The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Noonin's Avatar Noonin
05:14 PM Liked: 12
post #331 of 1311
12-22-2011 | Posts: 147
Joined: Nov 2011
Any of you guys running some of the recommended settings on your sets before 100 hours of break-in?
ped's Avatar ped
08:00 AM Liked: 10
post #332 of 1311
12-23-2011 | Posts: 208
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by petemc1 View Post

Yeah,but CNN and ESPN,etc,etc have those damn logo's too.I'll run the break in slides when I can.Does the risk of Ir or burn in go away after the first 100/200 hours of watching the tv?

I can speak from experience that it's still an issue after 400 hrs.

I've read that it's less sensitive after the first 1000 hrs.
ggsantafe's Avatar ggsantafe
08:44 AM Liked: 68
post #333 of 1311
12-23-2011 | Posts: 711
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken325i View Post

custom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post

Any of you guys running some of the recommended settings on your sets before 100 hours of break-in?

I have a GT30 that I purchased on Halloween - I did not use break in slides, kept brightness & contrast around 50 for first 50 hours or so, & then applied Dave O settings, 2.1 Luminance patch & 2.2 firmware update and have been watching all content ever since with no problems at all. July build date, does not appear to have any Fbr and I am quite pleased with picture quality. There are many who swear by the break in process, as well as countless others (most who do not post on this, or any thread) who take the set out of the box, turn it on, and enjoy their video content.
Noonin's Avatar Noonin
10:07 AM Liked: 12
post #334 of 1311
12-23-2011 | Posts: 147
Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post

I have a GT30 that I purchased on Halloween - I did not use break in slides, kept brightness & contrast around 50 for first 50 hours or so, & then applied Dave O settings, 2.1 Luminance patch & 2.2 firmware update and have been watching all content ever since with no problems at all. July build date, does not appear to have any Fbr and I am quite pleased with picture quality. There are many who swear by the break in process, as well as countless others (most who do not post on this, or any thread) who take the set out of the box, turn it on, and enjoy their video content.

Thanks santafe. You're about a month ahead of me in time, though we don't watch a lot of TV during the week, so I've been running slides from time to time to get a few more hours on it (I'm guessing I'm about up to 50 hrs.). My set is an October build and I applied the firmware update too. I'll print out Dave's settings and play around with them and see how it looks.

In reading all these posts, it can be easy to over-analize, hyper-critique everything and drive yourself nuts over things that may not be a big deal. I bet 75% of people who actual bought this set over the last year haven't been to any of these websites to know what they're "supposed" to do, and like you said, just plug them in and enjoy. However, me being a little OCD...
jagz5586's Avatar jagz5586
01:16 PM Liked: 10
post #335 of 1311
12-23-2011 | Posts: 22
Joined: Dec 2011
Just got my second Gt30 in it is still an april build but not more white blotches on green slides so it doesnt seem to be on every gt30 so that is good news for people who had that problem. Now its time to get the FBR fix
puttsthree's Avatar puttsthree
10:48 AM Liked: 10
post #336 of 1311
12-24-2011 | Posts: 62
Joined: Dec 2006
I have the 55GT30, done the 100hr slides, updated to F/W 2.1 then 2.2, applied the latest Dave_O's settings for THX and Custom. Looks great in low light. Problem I have is during the day the TV faces windows and the glare is very noticiable. I am still in my 30 day return period (may have to return if the glare can not be minimized). Is there anyway to improve the glare by adjusting the settings?
cpcat's Avatar cpcat
12:01 PM Liked: 10
post #337 of 1311
12-24-2011 | Posts: 6,471
Joined: Nov 2003
With 2.1 applied, according to DaveO,
you can bump the contrast as high as 75 (in Thx mode)
without sacrificing too much overall in PQ.
I run mine around 65 in Thx with brightness
around 51 and it's bright enough. If you go as high
as 75 on the contrast, double check the brightness
setting with either a pluge test pattern or by the
dithering method. You'll probably find you
need to drop the brightness control even a few
more tics.

Ideally, you'd not have direct sunlight hitting
the screen for best PQ.
tufferd's Avatar tufferd
12:20 AM Liked: 10
post #338 of 1311
12-25-2011 | Posts: 23
Joined: Apr 2007
I got my new gt30 and when I first got it set up I was really unhappy. So what did I do? I came here. Thank You Dave O, Ken, D-Nice and others for giving those with less means and knowledge the benefit of your experience.

I am rather novice at all this. But thanks to this forum I was able to download firmware updated 2.1 and 2.2 and am just waiting for the 100 hours to be up so I can enjoy. I am breaking in under thx with brightness and contrast quite low and just using zoom screen. I can't wait as even at these low levels I can tell the difference. Dave Os settings are copied and ready to go.

Thanks again everyone.
tufferd's Avatar tufferd
12:24 AM Liked: 10
post #339 of 1311
12-25-2011 | Posts: 23
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttsthree View Post

I have the 55GT30, done the 100hr slides, updated to F/W 2.1 then 2.2, applied the latest Dave_O's settings for THX and Custom. Looks great in low light. Problem I have is during the day the TV faces windows and the glare is very noticiable. I am still in my 30 day return period (may have to return if the glare can not be minimized). Is there anyway to improve the glare by adjusting the settings?

I would switch TV's. I know they are tougher to find nowadays but last year I found a Sony kdl 46ex710 LED Edge lit TV that I use in bright light situations. This tv does not have the glass/reflective screen but instead has a matte finish screen. It is awesome for glare and still looks great (I have a light shining right on it and can have all windows open). Try find a matte screen like that and you will be set, also LED will give you the vibrancy needed during the day. The only thing I dont like about it is that it is edge lit and in dark scenes the edges are brighter other than that I would buy it again in an instant. I believe Sony replaced it with the 720 this year.
skywing269's Avatar skywing269
08:18 AM Liked: 10
post #340 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2007
So I have my P50GT30 and upon first starting it up and connecting it to the internet it performed an update to 2.2 (shows 2200 in version information). Would I still need to install the 2.1 Luminance fix on top of that or would that cause an issue of some kind?
moxie1617's Avatar moxie1617
09:03 AM Liked: 13
post #341 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 2,431
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by skywing269 View Post

So I have my P50GT30 and upon first starting it up and connecting it to the internet it performed an update to 2.2 (shows 2200 in version information). Would I still need to install the 2.1 Luminance fix on top of that or would that cause an issue of some kind?

You can install 2.1 over 2.2 , then install 2.2 again and apply Dave_O's settings.
jtheman's Avatar jtheman
12:18 PM Liked: 10
post #342 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 57
Joined: May 2007
My uncle told me he just bought a gt30 so i check all the pages here and going to put the 2.1 firmware patch with dave o settings after.he just called me to say its the st30 not the gt30......do these 2 have the same panels because i wanted to try dave o settings because in the calibration thread in the gt30 its all about d-nice settings.
deecue's Avatar deecue
06:19 PM Liked: 11
post #343 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 91
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

You can install 2.1 over 2.2 , then install 2.2 again and apply Dave_O's settings.

so even if our firmware is already 2.2, it wouldn't have received the 2.1 luminance update? that's a bit confusing and odd.. you would assume if you had 2.2, then you would have received the 2.1 update as well..
ggsantafe's Avatar ggsantafe
07:26 PM Liked: 68
post #344 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 711
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecue View Post

so even if our firmware is already 2.2, it wouldn't have received the 2.1 luminance update? that's a bit confusing and odd.. you would assume if you had 2.2, then you would have received the 2.1 update as well..

2 different updates - the 2.1 luminance patch can only be downloaded via an SD card and installed on the GT30 (designed for professional calibrators - but still helpful, I think to the overall performance of the the GT30) The 2.2 firmware update can be accessed by all via the unit's internet connection. In any case, once you have installed the 2.1 patch, reload the 2.2 update. Then I suggest inputting Dave O's settings & you will be well on your way to an excellent image on your set!
@TOMMY@'s Avatar @TOMMY@
08:44 PM Liked: 10
post #345 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 41
Joined: Jan 2007
For those that have tried D-Nice and Dave_O's setting on a firmware 2.1/2.2 updated GT30, which do you prefer? I'm leaning on Dave's setting because D-Nice's is optimized for pre-2.1 firmware.
skywing269's Avatar skywing269
08:55 PM Liked: 10
post #346 of 1311
12-28-2011 | Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post

2 different updates - the 2.1 luminance patch can only be downloaded via an SD card and installed on the GT30 (designed for professional calibrators - but still helpful, I think to the overall performance of the the GT30) The 2.2 firmware update can be accessed by all via the unit's internet connection. In any case, once you have installed the 2.1 patch, reload the 2.2 update. Then I suggest inputting Dave O's settings & you will be well on your way to an excellent image on your set!

You are correct. Ran all the updates today, ran 2.1 off SD card then updated back up to 2.2. Put in Dave O's settings and the picture difference is pretty amazing. At least coming from the settings I was using previously.
deecue's Avatar deecue
08:17 AM Liked: 11
post #347 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 91
Joined: Nov 2005
ok, great.. thanks for the explanation everybody.. much appreciated.. will grab the 2.1 patch and then throw 2.2 back on there..
wuchmee's Avatar wuchmee
09:40 AM Liked: 10
post #348 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Dave_O: an observation and a question.

First, your settings are great, but I find that I prefer to use Warm 1; Warm 2 pushes the red too far for me.

Now the question - do you use your Custom settings for all viewing (TV and disc)?

Thanks again for your contributions.
Dave_O's Avatar Dave_O
10:11 AM Liked: 14
post #349 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 157
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuchmee View Post

Dave_O: an observation and a question.

First, your settings are great, but I find that I prefer to use Warm 1; Warm 2 pushes the red too far for me.

Now the question - do you use your Custom settings for all viewing (TV and disc)?

Thanks again for your contributions.

Most of my TV watching is at night, in a dim room. I use the Low Panel Custom settings in that environment. For daytime viewing, I use THX mode with Contrast at 75.

Warm 2 was the setting that came closest to the 6500 K color temp standard.
wuchmee's Avatar wuchmee
10:49 AM Liked: 10
post #350 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Most of my TV watching is at night, in a dim room. I use the Low Panel Custom settings in that environment. For daytime viewing, I use THX mode with Contrast at 75.

Warm 2 was the setting that came closest to the 6500 K color temp standard.

Thanks, Dave. I didn't realize that your Custom settings were also applicable to Low Panel as well.

Regarding the Warm 2 and the 6500 K standard - what did you use to measure the color temp?
Dave_O's Avatar Dave_O
11:15 AM Liked: 14
post #351 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 157
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuchmee View Post
Thanks, Dave. I didn't realize that your Custom settings were also applicable to Low Panel as well.

Regarding the Warm 2 and the 6500 K standard - what did you use to measure the color temp?
Calibration was done with CalMAN 4.4.2, X2 colorimeter, and AVSHD 709 2d Small APL Windows pattern source

There are 2 seperate settings posted in the forum. I've enclosed both PDF's in this post.

 

Best custom Calibration -Low Brightness, after custom FW 2.1.pdf 261.115234375k . file

 

Best custom Calibration -Mid Brightness, after custom FW 2.1.pdf 258.748046875k . file
@TOMMY@'s Avatar @TOMMY@
02:58 PM Liked: 10
post #352 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 41
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Calibration was done with CalMAN 4.4.2, X2 colorimeter, and AVSHD 709 2d Small APL Windows pattern source

There are 2 seperate settings posted in the forum. I've enclosed both PDF's in this post.

Thanks Dave for providing the numbers. I'm a little confused as to which one is best for low light viewing. The one with mid panel brightness or low panel brightness?

When you say you use THX and contrast at 75 for day time viewing, do you mean I just switch the mode from Custom to THX (+ contrast 75) and leave the other setting at THX default?
Dave_O's Avatar Dave_O
06:12 PM Liked: 14
post #353 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 157
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by @TOMMY@ View Post


Thanks Dave for providing the numbers. I'm a little confused as to which one is best for low light viewing. The one with mid panel brightness or low panel brightness?

When you say you use THX and contrast at 75 for day time viewing, do you mean I just switch the mode from Custom to THX (+ contrast 75) and leave the other setting at THX default?

Low panel settings for a room with dim lighting. Yes to the THX question.
@TOMMY@'s Avatar @TOMMY@
07:53 PM Liked: 10
post #354 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 41
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Low panel settings for a room with dim lighting. Yes to the THX question.

Got it.

What is the Mid panel setting for?
cpcat's Avatar cpcat
08:02 PM Liked: 10
post #355 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 6,471
Joined: Nov 2003
FYI if you increase contrast in THX you may find you'll
need to adjust the brightness a few tics downward from
the default setting. Use a pluge pattern on a test disc or the
dithering method to double check.
Dave_O's Avatar Dave_O
08:15 PM Liked: 14
post #356 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 157
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by @TOMMY@ View Post


Got it.

What is the Mid panel setting for?

Both the Mid Panel settings and the THX with increased Contrast are for those who find the Low Panel settings too dim.

The best way to calibrate this set seems to be to have a Pro calibrate THX mode using the service menu. D-Nice and Chad B have posted great results.
kendognz's Avatar kendognz
08:20 PM Liked: 11
post #357 of 1311
12-29-2011 | Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2011
Does anyone know if it's possible to apply the North American 2.1 update to a TV not from North America?
I am in New Zealand so have an Asian model (TH-P55GT30Z), the Panasonic site does not have the same 2.1 update in the download section.

Thanks.
LD500's Avatar LD500
09:10 AM Liked: 10
post #358 of 1311
12-30-2011 | Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 2004
Just purchased a 60GT30.
My 60GT30 is going to get the fluctuating brightness SD card firmware fix by the local authorized service center soon.

If I apply the 2.1 luminance update and the 2.2 firmware update now, will the FBR SD fix wipe those out?

Also, does the TV automatically prompt me to re-install 2.2 after I use SD to install the 2.1?

Basically wondering how the 3 different updates work together, or not.

Thanks
ThePrisoner's Avatar ThePrisoner
05:53 PM Liked: 18
post #359 of 1311
12-30-2011 | Posts: 2,186
Joined: Jan 2004
So far I'm happy using THX mode with contrast at 65 for dark room viewing and Dave O's custom mid panel brightness setting for daytime and 3D.
LD500's Avatar LD500
02:38 AM Liked: 10
post #360 of 1311
12-31-2011 | Posts: 161
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD500 View Post

Just purchased a 60GT30.
My 60GT30 is going to get the fluctuating brightness SD card firmware fix by the local authorized service center soon.

If I apply the 2.1 luminance update and the 2.2 firmware update now, will the FBR SD fix wipe those out?

Also, does the TV automatically prompt me to re-install 2.2 after I use SD to install the 2.1?

Basically wondering how the 3 different updates work together, or not.

Thanks

Had the SD card firmware fix for fluctuating brightness installed by authorized Panasonic service today. Reloaded the 2.1 luminance firmware and it didnt' say anything about it being installed already so I assume it was erased. Hope nothing is wrong with applying it twice if that's what happened. Shortly thereafter the TV prompted me to update to firmware 2.2

Looks like the SD firmward fix for fbr does wipe out the other firmware updates.
Tags: Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3