The Official Panasonic GT30 Settings Thread - Page 44 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1291 of 1311 Old 10-19-2013, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiamiBourne View Post

The most recent comments suggest that you need to replace the screws as well with this kit: XYN3+F6FJ-18PK. Siting that the original screws eventually back out and that will cause the board(s) to fail.

Forgot to answer this question. Some have reported that the screws that hold the boards down to the chassis have been loose. Certainly that COULD cause a problem since it is the 'job' of the screw to ensure the 'ground' portion of the board gets connected to chassis ground.

When I opened my GT30, all screws were secure with none loose. All were shiny and looked new. If by chance in some extreme environment, the screw should oxidize, then all s/b replaced. In my case, all screws were re-used and securely tightened. If you look carefully, you should see that the screw makes the contact with the solder-pad and it gets slightly crushed when tightened properly.

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1292 of 1311 Old 10-20-2013, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just bought a new laptop and I know it can be connected via VGA, and possibly HDMI, but is there a way to connect wirelessly to my GT30 ala WiFi, or is WiFi only from the router? I have the TV running off the LAN from the router, so WiFi is open. Is Google ChromeCast a solution? Having trouble finding a WiDi card for my laptop, which is a Dell Latitude E6530. I also realize leaving webpages open with static images and borders is not the greatest for a plasma ;-).
Noonin is offline  
post #1293 of 1311 Old 10-20-2013, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post

Just bought a new laptop and I know it can be connected via VGA, and possibly HDMI, but is there a way to connect wirelessly to my GT30 ala WiFi, or is WiFi only from the router? I have the TV running off the LAN from the router, so WiFi is open. Is Google ChromeCast a solution? Having trouble finding a WiDi card for my laptop, which is a Dell Latitude E6530. I also realize leaving webpages open with static images and borders is not the greatest for a plasma ;-).

If your tv has DNLA, you can view your videos, pictures and music wirelessly. If it does not than you can't. Also the only way to browse internet web pages on the big screen is to connect it HDMI or using other gadgets as the ChromeCast etc. VGA works also but HDMI will be better. Browsing web pages is not a problem for me, I do it all the time on my GT50. Hope this helps a bit.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboard, V. Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #1294 of 1311 Old 10-20-2013, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

If your tv has DNLA, you can view your videos, pictures and music wirelessly. If it does not than you can't. Also the only way to browse internet web pages on the big screen is to connect it HDMI or using other gadgets as the ChromeCast etc. VGA works also but HDMI will be better. Browsing web pages is not a problem for me, I do it all the time on my GT50. Hope this helps a bit.
Thanks Latinoheat,
Looked at the WiDi solution a bit, and not prepared to spend that much for something I'm not sure I'll use a lot, and Chromecast features look limited (not set up to run regular PC programs). I think I'll try the HDMI option with a 15" Monoprice Ultraslim cable.
Do you find much lasting IR problem on your screen?
Noonin is offline  
post #1295 of 1311 Old 10-20-2013, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post

Thanks Latinoheat,
Looked at the WiDi solution a bit, and not prepared to spend that much for something I'm not sure I'll use a lot, and Chromecast features look limited (not set up to run regular PC programs). I think I'll try the HDMI option with a 15" Monoprice Ultraslim cable.
Do you find much lasting IR problem on your screen?

I can honestly tell you No, I browse the net all the time using my HTPC. I constantly open document windows, listen to music, watch movies, tv shows, music videos, and game a little too. Never had a problem. I actually left a XBMC home screen on listening to a 3hr music mix and no IR. It had me a little worried but to my surprise it was fine.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboard, V. Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #1296 of 1311 Old 10-20-2013, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post

I can honestly tell you No, I browse the net all the time using my HTPC. I constantly open document windows, listen to music, watch movies, tv shows, music videos, and game a little too. Never had a problem. I actually left a XBMC home screen on listening to a 3hr music mix and no IR. It had me a little worried but to my surprise it was fine.
Great to hear!
Noonin is offline  
post #1297 of 1311 Old 10-21-2013, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
========== SOLD ==========

I have two SCAN boards for sale: SU (upper) and SD (lower) boards for three (3) Panny models: P55VT/GT/ST30.

Both boards have been tested my me and are ready to go. Price reduced from $75.00 to $65.00. Picture shows the individual PNs.

They form the solution for the "7" blink problem along with an SC (Y-SUS) board.



Send email to: jforgione@prodigy.net

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1298 of 1311 Old 11-03-2013, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Here's a few interesting video links for Panny repair. The first is for the xxGT30 chassis so it's directly applicable.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2gJt8pLFWk
The video troubleshoots a TC-PxxGT30 that has failed with "7" blinks. It's good for general info for replacing the SC board. The drawback I see is that no mention of testing the SU and SD boards before replacing the SC board. As you read in my post (#1285), my SD board was also shorted so it COULD have blown the new SC board.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5c_SyPv3GVs
Here's another TC-P50S30 chassis with 7 blinks. Note the slight difference in the boards. He replaced all of the Y ckt boards, a smart move IMO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZS5vH2Q7RVY
This video shows the TC-42PC2 chassis. The SU + SU + SD are all on ONE board . . . Good video for general info.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BY1bUbBcMH0
This one is included b/c it shows what NOT to do: remove ribbon cables from the SU/SD outputs while the TV is "hot" . . . with power on! That's a BIG no-no IMO!

I finally been able to get some decent white balance. New settings in my signature

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1299 of 1311 Old 11-10-2013, 12:43 PM
Member
 
jlb32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How high do you guys set your contrast in THX mode? I pretty much just use THX mode for everything and am pretty happy with it currently but wouldn't mind it being slightly brighter. Don't want to make it grainy looking though.

I have my contrast currently set at around 70. Brightness is around 50-54 on my settings. Do you guys increase your contrast before your brightness settings?

I know this has been talked about many many times but really don't feel like sifting through hundreds of posts looking for info so any input would be appreciated.
jlb32 is offline  
post #1300 of 1311 Old 11-11-2013, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I guess the contrast and brightness settings depend on how well lighted your TV room is.

Personally, I prefer a lighted room so more contrast is needed. Also, I like some
'pop' to my HD video so both modes (Custom and THX) have more contrast than you might like or need.

Currently CUSTOM contrast, brightness settings are 82, 51 and THX settings are 81, 54 respectively.

Technically, one probably should check to see that you are not into "white-crush" with higher contrast levels.

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1301 of 1311 Old 11-18-2013, 12:05 AM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I purchased a replacement HDTV for the bedroom last week, a Samsung 40” LED HDTV to mount on a shelf I constructed in the bedroom. The wall faces the bed so it’s provides a great view angle. Mounted the DTV box underneath and ran the wires up through a hole in the shelf.



I’ve read a lot of comments on how “good” the new LED HDTVs are, so now having one, I can comment on it vs my Panny 55” plasma HDTV. In short, THERE’S NO COMPARISON!!

Yes, it’s bright (depending on the setting chosen) but in terms of “picture quality and fidelity”, it falls very short. With a plasma, even one that is as difficult as mine (b/c of the ‘green’ drive), it still produces a more realistic video reproduction of the presented material.

It appears that LED TVs have a ‘bluish’ (magenta) cast (high red and blue drive) so it is extremely difficult to attain decent white balance. I was able to get “close” but nowhere as close as my plasma.

It’s acceptable for the bedroom and my wife loves it (previous was 25” screen) so she is happy. And you know what they say . . . happy wife, happy life! smile.gif

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1302 of 1311 Old 11-28-2013, 08:30 AM
Member
 
jlb32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JForge View Post

I guess the contrast and brightness settings depend on how well lighted your TV room is.

Personally, I prefer a lighted room so more contrast is needed. Also, I like some
'pop' to my HD video so both modes (Custom and THX) have more contrast than you might like or need.

Currently CUSTOM contrast, brightness settings are 85, 51 and THX settings are 83, 54 respectively.

Technically, one probably should check to see that you are not into "white-crush" with higher contrast levels.

Thank you. My set is non calibrated. I love THX mode and am just looking for the best settings people have found using THX mode for the GT30.

Seems some say to set the sharpness at 0.
jlb32 is offline  
post #1303 of 1311 Old 12-06-2013, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
Sarlan19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@JFORGE

Hi,

it seems like you are pretty good with a GT30 so I dare ask your help.

I'm trying to get my white in order for this set and can't quite manage it frown.gif

I'm running test patterns for blacks and white in XBMC and I can get the blacks flashing from 17 to 25 but I can't see the White flashing
from 230 and up.

also is it possible to post your settings it seems like controlcal as been down for a couple of days

Thanks

Sarlan19
Sarlan19 is offline  
post #1304 of 1311 Old 12-06-2013, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
is it possible to post your settings it seems like control cal as been down for a couple of days

Sarlan19

Current settings are in my signature.

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1305 of 1311 Old 01-09-2014, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A few words on my 55GT30 . . .

Since the board replacement (SC +SU +SD), the TV's color balance has seemed to 'settle' down since the white balance (w/b) is now "almost" reference!!

If you have read this thread, I've had my share of difficulties getting a proper w/b and I've been able to use "Warm1" where before the 'best' w/b was only obtainable w/ "Normal" color temp.

My center channel speaker was placed on top of the audio cabinet (where the 'brown' colored box is now) but the sound was not as it should be. We all know that audio pros recommend that the center channel speaker is in-line with the tweeters in the main speakers.

The tweeters in the Klipsch ref speakers are positioned on the very top of the speaker (it's a "horn") and so I made a 'shelf' above the TV and mounted the center channel there as shown in the picture below. The tweeters from all speakers are now in the same plain.



Talk about different sound . . the front now seems more transparent and the sound now spreads across all of the speakers. The high freqs from the center channel were 'dead' but now are really well balanced. I'm certainly a believer. Always thought that it would be too high to mount a center speaker but it's not.

Another way of doing this (didn't try it!) is to turn the main speakers up-side-down and place the center channel were is formally was. That also should re-align the tweeters . . .

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1306 of 1311 Old 06-22-2014, 07:58 PM
Member
 
deadwrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just great, bought this GT30 on Dec 2011 and now I am already having an issue.


I turn on the TV and it the red light blinks 7 times! 7 blinks of death so I am told.


This is disgusting. Likely a board issue.


Anyone else on this thread go through this issue? Apparently if you haven't gotten it yet, its coming.
deadwrong is offline  
post #1307 of 1311 Old 06-22-2014, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
mr deadwrong . . . you obviously don't read . .

The 7 blinks of death is not that hard to fix! It referes to the SC board as the one that's failed. Also need to check the SU + SD boards.

My saga starts at post #1264; the key post is #1270. Suggest you d/l the PDF. All of the Panny blinks are explained.


And watch this video. .

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 


Last edited by JForge; 06-22-2014 at 08:25 PM.
JForge is offline  
post #1308 of 1311 Old 09-14-2014, 02:09 AM
Member
 
Elevatorguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JForge or anyone else following this thread. What are you using for your most current settings? I have 55GT30 and have been using settings I got here around 3 years ago. Lately, I have been noticing more and more green around/under actors eyes and around their mouths. I'm not sure if it is anything new or if I am just noticing it more. The settings I am using are regular adjustments, nothing done in the service menu. I have the set in a room that is bright during the day but dark at night. Thanks for all replies.
Elevatorguy is offline  
post #1309 of 1311 Old 09-14-2014, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elevatorguy View Post
JForge or anyone else following this thread. What are you using for your most current settings? I have 55GT30 and have been using settings I got here around 3 years ago. Lately, I have been noticing more and more green around/under actors eyes and around their mouths. I'm not sure if it is anything new or if I am just noticing it more. The settings I am using are regular adjustments, nothing done in the service menu. I have the set in a room that is bright during the day but dark at night. Thanks for all replies.

The white balance is wonky in custom mode mid (HDMI/OFF) and they use an unorthodox gamma as well.

I got good results calibrating with a colormunki display and HCFR by bringing all W/B High to their lowest points aka desaturate the picture to reduce the weird anomalies in facial and skintones.

Custom Mode Mid...


72
53
47
0
25

Color Space Wide

High

R - -50
G - -43
B - -27

Lows

R - +4
G - 0
B - -1

All enhancements off...

You can bring the contrast to 78 to give you 40 FTL plus...
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1310 of 1311 Old 09-14-2014, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
JForge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elevatorguy View Post
JForge or anyone else following this thread. What are you using for your most current settings?
My current settings are in my signature; I use the "CUSTOM" mode but sometimes change to "THX".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elevatorguy View Post
I have 55GT30 and have been using settings I got here around 3 years ago. Lately, I have been noticing more and more green around/under actors eyes and around their mouths. I'm not sure if it is anything new or if I am just noticing it more. The settings I am using are regular adjustments, nothing done in the service menu. I have the set in a room that is bright during the day but dark at night. Thanks for all replies.
I had problems with my 55GT30 from the get-go and finally, about 14 months after it was first turned on, it went "boom" (starting at post #1281 ).

After it was repaired, the TV produces "almost" reference quality so all of the troubles were due to poor quality video cards.

The settings in my signature are current and don't need any Service Menu "tweaks". The "THX" settings produce really good video.

Regards . . . Jim

------------------------------------------------------

GT30 "Custom" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6392

GT30 "THX" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6393
GT30 "Vivid" Settings: http://www.controlcal.com/forum/showpost.php?p=6402


 

JForge is offline  
post #1311 of 1311 Old 09-14-2014, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Elevatorguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PeterLewis and JForge thank you both for your replies and settings. I will try them all out and see which works best. Take care.
Elevatorguy is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P60gt30 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off