The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ram48335 View Post

My 100 hr slide prep is done and I started using dave'o settings for 2.1 patch and it looks great and HD and Blu ray movies are perfect treat to my eyes. Still playing with the settings for my dish.
Thanks a lot for all your suggestions and tips.
I'm loving my TV and worth the money I spent.
Thanks again

Always good to hear this. Congrats.
MrVizio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 08:31 AM
Member
 
alxrmero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Proud owner of a 55GT31 that was purchased at Best Buy last night for $1329.99.
alxrmero is offline  
post #723 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 02:12 PM
Member
 
jlb32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see alot are using "Warm 2" or "Warm 1" in the THX mode. I find "Normal" looks alot better to my eyes. Anyone else using "Normal" over "Warm 2" or "Warm 1"?
jlb32 is offline  
post #724 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 06:16 PM
Member
 
alxrmero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Loving the GT30 so far
LL
alxrmero is offline  
post #725 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 06:44 PM
Member
 
alxrmero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
55gt30
LL
alxrmero is offline  
post #726 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 09:45 PM
Member
 
ram48335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlb32 View Post

I see alot are using "Warm 2" or "Warm 1" in the THX mode. I find "Normal" looks alot better to my eyes. Anyone else using "Normal" over "Warm 2" or "Warm 1"?

I also prefer 'NORMAL' over 'Warm' settings.
ram48335 is offline  
post #727 of 1311 Old 03-18-2012, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
z00mz00m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a 65" GT30 and having problem with MKV playback. Some file can be play but not others. Samsung TV media player have no problem playing it. Any idea?
z00mz00m is offline  
post #728 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 05:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by alxrmero View Post

55gt30

Nice pic....I see you got a great deal with GT31 package,I wish it was that price when I purchased my GT30...Enjoy Buddy.

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #729 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlb32 View Post

I see alot are using "Warm 2" or "Warm 1" in the THX mode. I find "Normal" looks alot better to my eyes. Anyone else using "Normal" over "Warm 2" or "Warm 1"?

Another vote for normal.
Aliens is offline  
post #730 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 07:09 AM
C63
Member
 
C63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlb32 View Post

I see alot are using "Warm 2" or "Warm 1" in the THX mode. I find "Normal" looks alot better to my eyes. Anyone else using "Normal" over "Warm 2" or "Warm 1"?

Yep, me too. I am using THX mode with Normal color setting. Warm 1 & 2 are way too red/yellow to my eyes and just don't look natural. All the expert/calibrator reviews I've read say that THX out of the box has very accurate color settings in Warm2. Well, if that's "accurate" then there's no point in me spending the money for a calibration when my eyes simply prefer the look of Normal mode. To me it just looks more real-world natural, despite not meeting the industry standard 6500 color temp. I use Normal with contrast 75, brightness 55, color 49, tint -2 (to get rid of the last of the "yellow" look). and sharpness 30. Perfectly happy with the TV using these settings. In fact, as it gets past the 100 to 200 hour mark it seems to be getting better and better.
C63 is offline  
post #731 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post

Another vote for normal.

+1 Normal. I really wanted to keep it in Warm 2, but Normal just seems to give the image more life. My eyes have really grown to love THX in Normal with a contrast of 75-80.
MrVizio is offline  
post #732 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by C63 View Post

Yep, me too. I am using THX mode with Normal color setting. Warm 1 & 2 are way too red/yellow to my eyes and just don't look natural. All the expert/calibrator reviews I've read say that THX out of the box has very accurate color settings in Warm2. Well, if that's "accurate" then there's no point in me spending the money for a calibration when my eyes simply prefer the look of Normal mode. To me it just looks more real-world natural, despite not meeting the industry standard 6500 color temp. I use Normal with contrast 75, brightness 55, color 49, tint -2 (to get rid of the last of the "yellow" look). and sharpness 30. Perfectly happy with the TV using these settings. In fact, as it gets past the 100 to 200 hour mark it seems to be getting better and better.

I use almost the exact same settings. Really loving them.

And yes, I'm on close to 400 hrs and I swear the TV looks better with each day that passes. That's what I love about plasmas. It's like a flower blooming.
MrVizio is offline  
post #733 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 08:20 AM
Member
 
alxrmero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post


Nice pic....I see you got a great deal with GT31 package,I wish it was that price when I purchased my GT30...Enjoy Buddy.

I did enjoy it, but unfortunately I myself found a few dead pixels last night on the bottom right hand side. Unfortunately it will have to be returned, and now I must wait for the the new models to release, cause that model was their last one in stock.
alxrmero is offline  
post #734 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 08:43 AM
C63
Member
 
C63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a simple non-service-menu way to see how many hours of use the TV has had?
C63 is offline  
post #735 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
_owens_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all just got the 55gt31 w/ the 4 year black tie plan and im gathering all this info and i seem to be getting the concept just wanted to know a few things i already did the 2.2 update via wireless through the tv i believe. i was planning on using dave_o settings after im done watching tv in zoom under THX for 50-100 hours. Do i need to so anything else first before i plug the settings into the tv? will 2.1 help? any info or suggestions would be helpful thanks in advance.
_owens_ is offline  
post #736 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 03:23 PM
Member
 
johnkb24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dub C
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Current XBOX only allows component or VGA hookup. What to do recommended for best picture on my 65" GT30? I know I cant get 1080p on this TV from this current setup. But one setup has to look better than the other, or am I wrong?
johnkb24 is offline  
post #737 of 1311 Old 03-19-2012, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
sahmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quick question here: In the Viera link menu, there are three slots marked "Player" but it seems only one of them can connect to the blu ray player I have hooked up in HDMI 1, because I do not know how to get the other "player" slots to engage with the players on my HT rack. I have another blu ray player connected to the HDMI 2 slot, but somehow I cannot get it to engage with the Vieralink mechanism by selecting the second "player" slot in Viera link... First of all, does anyone know how to navigate away from "player" slot 1 to "player" slot 2 in Viera link? The Viera link display itself seems to respond to the arrows on the remote pointing sideways (i.e left and right), but not to those pointing up or down.

The simpler way to pose this question is how does one get more than one blu ray player to hook up with the Viera link interface on one TV?
sahmen is offline  
post #738 of 1311 Old 03-20-2012, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnkb24 View Post

Current XBOX only allows component or VGA hookup. What to do recommended for best picture on my 65" GT30? I know I cant get 1080p on this TV from this current setup. But one setup has to look better than the other, or am I wrong?

I've tried both. Personally, I'd go with the VGA due to the possibility of less lag. That is if you already have the Xbox VGA cable. There's a few things you need to know, however when using the VGA.

http://larchive.avsforum.com/www.avs...3#post21695523

Afterwards, VGA looked great!
MrVizio is offline  
post #739 of 1311 Old 03-20-2012, 06:17 AM
Member
 
johnkb24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dub C
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVizio View Post

I've tried both. Personally, I'd go with the VGA due to the possibility of less lag. That is if you already have the Xbox VGA cable. There's a few things you need to know, however when using the VGA.

http://larchive.avsforum.com/www.avs...3#post21695523

Afterwards, VGA looked great!

Awesome, thanks. Yes I have the Microsoft brand VGA cables. I'm glad this was your answer, cause I actually cant find the component ones anyway.
johnkb24 is offline  
post #740 of 1311 Old 03-20-2012, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnkb24 View Post

Awesome, thanks. Yes I have the Microsoft brand VGA cables. I'm glad this was your answer, cause I actually cant find the component ones anyway.

No prob.
MrVizio is offline  
post #741 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 07:23 AM
Member
 
ORANGEBROTHERS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vivid Mode
2.2 only no 2.1 patch
Contrast 98
Brightness 49
Color 43
Tint 3
Sharpness 74
ORANGEBROTHERS is offline  
post #742 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ORANGEBROTHERS View Post

Vivid Mode
2.2 only no 2.1 patch
Contrast 98
Brightness 49
Color 43
Tint 3
Sharpness 74

Be "CAREFUL" high contrast is the #1 cause of burn in and stubburn image retention.You have been warned...

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #743 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
MrVizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ORANGEBROTHERS View Post

Vivid Mode
2.2 only no 2.1 patch
Contrast 98
Brightness 49
Color 43
Tint 3
Sharpness 74

Yeah, they may look cool, but those are some pretty intense settings. Don't know what kind of material you are watching (or how many hrs you have on the set), but I would be a bit cautious with those settings.

Glad you're enjoying the set.
MrVizio is offline  
post #744 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVizio View Post

Yeah, they may look cool, but those are some pretty intense settings. Don't know what kind of material you are watching (or how many hrs you have on the set), but I would be a bit cautious with those settings.

Glad you're enjoying the set.

Just curious about the warnings - the "Game" mode setting has 100 contrast and 75 Brightness as the default settings. While I'm not a gamer -does anyone use these settings and have you experienced any IR issues or any other problems?

ggsantafe is offline  
post #745 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 09:45 AM
Member
 
ORANGEBROTHERS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVizio View Post

Yeah, they may look cool, but those are some pretty intense settings. Don't know what kind of material you are watching (or how many hrs you have on the set), but I would be a bit cautious with those settings.

Glad you're enjoying the set.

TV is on 5-8hrs a day playing mostly full screen HD cable content and BD with no break in. Been that way on those exact settings since day one 1400hrs on set so far with no issues as of yet.
ORANGEBROTHERS is offline  
post #746 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 09:52 AM
C63
Member
 
C63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ORANGEBROTHERS View Post

TV is on 5-8hrs a day playing mostly full screen HD cable content and BD with no break in. Been that way on those exact settings since day one 1400hrs on set so far with no issues as of yet.

This "debate" reminds me very much of the engine break-in debate on various auto enthusiast forums. Some people baby their engines for the first 1000 miles (per manufacturer recomendations) and others "drive it like they stole it" from the first time they leave the dealer lot. There are "expert" opinions online supporting both procedures, some actually going so far as to say that engines driven agressively from day one actually make more power than those broken in over time. Bottom line: each owner has to make their choice and live with the consequences. On both my car and my TV I went middle of the road, being slightly cautious but not babying it or following any highly constraining break in. No regrets yet on either count.
C63 is offline  
post #747 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 10:01 AM
Member
 
ORANGEBROTHERS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by C63 View Post

This "debate" reminds me very much of the engine break-in debate on various auto enthusiast forums. Some people baby their engines for the first 1000 miles (per manufacturer recomendations) and others "drive it like they stole it" from the first time they leave the dealer lot. There are "expert" opinions online supporting both procedures, some actually going so far as to say that engines driven agressively from day one actually make more power than those broken in over time. Bottom line: each owner has to make their choice and live with the consequences. On both my car and my TV I went middle of the road, being slightly cautious but not babying it or following any highly constraining break in. No regrets yet on either count.

I agree it's different strokes for different folks…

I'm the no break in kinda guy even with new cars. Figure I have a good enough warranty that I'm gonna enjoy my toys to their fullest. If they crap out it’s not my problem they either get replaced or repaired free of charge. By the time the warranty runs out it’s just about time to get a new toy anyway.

If it gets burn in while I own it I will post it up... Cheers.
ORANGEBROTHERS is offline  
post #748 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
halperin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is an SD card really the only way to install the 2.1? I think I have an SD card from an old digital camera but I dont think I have any way to download the patch and get it onto the SD card. USB wont work eh?
halperin is offline  
post #749 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by halperin View Post

Is an SD card really the only way to install the 2.1? I think I have an SD card from an old digital camera but I dont think I have any way to download the patch and get it onto the SD card. USB wont work eh?

Other posters have reported success using USB to load 2.1 patch. If you have access to a card reader you can use your SD card to load the patch as well.

ggsantafe is offline  
post #750 of 1311 Old 03-26-2012, 11:30 AM
Member
 
chas1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used usb to apply the 2.1 patch.
chas1723 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off