The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
george_g123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave_O, many thanks for posting your color calibration settings! They work great!
george_g123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 08:57 AM
ped
Senior Member
 
ped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Hi there everyone, I've just got myself a THP50GT30A in the last week or 2 and absolutely love it, but....I've noticed something that I've never seen before on any tv (I work for an electrical retailer, so have seen plenty)

not sure how to explain it other than a series of white dashes that so far have appeared in the top left and bottom left corners when watching free to air tv, it's not on every channel, but it's not restricted to just one broadcaster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSonsthagen View Post

I see that every night when watching our local news channel. Seems to only show up when they cut to the field reporter. I assumed it had something to do with a different camera since the feed from the anchor desk in the studio looks fine. It is the same for me on OTA as well as DirecTV's feed.

I think there are a couple possible causes for this:

The source is simply not encoded correctly and you are seeing bits of noise. I see this mostly with commercials.

There is a specific combination of the pixel orbiter and the HDMI screen size setting (size 1, size 2) that produces something similar to this. I don't recall the exact combo, but if you have the pixel orbiter on try turning it off.
ped is offline  
post #273 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
adverse_cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestion, I had a look in the advanced picture settings menu and found the pixel orbiter is set to auto with no option to change.

However, I tried changing some of the other settings, turning the 16:9 overscan setting to on has removed the noise, will check it later tonight to ensure it is still working.

Again, thanks
adverse_cal is offline  
post #274 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 12:55 PM
Member
 
pmil7991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I applied the fw 2.1 on my 55GT30 over the weekend and then fw 2.2. Then I went and applied Dave_O mid panel brightness settings for fw 2.1. Man oh man, the picture looks fantastic. I watched a couple of blu-rays (King Kong and Sherlock Holmes). The picture quality on both, especially the skin tone, really blew me away. Thanks Panasonic and Dave_O.
pmil7991 is offline  
post #275 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Mr.Green72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: French Canada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a hard time processing that a firmware upgrade retains parts of the previous one, but I guess that if no one managed to brick his set and is happy with the results it's worth giving it a shot!
Mr.Green72 is offline  
post #276 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Mr.Green72 I have a hard time processing that a firmware upgrade retains parts of the previous one, but I guess that if no one managed to brick his set and is happy with the results it's worth giving it a shot!

pmil7991 I applied the fw 2.1 on my 55GT30 over the weekend and then fw 2.2. Then I went and applied Dave_O mid panel brightness settings for fw 2.1. Man oh man, the picture looks fantastic. I watched a couple of blu-rays (King Kong and Sherlock Holmes). The picture quality on both, especially the skin tone, really blew me away. Thanks Panasonic and Dave_O.

I second pmil7991 - followed the same sequence and am enjoying the results.

ggsantafe is online now  
post #277 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
day1yun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can a few people post their default sm settings for each of the color temps(cool,warm,normal)? I know each display has different default sm settings but I'm wondering if the offset between the color temps is consistent from set to set. That may be a good way for people who have screwed up their sm settings for "warm" to recover the default values.
day1yun is offline  
post #278 of 1311 Old 12-12-2011, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post

Mr.Green72 I have a hard time processing that a firmware upgrade retains parts of the previous one, but I guess that if no one managed to brick his set and is happy with the results it's worth giving it a shot!

pmil7991 I applied the fw 2.1 on my 55GT30 over the weekend and then fw 2.2. Then I went and applied Dave_O mid panel brightness settings for fw 2.1. Man oh man, the picture looks fantastic. I watched a couple of blu-rays (King Kong and Sherlock Holmes). The picture quality on both, especially the skin tone, really blew me away. Thanks Panasonic and Dave_O.

I second pmil7991 - followed the same sequence and am enjoying the results.

How do you upgrade the firmware?

I downloaded Dav_O's PDFs and set the THX and Custom with the values in those PDF files.

I've only watched TV, including Fox's poor-quality NFL broadcasts. I also watched Boardwalk Empire last night on D* (channel 501).

Picture looks fine, somewhat dim but mostly I notice a softness to the image.

Anyone else?
wco81 is offline  
post #279 of 1311 Old 12-13-2011, 02:04 PM
Member
 
pmil7991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you look in this thread, you'll find a link for fw 2.1. Follow the instructions and afterwards, connect to Viera Connection. You can then upgrade to fw 2.2. Then apply Dave_O's mid panel brightness for fw 2.1 settings. That's about it.
pmil7991 is offline  
post #280 of 1311 Old 12-13-2011, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
bmanlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have good settings for 3d? Thanks!
bmanlb is offline  
post #281 of 1311 Old 12-14-2011, 04:38 AM
Newbie
 
AGtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have applied the 2.1 patch and Dave_O's 2.1 settings to my 65GT30. However, I have noticed much more pixilation in colored areas and color banding than before, even when comparing the same sources and material. Is it just me or perhaps I need to adjust my settings? If so, what settings would affect this?

Thanks for the advise!
AGtastic is offline  
post #282 of 1311 Old 12-14-2011, 04:44 AM
Member
 
justinto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGtastic View Post

I have applied the 2.1 patch and Dave_O's 2.1 settings to my 65GT30. However, I have noticed much more pixilation in colored areas and color banding than before, even when comparing the same sources and material. Is it just me or perhaps I need to adjust my settings? If so, what settings would affect this?

Thanks for the advise!

Install the 2.2 over the 2.1 update, then apply these settings:

Picture Mode Custom
Temperature Warm2
Panel Brightness Mid
Contrast 80
Brightness 50
Sharpness 25
Color 49
Tint 0
Gamma 2.2
Black extension 0
Color management Off
Video NR Off
Contour emphasis Off
CATS Off
AGC 0
Block NR Off
Mosquito NR Off
Motion smoother Off
Black Level Light
Grayscale
High R -1
High G 0
High B 3
Low R 0
Low G 0
Low B -1

Justin

Panasonic 50" Plasma TC-P50-GT30
Panasonic 58" Plasma TC-P58V10
Panasonic Blu Ray Player DMP-BDT 210 and 110
Marantz SR6006 (2)
Aperion Verus Grand Speakers

justinto is offline  
post #283 of 1311 Old 12-14-2011, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGtastic View Post

I have applied the 2.1 patch and Dave_O's 2.1 settings to my 65GT30. However, I have noticed much more pixilation in colored areas and color banding than before, even when comparing the same sources and material. Is it just me or perhaps I need to adjust my settings? If so, what settings would affect this?

Thanks for the advise!

What were you using before? If you have increased the light output of the display then you'll inevitably see more artifacting. This can be a tradeoff.

THX is another very good option. Try contrast around 65 and brightness at 51. Undersaturate the color a few tics to 48.
cpcat is offline  
post #284 of 1311 Old 12-14-2011, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
AGtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

What were you using before? If you have increased the light output of the display then you'll inevitably see more artifacting. This can be a tradeoff.

THX is another very good option. Try contrast around 65 and brightness at 51. Undersaturate the color a few tics to 48.

Thanks. I was on FW 2.07. Cant remember what my exact settings were prior to this update but panel was always set to mid. After the update the main change I made to settings was to the grey scale and AGC. Also, I have to adjust dave_0's brightness setting to avoid some severe black crush. Brightness is now set around 65. I will apply the 2.2 update per justino's recommendation and see if there is a difference. I thought that 2.2 was only an internet app patch.

Thanks guys!
AGtastic is offline  
post #285 of 1311 Old 12-14-2011, 09:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Who uses 3D and what are your reviews on it?
stang323 is offline  
post #286 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
bmanlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post

Who uses 3D and what are your reviews on it?

I use 3D and now have about 10 movies. I like it! But usually there is only 1 or 2 pop-out scenes in a movie that will make you go wow! Everything else is about depth which is nice. Animated movies seem to shine more in this technology. I think "Tangled" and "Beauty and the Beast" are the best out my movies in this category. Disney is really taking a hold of this... But "Avatar" is by hands down the best 3D movie out of all of them, and perhaps the best movie out there period. A strong second is " Imax's Under the Sea" or "Deep Sea".....nice signature pop-out scenes in those. Sooo.... I like it! That is why I am asking if anyone has calibrated 3D settings.
bmanlb is offline  
post #287 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Pop111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to the forum. I am having troubles updating my GT30. I have downloaded the zip file from Panasonic's site, however when I try to extract, windows can't find the program to open the file. Right now my set is saying the version is 2030. I'm curious if anyone has a solution to this. Thanks y'all!

Modified: DUR! figured it out. Trust me, I'm smarter than this
Pop111 is offline  
post #288 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmanlb View Post


I use 3D and now have about 10 movies. I like it! But usually there is only 1 or 2 pop-out scenes in a movie that will make you go wow! Everything else is about depth which is nice. Animated movies seem to shine more in this technology. I think "Tangled" and "Beauty and the Beast" are the best out my movies in this category. Disney is really taking a hold of this... But "Avatar" is by hands down the best 3D movie out of all of them, and perhaps the best movie out there period. A strong second is " Imax's Under the Sea" or "Deep Sea".....nice signature pop-out scenes in those. Sooo.... I like it! That is why I am asking if anyone has calibrated 3D settings.

For 3D settings I started with James Cameron's that were linked with the Avatar disc. Then I found Dave_O's settings and have been using them. If you decide to use Dave_O's settings, use a mid panel brightness set. With either Cameron's or Dave_O's settings I have to have the viewing room very dark even with the panel brughtness at mid.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #289 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 02:33 PM
Newbie
 
farahm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just got this TV, it's great! What settings should I have it at when I am wanting to break it in?
farahm2 is offline  
post #290 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post


For 3D settings I started with James Cameron's that were linked with the Avatar disc. Then I found Dave_O's settings and have been using them. If you decide to use Dave_O's settings, use a mid panel brightness set. With either Cameron's or Dave_O's settings I have to have the viewing room very dark even with the panel brughtness at mid.

What are the James Cameron's settings for.the gt30?
stang323 is offline  
post #291 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post


What are the James Cameron's settings for.the gt30?

They are located here.
http://panasonic.net/avc/viera/3d/avatar/index.html

Use the settings for the GT25.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #292 of 1311 Old 12-15-2011, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
stang323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post


They are located here.
http://panasonic.net/avc/viera/3d/avatar/index.html

Use the settings for the GT25.

So does installing firmware and using the gt25 settings work? Aren't they different TV sets?
stang323 is offline  
post #293 of 1311 Old 12-16-2011, 03:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

For 3D settings I started with James Cameron's that were linked with the Avatar disc. Then I found Dave_O's settings and have been using them. If you decide to use Dave_O's settings, use a mid panel brightness set. With either Cameron's or Dave_O's settings I have to have the viewing room very dark even with the panel brughtness at mid.

I've been using Dave O's mid panel brightness settings also for 3D. Works great and I also watch in a dark environment.

Panasonic 60GT30
Denon X4100
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #294 of 1311 Old 12-16-2011, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
gpayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great advice and settings in this thread. I really like Dave_O's settings with the firmware patch. Very much appreciated - thanks!
gpayne is offline  
post #295 of 1311 Old 12-16-2011, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGtastic View Post

Thanks. I was on FW 2.07. Cant remember what my exact settings were prior to this update but panel was always set to mid. After the update the main change I made to settings was to the grey scale and AGC. Also, I have to adjust dave_0's brightness setting to avoid some severe black crush. Brightness is now set around 65. I will apply the 2.2 update per justino's recommendation and see if there is a difference. I thought that 2.2 was only an internet app patch.

Thanks guys!

This is a 65gt30 right?
Be sure you have black level set to "light" and HDMI settings to either auto or
Standard (16-235). Assuming that, and assuming there's not something else weird going on like a source related issue-- brightness at 65 is way too high. It should end up no more than 2 or 3 tics north or south of 50 either in Custom or THX mode.
cpcat is offline  
post #296 of 1311 Old 12-16-2011, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang323 View Post


So does installing firmware and using the gt25 settings work? Aren't they different TV sets?

They are different TV's, but like I said, I use Dave_O's settings now.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #297 of 1311 Old 12-16-2011, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
AGtastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

This is a 65gt30 right?
Be sure you have black level set to "light" and HDMI settings to either auto or
Standard (16-235). Assuming that, and assuming there's not something else weird going on like a source related issue-- brightness at 65 is way too high. It should end up no more than 2 or 3 tics north or south of 50 either in Custom or THX mode.

This is a 65gt30 August build. I turned the brightness down to around 52 and double checked those settings you mentioned, however on bluray via HDMI and OTA local HD, I still cannot make out the details in the darker areas of the image. The set is relatively new, ~2 months old with <100 hrs. (guessing here).

Thanks for the advice.
AGtastic is offline  
post #298 of 1311 Old 12-16-2011, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGtastic View Post

This is a 65gt30 August build. I turned the brightness down to around 52 and double checked those settings you mentioned, however on bluray via HDMI and OTA local HD, I still cannot make out the details in the darker areas of the image. The set is relatively new, ~2 months old with <100 hrs. (guessing here).

Thanks for the advice.

Some of the dark areas are meant to be shadows. In other words, you're not really supposed to see the detail and that's how it was meant to be viewed. If you (inaccurately) raise the brightness to see the details, you increase artifacting and even worse you raise the minimum luminance (black level) of the display. This means contrast ratio suffers and overall pq is reduced--the overall difference between black and whites are less.

The brightness control should be set where the dithering (sparkles) that you see in a 4:3 pillarbox black bar or letterbox black bar just goes away. You'll need to get up close to see this. Drop the brightness control a tic or two below this point. That's your minimum luminance of black. You can double check yourself by using a "pluge" test pattern on a test disc.
cpcat is offline  
post #299 of 1311 Old 12-17-2011, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A request for Dave_O. Do you have any settings for 3D mode for the GT 30 or anyone else for that matter?. I use Dave's settings for regular mode.
rob316 is offline  
post #300 of 1311 Old 12-17-2011, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob316 View Post

A request for Dave_O. Do you have any settings for 3D mode for the GT 30 or anyone else for that matter?. I use Dave's settings for regular mode.

Sorry, I do not.
Dave_O is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off