Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 96 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 14 13.86%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 4 3.96%
111FD/151FD - NO 15 14.85%
101FD/141FD - NO 9 8.91%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 7 6.93%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 24 23.76%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 14 13.86%
111FD/151FD - YES 8 7.92%
101FD/141FD - YES 6 5.94%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 3 2.97%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 101. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 2861 Old 07-23-2015, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman42 View Post
??? I don't find this YSAD value that you are speaking about. I get into the factory settings, the first I see is VOL SUS (at 128), if I scroll down, I see many other values but no trace of this YSAD you are talking about. Mine it's a LX6090 (not the H version).
Try looking for VOL YKNOFSA D, I think that is what is being referred to.

Regards, Mike.
AV_mike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 2861 Old 07-23-2015, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 129
it goes FS1....FS3......FS4....then FSA(VOL YKNOFSA D) factory setting is 128 for the 60" panel
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2853 of 2861 Old 07-23-2015, 01:15 PM
Member
 
SnellTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
So how important do you guys think it is choosing specific values for your voltages? I just changed from default values to the minimum recommended values, with the exception of RST P, I stopped at 4. It obviously did the trick since the black levels went from being red tinted to not quite OLED black, but black enough to melt into the bezel on all occasions except for a full black screen. Was this a "mistake?" Should I not have dropped the settings so vastly so soon? Should I experiment by finding the sweetspot between the highest number possible without the reds being black? If my blacks get tinted again, will I have to lower my numbers even more? (which will eventually stop as you get lower them forever)


Oh and I've noticed one problem... When I turn the TV on the blacks for some reason are completely light gray (think Panasonic plasma from 2008 or Samsung plasma from 2009) until after about 5 or 10 seconds then the screen "adjusts" by toning the blacks down from what LOOKS like 0.06cd/m2 down to what looks like 0.003cd/m2. Why the light gray in the begining? how come it takes a short while for the TV to produce proper blacks?

Thanks in advance
SnellTHX is online now  
post #2854 of 2861 Old 07-23-2015, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellTHX View Post
So how important do you guys think it is choosing specific values for your voltages? I just changed from default values to the minimum recommended values, with the exception of RST P, I stopped at 4. It obviously did the trick since the black levels went from being red tinted to not quite OLED black, but black enough to melt into the bezel on all occasions except for a full black screen. Was this a "mistake?" Should I not have dropped the settings so vastly so soon? Should I experiment by finding the sweetspot between the highest number possible without the reds being black? If my blacks get tinted again, will I have to lower my numbers even more? (which will eventually stop as you get lower them forever)
What model Kuro do you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellTHX View Post
Oh and I've noticed one problem... When I turn the TV on the blacks for some reason are completely light gray (think Panasonic plasma from 2008 or Samsung plasma from 2009) until after about 5 or 10 seconds then the screen "adjusts" by toning the blacks down from what LOOKS like 0.06cd/m2 down to what looks like 0.003cd/m2. Why the light gray in the begining? how come it takes a short while for the TV to produce proper blacks?
This is part of the start up process, so it's normal.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2855 of 2861 Old Yesterday, 04:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ended up with modifying the following values (LX-6090):

VOLT RST P 18 --->5
VOL YKNOFS1D 86 --->76
VOL YKNOFS3D 96 --->86
VOL YKNOFS4D 143 --->133
VOL YKNOFSAD 128 --->180

The magenta trailing pixels display very rarely (not at all in the Kuro 2008 "kick scene"), just from full screen color transitions (ie. from my HTPC's desktop, which is black, to Kodi's home window which is very light brown; Transparency skin Videos background, for those in the know). Black seems more uniform and with less red tint (none, probably).

Is there something you'd suggest to eliminate the traling pixels while mantaining good blacks (or getting better blacks, who knows?).

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
gorman42 is online now  
post #2856 of 2861 Old Yesterday, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 129
You will have to raise FSAD or RSTP until the magenta trails from dark to light go away , I find rasing FSAD the best for removing magenta trails and still keeping good black levels ,
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2857 of 2861 Old Yesterday, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But how do RSTP and FSAD interact? Can I lower the first while raising the second? I seem to remember somebody suggesting not to lower RSTP, but then I see people bringing it down to 1 and stating that it's all good. Information is all over the place, unfortunately.

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
gorman42 is online now  
post #2858 of 2861 Old Yesterday, 03:26 PM
Member
 
pdogg93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorman42 View Post
But how do RSTP and FSAD interact? Can I lower the first while raising the second? I seem to remember somebody suggesting not to lower RSTP, but then I see people bringing it down to 1 and stating that it's all good. Information is all over the place, unfortunately.
People suggest to drop RSTP to 1 because its the lowest number within the adjustable range as stated in the service manual, I believe.
pdogg93 is offline  
post #2859 of 2861 Old Yesterday, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdogg93 View Post
People suggest to drop RSTP to 1 because its the lowest number within the adjustable range as stated in the service manual, I believe.
This is correct. If we had more range for RSTP, there wouldn't be a need to lower SAD, which in my experience, lowering it has a much more negative effect on picture and calibration than lowering RSTP.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2860 of 2861 Old Today, 06:32 AM
Member
 
SnellTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
What model Kuro do you have?



This is part of the start up process, so it's normal.
Oh glad its normal. The model I have is Kuro LX 5090, the European 2008 model which sits just under the KRP 500-A.
SnellTHX is online now  
post #2861 of 2861 Old Today, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
gorman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in a bit of a Catch 22, though.

If I raise FSAD enough not to have magenta pixels trailing (I'm using the kick sequence in Kuro 2008, really nice for that) my black levels raise a lot. I then lower RSTP to 1 and they get better but magenta pixels trail once more... leading me to raising FSAD and... well, blacks go again.

Is this something a reset could fix? To be honest I am more than a little upset with Pioneer. My panel has less than 10,000 hours on it and it began showing red tint and magenta pixels trailing. It's all well and good to claim the half brightness timings at 100,000 hours or whatever they were claiming, but if the panel becomes DEFECTIVE after less than one tenth of that... way to go, really.

Seriously. AVS is a place where you go to learn to be unhappy. - Bear5k
gorman42 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off