Samsung D7000 & D8000 Settings/Calibration Thread - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 3305 Old 02-07-2012, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 61
If you do the logic update method, roll back is not necessary. It was very easy btw, just fallow the instructions to a T, read them over and over line by line as you prepare to do the procedure making sure you understand it. Good Luck
hungro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 04:24 AM
Member
 
bym051d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 59D8000 yesterday. I'm curious if I can easily copy picture settings between inputs so I don't need to redo them 5 times.
bym051d is offline  
post #2163 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bym051d View Post

Just got my 59D8000 yesterday. I'm curious if I can easily copy picture settings between inputs so I don't need to redo them 5 times.

Easily? No. Manually? Yes.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2164 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by spon View Post

I wanted to thank everyone in this thread (especially Larry) for taking the time to post in this forum and answer questions. Using the information here (and in other threads) I was able to finish my first calibration on my 64D7000. I thought I would post my settings and also the chc file. I'd love for any of the experts to take a look at the file and give me some feedback.

Thanks again!

Cal-day

Cell 20
Contrast 94
Brightness 65
Sharpness 20
Color 43
Tint 53/47

Gamma 0

Color space
Red- 64, 100, 90
Green- 100, 59, 0
Blue- 61, 60, 73
Yellow- 50, 45, 0
Cyan- 100, 72, 59
Magenta- 66, 100, 98

White balance
28, 25, 21, 28, 25, 21

10 point
1,0,3
0,0,1
0,2,1
-2,2,3
-4,2,2
-5,3,3
-6,2,2
-4,2,0
-4,2,-3
-3,3,-4

Looks good... what meter did you use?
Rob67 is offline  
post #2165 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 10:26 AM
Member
 
spon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob67 View Post

Looks good... what meter did you use?

Thanks Rob. I used the i1 Display 2.
spon is offline  
post #2166 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by spon View Post

Thanks Rob. I used the i1 Display 2.

Very similar to my readings with my i1 D2. You MAY be able to tighten up gamma if you play around a bit. My gamma was off on my first pass until I lowered luminance to around 120 cd/m2.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2167 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
JMUdukes07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone posted about and/or does anyone know of any good "Standard" mode settings?

I used one of the "Movie" settings from the first few pages of this thread and it looks awesome so far all TV and film content, and I'll probably tweak it and try other posted settings later.

However, I feel like hockey and possibly other sports might benefit a bit from a different setting that isn't quite as warm. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Am I wrong?
JMUdukes07 is offline  
post #2168 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey (Union County)
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob67 View Post

Very similar to my readings with my i1 D2. You MAY be able to tighten up gamma if you play around a bit. My gamma was off on my first pass until I lowered luminance to around 120 cd/m2.

I agree, looks good for a CAL-DAY setting, but you (spon) should definitely try shooting for a lower peak white on CAL-NIGHT. If you haven't already, you might want to try Larry's method of flattening gamma...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

10. Now smooth out the gamma curve using the 10 point adjustments again. But this time change the R, G, and B all by the same amount. Increasing them will reduce the gamma in that interval. Decreasing them will increase gamma.
10a. Use the green control in the interval to get the gamma near where you want it then move the red and blue by the same amount as the green. Do it this way because green contributes about 72% to white, red about 21%, and blue only about 7%.

AvidHiker is online now  
post #2169 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUdukes07 View Post

Has anyone posted about and/or does anyone know of any good "Standard" mode settings?

I used one of the "Movie" settings from the first few pages of this thread and it looks awesome so far all TV and film content, and I'll probably tweak it and try other posted settings later.

However, I feel like hockey and possibly other sports might benefit a bit from a different setting that isn't quite as warm. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Am I wrong?

I tend to favor the Dynamic setting when I play games on the PS3. Some reason the pop in the color works with games. I would still adjust basics like brightness/contrast/sharpness, though.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2170 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
SRTer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St. Louis MO.
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked this in another thread but I got no answer. Therefore, I would like to ask.

I have a 59in Sammy D7000 with a PS3. Does GAME MODE make any real difference in picture speed and or quality?
SRTer is offline  
post #2171 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTer View Post

I asked this in another thread but I got no answer. Therefore, I would like to ask.

I have a 59in Sammy D7000 with a PS3. Does GAME MODE make any real difference in picture speed and or quality?

I have both of those, as well. I can say that I don't play many games on the PS3 but I have played Madden and Uncharted 3 on this tv. I didn't notice any issues and I don't use the "game" mode. I also hook my PC up to the set via HDMI to play Mass Effect and some other shooters. No issues. I heard "Game" mode improves response time but I don't notice.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2172 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 04:35 PM
Member
 
spon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

I agree, looks good for a CAL-DAY setting, but you (spon) should definitely try shooting for a lower peak white on CAL-NIGHT. If you haven't already, you might want to try Larry's method of flattening gamma...

Thanks. I did (semi-halfheartedly) try to flatten the gamma using Larry's method, but didn't get too far. I couldn't figure out how to measure the changes to gamma, while moving the 10 pt adjustments. Do you simply need to "guess" at the adjustments and then run another complete Greyscale measurement?
spon is offline  
post #2173 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Spon,

Very nice for a first calibration.

WRT the gamma: You want to make the Y value equal to the gamma Y value. You can watch this in the display to the left of the HCFR screen -- near the three color bars.


For your grayscale change the 10 point values to --

1: 1, 0, 3
2: 0, 0, 1
3: 0, 2, 1
4: -2, 2, 3
5: -3, 2, 2
6: -4, 3, 3
7: -5, 2, 2

8: -4, 2, 0
9: -3, 2, -2
10: -1, 3, -2


That should bring your grayscale delta E values well below 3.

Of course, if you do reduce the max output down from your current 45 ftL, you should perform a new calibration. I've found that the grayscale calibration of the D7000 models is quite sensitive to the Contrast setting -- much more so than the Cell setting. Also, as you reduce the max output, you will have to increase the Color and possible modify the Tint settings.

Just a tip: Notice that you have had to reduce the red in the 10 point settings. That is due to your value of r-gain in the white balance. If you reduce the current value from 28 to 27 or even down to 25, you will need to increase the red values in the 10 point intervals for those intervals above about 5. Every thing effects every other thing.


EDIT: I just noticed that you used the CAL-DAY mode. Your Color setting is typical for that mode on the D7000.


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2174 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey (Union County)
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks for clarifying, Larry.

So, WRT my current situation...

Trying to get the 1-235 pattern correctly displayed again for ADC calibration. No problem in normal viewing (connected to HDMI 1/DVI).

I've noticed that, no matter what I try, when entering the service menu my TV defaults to 16:9. I have everything set up to display full screen (Screen Fit) with my computer attached, but powering down and entering the SM code brings everything back up in 16:9 (about 2% overscan). Is it still ok to proceed with ADC calibration?

Also, does it even matter what picture mode is selected?
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2175 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Hiker,

16:9 is okay. The picture mode doesn't matter.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2176 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey (Union County)
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Well, seems my video card is screwy (recent, but cheap HP laptop). Sometimes, when entering the SM, the pattern shows an additional white block, or the block is in the wrong spot (video card is confused). Disconnecting the external monitor and reconnecting corrects this.

But the blacks look very gray when in the SM, as though the black level isn't matched (connected by HDMI). Not able to find such settings on my computer, but in this state it sure doesn't seem to give a proper result after the ADC calibration. Starting settings were 134/71, after calibration it becomes 79/120! Blacks look great in the SM now.

Anyway, plugged in the original values and looks to be back where I started. Maybe I'll give the Oppo a try next.
My understanding is that I should get a result around 131/71, correct?
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2177 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Hiker,

You had that plugged into HDMI1, right? I used an HP laptop with an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4530 display chip and the computer/TV connection worked fine. Using the ATI Catalyst Control Center, I had no problem matching the resolution and getting a stable display.

Yes, for the D7000, it should end up about 131/71.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2178 of 3305 Old 02-08-2012, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey (Union County)
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Yes, HDMI1. Ok, will check my computer specs...

So, for each calibration I first manually set to 131/71, then displayed the image via USB from the Oppo. Here are the results for each color space mode:

Auto = 130/73
RGB PC Level = 131/71
RGB Video Level = 76/121 (looks the same as the computer connected via HDMI)
4:4:4 = 130/73
4:2:2 = 130/73

So, it seems like the RGB PC Level might be outputting a standard, full range PC signal. When fed this signal, the ADC calibration completes in under 2 seconds, and makes no changes to the default values I already entered (131/71).

I assume my computer is detecting a TV display and deciding to feed it a video level signal. I believe the Oppo "RGB" modes are standard:
Video Level = 16-235
PC Level = 1-255

Anyway, if I go back to movie or cal-night after this calibration, I still get pinking above 80 contrast. Guess now it's time to play with the red gain in the SM.
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2179 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Yes, HDMI1. Ok, will check my computer specs...

So, for each calibration I first manually set to 131/71, then displayed the image via USB from the Oppo. Here are the results for each color space mode:

Auto = 130/73
RGB PC Level = 131/71
RGB Video Level = 76/121 (looks the same as the computer connected via HDMI)
4:4:4 = 130/73
4:2:2 = 130/73

So, it seems like the RGB PC Level might be outputting a standard, full range PC signal. When fed this signal, the ADC calibration completes in under 2 seconds, and makes no changes to the default values I already entered (131/71).

I assume my computer is detecting a TV display and deciding to feed it a video level signal. I believe the Oppo "RGB" modes are standard:
Video Level = 16-235
PC Level = 1-255

Anyway, if I go back to movie or cal-night after this calibration, I still get pinking above 80 contrast. Guess now it's time to play with the red gain in the SM.

Be careful with recent HP laptops. I just got one with a dedicated Radeon GPU. But, I noticed that the onboard Intel 3000 HD GPU was still enabled as well. The new design has Windows actively switch between the two to improve power consumption. For web browsing and office apps, it uses Intel. For games, ATI. I calibrated my laptop without realizing this and got wonky results. As soon as I disabled the Intel GPU, all is stable.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2180 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey (Union County)
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Yep, same problem here. I disabled that when I first got it, otherwise it kept defaulting to the old profile.
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2181 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 08:23 AM
Member
 
pato79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTer View Post

I asked this in another thread but I got no answer. Therefore, I would like to ask.

I have a 59in Sammy D7000 with a PS3. Does GAME MODE make any real difference in picture speed and or quality?

Yes response time is quicker with game mode. Run a test with a shooter and you will see the difference.
pato79 is offline  
post #2182 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
firthent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me why the BD Wise adjusted settings keep resetting
each time the system is cycled from on to off to on? Can this be prevented?
Also are there any hidden settings not shown that are changed for
BD Wise?

Lamont Cranston
firthent is offline  
post #2183 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Yep, same problem here. I disabled that when I first got it, otherwise it kept defaulting to the old profile.

I am sure you already did this but when I plug my system into my tv via HDMI, I have to manually change the output from RGB to YCbCr in Catalyst Control Center.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2184 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Hiker,

It certainly looks like 130/73 is where your set wants to be.

One other thing you might want to try before changing the red gain is to reduce the sub-contrast in the service mode ADC Result menu. That may give you the headroom for the user Contrast and prevent the pinking -- or. hopefully not, it may just reduce the available range of the Contrast control.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2185 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:28 PM
Member
 
alxrmero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately I don't have the time to go thru 73 pages, but my question here is who here has the best settings for a D8000?

Thank you
alxrmero is offline  
post #2186 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by alxrmero View Post

Unfortunately I don't have the time to go thru 73 pages, but my question here is who here has the best settings for a D8000?

Thank you


Do you have the time to look at the first few posts in the thread.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2187 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:36 PM
Member
 
alxrmero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Do you have the time to look at the first few posts in the thread.

Larry

Are u saying TiVoHD has the best settings?
alxrmero is offline  
post #2188 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey (Union County)
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
"Best" is subjective. There's no free lunch here, you will need to experiment and decide for yourself.
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2189 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by alxrmero View Post


Are u saying TiVoHD has the best settings?

The best settings are the ones you come up with yourself after calibrating. This thread has established that even sets in the same model line can be different.
Rob67 is offline  
post #2190 of 3305 Old 02-09-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 150
TiVoHD, and cue03 have posted calibrated settings. Zoyd has posted at least three. These are in the first two posts.

There is no right one when copying settings. Try them all and pick the one that you like.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Pn51d8000 51 Inch 1080p 3d Ready Plasma Hdtv 2011 Model , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv Black , Plasma Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off