Relative input lag of several displays - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-16-2011, 03:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I measured the input lag of a few displays tonight. I brought my laptop into a store and connected it to the displays using HDMI. I put each display into "Game Mode" when I could figure out how to do so. I don't know if these delays are absolute, since I was only comparing the displays to the LCD on my laptop. But they are useful relative measurements, I think.

Panasonic TC-P60S30: One to two frames.
What I think was the Samsung PN59D550: Two to three frames.
Sharp LC60LE632U (An LED LCD, for comparison): Three to four frames.
LG 60PZ550 had by far the worst lag: Six to seven frames.

Images attached for the TC-P60S30 and PN59D550
LL
LL
LL
LL
drfrank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-16-2011, 03:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are the timing images for the other two displays.
LL
LL
LL
LL
drfrank is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-16-2011, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Orta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks frank, I'll add them to the input lag thread. Do you recall which plasma models you were able to get into Game Mode? Also, your desktop background appears to be doing some kind of depth of field blur. Is Windows Aero active on your laptop?
Orta is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 07-16-2011, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I'm afraid that I don't recall which ones I was able to find a "game mode" on.

Windows Aero is indeed turned on on my laptop (default settings). However the blur you see I added in an image editor to obscure the names of the files on my desktop.

Thank you for maintaining the input lag thread.
drfrank is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-16-2011, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip about disabling Aero. Measuring on my CRT at home I measure an effect, so I'll have to go and repeat my measurements.
drfrank is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off