Annoying picture issue with my Philips plasma HDTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-25-2011, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stizo900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a very annoying issue with my Philips 42PFP5332D/37 where the HD picture is very distorted. It almost looks like all the black in the picture is substituted with white or something. This happens using both component and HDMI using any input source. It has happened with my Xbox 360, PS3, Blu-Ray Player, and my MacBook. Whenever I set the output to a resolution of 1024x768 (the TV's native resolution) or higher, the picture and color becomes distorted/inverted. But the thing is, it's fine in 480p! I would like to know if anyone else has seen this problem, knows of the source of the issue, or has a solution to the problem. Thanks.

480p: Attachment 218367

Attachment 218370

720p: Attachment 218368

1080i: Attachment 218369
LL
LL
LL
LL
stizo900 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-25-2011, 06:22 PM
Member
 
74f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you checked firmware version?

That would be the first check.

If it varies by resolution it has to be in either the SSB or "possibly" the logic pcb.

Jim
74f100 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-26-2011, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stizo900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply! Anyway, I currently have the latest firmware version. I am trying to find a solution that doesn't involve replacing my logic board. I have already had to do that once, and I can't afford to pay for another replacement.
stizo900 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-26-2011, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you shure it is a plasma-TV?
surap is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-26-2011, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's this set.
MikeBiker is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-27-2011, 03:22 PM
Member
 
74f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LCD's during that time used PFL in the model, Plasmas used PFP.
74f100 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-27-2011, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
stizo900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@mikebiker yes it is that set. Definitely a plasma
stizo900 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-28-2011, 01:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can it be issues with the bit-depht of the source? 24 vs 36? If I remember correctly, it is possible to change the bit-depth(color) on PS3.
surap is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off