Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 10 19.23%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 3 5.77%
111FD/151FD - NO 6 11.54%
101FD/141FD - NO 6 11.54%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 4 7.69%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 10 19.23%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 7 13.46%
111FD/151FD - YES 5 9.62%
101FD/141FD - YES 2 3.85%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 2699 Old 02-03-2012, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
440forpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So for you guys that did the reset. Are you having any ill affects from the reset? I wasn't going to do it. But after trying to watch a movie on my 500m last night. I decided it was worth the gamble. Since I have a hard time watching it in it's current state. Thanks
440forpower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 2699 Old 02-04-2012, 03:34 PM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440forpower View Post

So for you guys that did the reset. Are you having any ill affects from the reset? I wasn't going to do it. But after trying to watch a movie on my 500m last night. I decided it was worth the gamble. Since I have a hard time watching it in it's current state. Thanks

None at all. No sign of red tint either (thankfully).
stroud is offline  
post #723 of 2699 Old 02-04-2012, 05:24 PM
Member
 
THANKGOD4PLASMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fountain, Colorado
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroud View Post

None at all. No sign of red tint either (thankfully).

Stroud, how many hours do you have post-reset? Keep us posted!
THANKGOD4PLASMA is offline  
post #724 of 2699 Old 02-05-2012, 04:39 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by THANKGOD4PLASMA View Post

Stroud, how many hours do you have post-reset? Keep us posted!

My TV shows 340 hours, 26 minutes since reset. I rarely think about red tint any more but on the rare occasions that I can turn off all the lights, I always check it. It's still great and I love watching it. Never thought about buying another TV since!
stroud is offline  
post #725 of 2699 Old 02-05-2012, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Ragnarok666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SOOO Tempting to do that still. but I'm closing in on 9000 hours now. Likewise I don't want to be a Guinea pig and wrecking my TV then struggle to find another.
Ragnarok666 is offline  
post #726 of 2699 Old 02-05-2012, 09:48 PM
Member
 
astrodoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroud View Post

My TV shows 340 hours, 26 minutes since reset. I rarely think about red tint any more but on the rare occasions that I can turn off all the lights, I always check it. It's still great and I love watching it. Never thought about buying another TV since!

Same. My set has had the reset and have monitored for any colour shift.

Good news... it is stable.

BLACKS are still black!
astrodoob is offline  
post #727 of 2699 Old 02-06-2012, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
metallicaband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I'm really tempted to do the reset even though it's risky, I cringe when I watch my Kuro at certain dark scenes and that's just taking all the joy out of my experience.

Those who did it so far seem to have a good amount of knowledge in calibration (i.e they knew how to fix sparkles and get the right black that's neither crushing or too grey). I don't have any calibration equipment (light/color sensors or anything like that), I just have a simple DVE calibration BD.

So:
1- What would be the absolute essential equipments that I should have so I'd be prepared to fix possible PQ issues after the reset (I have the necessary serial cables to connect my PC to my Kuro since I upgraded my 5020FD to an e-lite and enabled the ISF day/night modes via Controcal)?

2- Can someone who did the reset please do a simple step by step newbie friendly guide (i.e mentioning important precautions to take, how to overcome common issues..etc)for people who aren't the most experienced at calibration and entering the service mode? I had a post bookmarked with good instructions (I think it was posted by stroud), but for some reason it seems to be deleted or something and this thread has become pretty big now with good info scattered all over the place, gathering it all up will be VERY useful IMO.

KRP-500M | Kuro 9G 5020FD + e-lite mod | B&W 683 Fronts | B&W 685 Center | B&W DM601 S3 Rears | HSU VTF3 MK3 Sub | Yamaha RX-V663 AVR
metallicaband is offline  
post #728 of 2699 Old 02-08-2012, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
440forpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah a simple guide to this would be great.
440forpower is offline  
post #729 of 2699 Old 02-08-2012, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Collusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kuopio, Finland
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440forpower View Post

Yeah a simple guide to this would be great.

+1

I do have a three year old European LX-5090 which has very subtle but still noticeable red tint problem when certain conditions are met. At 50Hz with drive mode 2 selected ( which has the highest MLL ) the top and the bottom of the screen are red.
Collusion is offline  
post #730 of 2699 Old 02-09-2012, 10:56 AM
Member
 
stroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Okay here is a simple guide on how to do this fix. You do it at your own risk.

1. You need to reset the pulse meter in the service menu.

There are several methods to get into the service menu, the easiest being with a GGF1589 or GGF1633 service remote. If you do not have a service remote then you need to get in by sending a command to your TV's RS232 port. There is no other way.

See my original guide on how to do this: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21295335.

If you need the service manual for your particular TV get it here: http://elektrotanya.com/?q=keres. The download link is hard to spot but it is at the bottom right next to the image of the manual. It takes a few seconds to appear but it will say "Get Manual, Not logged in Only 2 downloads allowed a day".

Once you have entered service mode, you can use your existing remote to navigate to the pulse reset option in the etc+ node of the service menu. See the following: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21298105
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post21295335

2. So now you have reset the pulse meter now what?

You should immediately see that the red tint has gone, good.
Watch some TV to check for any issues. I didn't have calibration equipment so used my eyes to judge. I didn't see any issues or problems.
Watch a wide screen movie with black bars for a few minutes and then quickly switch it to full screen (zoom will work). If you notice the blacks stick around for a few seconds (they kind of melt away) then increase VOL RST P (under the PANEL FACTORY node of the service menu) until it stops. Mine went from 23 originally to 62 after adjustment.

That's it. There are some who suggest that color balance may be slightly off but I couldn't see it. Calibrate to be sure.
stroud is offline  
post #731 of 2699 Old 02-09-2012, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Collusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kuopio, Finland
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks for the guide stroud.

I was able to lower the MLL of my LX-5090, however the red tint problem didn't vanish completely. It is still visible in a complete dark room with a black input picture. Still, I am satisfied.

My set was used ~7800hrs before I did the pulse counter reset thing. I had to crank up VOL RST P from 012 to 107 VOL SUS seemed to have little to no effect on the main side effect ( dancing pixels ). The color balance changed a bit, I am going to recalibrate tomorrow.
Collusion is offline  
post #732 of 2699 Old 02-13-2012, 09:16 AM
Member
 
KuroMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Solihull, England
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A quick update from me.

I turned my LX5090H on over the weekend to have a look at some films and I noticed that the red tint to blacks when watching dark scenes, has gone!

I have done no adjustments to my TV or entered the service menu. I am praying that this will be a permanent thing as the red tints did bug me. I was starting to get used to the idea but now this has happened.

Has anyone got any thoughts on why this has happened (not that I am complaining).

Now I have a very, very dark grey again in pictures which are very dim, instead of that irriating red tint. I have spent a couple of hours looking at material where I used to notice it - and in all cases it had gone!

Blacks appear to be back to where they were before the issue started.

Maybe the voltage has changed again on my TV as it has aged a bit more and this has corrected something?
KuroMike is offline  
post #733 of 2699 Old 02-13-2012, 01:37 PM
Member
 
astrodoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make observations on the transition from a bright picture to black. Take note on whether you have a primary colour lagging (trails). Check around the edges as well.

This can be dialled out.
astrodoob is offline  
post #734 of 2699 Old 02-16-2012, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
phosphide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the red tint problem on my LX5090 (6500 hours), today I got myself a serial cable and played a bit with panel settings.

I managed to lower the intensity of red tint by adjusting some values (I'd rather not reset the pulse meter... at least not yet). Now I've got very dark gray with slight red glowing at the bottom-right of the panel, a noticeable improvement over not-so-dark reddish-gray.

As a side effect I started noticing green trailing, but it seems it's the same even if I go back to original settings. I guess I just haven't noticed it earlier?

Here are my settings:

VOL SUS 128
VOL OFFSET 140
VOL RST P 001 -> 021
VOL XPOFS1 085
VOL XPOFS2 047
VOL YNOFS1 143
VOL YNOFS3 128
VOL YNOFS4 172
VOL YNOFSA 128 -> 080

Lowering YNOFSA improves the black level and makes red tint less visible, but brings purple/gray "sparkles". To get rid of them I increased RST P a little.

Should I be worried about increased VOL RST P?
Any suggestions on getting rid of trailing (though I'm pretty sure it's similar on original settings)?

Thanks,
phosphide
phosphide is offline  
post #735 of 2699 Old 02-16-2012, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I don't think you will harm your display, but remember these setting's are voltage range values. The display will only work properly within a specific range. Think of these values in the service menu like voltage volume controls. The best way to lower/raise your VOL YNOFSA is to use internal test patterns MKR S19, MKR S18, and MKR S23. MKRS19 will show if the voltage is set too low and MKRS23 will show if the voltage is set too high. I would keep your VOL RST P at factory value because raising this voltage too high could cause black crush in low contrast scenes. I would say that value 80 looks a little too low for VOL YNOFSA to be within spec, but I would have to put a meter on it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mascior is offline  
post #736 of 2699 Old 02-17-2012, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
metallicaband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Okay I'm experiencing another issue with my Kuro now which makes me want to do the whole reset thing even more.

The issue is that I'm getting like instant image retention, but I don't think it's even real image retention because it happens to a picture that was on the screen even for half a second, it only shows on GRAY background (like when you first turn on the Kuro before the screen becomes black), you can't see it on normal pictures or black background and I always have the orbiters turned on since I game heavily on the Kuro.

This goes away in a couple of seconds too from grey backgrounds, I'm not sure what is this, I heard something about having lagging blacks or something like that (can't remember the exact name of the issue), is that it?

Also, my Kuro's is becoming even more red near the bezel which is driving me crazy, I checked some of the earlier pages of this thread and there was some talk about backing up the EEPROM before doing the reset, how can I do that if it's an important step?

Any help would be really appreciated guys.

KRP-500M | Kuro 9G 5020FD + e-lite mod | B&W 683 Fronts | B&W 685 Center | B&W DM601 S3 Rears | HSU VTF3 MK3 Sub | Yamaha RX-V663 AVR
metallicaband is offline  
post #737 of 2699 Old 02-18-2012, 12:23 PM
Member
 
renet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: France
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
In France a Pioneer technician has receive an information note dated december 2011 indicating how get rid of pink sparkles after reset.
You don't need to change the Vol Sus or RSTP .(for me 128 and 001)

You must increase the XPOFS 2 by 15 ( I change 47 to 62),
put the Y SUS B to 124 (instead 128) and the X SUS B to 126 (instead 126).

it works perfectly
renet is offline  
post #738 of 2699 Old 02-19-2012, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
leftkidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed this about 2 months before my 2 year warranty went up< I called and had someone come out and they simply told me that they didnt see what I was talking about and there was nothing they could do

I requested a different person come out since there were 6 other people in the room that confirmed they could see it and someone else came out and did see it and told me that its not defective its "sosposta do that when it gets older" I dont believe that at all and IMO this is like what happened to Panasonic or Samsung where there black levels were increasing noticeably and they wouldnt admit it till latter and called it a "feature" to extend the life of the pannel - if Pioneer was still making TV's then I bet that they would have something to say about this problem

I want the retro skin back please
leftkidney is offline  
post #739 of 2699 Old 02-19-2012, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
krazeswift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right I'm really tempted to try the reset soon! Sorted connection wise and have already ventured into the service menu to find out my hrs which were only 3500.

Now whist very risky and most likely void your warranty! But if your able to get 1000+ hrs before any fault if any fault appears how are pioneer going to know you've reset your panel!? You could just argue the toss and say its not been used much forcing them to repair it.

Which makes me all the more tempted
krazeswift is offline  
post #740 of 2699 Old 02-19-2012, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Haven't noticed any reddish tint with black levels, I've tried looking for it since first reading about it here.

I checked the hours today it's at 17,554 and so far hasn't given me any troubles (knock on wood!).

Pioneer 5080HD
LL
Mathesar is offline  
post #741 of 2699 Old 02-20-2012, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Collusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kuopio, Finland
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any suggestions for getting rid of white sparkles in very dark grey areas ( below IRE10 ). These sparkles show only in areas where the red tint was present.
Collusion is offline  
post #742 of 2699 Old 02-20-2012, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Probably is your brightness is a little bit to high. Try to lower it to see what happens.
surap is offline  
post #743 of 2699 Old 02-20-2012, 10:23 PM
Newbie
 
jshar85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to see how a black screen looks like on someone else's 600M who has never had the reddish tint issue... Just because I don't know anyone personally who has one to compare it with... I believe My set to be plagued with this issue and aside from the slight reddish tint, My 600M gives off more of a glow then it should based on other pics I have seen on the forum... If someone that has NO Reddish Tint issue please post a few more pics of the 600M with a pure black image on the tv... I would really appreciate it. Thx again
jshar85 is offline  
post #744 of 2699 Old 02-21-2012, 01:09 PM
Member
 
CincyNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've always been a bit leery of the tint during dark scenes on my 500M. I couldn't place it...but this is exactly what it is. I watched "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" last night and it was very noticeable near the end of the film. I still love my display...but I'm debating on whether I should do the reset or not.

I've also had the itch to go bigger...so maybe this will force me to move in that direction. I'm just unsure whether a new Panasonic will come close to the 500M in PQ.
CincyNick is offline  
post #745 of 2699 Old 02-21-2012, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

What was D-Nice gathering data for about how people with the red tint used their kuros? Is he going to do something with it?

?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #746 of 2699 Old 02-21-2012, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshar85 View Post

based on other pics I have seen on the forum...

Photographs, particularly those posted here, are inadequate for any fine grained or high resolution assessment of image quality.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #747 of 2699 Old 02-21-2012, 04:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post


?

To validate whether or not voltage levels were incorrectly setup at the factory? Which has been validated.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #748 of 2699 Old 02-21-2012, 06:21 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CincyNick View Post

I'm just unsure whether a new Panasonic will come close to the 500M in PQ.

Perhaps in everything but black level, but that's a big caveat.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #749 of 2699 Old 02-21-2012, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

To validate whether or not voltage levels were incorrectly setup at the factory? Which has been validated.

Oh, i didn't see this mentioned. Thanks.

Thanks to this thread, i think i am now seeing what you mentioned here- http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=455

I never noticed it before until now. I just had to go looking didn't i? But im sure it's definitely not the red tint because i have to tryreally hard to see any red tint on a full black screen. It's very, very subtle. And when i turn off the TV and turn it back on it's not there anymore.

I could also be seeing things.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #750 of 2699 Old 02-22-2012, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
trem0lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

Perhaps in everything but black level, but that's a big caveat.

The 2011 Pannys do a great job and I suspect the 2012 will be a bit better. I still haven't seen anything that quite matches my 500m though. There is a certain magic in these sets that I can't put my finger on. Probably the black level

I have not seen red tint on mine but when there is any light in the room sometimes you can see the purplish AR coating reflecting the light. Just barely though, and only on the black bars.
trem0lo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off