The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 1311 Old 12-22-2011, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any of you guys running some of the recommended settings on your sets before 100 hours of break-in?
Noonin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 1311 Old 12-23-2011, 07:00 AM
ped
Senior Member
 
ped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by petemc1 View Post

Yeah,but CNN and ESPN,etc,etc have those damn logo's too.I'll run the break in slides when I can.Does the risk of Ir or burn in go away after the first 100/200 hours of watching the tv?

I can speak from experience that it's still an issue after 400 hrs.

I've read that it's less sensitive after the first 1000 hrs.
ped is offline  
post #333 of 1311 Old 12-23-2011, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken325i View Post

custom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post

Any of you guys running some of the recommended settings on your sets before 100 hours of break-in?

I have a GT30 that I purchased on Halloween - I did not use break in slides, kept brightness & contrast around 50 for first 50 hours or so, & then applied Dave O settings, 2.1 Luminance patch & 2.2 firmware update and have been watching all content ever since with no problems at all. July build date, does not appear to have any Fbr and I am quite pleased with picture quality. There are many who swear by the break in process, as well as countless others (most who do not post on this, or any thread) who take the set out of the box, turn it on, and enjoy their video content.

ggsantafe is offline  
post #334 of 1311 Old 12-23-2011, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post

I have a GT30 that I purchased on Halloween - I did not use break in slides, kept brightness & contrast around 50 for first 50 hours or so, & then applied Dave O settings, 2.1 Luminance patch & 2.2 firmware update and have been watching all content ever since with no problems at all. July build date, does not appear to have any Fbr and I am quite pleased with picture quality. There are many who swear by the break in process, as well as countless others (most who do not post on this, or any thread) who take the set out of the box, turn it on, and enjoy their video content.

Thanks santafe. You're about a month ahead of me in time, though we don't watch a lot of TV during the week, so I've been running slides from time to time to get a few more hours on it (I'm guessing I'm about up to 50 hrs.). My set is an October build and I applied the firmware update too. I'll print out Dave's settings and play around with them and see how it looks.

In reading all these posts, it can be easy to over-analize, hyper-critique everything and drive yourself nuts over things that may not be a big deal. I bet 75% of people who actual bought this set over the last year haven't been to any of these websites to know what they're "supposed" to do, and like you said, just plug them in and enjoy. However, me being a little OCD...
Noonin is offline  
post #335 of 1311 Old 12-23-2011, 12:16 PM
Member
 
jagz5586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my second Gt30 in it is still an april build but not more white blotches on green slides so it doesnt seem to be on every gt30 so that is good news for people who had that problem. Now its time to get the FBR fix
jagz5586 is offline  
post #336 of 1311 Old 12-24-2011, 09:48 AM
Member
 
puttsthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 55GT30, done the 100hr slides, updated to F/W 2.1 then 2.2, applied the latest Dave_O's settings for THX and Custom. Looks great in low light. Problem I have is during the day the TV faces windows and the glare is very noticiable. I am still in my 30 day return period (may have to return if the glare can not be minimized). Is there anyway to improve the glare by adjusting the settings?
puttsthree is offline  
post #337 of 1311 Old 12-24-2011, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With 2.1 applied, according to DaveO,
you can bump the contrast as high as 75 (in Thx mode)
without sacrificing too much overall in PQ.
I run mine around 65 in Thx with brightness
around 51 and it's bright enough. If you go as high
as 75 on the contrast, double check the brightness
setting with either a pluge test pattern or by the
dithering method. You'll probably find you
need to drop the brightness control even a few
more tics.

Ideally, you'd not have direct sunlight hitting
the screen for best PQ.
cpcat is offline  
post #338 of 1311 Old 12-24-2011, 11:20 PM
Member
 
tufferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my new gt30 and when I first got it set up I was really unhappy. So what did I do? I came here. Thank You Dave O, Ken, D-Nice and others for giving those with less means and knowledge the benefit of your experience.

I am rather novice at all this. But thanks to this forum I was able to download firmware updated 2.1 and 2.2 and am just waiting for the 100 hours to be up so I can enjoy. I am breaking in under thx with brightness and contrast quite low and just using zoom screen. I can't wait as even at these low levels I can tell the difference. Dave Os settings are copied and ready to go.

Thanks again everyone.
tufferd is offline  
post #339 of 1311 Old 12-24-2011, 11:24 PM
Member
 
tufferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttsthree View Post

I have the 55GT30, done the 100hr slides, updated to F/W 2.1 then 2.2, applied the latest Dave_O's settings for THX and Custom. Looks great in low light. Problem I have is during the day the TV faces windows and the glare is very noticiable. I am still in my 30 day return period (may have to return if the glare can not be minimized). Is there anyway to improve the glare by adjusting the settings?

I would switch TV's. I know they are tougher to find nowadays but last year I found a Sony kdl 46ex710 LED Edge lit TV that I use in bright light situations. This tv does not have the glass/reflective screen but instead has a matte finish screen. It is awesome for glare and still looks great (I have a light shining right on it and can have all windows open). Try find a matte screen like that and you will be set, also LED will give you the vibrancy needed during the day. The only thing I dont like about it is that it is edge lit and in dark scenes the edges are brighter other than that I would buy it again in an instant. I believe Sony replaced it with the 720 this year.
tufferd is offline  
post #340 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 07:18 AM
Member
 
skywing269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have my P50GT30 and upon first starting it up and connecting it to the internet it performed an update to 2.2 (shows 2200 in version information). Would I still need to install the 2.1 Luminance fix on top of that or would that cause an issue of some kind?
skywing269 is offline  
post #341 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by skywing269 View Post

So I have my P50GT30 and upon first starting it up and connecting it to the internet it performed an update to 2.2 (shows 2200 in version information). Would I still need to install the 2.1 Luminance fix on top of that or would that cause an issue of some kind?

You can install 2.1 over 2.2 , then install 2.2 again and apply Dave_O's settings.
moxie1617 is offline  
post #342 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 11:18 AM
Member
 
jtheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My uncle told me he just bought a gt30 so i check all the pages here and going to put the 2.1 firmware patch with dave o settings after.he just called me to say its the st30 not the gt30......do these 2 have the same panels because i wanted to try dave o settings because in the calibration thread in the gt30 its all about d-nice settings.
jtheman is offline  
post #343 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 05:19 PM
Member
 
deecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie1617 View Post

You can install 2.1 over 2.2 , then install 2.2 again and apply Dave_O's settings.

so even if our firmware is already 2.2, it wouldn't have received the 2.1 luminance update? that's a bit confusing and odd.. you would assume if you had 2.2, then you would have received the 2.1 update as well..
deecue is offline  
post #344 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecue View Post

so even if our firmware is already 2.2, it wouldn't have received the 2.1 luminance update? that's a bit confusing and odd.. you would assume if you had 2.2, then you would have received the 2.1 update as well..

2 different updates - the 2.1 luminance patch can only be downloaded via an SD card and installed on the GT30 (designed for professional calibrators - but still helpful, I think to the overall performance of the the GT30) The 2.2 firmware update can be accessed by all via the unit's internet connection. In any case, once you have installed the 2.1 patch, reload the 2.2 update. Then I suggest inputting Dave O's settings & you will be well on your way to an excellent image on your set!

ggsantafe is offline  
post #345 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 07:44 PM
Member
 
@TOMMY@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those that have tried D-Nice and Dave_O's setting on a firmware 2.1/2.2 updated GT30, which do you prefer? I'm leaning on Dave's setting because D-Nice's is optimized for pre-2.1 firmware.
@TOMMY@ is offline  
post #346 of 1311 Old 12-28-2011, 07:55 PM
Member
 
skywing269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post

2 different updates - the 2.1 luminance patch can only be downloaded via an SD card and installed on the GT30 (designed for professional calibrators - but still helpful, I think to the overall performance of the the GT30) The 2.2 firmware update can be accessed by all via the unit's internet connection. In any case, once you have installed the 2.1 patch, reload the 2.2 update. Then I suggest inputting Dave O's settings & you will be well on your way to an excellent image on your set!

You are correct. Ran all the updates today, ran 2.1 off SD card then updated back up to 2.2. Put in Dave O's settings and the picture difference is pretty amazing. At least coming from the settings I was using previously.
skywing269 is offline  
post #347 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 07:17 AM
Member
 
deecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ok, great.. thanks for the explanation everybody.. much appreciated.. will grab the 2.1 patch and then throw 2.2 back on there..
deecue is offline  
post #348 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
wuchmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave_O: an observation and a question.

First, your settings are great, but I find that I prefer to use Warm 1; Warm 2 pushes the red too far for me.

Now the question - do you use your Custom settings for all viewing (TV and disc)?

Thanks again for your contributions.
wuchmee is offline  
post #349 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuchmee View Post

Dave_O: an observation and a question.

First, your settings are great, but I find that I prefer to use Warm 1; Warm 2 pushes the red too far for me.

Now the question - do you use your Custom settings for all viewing (TV and disc)?

Thanks again for your contributions.

Most of my TV watching is at night, in a dim room. I use the Low Panel Custom settings in that environment. For daytime viewing, I use THX mode with Contrast at 75.

Warm 2 was the setting that came closest to the 6500 K color temp standard.
Dave_O is offline  
post #350 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
wuchmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Most of my TV watching is at night, in a dim room. I use the Low Panel Custom settings in that environment. For daytime viewing, I use THX mode with Contrast at 75.

Warm 2 was the setting that came closest to the 6500 K color temp standard.

Thanks, Dave. I didn't realize that your Custom settings were also applicable to Low Panel as well.

Regarding the Warm 2 and the 6500 K standard - what did you use to measure the color temp?
wuchmee is offline  
post #351 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 10:15 AM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuchmee View Post
Thanks, Dave. I didn't realize that your Custom settings were also applicable to Low Panel as well.

Regarding the Warm 2 and the 6500 K standard - what did you use to measure the color temp?
Calibration was done with CalMAN 4.4.2, X2 colorimeter, and AVSHD 709 2d Small APL Windows pattern source

There are 2 seperate settings posted in the forum. I've enclosed both PDF's in this post.

 

Best custom Calibration -Low Brightness, after custom FW 2.1.pdf 261.115234375k . file

 

Best custom Calibration -Mid Brightness, after custom FW 2.1.pdf 258.748046875k . file
Dave_O is offline  
post #352 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 01:58 PM
Member
 
@TOMMY@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Calibration was done with CalMAN 4.4.2, X2 colorimeter, and AVSHD 709 2d Small APL Windows pattern source

There are 2 seperate settings posted in the forum. I've enclosed both PDF's in this post.

Thanks Dave for providing the numbers. I'm a little confused as to which one is best for low light viewing. The one with mid panel brightness or low panel brightness?

When you say you use THX and contrast at 75 for day time viewing, do you mean I just switch the mode from Custom to THX (+ contrast 75) and leave the other setting at THX default?
@TOMMY@ is offline  
post #353 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 05:12 PM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by @TOMMY@ View Post


Thanks Dave for providing the numbers. I'm a little confused as to which one is best for low light viewing. The one with mid panel brightness or low panel brightness?

When you say you use THX and contrast at 75 for day time viewing, do you mean I just switch the mode from Custom to THX (+ contrast 75) and leave the other setting at THX default?

Low panel settings for a room with dim lighting. Yes to the THX question.
Dave_O is offline  
post #354 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 06:53 PM
Member
 
@TOMMY@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_O View Post

Low panel settings for a room with dim lighting. Yes to the THX question.

Got it.

What is the Mid panel setting for?
@TOMMY@ is offline  
post #355 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI if you increase contrast in THX you may find you'll
need to adjust the brightness a few tics downward from
the default setting. Use a pluge pattern on a test disc or the
dithering method to double check.
cpcat is offline  
post #356 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by @TOMMY@ View Post


Got it.

What is the Mid panel setting for?

Both the Mid Panel settings and the THX with increased Contrast are for those who find the Low Panel settings too dim.

The best way to calibrate this set seems to be to have a Pro calibrate THX mode using the service menu. D-Nice and Chad B have posted great results.
Dave_O is offline  
post #357 of 1311 Old 12-29-2011, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
kendognz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if it's possible to apply the North American 2.1 update to a TV not from North America?
I am in New Zealand so have an Asian model (TH-P55GT30Z), the Panasonic site does not have the same 2.1 update in the download section.

Thanks.
kendognz is offline  
post #358 of 1311 Old 12-30-2011, 08:10 AM
Member
 
LD500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased a 60GT30.
My 60GT30 is going to get the fluctuating brightness SD card firmware fix by the local authorized service center soon.

If I apply the 2.1 luminance update and the 2.2 firmware update now, will the FBR SD fix wipe those out?

Also, does the TV automatically prompt me to re-install 2.2 after I use SD to install the 2.1?

Basically wondering how the 3 different updates work together, or not.

Thanks
LD500 is offline  
post #359 of 1311 Old 12-30-2011, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So far I'm happy using THX mode with contrast at 65 for dark room viewing and Dave O's custom mid panel brightness setting for daytime and 3D.

Panasonic 60GT30
Onkyo NR838
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #360 of 1311 Old 12-31-2011, 01:38 AM
Member
 
LD500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LD500 View Post

Just purchased a 60GT30.
My 60GT30 is going to get the fluctuating brightness SD card firmware fix by the local authorized service center soon.

If I apply the 2.1 luminance update and the 2.2 firmware update now, will the FBR SD fix wipe those out?

Also, does the TV automatically prompt me to re-install 2.2 after I use SD to install the 2.1?

Basically wondering how the 3 different updates work together, or not.

Thanks

Had the SD card firmware fix for fluctuating brightness installed by authorized Panasonic service today. Reloaded the 2.1 luminance firmware and it didnt' say anything about it being installed already so I assume it was erased. Hope nothing is wrong with applying it twice if that's what happened. Shortly thereafter the TV prompted me to update to firmware 2.2

Looks like the SD firmward fix for fbr does wipe out the other firmware updates.
LD500 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off