Panasonic ST30 vs GT30 vs VT30 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 11:42 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by hborges101 View Post

I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the difference in the panel glare from the ST vs the GT and VT. The ST still uses older panel technology that gives you a lot of initial glare from one pane of glass to the next... Look at an ST (and below for that matter) at an angle and you will see a reflection of the image, almost like a doubling. The GT and VT use a single glass panel (similar to the 7000 and 8000 Samsung plasmas) that don't have this issue.

Not quite correct. The ST30 uses the exact same Panel and AR Filter that the GT30 does. Neither of these have that extra layer of outer glass like most of the older ones did, and neither the ST30 nor GT30 exhibits the off-angle internal reflection issue like i get on my three older models. I specifically looked for this effect on the ST30 and GT30 more than a few times and neither of them have this issue.

The 2011 AR Filter is completely new - it's now a "Louver Filter" and is different than the filter technology that was used on previous generations. It's definitely better than last year's filter. The AR Filter is bonded directly onto the face of the plasma panel on the ST30 and GT30, and the glass face of the ST30 and GT30 is the actual plasma panel itself, just like it is on the Samsung 7000 and 8000 plasmas, the Pioneer Kuros, and the 2010 Panny G20/G25/GT25/VT20/VT25. Whatever reflections or glare that you see on the ST30 is identical to the GT30.

The VT30 is different - it adds an extra layer of glass in front of the plasma panel which serves as the "One Sheet of Glass Design" edge-to-edge bezel. And unlike the ST30 and GT30, the VT30's AR Filter is bonded to this outer sheet of glass instead of on the actual panel itself. The AR Filter on the VT30 is a little blacker than the one on the ST30/GT30.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
NightowlKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL USA
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do Panasonics still suffer from rising black levels?
NightowlKY is offline  
post #63 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spdntrxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton,Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightowlKY View Post

Do Panasonics still suffer from rising black levels?

In panny words that would be a no.. but they do mention the word "relatively constant"

Johnny
Klipsch,Denon,Parasound,Sunfire
spdntrxi is offline  
post #64 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 02:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightowlKY View Post
Do Panasonics still suffer from rising black levels?
We'll know in a few months after CNET and some calibrators have logged a few hundred hours on it.
BillP is offline  
post #65 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 02:24 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightowlKY View Post
Do Panasonics still suffer from rising black levels?
Here's a thread about it:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1337671

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #66 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
tmorin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the ST30 for the master bedroom because :

1. I assumed this panel wouldn't have the problems the panny panels had in the past, ie losing some dynamic range on the low end (black)

2. Smallest 1080P available. (bedroom)

3. netflix

4. bedroom - ie darker than the living/media room.


I have a 73" Mitsubishi rear projection in the living room (circa 2000), 1080i. I have since moved my HTPC from the living room to the bedroom. (netflix on the ST30 has an audio stutter/noise problem - they're working on it).

The picture quality is so phenomenal if Panny made a 73" VT I would buy it today! I could probably live with the 65" but the wife wants a bigger 1. hehe
tmorin is offline  
post #67 of 329 Old 05-30-2011, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Anodyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmorin View Post

(netflix on the ST30 has an audio stutter/noise problem - they're working on it).

It's been fixed. The firmware was recently released. It works great for me.
Anodyne is offline  
post #68 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 04:00 AM
Member
 
JWestTexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have. Only done minimal research on the differences between the three sets but if you stop into a BB ask about the GT31, I'm pretty sure it's just a store-specific GT30 that comes with two pairs of 3D glasses and Avatar 3D and a Skype camera, but that warrants a looking into. The HT section I work in has a 55GT31 set up in a nice little system right across from that new 70-inch Sharp Quattron (which, even after our calibration, looks terrible to me.) The GT31 is ISF Calibrated and looks splendid, amazing 3D, although that could just be Avatar 3D. If your local BB is worth a damn go in and ask to check it out, if they actually care about HT they'll have this TV done up nice and pretty.
JWestTexas is offline  
post #69 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 10:38 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about calibration abilities for the three? Are you able to do much with the greyscale colour temperature etc. with the ST and GT? From what I understand, the GT has a THX mode that isn't liked by all, but, you can manage good calibration in the custom mode. Is the VT better in this respect? Are the calibration abilities of the ST not as good as the GT?
cpc is offline  
post #70 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
tmorin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anodyne View Post

It's been fixed. The firmware was recently released. It works great for me.

I just checked. I have version Firmware version 2.0. Audio stutter is still there.

I have FIOS 35mbps down/ 35mbps up. WIRED gige LAN

Anodyne, can you check your version number?

bingo

http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e...l.TC-P46ST30.D

version 2.04 is supposed to be the fix.

strange - the auto download didn't work.
tmorin is offline  
post #71 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
Source41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the 1080P/24 capability of the VT really worth the extra money? I am thinking of getting the 50 or the 55 of the GT but if the VT is really worth it I might consider it.
Source41 is offline  
post #72 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 04:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Source41 View Post

Is the 1080P/24 capability of the VT really worth the extra money? I am thinking of getting the 50 or the 55 of the GT but if the VT is really worth it I might consider it.

IMO it's worth it, but nobody can answer whether it's worth it to you. You also get better filter/better black levels.
BillP is offline  
post #73 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 04:52 PM
Newbie
 
tmorin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, upgraded to 2.04

watching the same flick as before, no audio noise/stutter/chatter.

just throw the firmware on a fat formatted USB stick and plug it in. No need for a SD card, in fact the SD card didn't work.
tmorin is offline  
post #74 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigerriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Source41 View Post

Is the 1080P/24 capability of the VT really worth the extra money? I am thinking of getting the 50 or the 55 of the GT but if the VT is really worth it I might consider it.

I thought all of these sets handled 24 frame film content.

Tigerriot is offline  
post #75 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
Francksoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerriot View Post

I thought all of these sets handled 24 frame film content.

They do. For some reason, lots of users seem to mixup the 1080p/24p playback feature (which they all have), with the additional 96hz (24x4) refresh rate feature of the VT30, which is supposed to further reduce flicker when playing 24p material.

But yes, they all do 1080p/24p playback.
ST30 and GT30 do it @48hz or @60Hz I think. Not sure about @48Hz.
Some have said they couldn't tell the difference between 24p @60Hz (ST30 / GT30) and 24p @96Hz (VT30).
Francksoy is offline  
post #76 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 05:55 PM
Member
 
43sbest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph1 View Post

At BB, they had the PN59D8000 right next to the 55GT30. Both TVs were showing Golf on HD. After comparing the two pictures on both sets, I have to say the Samsung produces better picture quality. The edges look more crisp and sharper. I wanted to believe the GT30 is better, but in my honest opinion, I would pick the Samsung despite I like the design of the Panny. I don't know if the setting that made the difference. Perhaps some tweaking on the Panny could have produce a more desire picture. I just don't know.


Samsung bought back my C8000 because it was putting out 120 degrees (checked it with and inferred gun) of heat in two places; there was no fix-----great picture but the worlds most expensive heater. I have checked the D8000 and it feels the same.
My dealer will get the 60 inch ST30 this week and I'm getting one. I've checked the back of the ST55 and it's feels about the same as the as an LCD.
43sbest is offline  
post #77 of 329 Old 05-31-2011, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by 43sbest View Post

Samsung bought back my C8000 because it was putting out 120 degrees (checked it with and inferred gun) of heat in two places; there was no fix-----great picture but the worlds most expensive heater. I have checked the D8000 and it feels the same.
My dealer will get the 60 inch ST30 this week and I'm getting one. I've checked the back of the ST55 and it's feels about the same as the as an LCD.

Agreed. My 59" D8000 gets HOT. I'm returning it mainly for the buzz however, but I welcome a cooler running AND lower buzzing ST30 as a replacement (verified this to be the case in 2 quiet showrooms).
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #78 of 329 Old 06-01-2011, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just saw that 55gt31 package in BB yesterday. It was definitely nice to see a bundle finally.

The biggest suprise to me seemed to be the thickness of the GT compared to the 60ST30. The 60ST30 and 65" version seemed very thick. I thought the thicknesses were similar across the board, but maybe that stops once you go past 55 inches.

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #79 of 329 Old 06-01-2011, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
b_riedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Per my budget, I am deciding between the GT30 in 60" or the VT30 in 55". Which would you choose and why?
b_riedy is offline  
post #80 of 329 Old 06-01-2011, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_riedy View Post

Per my budget, I am deciding between the GT30 in 60" or the VT30 in 55". Which would you choose and why?

Just out of curiousity, how did you eliminate the ST30 from your choices?

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #81 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_riedy View Post

Per my budget, I am deciding between the GT30 in 60" or the VT30 in 55". Which would you choose and why?

How far will you be sitting from the plasma? IMO, the VT30 has a better PQ (better filter, better blacks, better handling of 24p material, better THX mode PQ), so I would go that route unless you are sitting too far away for a 55" display.
BillP is offline  
post #82 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Dick West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How well does it upscale content via component cables? Have there been any changes to the types of content it upscales compared to previous models?
Dick West is offline  
post #83 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
KickItUpANotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

How far will you be sitting from the plasma? IMO, the VT30 has a better PQ (better filter, better blacks, better handling of 24p material, better THX mode PQ), so I would go that route unless you are sitting too far away for a 55" display.

At what point in feet do you feel (or the general viewer) a 60" is needed? And what about a 65"?

Thanks to AVS for helping me with my first home theater system!

Panasonic ST30, Klipsch RB-61 II, RC-42 II, Denon AVR-1611, dual Lava 10" subwoofers

KickItUpANotch is offline  
post #84 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 06:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick West View Post

How well does it upscale content via component cables? Have there been any changes to the types of content it upscales compared to previous models?

Huh? These all have a native resolution of 1080p. All material not at 1080p already will be upscaled to 1080p. I believe the VT30 does better processing than the lower models (but I could be wrong), and so would do a better job of upscaling non-1080p material.
BillP is offline  
post #85 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 06:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by KickItUpANotch View Post

At what point in feet do you feel (or the general viewer) a 60" is needed? And what about a 65"?

I sit 11' from a 55" VT30 and like it. At 12', you certainly could go 60' (and many will tell you to go 65').
BillP is offline  
post #86 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by KickItUpANotch View Post

At what point in feet do you feel (or the general viewer) a 60" is needed? And what about a 65"?

The thing is, viewing distance vs. size is pretty subjective, and personally I think it depends on if you're watching movies vs. TV. You'll also find that displays seem to shrink over time. What looks big on day 1 tends to look a lot smaller 30-60 days later.

I found my 58" display to be too small for watching movies at 11ft in my old house, so I bought a 106" screen and a projector.

I'm now 8ft away (eye to screen) in my new apartment and the 59" D7000 I had (replacing it with a 60" ST30) seemed nearly perfectly sized (though nowhere near as immersive as my old projection setup). I would personally not go with anything less than 55" at 8ft myself.

For watching movies, I'd recommend a 26-30 degree viewing angle or higher if possible. Unfortunately, this is impossible to achieve with seating distances over 9-10ft even with a 65" display. This site will tell you the viewing angle for various sizes and viewing distances: http://myhometheater.homestead.com/v...alculator.html
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #87 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
b_riedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

How far will you be sitting from the plasma? IMO, the VT30 has a better PQ (better filter, better blacks, better handling of 24p material, better THX mode PQ), so I would go that route unless you are sitting too far away for a 55" display.

I will be sitting 12 feet from the display. I feel like 60" would be perfect, but I feelmlike I am being pulled to the VT30 55" for quality.
b_riedy is offline  
post #88 of 329 Old 06-02-2011, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_riedy View Post

I will be sitting 12 feet from the display. I feel like 60" would be perfect, but I feelmlike I am being pulled to the VT30 55" for quality.

Is that eye-to-screen? I assume you've measured carefully? 60 or 65" for sure from 12 feet. 12 feet is far and 65" will not look that big after a few weeks. The 65" ST30 is roughly the same price or cheaper than the 55" VT30 - most people will tell you to go for the increase in size...10" makes a HUGE difference and the ST30 will look roughly 90% as good as the VT30 if you dial it in properly. Yes, the VT30 is better. However, the differences aren't as dramatic as you'd think and if the ST30 and VT30 were in different rooms (as opposed to side by side) and properly calibrated, you'd think both of them looked great IMO.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #89 of 329 Old 06-03-2011, 01:14 PM
Member
 
stickz2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone w/ Panasonic Canada and the rep told me that the ST30 and GT30 series panel is not a true 3D panel and that it's software inside that processes the 3D and sends it to the display to give the 3D effect. They said that the VT30 series is the only TV that has a true 3D panel. Is this person off their rocker or are they correct? When I read the Canadian website it makes no reference to this at all. The site says the GT30 and VT30 both have 3D panels.
stickz2 is offline  
post #90 of 329 Old 06-03-2011, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Joseph1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stickz2 View Post

I just got off the phone w/ Panasonic Canada and the rep told me that the ST30 and GT30 series panel is not a true 3D panel and that it's software inside that processes the 3D and sends it to the display to give the 3D effect. They said that the VT30 series is the only TV that has a true 3D panel. Is this person off their rocker or are they correct? When I read the Canadian website it makes no reference to this at all. The site says the GT30 and VT30 both have 3D panels.

So sad if it's true.
Joseph1 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off