Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 92 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 10 15.15%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 4 6.06%
111FD/151FD - NO 7 10.61%
101FD/141FD - NO 6 9.09%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 5 7.58%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 17 25.76%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 10 15.15%
111FD/151FD - YES 5 7.58%
101FD/141FD - YES 3 4.55%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 1 1.52%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 66. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2753 Old 11-20-2014, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
I don't know the black level. I don't have a meter to check. But I'm assuming it's .001 since it's very dark. A full black screen is very faint. You know a displays black level is good when a movie transitions to a low contrast scene and the room gets dark too. Like it when that happens.

Yeah D-Nice said some kuros can be tweaked that low. I guess it's the ones manufactured in 2009 at that one factory before Pioneer shut everything down.



Amazing. They should try to sell them since I'm sure most owners warranties are expired by now. I hope they're not going to just throw them away. I'll buy both the 151 and 6020.
I'm sure the employees will get first pick. But it wouldn't surprise me if they dispose of them
rcapprotti is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2753 Old 11-23-2014, 08:03 AM
Newbie
 
mb091's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I bought used LX-5090H few weeks ago. Currently it has little over 4000h. Then I used ControlCal to unlock ISF modes and did some quick calibration using i1display pro, PS3 and mascior calibration disc. What I don't understand is why black level in service mode is lower than in ISF modes (0.005cd/m2 vs. 0.012cd/m2)? This is measured displaying all black screen. Does service mode crushes blacks or changes the picture to dynamic mode? The picture definitely isn't the same in service menu. Why can't I see the 5% grey window in service menu? I would like to lower the mll by reducing VOL YKNOFSA D value but now I'm not sure what is going on with the picture in service mode. I haven't done the reset procedure.
mb091 is offline  
post #2733 of 2753 Old 11-23-2014, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb091 View Post
I bought used LX-5090H few weeks ago. Currently it has little over 4000h. Then I used ControlCal to unlock ISF modes and did some quick calibration using i1display pro, PS3 and mascior calibration disc. What I don't understand is why black level in service mode is lower than in ISF modes (0.005cd/m2 vs. 0.012cd/m2)? This is measured displaying all black screen. Does service mode crushes blacks or changes the picture to dynamic mode? The picture definitely isn't the same in service menu. Why can't I see the 5% grey window in service menu? I would like to lower the mll by reducing VOL YKNOFSA D value but now I'm not sure what is going on with the picture in service mode. I haven't done the reset procedure.
Ignore the MLL in the service menu , it is not correct for calibration or normal PQ
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2734 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ukraine, Chernihiv
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have PDP-5080XA (hd-ready 1366 x 768, 50 inch). 17693 hours. Not resetted. Not calibrated.
Kuro has a reddish tint to the blacks.
My current untouched factory settings are

VOL SUS 127
VOL OFFSET 117
VOL RST P 109
XPOFS1 128
XPOFS2 084
YNOFS1 142
YNOFS3 99
YNOFS4 163
RESET1ST_KSB 125
REST2ND_KSB 128
YSTL_1SF_KSB 128
YSTL_1SF_HZ 128
XSUS_1ST_B 128
XSUS_2ND_B 128
XSUS_3RD_B 128
YSUS_B 128
XSUS_B 128
YSTL_KSB 128
YSTL_HZ 128
YSTL_2SF_KSB 128
YSTL_2SF_HZ 128
YSTL_FMR_KSB 128
YSTL_FMR_HZ 128
SYS FREQ MODE1

OFSA is not in list.

What settings I can reduce and what numbers I can set?
YNOFS1 142 > 122 ?
YNOFS3 99 > 79 ?
YNOFS4 163 > 143 ?
VOL RST P 109 > ???

Thanks.
s70serg is offline  
post #2735 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
I'm sure the employees will get first pick. But it wouldn't surprise me if they dispose of them
Dispose? What a waste. I hope not. They should give the rest to Robert at VE to sell.


@s70serg.....I think it's recommend you change RSTP to a lower value first. Yours is very high. You have alot of room to work with.

home theater addict

Last edited by saprano; 12-04-2014 at 06:52 AM.
saprano is offline  
post #2736 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by s70serg View Post
I have PDP-5080XA (hd-ready 1366 x 768, 50 inch). 17693 hours. Not resetted. Not calibrated.
Kuro has a reddish tint to the blacks.
My current untouched factory settings are

VOL SUS 127
VOL OFFSET 117
VOL RST P 109
XPOFS1 128
XPOFS2 084
YNOFS1 142
YNOFS3 99
YNOFS4 163
RESET1ST_KSB 125
REST2ND_KSB 128
YSTL_1SF_KSB 128
YSTL_1SF_HZ 128
XSUS_1ST_B 128
XSUS_2ND_B 128
XSUS_3RD_B 128
YSUS_B 128
XSUS_B 128
YSTL_KSB 128
YSTL_HZ 128
YSTL_2SF_KSB 128
YSTL_2SF_HZ 128
YSTL_FMR_KSB 128
YSTL_FMR_HZ 128
SYS FREQ MODE1

OFSA is not in list.

What settings I can reduce and what numbers I can set?
YNOFS1 142 > 122 ?
YNOFS3 99 > 79 ?
YNOFS4 163 > 143 ?
VOL RST P 109 > ???

Thanks.
RSTP @ 109 ! That has got to be a record for the highest factory setting , lower it to 018 and recheck
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2737 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post
RSTP @ 109 ! That has got to be a record for the highest factory setting , lower it to 018 and recheck
Voltages change over time don't they? He has 17000 hours on his kuro.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #2738 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 09:21 AM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
RSTP won't change, it's a factory setting specific to each panel (and should never be changed).
No service menu value (aside counters) will change over time, they are offsets, no real values.
lnarbi is online now  
post #2739 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post
Voltages change over time don't they? He has 17000 hours on his kuro.
the voltages change internally while the values in the service menu remain the same
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2740 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Vegeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
6800 hours is not bad at all IMO. To me, anything past the 12,000 hour mark is a no no.
I have 2 LX5090 9G Kuro's. Not checked the hours on them yet as I don't have the right cable at the moment (ordered to sort out red tint) but why is it bad for a Kuro to have accumulated over 12,000 hours? Isn't the screen rated for 60,000 hours?


One of them has a very obvious red tint in a pitch black room and the other has a slight red tint.

Last edited by Vegeta; 12-04-2014 at 08:23 PM.
Vegeta is offline  
post #2741 of 2753 Old 12-04-2014, 10:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegeta View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
6800 hours is not bad at all IMO. To me, anything past the 12,000 hour mark is a no no.
I have 2 LX5090 9G Kuro's. Not checked the hours on them yet as I don't have the right cable at the moment (ordered to sort out red tint) but why is it bad for a Kuro to have accumulated over 12,000 hours? Isn't the screen rated for 60,000 hours?


One of them has a very obvious red tint in a pitch black room and the other has a slight red tint.
It was meant from a buyers perspective. Similar to a car the higher the mileage the more likely the panel will have some sort of problem (red tint, burn in, dead pixels, etc).
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2742 of 2753 Old 12-07-2014, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ukraine, Chernihiv
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I reduced sattings

YNOFS1 142 > 122
YNOFS3 99 > 79
YNOFS4 163 > 143
VOL RST P 109 > 89 > 69 > 49

Now tint is not red, but I'd like to think my black level is not enough.
Can I reduce VOL RST P to 18?
s70serg is offline  
post #2743 of 2753 Old 12-07-2014, 10:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by s70serg View Post
I reduced sattings

YNOFS1 142 > 122
YNOFS3 99 > 79
YNOFS4 163 > 143
VOL RST P 109 > 89 > 69 > 49

Now tint is not red, but I'd like to think my black level is not enough.
Can I reduce VOL RST P to 18?
YES ! I would set FS1 3 and 4 back to the original settings , lower RSTP to 018 and then check for misfires from dark scenes that transition to light , no misfires seen I would lower RSTP to 002 and again recheck for misfires , if you are good with RSTP at 002 then lower FS1 3 4 10 clicks each ,maintaining the same spacing .
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2744 of 2753 Old 12-08-2014, 06:02 PM
Member
 
filmoreXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 39
if changing voltages to restore black levels works , who's to say in several years the red tint wont rear its ugly head again and you wont be able to tweak them out? Just wandering as I Have a few kuros


Is the red tint problem mainly on 2nd generation KUROS (9g) or is it seen also on first gen Kuros?

Last edited by filmoreXXX; 12-08-2014 at 07:30 PM.
filmoreXXX is offline  
post #2745 of 2753 Old 12-10-2014, 12:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ukraine, Chernihiv
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Excuse me for my english. I did not find service manual for PDP-5080XA. Only for 5080HD:
ru.scribd.com/doc/111484174/Pioneer-Pdp-5080hd-Sm
Page 134.
The reducing of settings to

YNOFS1 142 (217 Volts) > 121 (207 Volts)
YNOFS3 99 (197 Volts)> 78 (187 Volts)
YNOFS4 163 (227 Volts) > 142 (217 Volts)
VOL RST P 109 (190 Volts) > 48 (156 Volts)

improves black level, but very little.
I think this settings are final.
I reduced VOL_RST_P to 18 and to 2, but I did not have a visible result.
What numbers I can set for long life of my Kuro: factory settings, or my low settings?
Are the low settings bad for long life of Kuro?
s70serg is offline  
post #2746 of 2753 Unread Yesterday, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys I became a proud owner of a Pioneer Kuro 6 months ago. I noticed already on the first day that the blacks weren't as good as I had remembered Kuro being but haven't really done anything about it. The blacks have a red tint to them, so I thought I'd google and I found this thread. I guess its a common problem.


the Kuro I have now is 5-6 years old and cost me roughly £350 so I don't really expect much from it but I'd love for the blacks to be completely inky and the contrast to seem closer to infinity. (still pretty darn good picture though). Since I despise LED/LCD I'd like to keep this TV for the next 3 years until I (a relatively broke student) can afford something like a 4K OLED or at the very least 1080p OLED.

Anyone want to help me / advise me what to do step-by-step? Thanks.
SnellTHX is online now  
post #2747 of 2753 Unread Yesterday, 02:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmoreXXX View Post
if changing voltages to restore black levels works , who's to say in several years the red tint wont rear its ugly head again and you wont be able to tweak them out? Just wandering as I Have a few kuros


Is the red tint problem mainly on 2nd generation KUROS (9g) or is it seen also on first gen Kuros?
That's a valid point but Kuro's are already 6-7 years old! Who's still going to have a Kuro in a few years time? If the only downside is the red tint returning in a couple of years then I'll gladly take that risk!
SnellTHX is online now  
post #2748 of 2753 Unread Yesterday, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
tubby497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: La La Land
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellTHX View Post
Hey guys I became a proud owner of a Pioneer Kuro 6 months ago. I noticed already on the first day that the blacks weren't as good as I had remembered Kuro being but haven't really done anything about it. The blacks have a red tint to them, so I thought I'd google and I found this thread. I guess its a common problem.


the Kuro I have now is 5-6 years old and cost me roughly £350 so I don't really expect much from it but I'd love for the blacks to be completely inky and the contrast to seem closer to infinity. (still pretty darn good picture though). Since I despise LED/LCD I'd like to keep this TV for the next 3 years until I (a relatively broke student) can afford something like a 4K OLED or at the very least 1080p OLED.

Anyone want to help me / advise me what to do step-by-step? Thanks.
Hi

You can follow my guide:

Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)

Display - Pioneer KRP-500M (Tweaked)
A/V Processor - Mcintosh MX121
Sources - Mcintosh MVP881, Oppo BDP-103
Amp/Power Controller - Mcintosh MC303, MC207, MPC1500
Speakers/Subwoofer - B&W 803D2, HTM2D, 805D2, JL Audio Fathom F112
tubby497 is offline  
post #2749 of 2753 Unread Yesterday, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Before I go any further... That's a guide for the KRP 500-M... Does the same steps apply to the LX5090? Couldn't see that you specified that it will work the same on an LX5090.
SnellTHX is online now  
post #2750 of 2753 Unread Yesterday, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellTHX View Post
Before I go any further... That's a guide for the KRP 500-M... Does the same steps apply to the LX5090? Couldn't see that you specified that it will work the same on an LX5090.
Will work on your panel
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2751 of 2753 Unread Today, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post
Will work on your panel

Alright I'll give it a try. *terrified*


I can also say that my red tint isn't quite as bad as illustrated in the guide, but I can guarantee that my blacks are no where near as inky as the 'after' picture either.

I tried taking pictures with my LG G3 which has a great phone camera... under good lighting conditions. The blacks appear pretty black so I can't really show you.

the tint is definitely reddish and only noticable in a dark room. With a bit of ambient lighting the blacks look black, but who watches telly / plays games / watch movies with the lights on??
SnellTHX is online now  
post #2752 of 2753 Unread Today, 08:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 90
make note of your stock settings , lower RSTP to 002 or 001 and view results , then lower FS1 3 and 4 all by the same amount , maintaining the same spacing , no other adjustments are needed. all settings can be returned factory specs if need be

Last edited by qwknuf6; Today at 09:16 AM.
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2753 of 2753 Unread Today, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post
make note of your stock settings , lower RSTP to 002 or 001 and view results , then lower FS1 3 and 4 all by the same amount , maintaining the same spacing , no other adjustments are needed. all settings can be returned factory specs if need be
Thanks for the help guys. Before I start anything I'll have to order those cables as I don't have them. Amazon estimates that they'll arrive at my door step on the 30th by which time I'll be on holiday in Copenhagen so I won't fix this problem until the 2nd or 3rd by the earliest.

Is it too much to ask for a quick video of how this will work? I've never done anything like this so I don't know how difficult it will be for me.

Already have a quick question:

VGA Kuro --> VGA PC
and that USB goes in the Kuro then the other end in the PC? (Or opposite?)

both cables connected at the same time?
SnellTHX is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off