Panasonic ST30: Break-in + Pre-Panelling then Calibration-help needed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-16-2011, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Swuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
So I just got my panny ST30 and i was wondering for the total amount of time it would require for both break-in period + pre-panel period for calibration period wouldnt that entail an total of 250-300 hours? Because using te pre-panel from D'nice's settings he had said not to use his pre-panel as an substituion or a break in method meaning youd break-in the image first (using default factory settings(?)) For 150-200 hrs and than use D'nicest custom settings for the pre-panelling, and pre-panel for another 100 hrs (if i remember correctly) then for the final result of calibration?

Could someone help me confirm this-as I've done extensive research and this seems like what it means.. first HD TV plasma though.

Also about gaming, within the first few 100 hours if you do casual gaming on an hudless movie like game such as Heavy Rain, would that be alright? Because I know for.the break in period you need to avoid games but that's usually referring about the huds used intake which could cause.burn in and retention.. so I'm wondering about an hudless game like Heavy Rain. :/
Swuell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-16-2011, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Dackz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All same questions from me too. I just got mine and hooked up tonight. Am I okay to play some Halo even though it has a HUD on it? Games are 5-12mins long and then the screen switches out to something else, and then back again. (online multiplayer) Thanks! The 60" is just perfect, just a bit larger then 56" DLP but perfect size.
Dackz is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-16-2011, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Swuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackz View Post

All same questions from me too. I just got mine and hooked up tonight. Am I okay to play some Halo even though it has a HUD on it? Games are 5-12mins long and then the screen switches out to something else, and then back again. (online multiplayer) Thanks! The 60" is just perfect, just a bit larger then 56" DLP but perfect size.

DLP?
No... Definitely not halo. It's ok to play some video, but has to be fullscreen, 1080P, with no static imagery, and a few other things. That's why I was asking about Heavy Rain because its pretty much an 3D movie due to the hudlessness.
Swuell is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-16-2011, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Dackz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swuell View Post

DLP?
No... Definitely not halo. It's ok to play some video, but has to be fullscreen, 1080P, with no static imagery, and a few other things. That's why I was asking about Heavy Rain because its pretty much an 3D movie due to the hudlessness.

Yea, my old DLP it replaced. Im so happy I did. As this thing has been on a couple hours now it just looks awesome. I cant help but to watch some football on ESPN. Im changing the channel every couple minutes though lol. The picture is just awesome. Things look so much better already. And I went to look at BB at the ST30 and S since they are next to each other, and the ST was only $100 more!!! So made it SUPER easy for me to make that decision. Sorry to derail and thread jack.....interested in the gaming aspect though.
Dackz is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-16-2011, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Swuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackz View Post


Yea, my old DLP it replaced. Im so happy I did. As this thing has been on a couple hours now it just looks awesome. I cant help but to watch some football on ESPN. Im changing the channel every couple minutes though lol. The picture is just awesome. Things look so much better already. And I went to look at BB at the ST30 and S since they are next to each other, and the ST was only $100 more!!! So made it SUPER easy for me to make that decision. Sorry to derail and thread jack.....interested in the gaming aspect though.

Lol I meant what does a DLP stand for haha.

Yeah the ST30 has the 2011 panel with 3D which produces better picture quality vs. The S which uses the 2010 panel making it inferior though its supposed to be the best 2D panel they have, tier wise.

And until you break it in-agressive it passive-i would STRONGLY suggest NOT watching sports due to the static image of the ESPN logo and anything with static imagery including games for the next 200 hours at least, lest you want probable burn in from retention.

I'm glad you like it. I've yet to open mine, mine just got shipped to my house about an hour back or so, and damn its pretty big.. just hope it didn't get wet cuz its raining hard outside. :/

I still want to know if anybody can answer thus question.. as I've seen other people ask it but nobody ever truly answered it. And gaming wise, it is advised not to for at least 200 hours due to static imagery, but thr question I'm asking is what about games like HEAVY RAIN which is a hudless game so basically its a 3D blu-ray movie playing.. would they be ok to play, since basically they are movies?
Swuell is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-17-2011, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
grif32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own the 60ST30 my 4th Panny Plasma and I have NEVER done the break in period on any of them. I have gamed day one on them without issue for countless hours. I have watched sports from day one without issue!

Also the break in DOES NOT prevent IR or Burn in so to me why do it?? My PQ looks stunning on all my 4 sets.

But I believe it's just 100 hours of slides then apply D-nice's setting and you should be all set.

IMHO when I buy a TV I want to watch it, game on it etc. Not wait 100 hours before doing anything. But that's just me!!

Congrats on the new TV. You will enjoy it!!
grif32 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-17-2011, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Swuell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grif32 View Post

I own the 60ST30 my 4th Panny Plasma and I have NEVER done the break in period on any of them. I have gamed day one on them without issue for countless hours. I have watched sports from day one without issue!

Also the break in DOES NOT prevent IR or Burn in so to me why do it?? My PQ looks stunning on all my 4 sets.

But I believe it's just 100 hours of slides then apply D-nice's setting and you should be all set.

IMHO when I buy a TV I want to watch it, game on it etc. Not wait 100 hours before doing anything. But that's just me!!

Congrats on the new TV. You will enjoy it!!

Any static imagery for the first couple 100 hours? Or anything related to that, you calibrated yet?

I'm glad to hear that though, I may watch an hour or two HD movies on netflix, just so I cab see what it looks like prior to calibration. Just because the pre-paneling basically presets everything.

Well it gives you a higher chance of less burn in. And also if you wanted to calibrate it you would. You have all 4 sets calibrated?

And yes 100 hours for pre-paneling with Dnices settings but break in period is 150-200 hours. And Dnices settings are a refernce due to ambient lighting being different and PQ on tv models can vary, just like phones with their motherboards, also it also generally weighs heavily on your eyes and how you see things. But thanks.

Yeag, I do too but I'm willing to wait a couple more if it provides more optimized PQ, hell I waited 15 or so years to purchase a tv... Than again, I just got a job recently bout a year and a half back.

Haha, thanks. I'm sure I will. I can't wait to watch HD anime and play Heavy Rain on it, and let's not forget Final Fantasy too... It must look damn, sexy in 1080p !
Swuell is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-17-2011, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sunkist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have owned several plasmas and never done breakin, in fact I use the two I currently own (42pz85u and 60ST30) as computer monitors pretty often. I can't see how using slides would give you a better picture compared to normal viewing, it is not like whatever your watching is just one color the whole time. I also game from the first day with no IR problems ever.

Gamertag: Ikazu
Sunkist is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 02-03-2012, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
kmichelini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for seems like a silly question.

I read many posts referring to slides to burn in my new plasma. Now the silly question, where do I get Slides from?
kmichelini is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-03-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmichelini View Post

Sorry for seems like a silly question.

I read many posts referring to slides to burn in my new plasma. Now the silly question, where do I get Slides from?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...08&postcount=1

DavidHir is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-03-2012, 08:59 AM
Member
 
jass5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As long as you keep the brightness and contrast fairly low and don't allow static images to remain for long periods, you should be fine without a break in.

You should also check out the ST30 thread as it will answer a lot of questions for you, including some you haven't thought of yet.
jass5150 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off