Official Samsung 2011 PNxxD530 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 Old 06-19-2011, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
paulmck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've done a lot of searching online and haven't found a whole lot of information about this TV. I recently bought the PN51D530 model and absolutely love it and want to hear from others that have it too.


Some things I'm looking for:

-Calibration: There's nothing on calibration that I could find so I looked at a couple of similar model's calibration numbers over at televisioninfo.com and found what I think are some decent settings.

--PN51D450: http://www.televisioninfo.com/conten...alibration.htm
--PN51D550: http://www.televisioninfo.com/conten...alibration.htm

The calibration options are virtually the same for these two models so I figure they should translate decently over to the 530.


-Model Comparison / Reviews: Any kind of model comparison or review would be great. I think this model looks great but this is my first plasma.


Also, the advanced calibration mode (Mute, 1, 8, 2, Power) works on this model. I'm not sure if there is anything in there worth changing but I could be wrong.
paulmck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 Old 06-19-2011, 12:08 PM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This TV is virtually the same as the PNxxD550; I couldn't find any difference, but there has to be at least some very small difference(s), in order to create another model number (for certain stores that carry this TV).

This TV line really shouldn't have it's own thread. Try the D550 thread, there is a lot of info. there. If you were to post there, and point out that the D540 is very similar, others with would follow. Regardless, the D550 should be very helpful.
QZ1 is offline  
post #3 of 48 Old 07-03-2011, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
bumbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was also at Costco and in the same dilemma. Maybe, it's better to ask the
*
PNxxD550 advanced calibration unlocked!/Calibration Thread
bumbum is offline  
post #4 of 48 Old 07-06-2011, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

This TV is virtually the same as the PNxxD550; I couldn't find any difference, but there has to be at least some very small difference(s), in order to create another model number (for certain stores that carry this TV).

This TV line really shouldn't have it's own thread. Try the D550 thread, there is a lot of info. there. If you were to post there, and point out that the D540 is very similar, others with would follow. Regardless, the D550 should be very helpful.

The D530 is basically the same as the D550 but without 3D and has fewer HDMI inputs.
tylerSC is offline  
post #5 of 48 Old 07-15-2011, 03:17 PM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
The D530 is basically the same as the D550 but without 3D and has fewer HDMI inputs.
Oops...I noticed no 3D right away, but since I didn't (and don't) care about it, I was looking for other differences, and neglected to mention the obvious.
QZ1 is offline  
post #6 of 48 Old 08-10-2011, 03:55 AM
Member
 
RobynLiquorstorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm thinking about upgrading my sammy 42" 720p plasma with this model this week.

any other posters out there have advice on this one? good, weird or bad?

"let's not talk of love and flowers and things that don't explode"

psn: RobynLiquorstorz
xbox live: RobynLiquorstrz
RobynLiquorstorz is offline  
post #7 of 48 Old 09-21-2011, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
ixlr08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mid-Coast Maine
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a PN51D530 last night, no need/desire for 3D and 2 HDMI inputs are all I need. I only have about 1 hr on the set so far, I have not even found the calibration menu/screens yet. On 1080 material... it looks excellent, on the 720 material, it looks very good, on SD material.. it looks like a cheap pos LCD tv. The SD material is a bit disapointing. This is using a direct cable connection and a ROKU box as feeds. After looking at the screen at Best Buy... I was real concerned about reflections, they were very obvious and annoying in the store. Luckily, at home where I have the tv placed... I have none. No sign of buzz so far. In between some scenes where I expected the screen to go black.. it went gray, but during a show things that should have been black.. were a good deep black. Except for the SD picture, I am very happy with this set, it is a keeper. Now to find the calibration screens and see if I can't make the picture even better.
ixlr08 is offline  
post #8 of 48 Old 10-04-2011, 11:02 AM
Newbie
 
sherm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought this tv last night as well. I was debating on whether to spend $100 more for the 3d capability but I still feel its kind of gimmiky. When i was researching this i kept hearing that it is basically the same as the 550 but, i am wondering why the cell light only goes to 10. Does that mean we should set it at 5?
sherm4 is offline  
post #9 of 48 Old 10-04-2011, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 94
The cell light on the D530 goes to 10, whereas on the D550 it goes to 20. Also, the D530 has the older Samsung menu interface, whereas the D550 has the newer menu like the Smart TV models but without the internet apps. But I wonder if the internet apps could somehow be enabled on the D550 in the service menu, as the network settings menu is there.
tylerSC is offline  
post #10 of 48 Old 10-05-2011, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
sherm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I should have gotten the D550 then. Oh well, I opened the service menu but i don't know enough about this stuff so i didn't mess with anything. I think i will pay to have it calibrated at some point. Thanks for your input.
sherm4 is offline  
post #11 of 48 Old 10-05-2011, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
clark17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa - Ontario
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are the panels for D530 and D550 the same?
clark17 is offline  
post #12 of 48 Old 10-05-2011, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
sherm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are similar. However, there are only 2 hdmi inputs and one component input. It only has a 2 point scale instead of 10 point if you were going to callibrate it. From what i am getting the menu has last years version so there are differences in that regard
sherm4 is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 10-05-2011, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 94
They are both nevertheless very nice displays, but the D550 does have more features and calibration options. And this week thru Thurs, Fry's has the 51D550 at $799, which is the same price the D530 has been going for.
tylerSC is offline  
post #14 of 48 Old 10-05-2011, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
clark17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa - Ontario
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

They are both nevertheless very nice displays, but the D550 does have more features and calibration options. And this week thru Thurs, Fry's has the 51D550 at $799, which is the same price the D530 has been going for.

I wish I could get 51D550 for $799 in Canada... I think the best I saw was $899.

So from what I gathered the differences between D530 and D550 are GUI with less options to tweak, less HDMI inputs, 1 less USB input and no 3D capablility however the plasma panel itself should be the same.

For my needs D450 720P would be fine right now, but in a long run D550/D530 1080P would be a better investement.
clark17 is offline  
post #15 of 48 Old 10-17-2011, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
sherm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any settings for their tv. I use it for xbox and am curious to see if my settings are close to what others have. I am considering a professional calibration but i am not sure if it is worth the cost.
sherm4 is offline  
post #16 of 48 Old 10-17-2011, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 94
HHG has PN51D530 on sale at $749 in store later this week.
tylerSC is offline  
post #17 of 48 Old 10-18-2011, 02:47 AM
Newbie
 
mistasanshou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im in Winnipeg and Visions had a thanksgiving sale on the D550 for $798 and I got Sears to match it. So for once Canada's prices are competitive with the states!
Quote:
Originally Posted by clark17 View Post

I wish I could get 51D550 for $799 in Canada... I think the best I saw was $899.

So from what I gathered the differences between D530 and D550 are GUI with less options to tweak, less HDMI inputs, 1 less USB input and no 3D capablility however the plasma panel itself should be the same.

For my needs D450 720P would be fine right now, but in a long run D550/D530 1080P would be a better investement.

mistasanshou is offline  
post #18 of 48 Old 01-15-2012, 08:16 PM
Member
 
TXST8tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the PN51D530 today. I have it hooked up to a Blu-Ray player so far.

While watching a Blu-Ray, I push the "Info" button on the remote and it tells me that it is "@24hz".

How do I get this thing at 600hz?
TXST8tj is offline  
post #19 of 48 Old 01-27-2012, 02:08 AM
Member
 
DaveyJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any new firmware for D530 that fixes increased black levels in the last official one? For the other models of the series, there are new firmwares.

I got the european version, PS51D530 with the 1007.2 fw from november. In USA the latest is 1007.0 from october. Any clue?

Thanks!
DaveyJC is offline  
post #20 of 48 Old 02-05-2012, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
paulmck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did you find the 1007.2 Euro firmware? I looked on there site and couldn't find it.

Found it:
http://www.samsung.com/nl/support/mo...downloadName=#

Do you know what was upgraded with this firmware?
paulmck is offline  
post #21 of 48 Old 02-06-2012, 03:26 PM
Member
 
DaveyJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1007.2

http://www.samsung.com/es/support/de...rd=PS51D530A5W

If I were u, i'd think twice about upgrading if you have decent black levels.
DaveyJC is offline  
post #22 of 48 Old 02-27-2012, 07:06 PM
Member
 
adrianf74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Everyone,

Recently "upgraded" from a 54-month old LN-T4661F 46" LCD to a PN51D530 (D550's poor-ass cousin).

Everything I've been able to read as far as the internals on the D530 are the same as those of the D550 -- my simple question is can I run the 1019.5 firmware on my D530? I'm annoyed by the "pops" that happen quite often.

Thanks in advance (I did look through the various posts and couldn't find anything concrete).

[I also posted this over in the D550 thread just in case somebody else there can help me out]
adrianf74 is offline  
post #23 of 48 Old 02-28-2012, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
AMinorThreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forum,

I just purchased a PN51D530 in the US and applied firmware 1007.

1. Does this TV have Anynet? The Samsung site says yes but I can't figure out how to enable it.
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/...30A3FXZA-specs

2. Can you unlock advanced menus using the D550 methods? Are there pros/cons to this?

Thank you,
AMT

P.S. I definitely think this TV deserves it's own thread.
AMinorThreat is offline  
post #24 of 48 Old 02-29-2012, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Anyone have color issues with this set ? My primary complaint is with Red seems oversaturated and tinted towards the pink side, not sure what if anything can be done about it ?

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #25 of 48 Old 02-29-2012, 09:51 AM
Member
 
apnea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another D530 owner.. (PN59D530 from Costco in Canada). Also posted in the 550 thread about the brightness pops and firmware updates.

Has anyone with a D530 been able to enable film mode? Playing a blur-ray (LOTR) from a PS3 (80gb fat) via HDMI, the TV shows 1080p@24hz, but the option for film mode is greyed out, irrespective of which mode I choose. I found it a bit jerky too, especially on wide scenes with a lot of panning.

TIA.
apnea is offline  
post #26 of 48 Old 02-29-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
That particular film mode as far as I know is only enabled for 1080i content. The Samsung specs say this set has Cinema Smooth but I havent been able to find that option anywhere, my guess is that the specs are wrong and this set does not have it.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #27 of 48 Old 02-29-2012, 04:29 PM
Member
 
apnea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

That particular film mode as far as I know is only enabled for 1080i content. The Samsung specs say this set has Cinema Smooth but I havent been able to find that option anywhere, my guess is that the specs are wrong and this set does not have it.

Thanks - you're right, different to what I'd heard previously. Not entirely sure what it does, I'll leave the WDTV to auto, and the PS3 to 1080p..

On a related note, HDMI black level is still, and always, greyed out too - any idea if that's also related to signal input?

I don't think it has cinema smooth, I can't find Anynet+ either, I don't think the Samsung specs are correct - I suspect most of this is disabled to justify the premium for the D550. I don't like / want 3D, hence the D530...
apnea is offline  
post #28 of 48 Old 03-01-2012, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by apnea View Post

Thanks - you're right, different to what I'd heard previously. Not entirely sure what it does, I'll leave the WDTV to auto, and the PS3 to 1080p..

On a related note, HDMI black level is still, and always, greyed out too - any idea if that's also related to signal input?

I don't think it has cinema smooth, I can't find Anynet+ either, I don't think the Samsung specs are correct - I suspect most of this is disabled to justify the premium for the D550. I don't like / want 3D, hence the D530...

My understanding is that the HDMI Black Level option is only selectable on RGB sources. Have never been able to do anything with it on either my cable box input or bluray input.

Supposedly you can change the model number in the service menu to a d560 and enable Cinema Smooth but have never been able to get this to work I only see D530 and one other option.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #29 of 48 Old 03-03-2012, 09:02 AM
Member
 
DaveyJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have PS51D530 (european version) and I indeed have Cinema Smooth option if I set my PC HDMI out to 1080p/23hz (23.976hz).

I'd like to see new firmwares for this set. Black levels are somewhat grey.
DaveyJC is offline  
post #30 of 48 Old 03-03-2012, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
paulmck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyJC View Post

1007.2

http://www.samsung.com/es/support/de...rd=PS51D530A5W

If I were u, i'd think twice about upgrading if you have decent black levels.

Has anyone in the US tried this firmware update on their set? I'm tempted but haven't done it yet.
paulmck is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51d450 51 Inch 720p 600 Hz Plasma Hdtv Black , Samsung Pn51d550 51 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv 3d Kit
Gear in this thread - Pn51d450 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off