Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 10 18.18%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 3 5.45%
111FD/151FD - NO 6 10.91%
101FD/141FD - NO 6 10.91%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 4 7.27%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 12 21.82%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 7 12.73%
111FD/151FD - YES 5 9.09%
101FD/141FD - YES 2 3.64%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 1 1.82%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 55. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2700 Old 12-29-2011, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Urga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 249
" The Guns Of Navarone " BD .

LX 5090H :




Pioneer LX 5090H + Démo G5  C+ Csat HD + DD et la TNT + Pioneer LX55 + Sony BD-S790 ... Pana 50 ST60 + PS3 BD + Pioneer BD320 ... CRT Philips 32 PW 9520 P+2 DNM + TNT Thomson DTI 652 + Pioneer DV 380 ... BR 137 .

Urga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2700 Old 12-29-2011, 10:52 PM
Newbie
 
jshar85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This message is for those ppl who have there Pio Kuro KRP600m Professionally calibrated and can give Me the settings for it... Example what is your PICTURE Menu layout set too and under PRO ADJUST wht is your color management layout set on??? Trying to C if ppl tht don't have red tint might help My problem asweel??? Thx
jshar85 is offline  
post #633 of 2700 Old 12-31-2011, 08:47 PM
Member
 
ragingd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought my Elite 111FD from Roman O in Feb. 2009. I also purchased a 3 year extended warranty. Unfortunately now that Im having a problem with my television, it seems almost impossible to reach anyone regarding the reddish/purplish tint when displaying black. I don't have a way to contact Roman O. I Know his store went out of business, so it seems like Im stuck. The purplish tint is there with no input and with my blu ray player running the AVS disk. I measured my black levels with my Spectracal c6 on 0% black from AVS709 HD disk and it reads .008. I adjusted black accordingly and adjusted my grayscale to D65. I lowered red bias to lessen the tint nothing. This can't be normal for my Kuro. I'm in NY and I don't know if there is a Pioneer service center near by. I don't want to mess with the service menu because from what I read, this is going to cause more harm then good. I don't know if anyone can give some advice on what do but if you can it would be greatly appreciated. I know all of us love these sets and I don't want to have to move to another one before I do what I can to fix this first. Thanks.
ragingd is offline  
post #634 of 2700 Old 12-31-2011, 10:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If you got a extended warranty when you bought the set, then you also should have received a copy of the warranty contract with all the warranty terms and contact information for the company that is actually providing the warranty. Getting hold of Roman is not your answer, rather it is the warranty company that actually issued the warranty is who you need to contact.
Johnla is offline  
post #635 of 2700 Old 01-01-2012, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingd View Post

I bought my Elite 111FD from Roman O in Feb. 2009. I also purchased a 3 year extended warranty. Unfortunately now that Im having a problem with my television, it seems almost impossible to reach anyone regarding the reddish/purplish tint when displaying black. I don't have a way to contact Roman O. I Know his store went out of business, so it seems like Im stuck. The purplish tint is there with no input and with my blu ray player running the AVS disk. I measured my black levels with my Spectracal c6 on 0% black from AVS709 HD disk and it reads .008. I adjusted black accordingly and adjusted my grayscale to D65. I lowered red bias to lessen the tint nothing. This can't be normal for my Kuro. I'm in NY and I don't know if there is a Pioneer service center near by. I don't want to mess with the service menu because from what I read, this is going to cause more harm then good. I don't know if anyone can give some advice on what do but if you can it would be greatly appreciated. I know all of us love these sets and I don't want to have to move to another one before I do what I can to fix this first. Thanks.

The color filter on the 111FD is much more red/purple than any of the other models. That is what you are seeing.

Your black level measurement could be a factor of how you are measuring them, your current settings, user error, defective meter, defective PDP.
D-Nice is offline  
post #636 of 2700 Old 01-01-2012, 12:09 PM
Member
 
ragingd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses Johnla and D-Nice, I really appreciate it. D-Nice, I have setup brightness with the AVS709 HD disk and everything seems ok with brightness setting at 0. Also I will try to rule out the meter tonight. I currently have a i1 display 3, C5 and a Spectracal C6. I will try to rule out a meter defect by taking measurements with all 3. If I narrow it down to the panel, I guess I'm stuck with a defect.
ragingd is offline  
post #637 of 2700 Old 01-03-2012, 08:59 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Think you that increase VOL SUS can damage the panel ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #638 of 2700 Old 01-03-2012, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
MATAMBOY,

Unfortunately making any adjustments in the SM with regards RST-P, VOL SUS, resetting, etc, may damage your panel. No one knows for sure what the long term implications will be. Time will tell for those of us who have done the reset what the results will be. I'm betting in the long term, it will have an adverse effect. But I'm playing that I will get a few more good years out of my 5020, and hope OLED will be amazing after a few years of refinement.
wxman is offline  
post #639 of 2700 Old 01-03-2012, 10:39 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks wxman
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #640 of 2700 Old 01-03-2012, 11:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baron2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanBuck View Post

Mine always has irregular reddish blobs on the initial startup screen before it drops to the next lower black level. Does anyone else see this behavior on their sets?


My pro-111 has black blobs at times during start up always has. I was told this would go away as I get over a certain amount of hours, never did go away but I dont have the red tint in my blacks

Ive got some stuff
baron2 is offline  
post #641 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
One way to tell if RST-P needs to be increased after doing the reset is to watch material in a totally dark room, and then switch to a unused port and watch the dark screen before it goes completely black. If the RST-P is too low, the screen will have a lot of dark blotches. Increase the RST-P values until they dissapear and you will still retain your blacks. It appears that most people doing the reset have raised their RST-P levels 30 to 40 clicks to remove black crush and this also correlates well with eliminating the black splotches.
wxman is offline  
post #642 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me, my RST - P of origin is 032, if I it too increases the tint red returned. Therefore the RST - P is used to standardize the black of the panel ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #643 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

For me, my RST - P of origin is 032, if I it too increases the tint red returned. Therefore the RST - P is used to standardize the black of the panel ?

Did you do the reset or are you just adjusting the RST-P? If you did the reset, most have to raise the RST-P. If you did not reset, then just the opposite is needed to try and get rid of red by lowering RST-P.
wxman is offline  
post #644 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 09:18 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I am the reset. Can you advise me a patern with which can resolve RST - P.
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #645 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 09:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Actually, this is incorrect. Then again, it's your display

Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

One way to tell if RST-P needs to be increased after doing the reset is to watch material in a totally dark room, and then switch to a unused port and watch the dark screen before it goes completely black. If the RST-P is too low, the screen will have a lot of dark blotches. Increase the RST-P values until they dissapear and you will still retain your blacks. It appears that most people doing the reset have raised their RST-P levels 30 to 40 clicks to remove black crush and this also correlates well with eliminating the black splotches.

D-Nice is offline  
post #646 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Actually, this is incorrect. Then again, it's your display

D-Nice,

I am curious as to why raising the RST-P eliminates the black splotches which look like lag. I know that resetting the pulse meter is not a great idea based on what you have told us, but after reset, the blotches are noticeable, unless you raise the RST-P levels and then they dissapear. Is it more ancedotal or just coincendence? I apologize to all for giving the wrong info.
wxman is offline  
post #647 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Increasing that parameter increases the Reset Pulse which means you are increasing the idle luminance aka black level.

As I've said before, you guys really should not be touching voltage controls because you do not know what you are doing... nor do you really know what the do and/or impact. But again, it is your display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post

D-Nice,

I am curious as to why raising the RST-P eliminates the black splotches then. I know that resetting the pulse meter is not a great idea based on what you have told us, but after reset, the blotches are quite noticeable, unless you raise the RST-P levels. I apologize to others for giving the wrong info.

D-Nice is offline  
post #648 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Thanks D-Nice for your input. It is appreciated.
wxman is offline  
post #649 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 10:21 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D nice know you has what is VOL SUS and vol yknofsa, please ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #650 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Yes I do. However I am not going to provide that information to you. The best advice i can tell you is to stop playing with those controls. You are doing more harm that you think you are doing good.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

D nice know you has what is VOL SUS and vol yknofsa, please ?

D-Nice is offline  
post #651 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 10:39 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me I have corrected to the vol sus of 128-151 to eliminate purples sparkles on images very light as, example demos DVE and my vol YKNOFSA D 128-148 but I can give him to its original value. All VOL are to their original value.
This is not to play the fool that I ask you advice.
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #652 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Sorry, but I am not going to assist you with something I know is harmful to your display.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MATAMBOY View Post

For me I have corrected to the vol sus of 128-151 to eliminate purples sparkles on images very light as, example demos DVE and my vol YKNOFSA D 128-148 but I can give him to its original value. All VOL are to their original value.
This is not to play the fool that I ask you advice.

D-Nice is offline  
post #653 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 10:59 AM
Member
 
MATAMBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is true you as saying that it was harmful but it must be a solution to the purples sparkles on my display. For my the SUS has corrected the problem, that is why I ask you what is the VOL sus ?
MATAMBOY is offline  
post #654 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 11:09 AM
Member
 
ragingd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this going to happen to all the Pioneer Plasmas at a certain point? If not could this have been fixed through Pioneer if they took the problem into consideration. Im really not enjoying me set any longer and that just bothers me.
ragingd is offline  
post #655 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 11:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,954
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingd View Post

Is this going to happen to all the Pioneer Plasmas at a certain point?

No.
D-Nice is offline  
post #656 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 11:55 AM
Member
 
ragingd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks D-Nice. So the sets we have are defective panels? Is that fair to say?
ragingd is offline  
post #657 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 01:58 PM
Member
 
spwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I don't have the red tint but i do have an elevated black level. I have about 10000 hrs on the tv and have calibrated the isf modes. Using my display pro3, I get 0.004 on a 0% window and black looks gray in a totally dark room. I did'nt want to do a full reset so I tried to adjust some of the voltage parameters. I lowered vol rstp down until my meter read 0.001 but I get purple sparkles. Raising Yknofsad gets rid of the purple sparkles. Picture looks great but i'm not too comfortable with making adjustments that can have consequences later on. I'll probably switch back to the default voltage settings and live with the higher black level. I guess it's better than having a red tint but it's dissapointing to buy a 9g kuro and end up with an 8g kuro. I do wonder how many people have an elevated black level but don't have a meter to measure it. I first noticed it with my eyes about 8 months ago, but I had an i1pro then which can't read that low.
spwill is offline  
post #658 of 2700 Old 01-04-2012, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Urga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingd View Post

Is this going to happen to all the Pioneer Plasmas at a certain point?

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

No.

Thank You .
No tint red my 5090H .

Pioneer LX 5090H + Démo G5  C+ Csat HD + DD et la TNT + Pioneer LX55 + Sony BD-S790 ... Pana 50 ST60 + PS3 BD + Pioneer BD320 ... CRT Philips 32 PW 9520 P+2 DNM + TNT Thomson DTI 652 + Pioneer DV 380 ... BR 137 .

Urga is offline  
post #659 of 2700 Old 01-05-2012, 01:22 AM
Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just in case, if it all goes wrong now i've reset the pulse meter, what needs to be replaced/repared to fix it, and how much will it cost? Is it the panel itself or some control board?

Really, i would be happy to spend $1000 or so if it gets my screen back to its initial, new state, and would give me another 10000 hours...

Again, IF it is needed... so far so good...
jowicrt is offline  
post #660 of 2700 Old 01-05-2012, 03:00 AM
Member
 
KuroMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Solihull, England
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

No.

That is assuming that the red tint you are seeing is a fault or if it is the norm for Kuro's.

D-Nice posted this to one of my earlier questions:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=455

Apologies if the link does not work but I am new to these forums

The link above advises that some faint purple/red tint is normal in 0-10% stimuli, and I think that these are the situations that most of us are commenting that we can see the issue. (Lights off in the room and watching dark scenes). Unless I've totally misunderstood what D-Nice was telling me.

So perhaps some of us do not know what is the norm and what is a fault with our Kuro's. I know I don't!

I do not know another Kuro owner to take a look at their set.

Interestingly, I rang Pioneer UK again and they have agreed to send a Authorised Service Centre Engineer around to take a look. The Engineer is visiting tomorrow. I'll post what they tell me.
rmg3red likes this.
KuroMike is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off