Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 10 19.61%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 3 5.88%
111FD/151FD - NO 5 9.80%
101FD/141FD - NO 6 11.76%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 4 7.84%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 10 19.61%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 7 13.73%
111FD/151FD - YES 5 9.80%
101FD/141FD - YES 2 3.92%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 51. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 02:46 AM
Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodoob View Post

My set does not show any abnormalities when displaying the test patterns/raster from the RS232 commands.

On my set, the artifacts mainly show in real material.

The only testpattern i use is basically a 100% black screen when adusting volrstp. If you use the brightness control of your player to quickly raise the brightness to the point it gets bright, and your volrstp is not correctly, you will see a reddish lag staying behind. You will also see that the buildup of the screen is 'slower' in some area's, basically the areas where the reddish tint is... you should be able to fix this by raising volrstp and 'testing' it with raising and lowering brightness.

The purple sparkles i only see in real material, not in any testpattern. I'm using a scene from House' last episode S08E08, basically the first minute. It's a scene in a dark court room where the camera switches between people, and when it does, purple sparkles will stay behind. Again, if the sparkles are gone, so is the reddish tint.

You will find that you have to raise volrstp quite a bit to get things perfect... mine was 27 before the pulse reset, and is now at 72.
jowicrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 03:38 AM
Member
 
astrodoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post

On my set, the artifacts mainly show in real material.

The only testpattern i use is basically a 100% black screen when adusting volrstp. If you use the brightness control of your player to quickly raise the brightness to the point it gets bright, and your volrstp is not correctly, you will see a reddish lag staying behind. You will also see that the buildup of the screen is 'slower' in some area's, basically the areas where the reddish tint is... you should be able to fix this by raising volrstp and 'testing' it with raising and lowering brightness.

The purple sparkles i only see in real material, not in any testpattern. I'm using a scene from House' last episode S08E08, basically the first minute. It's a scene in a dark court room where the camera switches between people, and when it does, purple sparkles will stay behind. Again, if the sparkles are gone, so is the reddish tint.

You will find that you have to raise volrstp quite a bit to get things perfect... mine was 27 before the pulse reset, and is now at 72.

All your points are correct.

My set exhibited a lagging green when going from a bright to black screen. Easily corrected by increasing VOL RST P.

Also, I have followed the service manual in terms of setting the VOL Offset value and can say that increasing the value will also exhibit a worsening lag on the green colour on my set.

However, going the other way resulted in better results without any sparkles (my set).Therefore, as stated in the service manual if there are no abnormalities it would be to set the VOL Offset back to the original value.

It is important to show real video and observe for abnormalities!

I think my set looks awesome! Just like new... WOOO HOOO!

Also, don't forget to adjust white balance. It is slightly off.
astrodoob is offline  
post #543 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 04:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
metallicaband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
There has been a lot going on here recently! Anyone was able to successfully get rid of the reddish glow/tint just by adjusting a certain voltage setting instead of resetting the entire thing (pulse/hours)?

It just seems safer to tweak a certain voltage setting and then return it back to what it was if things went wrong.

KRP-500M | Kuro 9G 5020FD + e-lite mod | B&W 683 Fronts | B&W 685 Center | B&W DM601 S3 Rears | HSU VTF3 MK3 Sub | Yamaha RX-V663 AVR
metallicaband is offline  
post #544 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 05:39 AM
Member
 
GabeG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: nyc
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by metallicaband View Post

There has been a lot going on here recently! Anyone was able to successfully get rid of the reddish glow/tint just by adjusting a certain voltage setting instead of resetting the entire thing (pulse/hours)?

It just seems safer to tweak a certain voltage setting and then return it back to what it was if things went wrong.

that's what i did on my 8g....i just took vol rst down
GabeG is offline  
post #545 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 07:44 AM
Member
 
fastshasdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In my situation I had to raise the VOL SUS to get rid of the purple sparkles. My RST P had to be raised to get rid of the black crush after reset. I have the PRO 101FD. Im currently at:

VOL SUS 152
RST P 072

Picture quality is nothing short of spectacular at this time. Black level is perfect.
fastshasdow is offline  
post #546 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 08:02 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodoob View Post

I've done the service manual flowchart to check the VOL Offset value and it happens that I did not need to change the VOL offset value. My set does not show any abnormalities when displaying the test patterns/raster from the RS232 commands.

The most effective adjustment has been VOL RST P.

I did the workflow too and everything was perfect, no adjustments.

Quote:
Originally Posted by metallicaband View Post

There has been a lot going on here recently! Anyone was able to successfully get rid of the reddish glow/tint just by adjusting a certain voltage setting instead of resetting the entire thing (pulse/hours)?

It just seems safer to tweak a certain voltage setting and then return it back to what it was if things went wrong.

There does not seem to be enough scope to adjust VOL RST P without reset. Some users report a VOL RST P of 001 before reset, so there is no scope to adjust down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastshasdow View Post

In my situation I had to raise the VOL SUS to get rid of the purple sparkles. My RST P had to be raised to get rid of the black crush after reset. I have the PRO 101FD. Im currently at:

VOL SUS 152
RST P 072

Picture quality is nothing short of spectacular at this time. Black level is perfect.

Agree with picture quality, I think it's better than when it was new. It looks like someone removed the glass from the front!
stroud is offline  
post #547 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 08:30 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post

My set is pulse-reset but does not have the white sparkles, if i use his settings, it also shows the white pixelsparkles. It is caused by the changes in the xpof- and xnof- settings.

jowicrt, I'm bit confused by your posts. You mention sparkles being caused by changes in xpof- and xnof- settings and also that you have used the TV approx 4 hours a day but you have 9000+ hours. As you purchased the TV new in Feb 2009, it's more like 8 hours a day.
stroud is offline  
post #548 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 08:38 AM
Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroud View Post

jowicrt, I'm bit confused by your posts. You mention sparkles being caused by changes in xpof- and xnof- settings and also that you have used the TV approx 4 hours a day but you have 9000+ hours. As you purchased the TV new in Feb 2009, it's more like 8 hours a day.

Your correct about the hours... my bad

Changing the xpof- and xnof etc settings had no effect on the purple sparkles nor the red tint in my case. It did however added white spikes into the mix.

So in the end i've only raised volrstp after resetting the pulse meter, from 27 to 72.
jowicrt is offline  
post #549 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 08:43 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post

Your correct about the hours... my bad

Changing the xpof- and xnof etc settings had no effect on the purple sparkles nor the red tint in my case. It did however added white spikes into the mix.

So in the end i've only raised volrstp after resetting the pulse meter, from 27 to 72.

Sounds about right then. I am keeping an eye on my reset hour meter too in case there is a ramp up of voltage after the initial 150 - 200 hours. If the black levels increase at some point at least we have the scope to adjust RST P down.
stroud is offline  
post #550 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 08:52 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodoob View Post

Also, don't forget to adjust white balance. It is slightly off.

I shall be trying your values for this as I don't have a colorimeter Looking at the X-Rite I1 at the moment
stroud is offline  
post #551 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post

You will also see that the buildup of the screen is 'slower' in some area's, basically the areas where the reddish tint is... you should be able to fix this by raising volrstp and 'testing' it with raising and lowering brightness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodoob View Post

My set exhibited a lagging green when going from a bright to black screen. Easily corrected by increasing VOL RST P

Interesting. These two observations both may describe the dischage delay problem of the green subpixel described in the chart in post #301.

Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind
xrox is offline  
post #552 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 09:52 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrox View Post

Interesting. These two observations both may describe the dischage delay problem of the green subpixel described in the chart in post #301.

Interesting indeed xrox. So what you are saying is that the green lag effect seems to suggest that the voltage required to reset the green cells is higher than the voltage required to reset the red and blue ones, as demonstrated in the diagram. Perhaps the number of accumulated hours increases this gap also?
stroud is offline  
post #553 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroud View Post

Interesting indeed xrox. So what you are saying is that the green lag effect seems to suggest that the voltage required to reset the green cells is higher than the voltage required to reset the red and blue ones, as demonstrated in the diagram. Perhaps the number of accumulated hours increases this gap also?

Yes. At the factory they adjust the phosphor and CEL layers to compensate for this difference and maybe they screwed this up. When the voltage required for discharge rises over time the lag starts to become noticeable to the viewer. I now classify this as 'educated speculation' rather than just 'pure speculation' LOL

Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind
xrox is offline  
post #554 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 10:29 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrox View Post

Yes. At the factory they adjust the phosphor and CEL layers to compensate for this difference and maybe they screwed this up. When the voltage required for discharge rises over time the lag starts to become noticeable to the viewer. I now classify this as 'educated speculation' rather than just 'pure speculation' LOL

So it appears that perhaps to much CEL is placed on the red phosphor on the red tint affected screens. What does CEL stand for?
stroud is offline  
post #555 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroud View Post

So it appears that perhaps to much CEL is placed on the red phosphor on the red tint affected screens. What does CEL stand for?

Or too little on the green. CEL - crystal emissive layer (MgO crystals)

Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind
xrox is offline  
post #556 of 2699 Old 12-18-2011, 11:53 AM
Member
 
fastshasdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
stroud,

Yeah it does look like the front glass is gone. Especially when watching in a pitch black room. There's a scene in the 2008 Kuro Demo Bluray that shows a small rose in the middle of the screen with a black background. In a pitch black room all I see is a rose floating on the tv. With ANY content on the screen the blacks dissapear. It never did that before prior to reset because of the red tint.
fastshasdow is offline  
post #557 of 2699 Old 12-19-2011, 07:43 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I do not have yet make of reset of the meters hours and pulse but I lowered my VOL RST P up to 5 (of origin 32) and I have the impression that the red teint persists.
I put my values of origin and my kuro :

vol sus 128
vol offset 113
vol rst p 032
vol xpofs1 085
vol xpofs2 063
vol yknofs1 138
vol yknofs3 128
vol yknofs4 149
vol yknofsa 128

(KRP500A-6500Hours)


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #558 of 2699 Old 12-19-2011, 03:04 PM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

Hello,

I do not have yet make of reset of the meters hours and pulse but I lowered my VOL RST P up to 5 (of origin 32) and I have the impression that the red teint persists.
I put my values of origin and my kuro :

vol sus 128
vol offset 113
vol rst p 032
vol xpofs1 085
vol xpofs2 063
vol yknofs1 138
vol yknofs3 128
vol yknofs4 149
vol yknofsa 128

(KRP500A-6500Hours)

I too can see your red tint. How many hours do you have?
stroud is offline  
post #559 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 05:18 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Stroud,

I have 6500 hours.
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #560 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 06:19 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Interesting, other users with similar hours have done the reset also.
stroud is offline  
post #561 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 06:47 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you advise me what ? Was your screen like mine before your reset ?
Is it necessary to disconnect the screen after having lowered the VOL rstp ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #562 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 07:03 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

Do you advise me what ? Was your screen like mine before your reset ?
Is it necessary to disconnect the screen after having lowered the VOL rstp ?

My screen was similar to yours, it looks like good old red tint to me. It is not necessary to unplug TV after adjusting RST P. Did you try to adjust VOL SUS down?
stroud is offline  
post #563 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 07:34 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I have fall up to 2. I put to you a front photograph with a RSTP of 32 and after a RSTP of 2
RSTP of 32



RSBP of 2
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #564 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 07:37 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

Yes I have fall up to 2. I put to you a front photograph with a RSTP of 32 and after a RSTP of 2
RSTP of 32

Yes I can just about see it in picture 2. Have you tried to lower VOLSUS?
stroud is offline  
post #565 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 08:03 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did I lower only the Vol rstp to 2, I did not lower the VOL SUS not known, I believed that one was to only increase it?
Did you see the difference between the 2 pictures ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #566 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 08:06 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

Did I lower only the Vol rstp to 2, I did not lower the VOL SUS not known, I believed that one was to only increase it?
Did you see the difference between the 2 pictures ?

Yes, it is almost gone in picture 2 but you are already out of room if you are already at 2. It is worth trying to lower VOL SUS IMHO.
stroud is offline  
post #567 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 08:15 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're right by lowering only my VOL RST P 2, I managed to have a black screen. You, to lower the VOL SUS ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #568 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 08:18 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

You're right by lowering only my VOL RST P 2, I managed to have a black screen. You, to lower the VOL SUS ?

I thought you still had red tint? I can see it in picture 2.
stroud is offline  
post #569 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 08:28 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have a red tint on image 2, that is why I have asked you if I decrease the VOL SUS it will disappear?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #570 of 2699 Old 12-20-2011, 08:31 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

I still have a red tint on image 2, that is why I have asked you if I decrease the VOL SUS it will disappear?

I don't know but that is what I would try.
stroud is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off