Samsung D7000 & D8000 Settings/Calibration Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 3305 Old 07-28-2011, 10:17 AM
Member
 
JeffDaniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by datamage View Post

Are Larry's 2nd settings the ones in the chart?

they are in the thread somewhere. There is another cal set in there too that is pretty damn good.
JeffDaniel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 3305 Old 07-28-2011, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
yeahbuddy661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here you go Larry's 2nd cals they worked great for me. Service menu is mute 182 power.

Make sure you go to the options then factory reset. Dont reset any sm values. Let me know if this works for anyone else. Also I dont know if it matters but my panel is y101 I have there are y404 also so if people listed there panel number we might see differences in fluctuations.
Good luck, Dustin.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Here are the results of the new calibration. The main changes are in the color space section and the resulting 10 point values. (I didn't have enough time to do them carefully the first time around.) The peak output for these settings on my 64D7000 is about 29 ftL with a gamma of about 2.22. I have attached graphs for the RGB tracking, gamma, and the color gamut.

Movie mode
Cell light 15
contrast 80
brightness 62
sharpness 10
color 48
tint 50/50
black tone off
dynamic off
gamma 1
flesh tone 0
edge enhance off
motion lighting off
xvYcc off
color tone warm2
digital noise off
mpeg noise off
color space
Red_r 100
Red_g 90
Red_b 80
Green_r 100
Green_g 20
Green_b 0
Blue_r 65
Blue_g 0
Blue_b 87
Yellow_r 0
Yellow_g 100
Yellow_b 0
Cyan_r 100
Cyan_g 40
Cyan_b 50
Magenta_r 79
Magenta_g 81
Magenta_b 55
White Balance
r-off 28
g-off 22
b-off 22
r-gain 27
g-gain 22
b-gain 22
10-pt
r1 0
g1 0
b1 1
r2 -1
g2 0
b2 0
r3 -1
g3 0
b3 0
r4 -1
g4 0
b4 0
r5 -2
g5 0
b5 1
r6 -2
g6 1
b6 0
r7 0
g7 0
b7 0
r8 -2
g8 0
b8 2
r9 1
g9 0
b9 -1
r10 0
g10 1
b10 -1
yeahbuddy661 is offline  
post #723 of 3305 Old 07-28-2011, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
yeahbuddy661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffDaniel View Post
they are in the thread somewhere. There is another cal set in there too that is pretty damn good.
Yeah I saw a 3rd set but these worked so good I am sticking with them. I tried em with everything and they are solid as F.
yeahbuddy661 is offline  
post #724 of 3305 Old 07-28-2011, 01:42 PM
Member
 
datamage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeahbuddy661,

Sweet, thanks! Will try these out when I get home.

(And thanks to Larry for posting them to begin with.)
datamage is offline  
post #725 of 3305 Old 07-28-2011, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
yeahbuddy661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone mind sharing their panel number? I thought they were all the same but some have posted different numbers.

My panel is y101 build date april.

BTW its located on the small square sticker on left side.
yeahbuddy661 is offline  
post #726 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 12:21 AM
 
3reach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you still get fluctuating after a calibration?
3reach is offline  
post #727 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cant get to the service menu
With tv on or off
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #728 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
ivanyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahbuddy661 View Post

Here you go Larry's 2nd cals they worked great for me. Service menu is mute 182 power.

Make sure you go to the options then factory reset. Dont reset any sm values. Let me know if this works for anyone else. Also I dont know if it matters but my panel is y101 I have there are y404 also so if people listed there panel number we might see differences in fluctuations.
Good luck, Dustin.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Here are the results of the new calibration. The main changes are in the color space section and the resulting 10 point values. (I didn't have enough time to do them carefully the first time around.) The peak output for these settings on my 64D7000 is about 29 ftL with a gamma of about 2.22. I have attached graphs for the RGB tracking, gamma, and the color gamut.

Movie mode
Cell light 15
contrast 80
brightness 62
sharpness 10
color 48
tint 50/50
black tone off
dynamic off
gamma 1
flesh tone 0
edge enhance off
motion lighting off
xvYcc off
color tone warm2
digital noise off
mpeg noise off
color space
Red_r 100
Red_g 90
Red_b 80
Green_r 100
Green_g 20
Green_b 0
Blue_r 65
Blue_g 0
Blue_b 87
Yellow_r 0
Yellow_g 100
Yellow_b 0
Cyan_r 100
Cyan_g 40
Cyan_b 50
Magenta_r 79
Magenta_g 81
Magenta_b 55
White Balance
r-off 28
g-off 22
b-off 22
r-gain 27
g-gain 22
b-gain 22
10-pt
r1 0
g1 0
b1 1
r2 -1
g2 0
b2 0
r3 -1
g3 0
b3 0
r4 -1
g4 0
b4 0
r5 -2
g5 0
b5 1
r6 -2
g6 1
b6 0
r7 0
g7 0
b7 0
r8 -2
g8 0
b8 2
r9 1
g9 0
b9 -1
r10 0
g10 1
b10 -1

Here are
ivanyc is offline  
post #729 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu3flam3 View Post

I cant get to the service menu
With tv on or off

Why do you want to get into the SM. All the settings are in the user menu. The only reason you would need to get into the SM would be to turn on cal-day and cal-night.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #730 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 12:56 PM
Member
 
lemarjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnymac51 View Post

Why do you want to get into the SM. All the settings are in the user menu. The only reason you would need to get into the SM would be to turn on cal-day and cal-night.

What do you get using Cal-Day/Night that you can't calibrate using "movie"?
lemarjo is offline  
post #731 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 01:21 PM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any good settings for xbox360 with game mode on?
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #732 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
donnymac51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemarjo View Post

What do you get using Cal-Day/Night that you can't calibrate using "movie"?

You get 2 extra modes to calibrate and lock so no one can tinker with the settings. These modes have a CMS and 10 pt WB adjustments.

Precision Video Calibrations
THX Certified Video Calibrator
Calibrating Florida and Georgia
donnymac51 is offline  
post #733 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnymac51 View Post

You get 2 extra modes to calibrate and lock so no one can tinker with the settings. These modes have a CMS and 10 pt WB adjustments.


Hi Don,

Isn't it a shame that all this is explained in detail on the previous page? Rhetorical question.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #734 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu3flam3 View Post

Any good settings for xbox360 with game mode on?

There is really no need for game mode. One of the biggest reasons I love this set.

I get no input lag that would hamper my play on non game mode.

I use Cal Day picture settings.

Game Mode looks dull
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #735 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
yeahbuddy661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think Blu3 wanted to go into service menu for a factory reset in order to try and help with fluctuations.

Its easy to do its on about every samsung thread. With the tv off press mute, 182 then power. Dont press it super fast or it wont go. Then after you do factory reset tv will turn back off.
yeahbuddy661 is offline  
post #736 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
NovaKane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemarjo View Post

I started off with LarryInRI's settings for my PN51D7000 but the picture doesn't seem very crisp and the words seem slightly blurry. Thoughts on setting changes or do I need glasses?

I have DirecTV through HDMI and have it plugged into HDMI 1 (DVI) input. I don't know if this matters.

Larry's, and most calibrations, seem to call for 0 setting on sharpness. Perhaps you can try boosting the sharpness to 20 (default setting for movie mode). That's where I have it set and it looks better to my eyes.
NovaKane is offline  
post #737 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
NovaKane,

Any Sharpness setting on the D7000 above about 10 causes edge enhancement distortion. That might give the illusion of a crisper picture.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #738 of 3305 Old 07-29-2011, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
NovaKane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

NovaKane,

Any Sharpness setting on the D7000 above about 10 causes edge enhancement distortion. That might give the illusion of a crisper picture.

Larry

I have the 8000, but what you're stating probably applies to that model too.

Oh well, I still have always preferred a low sharpness level to none at all on my various sets. Give me the illusion.
NovaKane is offline  
post #739 of 3305 Old 07-30-2011, 06:04 AM
 
AtDaBeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

NovaKane,

Any Sharpness setting on the D7000 above about 10 causes edge enhancement distortion. That might give the illusion of a crisper picture.

Larry

Ive seen the same, and I'm using 5.
AtDaBeach is offline  
post #740 of 3305 Old 07-30-2011, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spdntrxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pleasanton,Ca
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtDaBeach View Post

Ive seen the same, and I'm using 5.

I use 5 as well.

Johnny
Klipsch,Denon,Parasound,Sunfire
spdntrxi is offline  
post #741 of 3305 Old 07-30-2011, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Toddgabweg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I should get my 64d7000 plasma TV from amazon in a few weeks (hopefully it will not be cracked like the one back in June anyway)... this will be my first plasma and I have been trying to educate myself on what I need to do with having a plasma... I read mixed things about having a plasma...

I read you should have over 100 plus hours before calibrating the set...
with that said- what should I change as soon as I get this set for safe playback during the first 100 plus hours... I guess I should not try these the settings on here until after having over 100 hours... I don't think I will be running slides- just watching regular HDTV- avoiding channels with static logos/ scrolling news and black bars... I am just concerned about what settings I should have during the first 100 hours...

I am sorry if this was discussed before- I did not read all the post-- I am hoping I made the correct choice going with plasma- I did try an LG 65LW6500, but for the money the TV was not worth it and sent it back to amazon... back in June the Samsung 64D7000 was my first choice, but the TV arrived damaged and amazon did not have any replacements at the time... thanks for reading
Toddgabweg is offline  
post #742 of 3305 Old 07-30-2011, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Boston, MI
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddgabweg View Post

Ok, I should get my 64d7000 plasma TV from amazon in a few weeks (hopefully it will not be cracked like the one back in June anyway)... this will be my first plasma and I have been trying to educate myself on what I need to do with having a plasma... I read mixed things about having a plasma...

I read you should have over 100 plus hours before calibrating the set...
with that said- what should I change as soon as I get this set for safe playback during the first 100 plus hours... I guess I should not try these the settings on here until after having over 100 hours... I don't think I will be running slides- just watching regular HDTV- avoiding channels with static logos/ scrolling news and black bars... I am just concerned about what settings I should have during the first 100 hours...

I am sorry if this was discussed before- I did not read all the post-- I am hoping I made the correct choice going with plasma- I did try an LG 65LW6500, but for the money the TV was not worth it and sent it back to amazon... back in June the Samsung 64D7000 was my first choice, but the TV arrived damaged and amazon did not have any replacements at the time... thanks for reading

You don't have to worry so much with modern plasmas. Just don't leave a news channel running with a static ticker for hours on end. I never had an issue with my plasma's and I watch them normally out of the box. The calibration settings won't hurt anything.

Enjoy!
Rob67 is offline  
post #743 of 3305 Old 08-01-2011, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
koffas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Silicon Forest
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Link to CNET's PN59D7000 settings...
http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-535831.html

Calibration report using these settings:
http://www.scribd.com/fullscreen/612...gwydnx55bp9uy5

--Picture menu
Mode: Movie
Cell Light: 16
Contrast: 95
Brightness: 66
Sharpness: 0
Color: 50
Tint: G50/R50

Screen adjustment submenu:
Picture Size: Screen Fit
Position: [no change]

Auto Adjustment submenu: [Grayed out]

3D submenu: N/A

Advanced settings submenu:
Black tone: Off
Dynamic contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Expert Pattern: Off
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color space: Custom
White Balance: [see below]
10p White Balance: On
Flesh tone: 0
Edge enhancement: Off
Motion Lighting: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space submenu:
Color Space: Custom
Red: Red 46, Green 67, Blue 53
Green: Red 100, Green 54, Blue 30
Blue: Red 0, Green 42, Blue 60
Yellow: Red 42, Green 50, Blue 0
Cyan: Red 100, Green 39, Blue 55
Magenta: Red 60, Green 100, Blue 83

White balance submenu:
R-Offset: 28
G-Offset: 21
B-Offset: 19
R-Gain: 21
G-Gain: 30
B-Gain: 30

10p White Balance submenu:
Interval 1: Red -4, Green -4, Blue -3
Interval 2: Red -1, Green -1, Blue -2
Interval 3: Red 1, Green 1, Blue 1
Interval 4: Red 2, Green 2, Blue 2
Interval 5: Red 4, Green 4, Blue 3
Interval 6: Red 2, Green 2, Blue 2
Interval 7: Red 1, Green 1, Blue 1
Interval 8: Red 1, Green 2, Blue 0
Interval 9: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
Interval 10: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0

Picture options submenu
Color tone: Warm2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI black level: Normal [grayed out]
Film mode: Off
koffas is offline  
post #744 of 3305 Old 08-01-2011, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
sitsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by koffas View Post

Link to CNET's PN59D7000 settings...
http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-535831.html

Calibration report using these settings:
http://www.scribd.com/fullscreen/612...gwydnx55bp9uy5

--Picture menu
Mode: Movie
Cell Light: 16
Contrast: 95
Brightness: 66
Sharpness: 0
Color: 50
Tint: G50/R50

Screen adjustment submenu:
Picture Size: Screen Fit
Position: [no change]

Auto Adjustment submenu: [Grayed out]

3D submenu: N/A

Advanced settings submenu:
Black tone: Off
Dynamic contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Expert Pattern: Off
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color space: Custom
White Balance: [see below]
10p White Balance: On
Flesh tone: 0
Edge enhancement: Off
Motion Lighting: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space submenu:
Color Space: Custom
Red: Red 46, Green 67, Blue 53
Green: Red 100, Green 54, Blue 30
Blue: Red 0, Green 42, Blue 60
Yellow: Red 42, Green 50, Blue 0
Cyan: Red 100, Green 39, Blue 55
Magenta: Red 60, Green 100, Blue 83

White balance submenu:
R-Offset: 28
G-Offset: 21
B-Offset: 19
R-Gain: 21
G-Gain: 30
B-Gain: 30

10p White Balance submenu:
Interval 1: Red -4, Green -4, Blue -3
Interval 2: Red -1, Green -1, Blue -2
Interval 3: Red 1, Green 1, Blue 1
Interval 4: Red 2, Green 2, Blue 2
Interval 5: Red 4, Green 4, Blue 3
Interval 6: Red 2, Green 2, Blue 2
Interval 7: Red 1, Green 1, Blue 1
Interval 8: Red 1, Green 2, Blue 0
Interval 9: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
Interval 10: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0

Picture options submenu
Color tone: Warm2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI black level: Normal [grayed out]
Film mode: Off

I just hung my PN64D8000 - would you recommend these settings for that display as well?
sitsat is offline  
post #745 of 3305 Old 08-02-2011, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
DonDiegoBRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys. Sorry about my english, I am brazilian...

I saw TivosHD calibrations in the first page and I have two questions:

1) Which is the best calibration for Xbox 360 ? I like a brightness image and I am having problems with input lag in Fifa11 (using game mode)

2) I can't find Cal-Day/Cal-Night in the tv menu. How I active this ?

PS: Plasma TV Samsung 51D8000

Sorry again and thanks a lot !
DonDiegoBRA is offline  
post #746 of 3305 Old 08-02-2011, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonDiegoBRA View Post

Hi guys. Sorry about my english, I am brazilian...

I saw TivosHD calibrations in the first page and I have two questions:

1) Which is the best calibration for Xbox 360 ? I like a brightness image and I am having problems with input lag in Fifa11 (using game mode)

2) I can't find Cal-Day/Cal-Night in the tv menu. How I active this ?

PS: Plasma TV Samsung 51D8000

Sorry again and thanks a lot !


Input lag? The input lag on this tv is not noticeable even without Game Mode on.

Tivo's settings work great for xbox 360 on Cal Day with Color Tone warm 1
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #747 of 3305 Old 08-02-2011, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Skitals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my pn51d7000, my blacks were horrible on my ps3 (netflix) with the stock modes and all the calibrations posted here. Black bars were showing a ton of dithering (dancing green/red). Last night for kicks, I tried the netflix app built into the tv, and the same netflix content looked a MILLION times better, solid black bars w/o dithering.

Back to the PS3, I found I have to drop the brightness setting WAY down to get proper (eyeball) calibration. About 35 I believe. About 15-20 ticks lower than the calibrations posted here.

I tried different hdmi inputs, and different HDMI cables (all very short).

Any clues why my ps3 would be running so "hot"?? I'm not sure if it's just the netflix app or what.

I will do more testing and hook up different sources to the hdmi inputs and check the results.
Skitals is offline  
post #748 of 3305 Old 08-02-2011, 03:52 PM
 
RedOctober205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitals View Post

On my pn51d7000, my blacks were horrible on my ps3 (netflix) with the stock modes and all the calibrations posted here. Black bars were showing a ton of dithering (dancing green/red). Last night for kicks, I tried the netflix app built into the tv, and the same netflix content looked a MILLION times better, solid black bars w/o dithering.

Back to the PS3, I found I have to drop the brightness setting WAY down to get proper (eyeball) calibration. About 35 I believe. About 15-20 ticks lower than the calibrations posted here.

I tried different hdmi inputs, and different HDMI cables (all very short).

Any clues why my ps3 would be running so "hot"?? I'm not sure if it's just the netflix app or what.

I will do more testing and hook up different sources to the hdmi inputs and check the results.

I haven't had a PS3 for over a year, but there is a setting you have wrong...I just can't think of it at the moment. I'll try to find it.

Update: what do you have the following settings set to?

On the PS3...

BD / DVD Video Output Format (HDMI)

Super-White

On the TV...

HDMI Black Level
RedOctober205 is offline  
post #749 of 3305 Old 08-02-2011, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Skitals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedOctober205 View Post

I haven't had a PS3 for over a year, but there is a setting you have wrong...I just can't think of it at the moment. I'll try to find it.

There is an "HDMI black level"-something or another toggle. When I turn it on, its completely crushes all the blacks, looks horrible in all picture modes. So if that's what you are referring to, I don't think that is my problem.
Skitals is offline  
post #750 of 3305 Old 08-02-2011, 04:10 PM
 
RedOctober205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitals View Post


There is an "HDMI black level"-something or another toggle. When I turn it on, its completely crushes all the blacks, looks horrible in all picture modes. So if that's what you are referring to, I don't think that is my problem.

I edited that post with some questions. Check it. If no combination of those settings fixes the problem, I don't know what the issue is.
RedOctober205 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Pn51d8000 51 Inch 1080p 3d Ready Plasma Hdtv 2011 Model , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv Black , Plasma Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread - Pn51d8000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off