Samsung D7000 & D8000 Settings/Calibration Thread - Page 87 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 3305 Old 04-02-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yep, seems likely. I just couldn't find the courage to try the TDM (and I'm probably too lazy to attempt to learn all of that stuff anyway). But, as Janos reminded me, there is no need if you don't mind sticking with cool (and, consequently, loosing the "utility" of the other color tones I suppose).
AvidHiker is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 3305 Old 04-02-2012, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 61
It's not really a "loss", both give you the same results in the end. cool d65 or warm 2 d65. Just the other one takes a bit more hoops to jump through. I think I could be in a similar situation , I had a display 2 that I calibrated my d6500 with , where i had an unusual high blue drive value of 45 but , red was fine. It just seemed to me that blue drive was too high, the meter read blue across the highend ire's at around 85 %, needing to add more. I also think my meter was reading blue to low. Hard to say don't have a reference to compare it too. However everything is from scratch now, I reset my wb sm settings and also changed adc result values. I no longer have a meter, looking at getting a ID3 Pro. So my final um whitebalance settings will change.
hungro is offline  
post #2583 of 3305 Old 04-02-2012, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Just picked up a D3 myself, very nice meter and VERY fast. Looks like it reads blue a bit high on plasma but I'll profile against the i1pro and see how it does.
zoyd is online now  
post #2584 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungro View Post

It's not really a "loss", both give you the same results in the end. cool d65 or warm 2 d65...

Yes, I hope everyone understands that.

By "loss", I was referring to the other color tone modes (standard, warm 1 and 2) which I'm guessing are based on this SM calibration. Last I measured them, the effect was simply a stepwise upward shift of blue in the grayscale as you moved from warm 2 up to cool. Anyway, I know most of us here (myself included) have no interest in the color tones, but some people prefer a cooler tone on some programming (like sports) which (I think) will not be readily available when calibrated this way.
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2585 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Yes, I hope everyone understands that.

By "loss", I was referring to the other color tone modes (standard, warm 1 and 2) time I'm guessing are based on this SM calibration. Last I measured them, the effect was simply a stepwise upward shift of blue in the grayscale as you moved from warm 2 up to cool. Anyway, I know most of us here (myself included) have no interest in the color tones, but some people prefer a cooler tone on some programming (like sports) which (I think) will not be readily available when calibrated this way.

And what effect, if any, does "reassignment" of Warm2 to Cool have on 3D performance?

Also I was considering tweaking Standard color temp, which is the only other color temp I ever use, by adding enough blue, assuming sufficient headroom. Standard would need the least headroom.
But then I'm thinking individual color temps can't be modified in UM.
kjgarrison is offline  
post #2586 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Don't know about 3D, but it looks ok to me (I can't calibrate it with my i1D2).

The only color tone that can be calibrated via the SM is cool. The TDM can be used to edit the locked-in WB settings for warm 2 (Movie mode) I think, but not sure if anything else is accessable.
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2587 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Don't know about 3D, but it looks ok to me (I can't calibrate it with my i1D2).

The only color tone that can be calibrated via the SM is cool. The TDM can be used to edit the locked-in WB settings for warm 2 (Movie mode) I think, but not sure if anything else is accessable.

yes, standard and warm2 offsets can be edited for 2d and there are separate offsets for 3d cool, standard, and warm2 that can be edited. I didn't see anything for warm 1. The auto and native color tables can be edited as well.
zoyd is online now  
post #2588 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
janos666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Just picked up a D3 myself, very nice meter and VERY fast.

I told you it's fast.
But it seems to struggle a bit with dark tones on refresh type displays.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Looks like it reads blue a bit high on plasma but I'll profile against the i1pro and see how it does.

I always read higher white color temperatures (~cooler~bluish) on almost every kind of displays, especially on PDPs. (I even started to wonder if my CM spectro is still valid but it reads the primaries on professional LCDs very close to the factory specifications.)

I suggest to create correction matrices instead of ccss(/EDR) files.
And create the profile from only R,G,B readings (it is theoretically enough, I don't even understand why they force this white weighting thing this much) and keep the white for validation purposes (check the white with both sensors after the profiling - they should give you very close readings).

"DIY certified hobby-calibrator" (based on ChadB's "warning signs" list
janos666 is offline  
post #2589 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 01:22 PM
Member
 
darien87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey folks,

Had my PN64D8000 calibrated last weekend. Here's what the guy came up with:

Picture Mode - Movie
Cell light 18
Contrast 94
Brightness 59
Sharpness 0
Color 50
Tint 50/50
black tone off
dynamic off
Gamma -2
flesh tone 0
edge enhance off
motion lighting off
xvYcc off
color tone warm2
digital noise off
mpeg noise off

White Balance
R-off 32
G-off 25
B-off 30
R-gain 31
G-gain 25
B-gain 32

Seems pretty much in line with what most of you have found. My question is this, does having the cell light and contrast up almost all the way shorten the life of the TV? I have since turned the contrast down to 90 just to make myself feel a little bit better. Seems to me that if you have everything cranked up that got to have an effect on the longevity of the set. The candle that burns twice as bright burns half as long and all that.

Ford Mustangs and the San Diego Chargers. What else is there?
darien87 is offline  
post #2590 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yes, but given the very long half life of modern plasmas (100,000 hours maybe?), I wouldn't worry about it unless you plan to have this TV for 10 years+.

Yep, those look like good numbers. So all you calibrator did was 2pt grayscale, and no color? The 2pt is the most critical adjustment for your average viewer, but if you paid the going rate of $300+, then I would expect 10pt and color to be included.
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2591 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by janos666 View Post

I told you it's fast.
But it seems to struggle a bit with dark tones on refresh type displays.

It's slower at low light but it had no problem reading my mll at 0.0048 ftL

Quote:



I always read higher white color temperatures (~cooler~bluish) on almost every kind of displays, especially on PDPs. (I even started to wonder if my CM spectro is still valid but it reads the primaries on professional LCDs very close to the factory specifications.)

I suggest to create correction matrices instead of ccss(/EDR) files.
And create the profile from only R,G,B readings (it is theoretically enough, I don't even understand why they force this white weighting thing this much) and keep the white for validation purposes (check the white with both sensors after the profiling - they should give you very close readings).

yep, I profiled it in HCFR and the corrected response was <2 dE across the gray scale (from 7). It reads 500 kelvin high without the correction.
zoyd is online now  
post #2592 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

yes, standard and warm2 offsets can be edited for 2d and there are separate offsets for 3d cool, standard, and warm2 that can be edited. I didn't see anything for warm 1. The auto and native color tables can be edited as well.

Any TDM For Dummies around?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #2593 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
janos666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

It's slower at low light but it had no problem reading my mll at 0.0048 ftL

No problem on MLL luminance since I found the integration time setting in CalMan (readings gets reasonable at >=0.4ms ; the default was 0.1 for me) and Greame made some changes in the ArgyllCMS code (default integration time increased to 0.4 and he rewrote the refresh period detection).

But did you try to run continuous measurements on a 20% gray patch and check the chromaticity too?
I still have some random spikes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

It reads 500 kelvin high without the correction.

Same here. I usually read ~7000K (~7200 on my Pana PDP, ~7000 on WCGCCFL, ~6800 on WLED, ~6700 on standard gamut CCFL) on D65 calibrated displays. It's always a bit cool but worst on PDP.

"DIY certified hobby-calibrator" (based on ChadB's "warning signs" list
janos666 is offline  
post #2594 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by janos666 View Post

No problem on MLL luminance since I found the integration time setting in CalMan (readings gets reasonable at >=0.4ms ; the default was 0.1 for me) and Greame made some changes in the ArgyllCMS code (default integration time increased to 0.4 and he rewrote the refresh period detection).

But did you try to run continuous measurements on a 20% gray patch and check the chromaticity too?
I still have some random spikes.

Right now using the argyll drivers in the new hcfr that JohnAD is developing the probe is not very stable from 20-40%. I see swings in red of 10% and dELuv up to 8.
zoyd is online now  
post #2595 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 35
So I finally caved, stopped using settings posted in this thread, and used the AVS HD 709 patterns (from a DVD burn) to come up with my own values. Over the last four months or so I must have tried every single set of settings found here. Most, if not all, but Larry's 9/17 settings gave me some greenies (dithering) and although I was very pleased with the result of the 9/17 settings, I just realized the other day that blacks were getting somewhat crushed. The thing that gave it away? The cop that agent Smith talks to at the very beginning of The Matrix, a couple of minutes in; I couldn't even see hints of the black tie that's part of his uniform.

It turns out that using the patterns is dead easy and I'm very, very pleased with the result. I'm aware that my colors won't be 100% accurate but at least the basics are now adjusted for my conditions (totally light controlled room).

Even though nobody should use these settings unless they're what comes out of using the patterns too, here's where I ended up :-)

64D7000
Movie mode
Cell 15
Contrast 80
Brightness 59
Sharpness 10
Color 51
Tint 52/48
Screen fit
Warm 2
Cinema Smooth on
Nothing else changed from defaults

A huge thank you to everyone whose settings I've tried. Most of you also wrote "DIY" and you were right!

Adjusting settings according to personal preference is not calibration.
willieconway is offline  
post #2596 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Willie,

You did the right thing and I suggest that anyone who copies settings, at a minimum, does their own adjustment of the Brightness control. It is the one adjustment that can be done accurately without a meter.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2597 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
janos666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

It is the one adjustment that can be done accurately without a meter.

Not that I am blind, but sometimes I use a camera to capture the near-black test pattern, just to be sure. (The bright dots of the dithering noise on the dark background make it obvious on PDPs but imagine a low contrast IPS LCD without obvious dithering patterns. - Ohh, and add the "IPS glow" effect to that.)

"DIY certified hobby-calibrator" (based on ChadB's "warning signs" list
janos666 is offline  
post #2598 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I think that's a bit overkill, Janos.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2599 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Right now using the argyll drivers in the new hcfr that JohnAD is developing the probe is not very stable from 20-40%. I see swings in red of 10% and dELuv up to 8.

D3 precision is about a factor of 2 worse than my D2 at these stimulus levels.
zoyd is online now  
post #2600 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

D3 precision is about a factor of 2 worse than my D2 at these stimulus levels.


How does the D3 behave using Argyll itself? Is the instability still there?

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2601 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
zoyd is online now  
post #2602 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:23 PM
Member
 
darien87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Yes, but given the very long half life of modern plasmas (100,000 hours maybe?), I wouldn't worry about it unless you plan to have this TV for 10 years+.

Yep, those look like good numbers. So all you calibrator did was 2pt grayscale, and no color? The 2pt is the most critical adjustment for your average viewer, but if you paid the going rate of $300+, then I would expect 10pt and color to be included.

I don't know. These are the numbers I see in the screen shots he sent me. I'll have to ask him.

Looks like 10pt white balance is turned off.

Ford Mustangs and the San Diego Chargers. What else is there?
darien87 is offline  
post #2603 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by darien87 View Post

I don't know. These are the numbers I see in the screen shots he sent me. I'll have to ask him.

Looks like 10pt white balance is turned off.

10pt is not that critical but color definitely should have been done, check if custom color is on and what the settings are.
zoyd is online now  
post #2604 of 3305 Old 04-03-2012, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Well it's the same driver so I assume it would be the same, but haven't verified.


The latest data that you presented in the calibration forum shows that the problem indeed is due to the driver and not HCFR itself. So I would assume the same also.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2605 of 3305 Old 04-04-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Any TDM For Dummies around?

no, but if you are interested in accessing the TDM you need one of these for the D8000 ex-link port (or build your own). Connect that to an RS-232->usb adapter and do the following:

1. Set Control->Sub-option->RS-232 Jack to "debug" in the SM.
2. Run a terminal emulator on your computer and connect to your usb/rs-232 adapter with setting 8,1,N,115200
3. type 23331003 (characters will not be echoed)
4. type 20089999

That will bring up the TDM.
zoyd is online now  
post #2606 of 3305 Old 04-04-2012, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

no, but if you are interested in accessing the TDM you need one of these for the D8000 ex-link port (or build your own). Connect that to an RS-232->usb adapter and do the following:

1. Set Control->Sub-option->RS-232 Jack to "debug" in the SM.
2. Run a terminal emulator on your computer and connect to your usb/rs-232 adapter with setting 8,1,N,115200
3. type 23331003 (characters will not be echoed)
4. type 20089999

That will bring up the TDM.

This feels sort of like the instructions that might be given to a neurosurgery resident on the first day, where 1-4 are detailed instructions on shaving the hair, getting through the scalp, controlling bleeding, and taking out a piece of the skull ....

And then he/she is told ...

"That will bring up the BRAIN"
kjgarrison is offline  
post #2607 of 3305 Old 04-04-2012, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,789
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 386
zoyd is online now  
post #2608 of 3305 Old 04-05-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSchu18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by willieconway View Post

the AVS HD 709 patterns

where and what are these?
thnx

Klipsch Image Ones
Klipsch x11i
Rega P5/Groovetracer/Denon DL-103R
Parks Audio Budgie Phono Pre/SUT
Pioneer SC35
Bel Canto REF 500M
Klipsch Cornwall/Crites/Aletheia Audio
Klisch RC64II
Klipsch SW-115
OPPO BDP-93
Samsung PN64D8000
MSchu18 is offline  
post #2609 of 3305 Old 04-05-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Tip - highlight "AVS HD 709" with your mouse, right click "Copy", open Google, Right click "Paste", enter. Or just type it into google. It's the very first link.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496
AvidHiker is online now  
post #2610 of 3305 Old 04-05-2012, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSchu18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Tip - highlight "AVS HD 709" with your mouse, right click "Copy", open Google, Right click "Paste", enter. Or just type it into google. It's the very first link.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=948496

ty

Klipsch Image Ones
Klipsch x11i
Rega P5/Groovetracer/Denon DL-103R
Parks Audio Budgie Phono Pre/SUT
Pioneer SC35
Bel Canto REF 500M
Klipsch Cornwall/Crites/Aletheia Audio
Klisch RC64II
Klipsch SW-115
OPPO BDP-93
Samsung PN64D8000
MSchu18 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Pn51d8000 51 Inch 1080p 3d Ready Plasma Hdtv 2011 Model , Samsung Pn51d7000 51 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv Black , Plasma Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off