Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 70 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread

View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 10 15.38%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 4 6.15%
111FD/151FD - NO 7 10.77%
101FD/141FD - NO 6 9.23%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 5 7.69%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 16 24.62%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 10 15.38%
111FD/151FD - YES 5 7.69%
101FD/141FD - YES 3 4.62%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 1 1.54%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 65. You may not vote on this poll
Plasma Flat Panel Displays

wxman's Avatar wxman
02:01 PM Liked: 249
post #2071 of 2745
02-12-2014 | Posts: 1,885
Joined: Apr 2003
Hyperterminal is a much safer way to reset your tv and will accept the commands.
somelogin's Avatar somelogin
06:46 PM Liked: 22
post #2072 of 2745
02-12-2014 | Posts: 1,072
Joined: Mar 2013
Well, stu kept saying it wouldn't cause problems and then when it did said I was making it up. All I am doing is reporting what happened because 1. people need all sides of what has happened to various people and 2. I am hoping someone figures out a way to help me fix it, but it doesn't even seem the black level got fixed either.

People such as he say not to change voltages without doing the reset, so really it just seems like no matter which method you use, someone says no don't do it thatw ay. I really want to try to improve my other tv, but I hate to change the voltages and then yet a new problem happen and I hate to do a reset and then have burn in again.
somelogin's Avatar somelogin
06:47 PM Liked: 22
post #2073 of 2745
02-12-2014 | Posts: 1,072
Joined: Mar 2013
As far as commands with controlCAL, turbe knows how you can get that to work, but I had already done the othe rmethod.
pg_ice's Avatar pg_ice
02:46 AM Liked: 179
post #2074 of 2745
02-13-2014 | Posts: 1,211
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by somelogin View Post

but it doesn't even seem the black level got fixed either.

LOWER YKNOFSA D TO GET BETTER BLACKLEVEL!

action i needed
smooth talking and complaining doesnt give you any better blacks.

do you even own a Kuro?
1 year of complaining abut problems that NO ONE seems to have and no pictures of your tvs?
that is strange.
ShockFett's Avatar ShockFett
05:54 AM Liked: 118
post #2075 of 2745
02-13-2014 | Posts: 474
Joined: Apr 2009
No pictures or it didn't happen. That's really the bottom line. No more redirection. Post pictures of the problems please. If you really want help that request would be a priority.
-Hitman-'s Avatar -Hitman-
10:40 AM Liked: 66
post #2076 of 2745
02-13-2014 | Posts: 691
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stookza View Post



Yes but the question asked is if he was same as me inside the service menu, but still didnt c any massages after typing and sending them.

I think Pg is saying that messages appear on the actual Kuro Display, NOT in the program used to send the commands (EG, KuroControl, Controlcal)
Stookza's Avatar Stookza
11:27 AM Liked: 13
post #2077 of 2745
02-13-2014 | Posts: 103
Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post

I think Pg is saying that messages appear on the actual Kuro Display, NOT in the program used to send the commands (EG, KuroControl, Controlcal)

Yea thats for sure pal, i already know that i meant just for it too.

thx
makaveddie81's Avatar makaveddie81
02:34 AM Liked: 142
post #2078 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 995
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

LOWER YKNOFSA D TO GET BETTER BLACKLEVEL!

action i needed
smooth talking and complaining doesnt give you any better blacks.

do you even own a Kuro?
1 year of complaining abut problems that NO ONE seems to have and no pictures of your tvs?
that is strange.

This is false. You are just asking for more trouble if you lower yknofsad. In one of his posts, D-Nice strongly suggested that it remain at its default 128. Not sure why you keep giving people advice after the whole reset debacle.
pg_ice's Avatar pg_ice
03:04 AM Liked: 179
post #2079 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,211
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

This is false. You are just asking for more trouble if you lower yknofsad. In one of his posts, D-Nice strongly suggested that it remain at its default 128. Not sure why you keep giving people advice after the whole reset debacle.

lol

what trouble are you talking about?
its time for you to start to explain your statements.


so you think D-Slide is right all the time?

i can see that when i look at my picture and the OLED blacks that is lower than he can achieve with his fancy program wink.gif
i have beat him
he is just second best here.

Glowing blacks VS non Glowing blacks
0-1
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
07:14 AM Liked: 27
post #2080 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
I have about 30 hrs on my reset and I'd like to make one change. Would a reset be needed here with such short hours or can I make the change and let it ride until I get someone to calibrate (DNice, Boston please. smile.gif).
makaveddie81's Avatar makaveddie81
09:27 AM Liked: 142
post #2081 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 995
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

lol

what trouble are you talking about?
its time for you to start to explain your statements.


so you think D-Slide is right all the time?

i can see that when i look at my picture and the OLED blacks that is lower than he can achieve with his fancy program wink.gif
i have beat him
he is just second best here.

Glowing blacks VS non Glowing blacks
0-1

Oh I dont know... how about magenta misfires, white sparkles, black rain and the other host of problems that people you coerced into resetting their set are experiencing? Just because you dont seeing them now, doesnt mean they wont come back later down the road. But I dont need to answer this question, as you will soon see first hand whats the after effects of your careless technique.

You really think you and your unsafe method are superior to a world reknowned calibrator and his safe method that he acquired from a Pioneer engineer?

But hey, at least your true ambition of getting name recognition on this site is coming to fruition... for the wrong reasons. You are truly in over your head and have clearly bitten off more than you can chew. Its now your turn to explain yourself. Care to explan why you withdrew your technique from the kuro reset thread? wink.gif
Stu03's Avatar Stu03
09:29 AM Liked: 167
post #2082 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,399
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by somelogin View Post

I used controlCAL and reset the logs EXACTLY how stu told me to, 100% following instructions,

the reset screws up the panel degradation algorithms.
if you have uneven wear out it will be visible after the reset.

as it is now i don't recomend doing the reset for anyone!
you just begging for problems if you do it.

its alot safer to just turn down YKNOFSAD to lower the blacks and to get rid of the red tint.

in your case you have to wide distance between YKNOFS3 and YKNOFS4.
thats why you have temporary burn ins.

It certainly isn't recommend for the technically incompetent that's for sure.
pg_ice's Avatar pg_ice
09:36 AM Liked: 179
post #2083 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,211
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Oh I dont know... how about magenta misfires, white sparkles, black rain and the other host of problems that people you coerced into resetting their set are experiencing?

i was talking about lowering SAD
you are talking about the reset.

what problems do you get lowering SAD only?
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

as you will soon see first hand whats the after effects of your careless technique.

ok i will let you know when the problems shows up
in 2-3 years...
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

You really think you and your unsafe method are superior to a world reknowned calibrator and his safe method that he acquired from a Pioneer engineer?

its more effective and will lower the blacks even more.
but the reset it self isnt for everyone and NOT for panels with hard uneven wear out that i said before.

you dont get OLED blacks with D-Nices method
with the reset and some tweaks you will.
makaveddie81's Avatar makaveddie81
09:44 AM Liked: 142
post #2084 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 995
Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

i was talking about lowering SAD
you are talking about the reset.

what problems do you get lowering SAD only?
ok i will let you know when the problems shows up
in 2-3 years...

Magenta misfires.

How do you know it will take 2 years? Anecdotal evidence?
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
09:45 AM Liked: 27
post #2085 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
It's gettting a bit warm in here . . . ahem.

I will go on record that I'm glad I did the reset. Yeah I have a bit of the dreaded black rain (that I can get rid of if I want to get back aTV I really didn't want to look at for the most part) but at least now I'm happy watching a movie. I understood the danger but to be honest the set was dead to me in it's pre-reset state. If I get a couple of years or so I'm happy. I'll also say that DNice is amazing and if I thought he'd be in the Boston area anytime soon I would have let him do his magic first to see what he could have done.
Stu03's Avatar Stu03
09:49 AM Liked: 167
post #2086 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,399
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by somelogin View Post

Well, stu kept saying it wouldn't cause problems and then when it did said I was making it up. All I am doing is reporting what happened because 1. people need all sides of what has happened to various people and 2. I am hoping someone figures out a way to help me fix it, but it doesn't even seem the black level got fixed either.

People such as he say not to change voltages without doing the reset, so really it just seems like no matter which method you use, someone says no don't do it thatw ay. I really want to try to improve my other tv, but I hate to change the voltages and then yet a new problem happen and I hate to do a reset and then have burn in again.

Could you provide images for example ?... If it is burn in... And not temporary IR.

See the thing is - why are you doing nothing to clear this mysterious burn in ?... You know - like displaying white signal or fast and bright moving images.

I am in touch with a guy in the UK as we speak who was unfortunate enough to buy a used KURO which had bad IR/BURN IN - who is doing something to help himself by displaying certain types of material... Whom never had any issue with posting images.

If you post a image of a white screen - and a close up of the burn in... White screen the best way to show up permanent burn in.

But what is confusing is (why you could possibly have burn in) simply resetting and turning the display back on.

Now in reference to all your mail which i kept for reference - two days before the "reset" asking me about raising ABL which i warned you (not) to - remember ?.

Of all the warnings about what to do and not to do - you never heeded any.

If you have raised ABL (and) VOL SUS through the roof (like i warned you not to...

Then unfortunately for you - you have no one to blame but yourself.
pg_ice's Avatar pg_ice
09:50 AM Liked: 179
post #2087 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,211
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Magenta misfires.

it depends on how low you set it

also its not my method doing the reset so you are wrong even there
i just made the guide
wxman's Avatar wxman
09:53 AM Liked: 249
post #2088 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,885
Joined: Apr 2003
I did the reset and I am happy I did. My tv is now like new. If you are not willing to put in the work after reset to fine tune, then do not attempt. It took me several hours and a few resets to get the picture I wanted. You basically have one of 2 choices. Enjoy your red tint, or give the reset a try. I did the reset because I was fed up with the tint. So if it didnt work, it was going to the junkyard for recycling.
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
09:55 AM Liked: 27
post #2089 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
Worst thing about the reset is thinking what Pioneer could have done with future generations. smile.gif
qwknuf6's Avatar qwknuf6
10:07 AM Liked: 89
post #2090 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 603
Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Worst thing about the reset is thinking what Pioneer could have done with future generations. smile.gif

+ 1
I did not do a reset but on my 101,but the blacks are OLED deep , maybe its the 9.5 G sauce , maybe its the low hours on my 101 , (800 hours ) , between the D-Nice tweak and the lowering of the FSAD , Blacks are Black under any APL , no matter how low .
You can raise and lower FSAD , in other words it is not a permanet thing .
Pioneer saved some Black level improvement for the 10 G .
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
10:12 AM Liked: 27
post #2091 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
If I didn't have the rain effect (something I am being OCD about since I don't see it on regular viewing) I'd say the TV is perfect. I am a horror fan and the other night watching a flick the screen went dark and the room was plunged into darkness. It was rather amazing and added to the movie in a way that you can only be believed if seen. Amazing.
pg_ice's Avatar pg_ice
10:20 AM Liked: 179
post #2092 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,211
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

I have about 30 hrs on my reset and I'd like to make one change. Would a reset be needed

i thinks its better to do another reset when you are happy with the settings.
then you start from scratch and the algorithms can start to work from that point.

i think i also will do another reset (3rd) as i have messed around alot with the voltages after to check for problems that others has got.
qwknuf6's Avatar qwknuf6
10:25 AM Liked: 89
post #2093 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 603
Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

If I didn't have the rain effect (something I am being OCD about since I don't see it on regular viewing) I'd say the TV is perfect. I am a horror fan and the other night watching a flick the screen went dark and the room was plunged into darkness. It was rather amazing and added to the movie in a way that you can only be believed if seen. Amazing.

+ 1 AGAIN

Try watching the Croods , talk about some low light scenes , My 101 makes my brothers ZT 60 look like a edge lite lcd display on that movie ,
pg_ice's Avatar pg_ice
10:27 AM Liked: 179
post #2094 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,211
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

+ 1 AGAIN

Try watching the Croods , talk about some low light scenes , My 101 makes my brothers ZT 60 look like a edge lite lcd display on that movie ,

+1
your talking about the cave scenes right?
they must be the lowest APL scenes i have ever seen in a movie.
i would say that those scenes will only look good with almost zero blacks in a dark room.
just the slightest glow to the blacks there and those scenes will look washed out.

great looking movie btw.

i have a picture of that scene in the Kuro pictures thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/920011/official-pioneer-kuro-pictures-thread/6720#post_24216876
Stu03's Avatar Stu03
10:34 AM Liked: 167
post #2095 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,399
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Worst thing about the reset is thinking what Pioneer could have done with future generations. smile.gif

+ 1
I did not do a reset but on my 101,but the blacks are OLED deep , maybe its the 9.5 G sauce , maybe its the low hours on my 101 , (800 hours ) , between the D-Nice tweak and the lowering of the FSAD , Blacks are Black under any APL , no matter how low .
You can raise and lower FSAD , in other words it is not a permanet thing .
Pioneer saved some Black level improvement for the 10 G .

That is low hours...

Mine is past 1K hours now and was only just less than 25hrs when i got it last July 8th.

Warranty runs out in mid April - so if something happens to it (red tint) i know a tech well enough who will have it new replaced completely.

But if not at least i can fix it myself after the warranty runs out - if the tint comes to my 500.

How long you had the 9.5 ?
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
10:38 AM Liked: 27
post #2096 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

i thinks its better to do another reset when you are happy with the settings.
then you start from scratch and the algorithms can start to work from that point.

i think i also will do another reset (3rd) as i have messed around alot with the voltages after to check for problems that others has got.

Ok thanks!
Stu03's Avatar Stu03
10:39 AM Liked: 167
post #2097 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 1,399
Joined: Feb 2012
I read somewhere that a guy from a magazine visited Pioneer just before they called it a day. Who went to see some of the future technology (FUGA)... They also said they were struggling to lower MLL from the 9/9.5G without introducing noise in the black.

Sure they would have fixed that before release if it had got that far though smile.gif
qwknuf6's Avatar qwknuf6
10:41 AM Liked: 89
post #2098 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 603
Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu03 View Post

That is low hours...

Mine is past 1K hours now and was only just less than 25hrs when i got it last July 8th.

Warranty runs out in mid April - so if something happens to it (red tint) i know a tech well enough who will have it new replaced completely.

But if not at least i can fix it myself after the warranty runs out - if the tint comes to my 500.

How long you had the 9.5 ?


Jan 2012 , was a factory warranty replacement from Pioneer , it is a second display just for movies , have a dedicated Black Room , black walls , black ceiling , black funiture . ect ect
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
10:42 AM Liked: 27
post #2099 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
I forget, was it some 500Ms got 9.5g parts and the sig series?
VidPro's Avatar VidPro
10:43 AM Liked: 27
post #2100 of 2745
02-14-2014 | Posts: 822
Joined: Apr 2007
Awesome. Some day when we move from my current house I will have a dedicated room.
Tags: Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3