The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1311 Old 07-04-2011, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio5oh View Post

Yeah, I can watch content without black bars, however, most channels we watch on cable usually have a stinking logo at the bottom right corner. Is there some type of progamming you suggest I watch, for example, something that has lots of color, such as cartoons. I have many Disney films that have an aspect ratio of 1:85 which will fill the entire screen. What do you all suggest?

If you have to watch tv on it, like i did, i would change the the viewing format on the tv to zoom, which will fill the entire screen somewhat past the logo, and then i would go into the format options or aspect and move the picture on the screen up or down whichever way to get rid of the rest of the static image. You end up not being able to see everything because your zoomed in but its better than nothing
Wermey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1311 Old 07-04-2011, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
maygit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uh oh, intense IR or possibly burn-in on my stores demo of the 50GT30 .

**IMPORTANT NOTE**for those who are fear this is common:
The TVs picture setting is on "Vivid" which is most susceptible to IR/Burn-in AND, most importantly, the tv continuously for about 3 months was left in the main menu of "Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs" for hours at a time before play was hit and the play/settings/audio options are static in the menu (these are what may have burned in).

It is subtle, magenta-ish in color, and not noticeable in normal content, only in an all white screen. I noticed it today shortly after i turned on the tv.

I made this post to see how long i should run the scrolling bar before i should give up? The scrolling bar has been going for 30 min now and i'm running it for the 3rd time to see if it helps. So far I haven't noticed an improvement.

Edit: I gave up after running it for the third time (45 min total). I tossed in a different disc that's designed to loop on 3D so hopefully it improves with time. I'll be monitoring it daily out of my own curiousity to see if it dissipates and i'll make a new post if it does.

maygit is offline  
post #33 of 1311 Old 07-05-2011, 11:03 AM
Member
 
BovineD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the settings Ken! I was on the fence with the built in ones and doing too much switching around for the various modes of viewing but your settings seem to be great for all types of content. I modified to add a bit of sharpness (25) and use Warm 1 as well as the colors a bit too strong at warm 2. Also the blacks did not seem to be as deep so I have gamma set to 2.0. Still breaking in with the standard color gradient slides but SF Giants games look AWESOME with these settings! Thanks again
BovineD is offline  
post #34 of 1311 Old 07-08-2011, 05:59 PM
Member
 
ken325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lititz PA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BovineD View Post

Thanks for the settings Ken! I was on the fence with the built in ones and doing too much switching around for the various modes of viewing but your settings seem to be great for all types of content. I modified to add a bit of sharpness (25) and use Warm 1 as well as the colors a bit too strong at warm 2. Also the blacks did not seem to be as deep so I have gamma set to 2.0. Still breaking in with the standard color gradient slides but SF Giants games look AWESOME with these settings! Thanks again

Glad I could help!!
ken
ken325i is offline  
post #35 of 1311 Old 07-08-2011, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know why when my 65gt30 when set to full and aspect hd size set to 2, i get a 1/8 inch gap from the bezel and the picture on the left side of the screen?? This happens with any format, blu ray, dvd, directv all through hdmi. Even with pixel orbiter off it still doesnt fill up the whole screen
Wermey is offline  
post #36 of 1311 Old 07-09-2011, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio5oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,
I got my 50GT30 2 days ago and have been playing with it all day, all night. Regular HD channel from Time Warner cable look fantastic in THX mode. There is no fluctuating brightness there, plus little tweaking was done in THX mode. For watching blu ray content and dvds, I have the picture set to "Custom" and use the settings you provided. I have noticed very little fluctuation in brightness level, but it is very minimal. You hardly notice it, plus it depends on the content you are watching. Also, some have complained on the buzzing. I hear NO buzzing at all, no matter what level I have the volume set to. The only minor complaint is that the speakers were better on my previous Samsung LCD LN46A650, which is a 2008 model, however, this is not a big deal as this is expected from a very thin plasma. Plus I use a Sony ES home theater receiver to watch blu rays. Other minor thing I noticed, may be my eyes, but the colors seem a little off when comparing the GT30 to my Samsung. My wife says the tv looks better and is the reason why I'm not used to the colors. Neither of us are colorblind. I don't know what to think of this, it's strange. Overall, I am satisfied with this new set.
I have some more questions on HDMI settings; On page 51 of the owner's manual, under "HDMI/DVI RGB Range", do you have that set to AUTO or Standard/Non-Standard? For "Contents Type", do you have that set to OFF, AUTO or GRAPHICS? Thanks again for your help.
Audio5oh is offline  
post #37 of 1311 Old 07-10-2011, 04:45 AM
Member
 
ken325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lititz PA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio5oh View Post

Ken,
I got my 50GT30 2 days ago and have been playing with it all day, all night. Regular HD channel from Time Warner cable look fantastic in THX mode. There is no fluctuating brightness there, plus little tweaking was done in THX mode. For watching blu ray content and dvds, I have the picture set to "Custom" and use the settings you provided. I have noticed very little fluctuation in brightness level, but it is very minimal. You hardly notice it, plus it depends on the content you are watching. Also, some have complained on the buzzing. I hear NO buzzing at all, no matter what level I have the volume set to. The only minor complaint is that the speakers were better on my previous Samsung LCD LN46A650, which is a 2008 model, however, this is not a big deal as this is expected from a very thin plasma. Plus I use a Sony ES home theater receiver to watch blu rays. Other minor thing I noticed, may be my eyes, but the colors seem a little off when comparing the GT30 to my Samsung. My wife says the tv looks better and is the reason why I'm not used to the colors. Neither of us are colorblind. I don't know what to think of this, it's strange. Overall, I am satisfied with this new set.
I have some more questions on HDMI settings; On page 51 of the owner's manual, under "HDMI/DVI RGB Range", do you have that set to AUTO or Standard/Non-Standard? For "Contents Type", do you have that set to OFF, AUTO or GRAPHICS? Thanks again for your help.

I have not touched any of these settings. HDMI/DVI set to AUTO and CONTENT TYPE set to OFF.

Agree with your comments on color - yes, I think it is off too - when comparing to my Panny 42PX600U. In some other forums, there is discussions an Panny maybe coming with a firmware update to improve "color gamut". We will see...........

Ken
ken325i is offline  
post #38 of 1311 Old 07-11-2011, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Dave_O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My objective was to use THX as a base, and get the brightest picture with the most accurate measurements without using the Service Menu. I found that increasing the contrast from 60 to 75 increased the light output from 30fl to 37fl, but further increases in contrast did not produce any increase in light output.


I then measured the effect of changing Color from 47 to 50. Following that, I measured the effect of changing Tint. I ended up with Contrast 75, Color 48, Tint 1 as the best mix.

Measurements of varying Color enclosed. Tint differences were a small improvement in DeltaE H. Setting Tint to -1 or 2 produced significantly worse results.

 

0k . file
Dave_O is offline  
post #39 of 1311 Old 07-11-2011, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I find that THX mode is by far the best for movie and tv watching. Nothing done in Custom can match THX due to the fact that there is a horrible red push that cannot be fixed in Custom Mode. Unless you get it calibrated I suppose.

THX is very good and the gama might not be the greatest but it is not as bad as many say and the movies and direct tv I watch look incredible with CNET THX mode settings.

I am returning the tv to Amazon due to the horrible FB and dirty screen affect in all dark scenes that I have seen in direct tv or gaming.

I cannot stand the FB due to the fact that it happens a lot. Mainly in anything that is gaming and I game a lot as well so this bugs me to no end.

I will exchange next week for the 59D7000 plasma.
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #40 of 1311 Old 07-15-2011, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
rokkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any settings for gaming?

I've turned off a lot of options that would introduce input lag, but I feel like I might be missing some settings...(trying to get it as low as possible for the inputs for my PS3 and 360, anything else going through my receiver I've decided is fine as is).
rokkon is offline  
post #41 of 1311 Old 07-15-2011, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkon View Post
Does anyone have any settings for gaming?

I've turned off a lot of options that would introduce input lag, but I feel like I might be missing some settings...(trying to get it as low as possible for the inputs for my PS3 and 360, anything else going through my receiver I've decided is fine as is).
I am very sensitive to input lag and this set has very little that it does not bother me one bit on shooters or sports games like MLB the show

I use custom mode because game mode has horrible FB
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #42 of 1311 Old 07-15-2011, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkon View Post
Does anyone have any settings for gaming?

I've turned off a lot of options that would introduce input lag, but I feel like I might be missing some settings...(trying to get it as low as possible for the inputs for my PS3 and 360, anything else going through my receiver I've decided is fine as is).
i actually compared game mode to THX mode and it seems that thx mode is a little better for input lag. Game tested was MLB 11 The Show.
Wermey is offline  
post #43 of 1311 Old 07-15-2011, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
rokkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was doing some relative testing to see what kind of results I was getting...
360 -> HDMI splitter -> GT30 and ASUS VH236H [which is lag tested to around 19ms]

I did the unscientific Rock Band 3 autolag calibration and got 43ms for the GT30 and 25ms for the VH236H. So that tells me that the guitar introduces about 6ms of lag going over the wireless. And that gives me a rough estimate

I haven't actually run anything else to try to get a good read on the input lag (and there's a whole other thread for that), but putting it on THX did knock it down a few ms, so that's a start...
rokkon is offline  
post #44 of 1311 Old 07-16-2011, 06:37 AM
Member
 
jschilds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken325i View Post

Contrast , Br, and color calibrated with S &M.......WB settings came from another forum.
Custom
Contrast 75
Brightness 57
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 0
Color Temp Warm 2
CATS off
Video NR off
Color space normal
high R -3
high G 6
high B 5
low R 3
low G -3
low B -5
Gamma 2.2
PB mid
contour off
AGC 0
Full Size 2
block NR off
Mosquito NR off
Motion Smoother off
Black Level Light

I am very pleased with the 50GT30, have no FBr, and prefer a brighter MID panel brightness than the recommended LOW. To each his own........

EDIT - located in family room, normal light for day and night. Relocated a Panansonic 42PX600U to the bedroom, and it is STILL a fantastic tv!

Ken

Thanks Ken your calibration info is pretty good. I had some trouble with flesh tones and made a few adjustments on my new 55gt30 Color 42,tint +4(seems to be a little red push), gamma 2.0, contour on, color temp warm1, agc +7.
jschilds is offline  
post #45 of 1311 Old 07-16-2011, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
Ron R.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken325i View Post
Contrast , Br, and color calibrated with S &M.......WB settings came from another forum.
Custom
Contrast 75
Brightness 57
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 0
Color Temp Warm 2
CATS off
Video NR off
Color space normal
high R -3
high G 6
high B 5
low R 3
low G -3
low B -5
Gamma 2.2
PB mid
contour off
AGC 0
Full Size 2
block NR off
Mosquito NR off
Motion Smoother off
Black Level Light

I am very pleased with the 50GT30, have no FBr, and prefer a brighter MID panel brightness than the recommended LOW. To each his own........

EDIT - located in family room, normal light for day and night. Relocated a Panansonic 42PX600U to the bedroom, and it is STILL a fantastic tv!

Ken
I have a 60" GT30 and entered these settings until I got to the "block NR", "Mosquito NR", "Motion Smoother" and "Black Level" settings part. I could not get to the setting for these under the Custom setting. How do I get to these settings? I need an easy walk-thru for beginners.

I have been watching the set using the Vivid setting. The custom setting is much different. I am really enjoying the set.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can give me.
Ron R. is offline  
post #46 of 1311 Old 07-17-2011, 04:24 AM
Member
 
ken325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lititz PA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron R. View Post

I have a 60" GT30 and entered these settings until I got to the "block NR", "Mosquito NR", "Motion Smoother" and "Black Level" settings part. I could not get to the setting for these under the Custom setting. How do I get to these settings? I need an easy walk-thru for beginners.

I have been watching the set using the Vivid setting. The custom setting is much different. I am really enjoying the set.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can give me.

You have to be in CUSTOM, then on page 3 of settings, select ADVANCE PICTURE.

ken
ken325i is offline  
post #47 of 1311 Old 07-18-2011, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio5oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken325i View Post

I have not touched any of these settings. HDMI/DVI set to AUTO and CONTENT TYPE set to OFF.

Agree with your comments on color - yes, I think it is off too - when comparing to my Panny 42PX600U. In some other forums, there is discussions an Panny maybe coming with a firmware update to improve "color gamut". We will see...........

Ken

Thanks for noticing the colors, I knew it wasn't my mind going crazy. With all the discussions I've read about the fluctuating brightness and floating blacks, I can't believe that the color is what's upsetting me the most. I did a comparison yesterday and placed a Vizio flat panel from my bedroom next to the GT30. Believe me, this was a not easy as I had to disconnect and re-connect just to prove a point. Low and behold, the colors on the Vizio seemed more natural when compared to the GT30. Brightness fluctuation is very minimal, seen only on some blu ray content, but not enough to force me to return the set. The fact that the color appears unrealistic is sort of disappointing. I hope they release a firmware to fix this soon.
Audio5oh is offline  
post #48 of 1311 Old 08-01-2011, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Saydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have ended up with this setup for my modes and viewing:

THX - D-Nice's settings (night viewing) (ran slides for 140hrs.)
Custom - cNet's settings (night viewing for animations)
Vivid - replicated cNet's settings, but upped the brightness a touch (day viewing) - not so pleased

Now this works fine for night viewing, but my day viewing using Vivid mode just isn't quite right for me. I really like the THX settings, but I can not seem to find a setting I like for daytime viewing.

Anyone, who appreciates D-nice's Settings, care to share their day viewing settings?

I am not using the "Standard" and the "Cinema" modes, so I may use those to whack away at something I like. I do not have the Spears & Muncil disc. I am more of an audio person anyhow, so I'm not sure I'd be unhappy with copying another users settings as my own (as long as it is also a xxGT30) Thanks!

_________________________
Gear: Panasonic TC-P55GT30; Oppo BDP-93; CM-7000PAL; Harmony One; Sony KV-34HS510; Pioneer VSX-912; Harmony 880; Toshiba SD-6915; 95L Vented Shiva Sub
Saydee is offline  
post #49 of 1311 Old 08-28-2011, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Elevatorguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any new settings to add. I just finished my break-in slides last night (55GT30) and am trying different settings now. I like the look of the THX mode but prefer a little more pop in the color and brightness as I have tall windows and therefore some natural sunlight during the day. I am not looking for the cartoonish look of an LCD but just some more brightness and cleaner whites while remaining accurate. Thanks.
Elevatorguy is offline  
post #50 of 1311 Old 08-29-2011, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
phillip9698's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken just wanted to say that i love your settings for watching football. The colors on the uniforms really pop and the field looks excellent. These settings will work fine for the afternoon starts that most games get.

Only thing i have been going back and forth on is warm 1 and 2. Warm 2 seems to add just a very small amount of browning green tinge to the white uniforms.
phillip9698 is offline  
post #51 of 1311 Old 08-29-2011, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
templetun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, for D-Nice's settings, I just put the jpg's on a flash drive and play them as a slideshow for 100 hours? 4 days straight? For real? What am I going to do when these slides are running?!?

Then after that I just use the settings on that page of the calibration forums?

What if I have been using the tv already (for about 5 days, 4 hours a day)?

And why are people doing this to break the tv in when D-Nice say that the slides are not meant for break-in?

Kinda new to this
templetun is offline  
post #52 of 1311 Old 08-29-2011, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 1,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by templetun View Post

So, for D-Nice's settings, I just put the jpg's on a flash drive and play them as a slideshow for 100 hours? 4 days straight? For real? What am I going to do when these slides are running?!?

Then after that I just use the settings on that page of the calibration forums?

What if I have been using the tv already (for about 5 days, 4 hours a day)?

And why are people doing this to break the tv in when D-Nice say that the slides are not meant for break-in?

Kinda new to this

If you've been using the TV already for that length of time, there's no point to doing D-Nice's break-in procedure or using his settings, at least in terms of trying to achieve the same picture that he achieved. His settings assume you do the 100 hours of slides first to prep the panel. You can still use his settings, of course, but there's no guarantee they will look right. You may have to tweak your settings. Also, you can still use his slides or others to break in your panel gradually, but his slides were not for break-in per se, but to prep the panel for the correct settings.
smitty is offline  
post #53 of 1311 Old 08-30-2011, 04:31 PM
Newbie
 
dakotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the default offset values? I admit I screwed with my offsets, and now my warm2 setting is all sorts of screwed up. PLEASE HELP!!

in D-NICE's settings I mistakenly set the values that said "0 offset" to 0 values.
dakotus is offline  
post #54 of 1311 Old 08-30-2011, 06:21 PM
Member
 
ken325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lititz PA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillip9698 View Post

Ken just wanted to say that i love your settings for watching football. The colors on the uniforms really pop and the field looks excellent. These settings will work fine for the afternoon starts that most games get.

Only thing i have been going back and forth on is warm 1 and 2. Warm 2 seems to add just a very small amount of browning green tinge to the white uniforms.

The color is over saturated with custom, mid panel brightness -- creating to much of a suntan skin tone -- probably the same problem you are referencing -- browning green tinge with whites.

The "other" forum is discussing a firmware update being tested to fix the over saturation problem.

I am not happy with the color. I don't like THX - to washed out, and custom mid has over saturation. Hoping the firmware fix comes soon!!

Ken
ken325i is offline  
post #55 of 1311 Old 08-30-2011, 09:45 PM
Member
 
_thx1138_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
_thx1138_ is offline  
post #56 of 1311 Old 08-30-2011, 10:14 PM
Senior Member
 
templetun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tried ken's settings, I like it. Made it look a little more warm and lifelike. Very similar to the stock THX mode. but colors pop more and the black are a little more saturated. Perhaps a bit too much for my taste but it doesn't matter since I just noticed a stuck red pixel. Back to the store with this one.
templetun is offline  
post #57 of 1311 Old 08-31-2011, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakotus View Post

Does anyone have the default offset values? I admit I screwed with my offsets, and now my warm2 setting is all sorts of screwed up. PLEASE HELP!!

in D-NICE's settings I mistakenly set the values that said "0 offset" to 0 values.

Just play some SD content and go back into the sm offsets menu and write down all the settings, and then watch some HD content and reput the settings back
Wermey is offline  
post #58 of 1311 Old 08-31-2011, 06:59 PM
Member
 
jreth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have their sharpness turned up a little? Every setting I've come across has sharpness at 0. I feel it's almost blurry or out of focus without a bit of sharpness added.

Otherwise, I love the picture on my 65gt30.
jreth is offline  
post #59 of 1311 Old 09-01-2011, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Wermey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreth View Post

Does anyone have their sharpness turned up a little? Every setting I've come across has sharpness at 0. I feel it's almost blurry or out of focus without a bit of sharpness added.

Otherwise, I love the picture on my 65gt30.

i like being around 25-40 with sharpness
Wermey is offline  
post #60 of 1311 Old 09-01-2011, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
templetun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sooooo, I bought the tv at bb for $1350, and they have it now on the website for $1199. I went in to the store and got the $150 back. Told them that Amazon was selling it for 1099 AND giving the Avatar bundle for free. They said they can't do anything about the price but they gave me the Avatar bundle for free. Not a bad deal. I thought about getting the manager to try for the $1099 price match but felt a little greedy. Now I just need to pack the tv up and get a replacement. Ugh

btw, feel the same way about the sharpness. I think I have mine around 50-60.
templetun is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - P60gt30 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off