Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 70 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 7 17.07%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 3 7.32%
111FD/151FD - NO 5 12.20%
101FD/141FD - NO 4 9.76%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 3 7.32%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 7 17.07%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 7 17.07%
111FD/151FD - YES 4 9.76%
101FD/141FD - YES 2 4.88%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2691 Old 02-12-2014, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Stookza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Israel
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

i was talking about the others that screws up their Kuros after the reset.

what your main problem is or what you are meaning with your questions is a good question wink.gif
it sounds like its a total mess with everything you trying to do?
correct?


Nothing is a total mess, u just dont understand, i tried ur reset with controlcal, and it didnt work like to many others.The tv doesnt accept the commands, thats all. nvm.

thx.
Stookza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2691 Old 02-12-2014, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Hyperterminal is a much safer way to reset your tv and will accept the commands.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #2073 of 2691 Old 02-12-2014, 05:46 PM
 
somelogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well, stu kept saying it wouldn't cause problems and then when it did said I was making it up. All I am doing is reporting what happened because 1. people need all sides of what has happened to various people and 2. I am hoping someone figures out a way to help me fix it, but it doesn't even seem the black level got fixed either.

People such as he say not to change voltages without doing the reset, so really it just seems like no matter which method you use, someone says no don't do it thatw ay. I really want to try to improve my other tv, but I hate to change the voltages and then yet a new problem happen and I hate to do a reset and then have burn in again.
somelogin is offline  
post #2074 of 2691 Old 02-12-2014, 05:47 PM
 
somelogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
As far as commands with controlCAL, turbe knows how you can get that to work, but I had already done the othe rmethod.
somelogin is offline  
post #2075 of 2691 Old 02-13-2014, 01:46 AM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by somelogin View Post

but it doesn't even seem the black level got fixed either.

LOWER YKNOFSA D TO GET BETTER BLACKLEVEL!

action i needed
smooth talking and complaining doesnt give you any better blacks.

do you even own a Kuro?
1 year of complaining abut problems that NO ONE seems to have and no pictures of your tvs?
that is strange.
vinnie97, ShockFett and craigyboy like this.
pg_ice is offline  
post #2076 of 2691 Old 02-13-2014, 04:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 117
No pictures or it didn't happen. That's really the bottom line. No more redirection. Post pictures of the problems please. If you really want help that request would be a priority.
craigyboy likes this.
ShockFett is offline  
post #2077 of 2691 Old 02-13-2014, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stookza View Post



Yes but the question asked is if he was same as me inside the service menu, but still didnt c any massages after typing and sending them.

I think Pg is saying that messages appear on the actual Kuro Display, NOT in the program used to send the commands (EG, KuroControl, Controlcal)
Stookza likes this.
-Hitman- is offline  
post #2078 of 2691 Old 02-13-2014, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Stookza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Israel
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post

I think Pg is saying that messages appear on the actual Kuro Display, NOT in the program used to send the commands (EG, KuroControl, Controlcal)

Yea thats for sure pal, i already know that i meant just for it too.

thx
Stookza is offline  
post #2079 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 01:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

LOWER YKNOFSA D TO GET BETTER BLACKLEVEL!

action i needed
smooth talking and complaining doesnt give you any better blacks.

do you even own a Kuro?
1 year of complaining abut problems that NO ONE seems to have and no pictures of your tvs?
that is strange.

This is false. You are just asking for more trouble if you lower yknofsad. In one of his posts, D-Nice strongly suggested that it remain at its default 128. Not sure why you keep giving people advice after the whole reset debacle.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2080 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 02:04 AM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

This is false. You are just asking for more trouble if you lower yknofsad. In one of his posts, D-Nice strongly suggested that it remain at its default 128. Not sure why you keep giving people advice after the whole reset debacle.

lol

what trouble are you talking about?
its time for you to start to explain your statements.


so you think D-Slide is right all the time?

i can see that when i look at my picture and the OLED blacks that is lower than he can achieve with his fancy program wink.gif
i have beat him
he is just second best here.

Glowing blacks VS non Glowing blacks
0-1
pg_ice is offline  
post #2081 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have about 30 hrs on my reset and I'd like to make one change. Would a reset be needed here with such short hours or can I make the change and let it ride until I get someone to calibrate (DNice, Boston please. smile.gif).

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #2082 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

lol

what trouble are you talking about?
its time for you to start to explain your statements.


so you think D-Slide is right all the time?

i can see that when i look at my picture and the OLED blacks that is lower than he can achieve with his fancy program wink.gif
i have beat him
he is just second best here.

Glowing blacks VS non Glowing blacks
0-1

Oh I dont know... how about magenta misfires, white sparkles, black rain and the other host of problems that people you coerced into resetting their set are experiencing? Just because you dont seeing them now, doesnt mean they wont come back later down the road. But I dont need to answer this question, as you will soon see first hand whats the after effects of your careless technique.

You really think you and your unsafe method are superior to a world reknowned calibrator and his safe method that he acquired from a Pioneer engineer?

But hey, at least your true ambition of getting name recognition on this site is coming to fruition... for the wrong reasons. You are truly in over your head and have clearly bitten off more than you can chew. Its now your turn to explain yourself. Care to explan why you withdrew your technique from the kuro reset thread? wink.gif
tubby497 likes this.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2083 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by somelogin View Post

I used controlCAL and reset the logs EXACTLY how stu told me to, 100% following instructions,

the reset screws up the panel degradation algorithms.
if you have uneven wear out it will be visible after the reset.

as it is now i don't recomend doing the reset for anyone!
you just begging for problems if you do it.

its alot safer to just turn down YKNOFSAD to lower the blacks and to get rid of the red tint.

in your case you have to wide distance between YKNOFS3 and YKNOFS4.
thats why you have temporary burn ins.

It certainly isn't recommend for the technically incompetent that's for sure.
pg_ice likes this.
Stu03 is offline  
post #2084 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:36 AM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Oh I dont know... how about magenta misfires, white sparkles, black rain and the other host of problems that people you coerced into resetting their set are experiencing?

i was talking about lowering SAD
you are talking about the reset.

what problems do you get lowering SAD only?
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

as you will soon see first hand whats the after effects of your careless technique.

ok i will let you know when the problems shows up
in 2-3 years...
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

You really think you and your unsafe method are superior to a world reknowned calibrator and his safe method that he acquired from a Pioneer engineer?

its more effective and will lower the blacks even more.
but the reset it self isnt for everyone and NOT for panels with hard uneven wear out that i said before.

you dont get OLED blacks with D-Nices method
with the reset and some tweaks you will.
pg_ice is offline  
post #2085 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

i was talking about lowering SAD
you are talking about the reset.

what problems do you get lowering SAD only?
ok i will let you know when the problems shows up
in 2-3 years...

Magenta misfires.

How do you know it will take 2 years? Anecdotal evidence?
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2086 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
It's gettting a bit warm in here . . . ahem.

I will go on record that I'm glad I did the reset. Yeah I have a bit of the dreaded black rain (that I can get rid of if I want to get back aTV I really didn't want to look at for the most part) but at least now I'm happy watching a movie. I understood the danger but to be honest the set was dead to me in it's pre-reset state. If I get a couple of years or so I'm happy. I'll also say that DNice is amazing and if I thought he'd be in the Boston area anytime soon I would have let him do his magic first to see what he could have done.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #2087 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by somelogin View Post

Well, stu kept saying it wouldn't cause problems and then when it did said I was making it up. All I am doing is reporting what happened because 1. people need all sides of what has happened to various people and 2. I am hoping someone figures out a way to help me fix it, but it doesn't even seem the black level got fixed either.

People such as he say not to change voltages without doing the reset, so really it just seems like no matter which method you use, someone says no don't do it thatw ay. I really want to try to improve my other tv, but I hate to change the voltages and then yet a new problem happen and I hate to do a reset and then have burn in again.

Could you provide images for example ?... If it is burn in... And not temporary IR.

See the thing is - why are you doing nothing to clear this mysterious burn in ?... You know - like displaying white signal or fast and bright moving images.

I am in touch with a guy in the UK as we speak who was unfortunate enough to buy a used KURO which had bad IR/BURN IN - who is doing something to help himself by displaying certain types of material... Whom never had any issue with posting images.

If you post a image of a white screen - and a close up of the burn in... White screen the best way to show up permanent burn in.

But what is confusing is (why you could possibly have burn in) simply resetting and turning the display back on.

Now in reference to all your mail which i kept for reference - two days before the "reset" asking me about raising ABL which i warned you (not) to - remember ?.

Of all the warnings about what to do and not to do - you never heeded any.

If you have raised ABL (and) VOL SUS through the roof (like i warned you not to...

Then unfortunately for you - you have no one to blame but yourself.
Stu03 is offline  
post #2088 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:50 AM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Magenta misfires.

it depends on how low you set it

also its not my method doing the reset so you are wrong even there
i just made the guide
pg_ice is offline  
post #2089 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I did the reset and I am happy I did. My tv is now like new. If you are not willing to put in the work after reset to fine tune, then do not attempt. It took me several hours and a few resets to get the picture I wanted. You basically have one of 2 choices. Enjoy your red tint, or give the reset a try. I did the reset because I was fed up with the tint. So if it didnt work, it was going to the junkyard for recycling.
pg_ice likes this.

"The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
wxman is offline  
post #2090 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Worst thing about the reset is thinking what Pioneer could have done with future generations. smile.gif
pg_ice likes this.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #2091 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Worst thing about the reset is thinking what Pioneer could have done with future generations. smile.gif

+ 1
I did not do a reset but on my 101,but the blacks are OLED deep , maybe its the 9.5 G sauce , maybe its the low hours on my 101 , (800 hours ) , between the D-Nice tweak and the lowering of the FSAD , Blacks are Black under any APL , no matter how low .
You can raise and lower FSAD , in other words it is not a permanet thing .
Pioneer saved some Black level improvement for the 10 G .
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2092 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If I didn't have the rain effect (something I am being OCD about since I don't see it on regular viewing) I'd say the TV is perfect. I am a horror fan and the other night watching a flick the screen went dark and the room was plunged into darkness. It was rather amazing and added to the movie in a way that you can only be believed if seen. Amazing.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #2093 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:20 AM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

I have about 30 hrs on my reset and I'd like to make one change. Would a reset be needed

i thinks its better to do another reset when you are happy with the settings.
then you start from scratch and the algorithms can start to work from that point.

i think i also will do another reset (3rd) as i have messed around alot with the voltages after to check for problems that others has got.
pg_ice is offline  
post #2094 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

If I didn't have the rain effect (something I am being OCD about since I don't see it on regular viewing) I'd say the TV is perfect. I am a horror fan and the other night watching a flick the screen went dark and the room was plunged into darkness. It was rather amazing and added to the movie in a way that you can only be believed if seen. Amazing.

+ 1 AGAIN

Try watching the Croods , talk about some low light scenes , My 101 makes my brothers ZT 60 look like a edge lite lcd display on that movie ,
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2095 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:27 AM
 
pg_ice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

+ 1 AGAIN

Try watching the Croods , talk about some low light scenes , My 101 makes my brothers ZT 60 look like a edge lite lcd display on that movie ,

+1
your talking about the cave scenes right?
they must be the lowest APL scenes i have ever seen in a movie.
i would say that those scenes will only look good with almost zero blacks in a dark room.
just the slightest glow to the blacks there and those scenes will look washed out.

great looking movie btw.

i have a picture of that scene in the Kuro pictures thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/920011/official-pioneer-kuro-pictures-thread/6720#post_24216876
pg_ice is offline  
post #2096 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Worst thing about the reset is thinking what Pioneer could have done with future generations. smile.gif

+ 1
I did not do a reset but on my 101,but the blacks are OLED deep , maybe its the 9.5 G sauce , maybe its the low hours on my 101 , (800 hours ) , between the D-Nice tweak and the lowering of the FSAD , Blacks are Black under any APL , no matter how low .
You can raise and lower FSAD , in other words it is not a permanet thing .
Pioneer saved some Black level improvement for the 10 G .

That is low hours...

Mine is past 1K hours now and was only just less than 25hrs when i got it last July 8th.

Warranty runs out in mid April - so if something happens to it (red tint) i know a tech well enough who will have it new replaced completely.

But if not at least i can fix it myself after the warranty runs out - if the tint comes to my 500.

How long you had the 9.5 ?
Stu03 is offline  
post #2097 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice View Post

i thinks its better to do another reset when you are happy with the settings.
then you start from scratch and the algorithms can start to work from that point.

i think i also will do another reset (3rd) as i have messed around alot with the voltages after to check for problems that others has got.

Ok thanks!

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
post #2098 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
I read somewhere that a guy from a magazine visited Pioneer just before they called it a day. Who went to see some of the future technology (FUGA)... They also said they were struggling to lower MLL from the 9/9.5G without introducing noise in the black.

Sure they would have fixed that before release if it had got that far though smile.gif
Stu03 is offline  
post #2099 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu03 View Post

That is low hours...

Mine is past 1K hours now and was only just less than 25hrs when i got it last July 8th.

Warranty runs out in mid April - so if something happens to it (red tint) i know a tech well enough who will have it new replaced completely.

But if not at least i can fix it myself after the warranty runs out - if the tint comes to my 500.

How long you had the 9.5 ?


Jan 2012 , was a factory warranty replacement from Pioneer , it is a second display just for movies , have a dedicated Black Room , black walls , black ceiling , black funiture . ect ect
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2100 of 2691 Old 02-14-2014, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I forget, was it some 500Ms got 9.5g parts and the sig series?

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off