
djKianoosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the 65" vt30 for about a month now. I havent see any image retention issues at all. I watch FIOS HD and bluray movies from the PS3, and have played a lot of Call of Duty and even more Gran Turismo. Also been watching a lot of futbol lately (gold cup and copa america). After any of these multi-hour sessions i just havent noticed any retention issues. Not like my 2007 panny pz700u 50", and even that one, the IR would go away pretty quickly once you display a good full screen show for a minute. Those science/history type HD channels are great for that.

But this vt30 has been great in that regard. Also, i keep my brightness/contrast at or below the defaults even for gaming. The set is plenty bright already.
djKianoosh is offline  
post #1204 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Duffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by djKianoosh View Post

I've had the 65" vt30 for about a month now. I havent see any image retention issues at all. I watch FIOS HD and bluray movies from the PS3, and have played a lot of Call of Duty and even more Gran Turismo. Also been watching a lot of futbol lately (gold cup and copa america). After any of these multi-hour sessions i just havent noticed any retention issues. Not like my 2007 panny pz700u 50", and even that one, the IR would go away pretty quickly once you display a good full screen show for a minute. Those science/history type HD channels are great for that.

But this vt30 has been great in that regard. Also, i keep my brightness/contrast at or below the defaults even for gaming. The set is plenty bright already.

How does the picture quality compare to your 700U? I have the 58" version and am thinking about this set or the GT30 in a 65" or possibly the Sharp 70" when the higher end models come out.
Duffinator is offline  
post #1205 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,959
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 835 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by bontrager View Post

I used the break in slides for about 8 hours when the TV was new (the first day).

I no longer feel it's necessary since my 2011 model doesn't seem to have any burn in effect what so ever. A good case in point is when using it as a computer monitor for hours, I don't see any faint burn-in images when I switch to another source ( my original 65 " 2010 model had this problem for awhile. Also, my 2010 model had a defective 3D picture ( red, blue and green video noise. Panasonic replace it with this VT series model at no charge).

Can anyone else verify this?

I have always felt that break in was a waiste of electricity, to each his own though. A unit will break in with normal usage.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1206 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 09:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

I have always felt that break in was a waiste of electricity, to each his own though. A unit will break in with normal usage.

Fully agree (I use THX on my VT30 and have not seen any IR). IMO, the sole reason for D-Nice's slide ritual is if you follow it by the letter in order to use his post-100 hour settings. It's not needed to reduce IR or burn-in.
BillP is online now  
post #1207 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bghead8che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to be having some issues with my P65TV30 that popped up when using a calibration disc:

1. I am using THX mode and 3:2 pulldown is grayed out. 24p setting is grayed out as well. I've tried resetting the TV to no avail. I can't get these options to appear.

2. When using a sharpness pattern I found that the sharpness setting does not change the image. In other words, there is NO change from 0 to 100. Even 2 inches from the TV and I can't see any difference. For some reason the sharpness setting does not do anything.

3. Same deal on the contrast. Contrast changes from 0-55 but if I go from 55-100 there is NO change in contrast. I'm not missing a subtle change. There is no change at all. This does not seem right. I'm using a contrast test pattern to gauge the changes. Surely there should be some difference between setting your contrast at 55 and 100?

Can someone put on a test pattern or static image and see if they can duplicate my results? I'm wondering if I have a defective TV or this is normal behavior.

I am using a OPPO player through a Onkyo 5508 processor.

ANY help appreciated!

Thanks,

-Brian

Brian R. Smith
Bghead8che is offline  
post #1208 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
See below...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bghead8che View Post

I seem to be having some issues with my P65TV30 that popped up when using a calibration disc:

1. I am using THX mode and 3:2 pulldown is grayed out. 24p setting is grayed out as well. I've tried resetting the TV to no avail. I can't get these options to appear.

You must send a 1080i signal for the 3:2 setting to become active. It should be set to "On". Similarly, the 24p setting is only active when a 24p signal is received from the player.

2. When using a sharpness pattern I found that the sharpness setting does not change the image. In other words, there is NO change from 0 to 100. Even 2 inches from the TV and I can't see any difference. For some reason the sharpness setting does not do anything.

Same here. I've set mine to 0.

3. Same deal on the contrast. Contrast changes from 0-55 but if I go from 55-100 there is NO change in contrast. I'm not missing a subtle change. There is no change at all. This does not seem right. I'm using a contrast test pattern to gauge the changes. Surely there should be some difference between setting your contrast at 55 and 100?

I definitely don't see this behavior in THX mode, but I do in Cinema. Cinema has very little adjustment in Contrast but THX is very adjustable. Are you sure you have C.A.T.S. turned off? This overrides the contrast setting and should be turned off.

Can someone put on a test pattern or static image and see if they can duplicate my results? I'm wondering if I have a defective TV or this is normal behavior.

I am using a OPPO player through a Onkyo 5508 processor.

ANY help appreciated!

Thanks,

-Brian

jkozlow3 is offline  
post #1209 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevin_mahaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

See below...

All of those are good points, but you might also make sure the Onkyo isn't adding any processing (I'm not familiar with the model, but options like noise reduction and scaling will effect the outcome), or take it out of the chain altogether to see if there is a difference.
kevin_mahaney is offline  
post #1210 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whipit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SGF
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bghead8che View Post

I seem to be having some issues with my P65TV30 that popped up when using a calibration disc:

1. I am using THX mode and 3:2 pulldown is grayed out. 24p setting is grayed out as well. I've tried resetting the TV to no avail. I can't get these options to appear.

2. When using a sharpness pattern I found that the sharpness setting does not change the image. In other words, there is NO change from 0 to 100. Even 2 inches from the TV and I can't see any difference. For some reason the sharpness setting does not do anything.

3. Same deal on the contrast. Contrast changes from 0-55 but if I go from 55-100 there is NO change in contrast. I'm not missing a subtle change. There is no change at all. This does not seem right. I'm using a contrast test pattern to gauge the changes. Surely there should be some difference between setting your contrast at 55 and 100?

Can someone put on a test pattern or static image and see if they can duplicate my results? I'm wondering if I have a defective TV or this is normal behavior.

I am using a OPPO player through a Onkyo 5508 processor.

ANY help appreciated!

Thanks,

-Brian

In THX mode a lot of features are non adjustable. You may have to go to custom or pro modes, or have it ISF calibrated to unlock ISF modes, to be able to use more settings. You may need a 24p signal going into the tv first before the setting may be available.

I don't see much change in sharpness on my older tv, not sure you will on the '30, it may be more useful on SD sources.

You may be hitting the automatic brightness limiter and have to use regular content or different picture mode to see a difference with contrast.

Someone that actually owns one of these may give you more accurate responses.
whipit is online now  
post #1211 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bghead8che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I removed the Onkyo from the loop and used a different HDMI cable to be safe and I have the same problem. Sounds like 3:2 should not be on to begin with so that is fine. Also sounds like others are not seeing a difference between different sharpness settings. I just need to figure out why there is no adjustment above 50 or so on the contrast setting. CATS is off.

Is there a contrast limiter? Can someone else who owns a 65" or 55" perhaps try a contrast pattern and see if they see the same thing?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

-Brian

Brian R. Smith
Bghead8che is offline  
post #1212 of 6455 Old 07-04-2011, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bghead8che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:

I got a chance to play with the TV more this evening. The limited contrast only seems to happen in Cinema and THX mode. The other modes do not appear to have any limit.

Seems to be some kind of built in limitation vs. a defective TV.

-Brian

Brian R. Smith
Bghead8che is offline  
post #1213 of 6455 Old 07-05-2011, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
runner66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys i just got my replacement tcp65vt30 everything looks great but i have a littel promblem maybe you can help me out. when i am on any input the tv looks fine but when i go to the anti image retenion scroling bars i see a what looks like a white block in the top left corner. i wil not see it on any input just on the anti image retenion scroling bars. the tv is only 3hours old will this go away for me.
runner66 is offline  
post #1214 of 6455 Old 07-05-2011, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
runner66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for everyones help but i fixed it
runner66 is offline  
post #1215 of 6455 Old 07-06-2011, 12:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Topend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has any just used the Spears & Munsil bluray to calibrate their VT30. This is all I will do.

Bearing this in mind, should I not be looking at the VT30 and buy the ST30 instead?

Cheers,
Dave.

Topend

I listen to 50% HT and 50% 2 channel music.
Topend is offline  
post #1216 of 6455 Old 07-06-2011, 08:00 AM
Member
 
LKinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by runner66
hey guys i just got my replacement tcp65vt30 everything looks great but i have a littel promblem maybe you can help me out. when i am on any input the tv looks fine but when i go to the anti image retenion scroling bars i see a what looks like a white block in the top left corner. i wil not see it on any input just on the anti image retenion scroling bars. the tv is only 3hours old will this go away for me.
I see the same thing but haven't worried about it myself. I'd run this for about 30 seconds whenever I saw a little retention from a logo, etc. in the first 50 hrs or so. Haven't had to use it since.
LKinDC is offline  
post #1217 of 6455 Old 07-06-2011, 05:10 PM
Member
 
tomcatania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had my 55 inch VT30 professionally calibrated by the Geek Squad after 100 hour burn in. Took 2 hours, guy did a very professional job and picture took my breath away. I have a lot of TVs, including a dedicated home theater with a JVCRS2 running through a Denon 5308 to 105 inch screen and the Panny is the best picture in the house.
tomcatania is offline  
post #1218 of 6455 Old 07-06-2011, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
John Kramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcatania View Post

Had my 55 inch VT30 professionally calibrated by the Geek Squad after 100 hour burn in. Took 2 hours, guy did a very professional job and picture took my breath away. I have a lot of TVs, including a dedicated home theater with a JVCRS2 running through a Denon 5308 to 105 inch screen and the Panny is the best picture in the house.

Had my v10 done today buy our local geek squad agent. Took him 2 hours as well. Looks great. I could eyeball brightness and contrast and sharpness but the color and white balancing and gamma is great now. Dare I say close to perfect.
John Kramer is offline  
post #1219 of 6455 Old 07-06-2011, 11:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,871
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Reposted here so that more owners can read them. To read other owner's reports, use the link at the bottom of my post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cluckey View Post

Calibration by Gregg Loewen

Well, just had my VT30 calibrated by Gregg. I have to admit I was one of those who wanted to see if the VT30 would give the reference Kuro a run for it's money. Placed my order three months ago and sat back and waited. Then I made the dreaded mistake....I started reading the forums. Fbr, color, can't use built in calibration, firmware change, future firmware change needed..OMG. Did i make a mistake, should i have purchased the sammy. Now don't get me wrong, I read all the forums and have learned a great deal but it seems like we all want the perfect display and if there is the slightest issue, we tend to want to leap off of a tall building. I guess when you spend that kind of money you want the best possible picture. Well I digress, this was my third experience with Gregg. He had previously calibrated my nine year old pioneer Elite 64". So after about two hours and a great time with Gregg explaining each and every step of the process, all I can say is WOW!!!! No fbr issues, blu ray and 3d are out of this world. Do yourself a favor and give Gregg a call. You wont be sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by discodol View Post

Over the years I have had folks from Lion Audio and Video Consultants calibrate my displays and continue to be impressed with the results. First I had Chuck Williams calibrate my Mits 65" RPTV to clean up the work of the first person who worked on my first HDTV. What a difference, Chuck made my Mits sing! When I wanted to have my 58" V10 Panny calibrated earlier this year I called Lion again and this time Gregg Loewen http://www.lionav.com/mgreggloewen.php turned a great image into a truely fantastic masterpiece. Both Chuck and Gregg take great pride and interest in their work and share that enthusiasm with their clients as they work. I was enthralled as they connected their instruments and began the calibrations explaining exactly what they were doing and why along the way. All of a sudden all the terms and expressions I had been reading about for years on this forum started to fall into place and make sense.

Then I got the 3D bug and moved up to Panny's flagship, the stupendous 65" VT30. Wow, the picture of this set looked the best of any coming out of the box. Having seen for myself what a difference Gregg made for improving enjoyment of my V10 I contacted him immediately to have him work his magic once again. Gregg had already calibrated several VT25 and VT30 sets so he was very familiar with their settings and the latest versions of software from CalMAN and ControlCal. He explained how each worked or in this case did not work and proceeded with his manual calibration of my set accessing settings from the regular and service menus to do his thing. I looked at some material before and after his calibration and could tell a huge difference in the brightness, black levels, and clarity he achieved. He also did a "before" calibration using the automated software and methodology so I could see the difference in the auto and his manual results. He easily proved to my eyes that his instruments and manual adjustments got noticeably better results than the auto cal software. Gregg left me with seperate settings for 2D and 3D viewing to take into account the darkening effect active shutter glasses have on images just in time for me to see Federer and Rafa get nailed at Wimbleton in 3D! I knew what a great picture Gregg could deliver for 2D watching; I now know what an awesome picture Gregg can calibrate for 3D viewing too!

Now after several days of watching my calibrated VT30 I can say with conviction that having panels calibrated is money very well spent! If you are sitting on the calibration fence, do not hesitate, go for it! And if you are on the fence trying to decide who to hire to transform your panel look no further than Gregg Loewen at Lion Audio!

htwaits is offline  
post #1220 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 07:58 AM
Member
 
haevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I want this TV after seeing the 2D version of Avatar playing on it at Best Buy. Can't decide on the size though...
haevolution is offline  
post #1221 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hhaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 47
new firmware release today?

(Just saw David K's tweet)
hhaller is offline  
post #1222 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,959
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 835 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by haevolution View Post

I want this TV after seeing the 2D version of Avatar playing on it at Best Buy. Can't decide on the size though...

Buy the bigger set, you will regret it if you do not. 99% do here on these fine forums....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1223 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
have to agree with Chris. Since getting a 70 inch Sharp I am looking at ways to make millions to afford an 85 inch Panny :-)
Suzook is offline  
post #1224 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 11:27 AM
Member
 
haloimplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't regret getting the 55 instead of the 65...I can already see the dithering from 8 feet on my couch the extra 10 inches would make the screen a pixel dancing mess to me from that distance.
haloimplant is offline  
post #1225 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 11:51 AM
Member
 
haevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by haloimplant View Post

I don't regret getting the 55 instead of the 65...I can already see the dithering from 8 feet on my couch the extra 10 inches would make the screen a pixel dancing mess to me from that distance.

I'm worried about the same thing - I'm sitting closer than you and currently have a 52 lcd.
haevolution is offline  
post #1226 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhaller View Post

new firmware release today?

(Just saw David K's tweet)

Interesting. My VT30 is not reporting an update being available, so perhaps Panasonic sent it directly to David prior to public release.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #1227 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by haloimplant View Post

I don't regret getting the 55 instead of the 65...I can already see the dithering from 8 feet on my couch the extra 10 inches would make the screen a pixel dancing mess to me from that distance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by haevolution View Post

I'm worried about the same thing - I'm sitting closer than you and currently have a 52 lcd.

My 65" at 9ft (eye to screen) looks great on good source material. Less than ideal on crappier cable feeds, but I imagine that's the case for anything over 50" or so.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #1228 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 12:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,690
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked: 883
It's not a firmware release, it's a fairly amusing "solution":

http://www.scribd.com/fullscreen/595...37s4w15dkf2u73

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
post #1229 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

It's not a firmware release, it's a fairly amusing "solution":

http://www.scribd.com/fullscreen/595...37s4w15dkf2u73

Ah - I misread David's tweet. I was thinking they sent him an actual fix to the problem described in the diagram instead of just the diagram with some lame workaround.

I agree - only using "low" panel brightness is not an acceptable "fix" to the color decoding issues by any means.

Furthermore, even "low" panel brightness has over-saturation issues when color is adjusted properly. According to the S&M and AVSHD discs, color should be set at "50" on my display, but this is almost cartoonish when viewing most real content. A setting of "45" is much more accurate to my eye after hours of tweaking using actual viewing material. Ironically, D-Nice's recommended settings for several Panasonic models over the past 2 years have entailed using a color setting of "45" as well (VT25, ST30, GT30), so I believe my visual findings are correct.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #1230 of 6455 Old 07-07-2011, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

Ah - I misread David's tweet. I was thinking they sent him an actual fix to the problem described in the diagram instead of just the diagram with some lame workaround.

I agree - only using "low" panel brightness is not an acceptable "fix" to the color decoding issues by any means.

Furthermore, even "low" panel brightness has over-saturation issues when color is adjusted properly. According to the S&M and AVSHD discs, color should be set at "50" on my display, but this is almost cartoonish when viewing most real content. A setting of "45" is much more accurate to my eye after hours of tweaking using actual viewing material. Ironically, D-Nice's recommended settings for several Panasonic models over the past 2 years have entailed using a color setting of "45" as well (VT25, ST30, GT30), so I believe my visual findings are correct.

Over on HDJ, several people have used low panel brightness during professional calibration and after that is complete reduced color to 40. The next firmware update is supposed to fix the color gamut issues.
dsinger is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65vt30 65 Inch 3d Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55vt30 55 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off