PNxxD550 advanced calibration unlocked!/Calibration Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > PNxxD550 advanced calibration unlocked!/Calibration Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

bhess5's Avatar bhess5
04:02 PM Liked: 10
post #751 of 776
06-28-2012 | Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2011
DVI only passes video, no way around this one.
Scottthehat's Avatar Scottthehat
07:35 AM Liked: 12
post #752 of 776
06-30-2012 | Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antwon947 View Post

Dang, so then if I unlock the 10p White Balance I'll be voiding it. frown.gif
if you get a problem you just change the name back to the original.
Scottthehat's Avatar Scottthehat
07:39 AM Liked: 12
post #753 of 776
06-30-2012 | Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2012
HI i tried this i have 2 hdmis one from my onkyo 875 which has my sky hd,ps3,hd dvd, and one thatcomes direct formmy panny 310 as my amp is not 3d ready it needed to go direct to tv.
i tried just the 2 in and only one hdmi would work,plugged in my laptop and 2 hdmis worked, so what i did was but a 1 in 2 out hdmi splitter from ebay £20 and connected my amp into that and then i had 2 out puts to my tv plus my bluray hdmi and it works, hdmi 1 and 3 work and 2 and 4 dont unless i plug my laptop in then all work as normal.
now my tv has been calibrated properly and i looks cracking.
LanceX's Avatar LanceX
06:16 PM Liked: 10
post #754 of 776
07-02-2012 | Posts: 480
Joined: Oct 2009
Can you just use a HDMI splitter on the AV Receiver?? or do you need two totally different sources.

When i move my TV downstairs I wont have a cable box to use component for video ETC So I may just not use the hack and find a setting I like w.out it
Perri's Avatar Perri
10:57 PM Liked: 10
post #755 of 776
07-07-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2009
Does anyone know how to do this on the E550 in service mode .

I have gone into service mode on the E550 and it does not have the option to change to d7000 maybe someone here knows a workaround for this ?
KevinNash's Avatar KevinNash
02:36 AM Liked: 13
post #756 of 776
07-08-2012 | Posts: 132
Joined: Oct 2010
lol, how can you change a E serie to a D serie ? That's impossible wink.gif

You could try to change for another E model and see what you got.
Oscarilbo's Avatar Oscarilbo
01:34 PM Liked: 10
post #757 of 776
08-02-2012 | Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 2012
Hi guys, first thank you for all your posts, they've been very helpful...

I'm hyper happy with my Tv (have the 59 D550) bought here in Mexico (PN 59D550 says the number model on the TV menu). But I want to try different setting just to see.

I'm not planning to use the 10 p. calibration so that's out of the question (I'm paying for extended guarantee and don't want to mess things up badly), but I want to try the CLOSEST thing I can get to it using what It's already there.

Reading through this thread I could see some of you guys have wonderfully managed to get the closest image quality to the 10 p. calibration.
So... what settings do you recommend for a totally DARK room, being interested only in bluray movies (for both 2D and 3D), using a Sony bluray player.

THANK YOU SO MUCH IN ADVANCE GUYS!
sherpa25's Avatar sherpa25
07:02 PM Liked: 10
post #758 of 776
08-02-2012 | Posts: 56
Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscarilbo View Post

Hi guys, first thank you for all your posts, they've been very helpful...
I'm hyper happy with my Tv (have the 59 D550) bought here in Mexico (PN 59D550 says the number model on the TV menu). But I want to try different setting just to see.
I'm not planning to use the 10 p. calibration so that's out of the question (I'm paying for extended guarantee and don't want to mess things up badly), but I want to try the CLOSEST thing I can get to it using what It's already there.
Reading through this thread I could see some of you guys have wonderfully managed to get the closest image quality to the 10 p. calibration.
So... what settings do you recommend for a totally DARK room, being interested only in bluray movies (for both 2D and 3D), using a Sony bluray player.
THANK YOU SO MUCH IN ADVANCE GUYS!

From what I understand, there are no 2 TVs alike, so other than having it calibrated, you can just try out different posted settings and choose w/c you may prefer that suites your setup. My unit hasn't been calibrated professionally, and I just used the DVE BD to adjust the basic settings. I then compared the results to several other settings posted but don't see a match. They appear fine for me. My only concern is if my White Balance settings are correct, as the only way this can be determined is w/ proper calibration equipment.
Oscarilbo's Avatar Oscarilbo
07:30 AM Liked: 10
post #759 of 776
08-03-2012 | Posts: 21
Joined: Feb 2012
Thank u sherapa25 for you response, read yesterday night and did for myself following my own guts. I think its better now, and my only concern, as you put it, is also the white balance, so any advice will be very welcome.
Antwon947's Avatar Antwon947
09:29 AM Liked: 10
post #760 of 776
08-17-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2012
Is it just me or does it seem like the TV is too saturated out of the box? I can't unlock the 10p white balance, so what do you think I should set the color setting to, if I need to change it at all?
sonyfan's Avatar sonyfan
12:14 PM Liked: 20
post #761 of 776
08-17-2012 | Posts: 577
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antwon947 View Post

Is it just me or does it seem like the TV is too saturated out of the box? I can't unlock the 10p white balance, so what do you think I should set the color setting to, if I need to change it at all?

You have it on Dynamic where the 10p white balance is blocked out.
Do you have the E or D550?

I only use Movie Mode on my E450.
Don't know if it's even possible to get
accurate colors in Dynamic or Standard.
If anyone can I'd sure like to see their settings.

Mode - Movie
Cell Light 20
Brightness 50 daytime / 40 for evening and 35 to 30 for a dark room
Contrast 100 daytime / 97 for evening and 95 to 90 for a dark room
Sharpness 0
Color 52
R/G Tint 50/50
Color Space - Native
Gamma -1 for night (0 for daytime
Dynamic Contrast - off
Black Tone - Darkest
Flesh Tone - 0
Color Tone - Warm1
Size - Screen Fit
Digital Noise Filter - Off

White Balance Calibration

RO - 21
GO - 25
BO - 22
RG - 20
GG - 25
BG - 23
Antwon947's Avatar Antwon947
04:16 PM Liked: 10
post #762 of 776
08-17-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2012
No, I just can't unlock the white balance because I don't want to void the warranty. I have the D550. It just seems like, especially in darker scenes, there's just too much red. I figured maybe adjusting the saturation is the only way to fix this.
KevinNash's Avatar KevinNash
10:10 AM Liked: 13
post #763 of 776
08-18-2012 | Posts: 132
Joined: Oct 2010
You can reverse the D7000 hack whenvever you want with absolutely no trace of it.

So you won't void your warranty at all wink.gif
sonyfan's Avatar sonyfan
10:34 AM Liked: 20
post #764 of 776
08-18-2012 | Posts: 577
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinNash View Post

You can reverse the D7000 hack whenvever you want with absolutely no trace of it.
So you wwon't void your warranty at all wink.gif

Those hack's don't work on the new E series do they?
KevinNash's Avatar KevinNash
03:57 AM Liked: 13
post #765 of 776
08-19-2012 | Posts: 132
Joined: Oct 2010
I don't know, that would be great !

You can try to change your model in the service menu from E550 to E6500 for example.

You'll see if that unlock 10pts balance and CMS, don't worry, you can't brick your set by trying this.

Keep us informed please wink.gif
Antwon947's Avatar Antwon947
08:14 PM Liked: 10
post #766 of 776
08-26-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2012
What HDMI splitter would you guys recommend? I want to use it to send the signal from my DISH receiver to my A/V receiver and TV.
Scottthehat's Avatar Scottthehat
10:56 AM Liked: 12
post #767 of 776
09-11-2012 | Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antwon947 View Post

What HDMI splitter would you guys recommend? I want to use it to send the signal from my DISH receiver to my A/V receiver and TV.
I used one of these and it worked a treat.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-Way-Port-HD-Hub-HDMI-Switch-Splitter-Amplifier-Box-1080P-/170899526920?pt=UK_Computing_Sound_Vision_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item27ca67d508
janos666's Avatar janos666
11:41 AM Liked: 10
post #768 of 776
12-03-2012 | Posts: 599
Joined: Jan 2010
Did anybody try to change the model number of an E series model and check the calibration settings?
As much as I can tell, this option is grayed out by default but I didn't have the chance to try to unlock it with the FACTORY and 3PSEED method (ruSamsungTVComminucator).
janos666's Avatar janos666
11:41 AM Liked: 10
post #769 of 776
12-03-2012 | Posts: 599
Joined: Jan 2010
Did anybody try to change the model number of an E series model and check the calibration settings?
As much as I can tell, this option is grayed out by default but I didn't have the chance to try to unlock it with the FACTORY and 3PSEED method (ruSamsungTVComminucator).
Todd Farion's Avatar Todd Farion
03:16 PM Liked: 10
post #770 of 776
01-22-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2012
I bought an Onkyo tx-nr818 that comes with dual HDMI outputs. The dual output was a choice so that I could give this calibration un-locked process a go.
I have had a few problems with my TV including the screen pop issue and I have witnessed the main board brought to its knees when trying the firmware flash solution
found amongst these forums, fortunately I had an actual Samsung service tech preform the flash and not me. The tech told me that the board was bad anyways and that
because he had been unable to update the firmware before trying the flash fix he had already determined that the board was already baked and he did not think it died due to the flash fix..
Regardless, after watching a main board fail due to software,I was a tad apprehensive about trying this. I followed all the steps outlined in this thread and I am happy to report
that it worked flawlessly!!!! I know have a brand new awesome TV!!!

One Question, is it normal that the TV now thinks that it is a PN51D6500 . Does the idea that the TV believes it is 51 inches in size matter?

Thank-you so much for this information, I was watching the Lord of The Rings Blu-ray and saw different colored mosses on the walls of helms deep for the first time in such a stunning
array of deep accurate color it quite simply blew me away!!
thekyleshow's Avatar thekyleshow
12:30 AM Liked: 10
post #771 of 776
01-31-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2011
I can't seem to get my HDMI ports right. Not sure why. This is what I need connected:
1) STB with component.
2) Xbox with HDMI
3) blu ray with HDMI
4) Samsung sound bar with HDMI
5) Mac mini (only connected sometimes) with HDMI.

I'm using a Canadian version pn59d550 and upgrading the settings to either 6500 or 7000.
I have a total of 4 HDMI ports at my disposal. Can anyone please explain how I'd go abouts setting this up so the ports all align? Thanks a lot. I mainly use the Xbox and the sound bar. The blu ray player is rarely used and I bring out my Mac mini every now and then if I have downloaded a new movie.

Thanks again.
bstanger's Avatar bstanger
02:12 PM Liked: 10
post #772 of 776
04-25-2013 | Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2013
I have the e550 and tried the hack but can't change the model only the type in service menu option.
Tried changing the type to all the different 51" choices and could not unlock 10pt, but now can't remember what type it was originally. Does anyone know what type should be set on for a PN51e550? Have tried Factory reset but it doesn't change the type.

I have also screwed up the AV calibration in ADC/WB as I hit the wrong button when I was investigating. I have downloaded the blk/white checkerboard and feed it into the AV input and try to AV Calibrate. The pink square moves to a white square, the luminance comes up then it fails and reverts back to the dark picture. Have tried this many times and find that after 2 or 3 attempts, the tv shuts off and restarts out of service menu but with the same problem.
Any way to get the AV calibration to succeed?

Thanking you in advance.
jack54's Avatar jack54
12:54 PM Liked: 18
post #773 of 776
04-26-2013 | Posts: 358
Joined: Aug 2007
...and why I won't monkey around with those "hack" settings.
My HDTV works and looks terrific using the settings in the menu.
Had this 3D HDTV for 14 months now and loving it!
Vic12345's Avatar Vic12345
03:38 AM Liked: 26
post #774 of 776
05-09-2013 | Posts: 776
Joined: Mar 2012
Bstanger I think it's 51ehhcd.it has ehh in it.If your talking about hdmi calibration I believe you have to have a DVD player with checkerboard burned on disc connected with hdmi cable to tv ,or from a computer to Tv.
wick3dboi's Avatar wick3dboi
05:12 AM Liked: 10
post #775 of 776
06-07-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Turn off display and punch in the following "Mute - 1 - 8 - 2 - Power" to enter service menu.

Enter the Option menu.

Highlight the set name it should say D550. click left until you come upon D7000. Select it and then exit option menu back to main menu.

Now if you want you can enable Cal-Day, Cal-Night. this will give you 2 more picture modes so you can store some more settings for PQ.

it is in the Expert menu. Enable the d/n and then exit to main menu.

Now shut off display. and turn back on.

You now have extra options as the d7000 d6500/d6900 d8000 have.

I'm having a hard time doing this.. having my TV off then pressing the mute then 1 then 8 then 2 and lastly the power or hold and pressing all the buttons simultaneously. also i cant play any video in usb mode, I have tried using flash drive and seagate hardrive but it doesnt even show the menu for the USB features. hope someone answer me regarding this Query TIA biggrin.gif
DaveyJC's Avatar DaveyJC
07:23 AM Liked: 10
post #776 of 776
06-29-2013 | Posts: 18
Joined: Jul 2008
There's a new 1011.0 firmware for european version of D530 (PS51D530) in http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/PS51D530A5WXZG-downloads?downloadName=FM

Will it improve black levels over 1007.2?

Anyone tried it yet? Thanks!
Tags: Panasonic , Samsung Ln40d550 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3