Official Pioneer Kuro Reddish Tint Problem Thread - Page 99 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
View Poll Results: Does your Kuro have a reddish tint to the blacks?
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - NO 20 14.93%
5020FD/6020FD - NO 5 3.73%
111FD/151FD - NO 19 14.18%
101FD/141FD - NO 11 8.21%
Other/Older Model (please post) - NO 9 6.72%
KRP-500M/KRP-600M - YES 28 20.90%
5020FD/6020FD - YES 16 11.94%
111FD/151FD - YES 16 11.94%
101FD/141FD - YES 7 5.22%
Other/Older Model (please post) - YES 7 5.22%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 134. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2941 of 2970 Old 10-05-2016, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfraser View Post
Anybody still reading this thread? I have a 151 with I'll guess 12-15k hours, haven't checked for a while. I don't now have or never have had a problematical red tint like many have described, but I can see a touch of faint reddishness mainly in the lower part of the screen in a pitch dark room. But I am picky, I (and only I apparently...) can see it's there, and I can measure it's there. I'm not sure I can see it when there's any content on the screen (imagination?...). It's been a little over 3 years since I last adjusted for it, and I guess the aging algorithm has bumped it up again.

What I did last time was adjust VYF to 068 (from stock 128). I found 055 was as low as I could go before I'd get the start of sparkling in some of the mask patterns, and I think the service manual suggested to go 013 higher than that point (that's based on my interpretation of my notes from 2013).

I haven't read the whole thread, but I did pick up on the opinion that the 151 is somewhat difficult to adjust re this reddish tint. I didn't pick up on why this is though. So what I'd like to know is, at VYF=068, am I at about the limit of what I can easily do with this 151 re the black level? Or should I still consider dropping VYF a little more (have that 013 "margin") and see if it does any good? Not sure I want to do a panel reset at this point since everything is actually very good, though black has crept up to ~0.003 ft-L now (that's in Pure mode which I use for OTA, it's barely measurable in ISF mode for whatever reason). I also read there are problems with going too low with VYF, none of which I've noticed at the current setting. Thanks.
You should consider yourself lucky that your set can handle VYF as low as 68. Is your set a 2009 build? I've heard those can handle lower VYF than the 2008 sets.

All of the 2008 sets I've played with can handle nothing lower than 98.

If you don't see the tint on content, leave it alone. Your other option would be a pulse meter reset, but the severity of your red tint doesn't seem to warrant such an aggressive solution... yet.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2942 of 2970 Old 10-05-2016, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto area, Canada
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 73
^ My 151 is a Dec. 2008 build. It does not match any of the general panel characteristics I've seen posted about "2008" builds over the years (not even close actually). I vaguely recall reading that there were significant changes in panels starting in Nov. '08, I forget the details, a factory/production change, that sort of thing. This has been unfortunate for me because most of the typical helpful "151 info" in the forums hasn't been very useful...I guess there weren't a lot of 151s made with these newer panels/setups, because about 2 weeks after I got my 151 (in early '09) Pio gave "the notice".

Thanks for the info. Yeah, I'm of the "if it ain't broke..." mentality usually too, but I had my instruments out doing a cal check and decided to ask before I tried to "fix" this minor thing.
cfraser is offline  
post #2943 of 2970 Old 10-07-2016, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfraser View Post
^ My 151 is a Dec. 2008 build. It does not match any of the general panel characteristics I've seen posted about "2008" builds over the years (not even close actually). I vaguely recall reading that there were significant changes in panels starting in Nov. '08, I forget the details, a factory/production change, that sort of thing. This has been unfortunate for me because most of the typical helpful "151 info" in the forums hasn't been very useful...I guess there weren't a lot of 151s made with these newer panels/setups, because about 2 weeks after I got my 151 (in early '09) Pio gave "the notice".

Thanks for the info. Yeah, I'm of the "if it ain't broke..." mentality usually too, but I had my instruments out doing a cal check and decided to ask before I tried to "fix" this minor thing.
Yeah you most likely have what is termed as a 9.5 gen 60 inch set. I've been hunting for one myself for several years with no luck.

Leave it alone until it becomes obvious on content.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
 
post #2944 of 2970 Old 10-10-2016, 10:38 AM
Member
 
haw1144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a specific post or thread someone can point me to for a step-by-step on how to lower voltage for my 151? I recently starting getting the red tint along the very top middle of the screen
I'm also a noob in all this service settings stuff... but I plan on getting ControlCal and the cables... but not sure what to do after that to start adjusting the voltage.
haw1144 is offline  
post #2945 of 2970 Old 10-13-2016, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto area, Canada
Posts: 1,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 73
^ My memory of the exact details is sketchy since I haven't done my 151 for so long, and likely won't for (hopefully) a long time again (see above). But you don't need ControlCal to do it. Lacking a Service Remote (like most of us) or a pretty old PC, you will need a USB->RS232 converter. I use a Tripp Lite one which works with all sorts of stuff, but there are likely lots of others that work fine too, just don't skimp too much, there are lots of iffy/crappy/cheap ones. Plus a simple terminal program for your PC. And you'll probably want to use your remote too.

I use the USB->RS232/terminal to enter the service mode and to send various commands or settings. I mostly use the remote to look at stuff, but you can use it to adjust some settings too. That's all I remember. Except that in this particular model, adjusting "VYF" downwards is probably the only thing you'll need/want to adjust to help tame the red tint, unless you get into doing a panel reset (this whole thread). You'll need ControlCal to use the ISF modes, extremely worthwhile. You'll need the USB->RS232 for that too, so might as well get that first because you'll need it regardless.
cfraser is offline  
post #2946 of 2970 Old 10-13-2016, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 28
No red tint, checked it in dark room, if anything the black levels are slightly elevated since I bought it (Dec 2007) but still far better than any LCD in the house.

Model 5080HD, Still working excellent to this day (Knock on wood).
Mathesar is offline  
post #2947 of 2970 Old 01-17-2017, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
MY screen is showing alot of clouding after messing with voltages, i think i might just restore values and deal with the red tint. it wasn't that bad.

did anyone else get what looks like clouding after messing with the voltages?

its very annoying seeing all this clouding on a plasma on a all black screen.
Jacinto1023 is offline  
post #2948 of 2970 Old 04-25-2017, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Go to device manager and make sure your usd to serial adapter shows up under ports (com and lptp).

You may want to try my Kuro command program. Easier to use, simple interface (literally a command line), faster and works on all 9th and 9.5 gen Kuros. Check the link on my sig.

Where is your sig to get the link(s)?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #2949 of 2970 Old 05-01-2017, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Where is your sig to get the link(s)?

bob
PM me

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2950 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 01:00 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys. I have 111fd and i have red tint on blacks when screen is pitch black. Usually viable when no picture is displaying. When watching a movie i don't see it or it's not very visible to me then.

My 111fd had one of the chips failure last year (common issue posted here) and i sent it to the service guy in NY and he replaced the chip. Basically tv would not power up and i think it blinked blue 7 times.

I'm wondering if that chip replacement increased the voltage which is why red tint is occurring? So what is the fix for red tint?
stewieHD is offline  
post #2951 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
Hi guys. I have 111fd and i have red tint on blacks when screen is pitch black. Usually viable when no picture is displaying. When watching a movie i don't see it or it's not very visible to me then.

My 111fd had one of the chips failure last year (common issue posted here) and i sent it to the service guy in NY and he replaced the chip. Basically tv would not power up and i think it blinked blue 7 times.

I'm wondering if that chip replacement increased the voltage which is why red tint is occurring? So what is the fix for red tint?
Nothing to do with the repair. This is a common issue as the panel ages. Here's the fix.
Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)
Test Ickles is online now  
post #2952 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 02:27 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Nothing to do with the repair. This is a common issue as the panel ages. Here's the fix.
Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)
Thanks for the link. I really appreciate it. Going to have to read up in that thread.
stewieHD is offline  
post #2953 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 06:40 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok i have done some reading but i can't access the program link for adjustment of values. Is that program stickied somewhere?

Are those settings for 500m same for 111fd ? Are those settings sticking finally and is the black rain resolved as well with those settings?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1522255/kuro-kapture-program
stewieHD is offline  
post #2954 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
Ok i have done some reading but i can't access the program link for adjustment of values. Is that program stickied somewhere?

Are those settings for 500m same for 111fd ? Are those settings sticking finally and is the black rain resolved as well with those settings?

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1522255/kuro-kapture-program
Will work with 111fd as well as 500m. Here's the program Kuro Control.
KuroControl program for Pioneer KRP500m/600m and Elites
You'll need to buy the cable and adapter to connect your computer to the TV. Then just follow the instructions.
stewieHD likes this.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #2955 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 09:08 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
Will work with 111fd as well as 500m. Here's the program Kuro Control.
KuroControl program for Pioneer KRP500m/600m and Elites
You'll need to buy the cable and adapter to connect your computer to the TV. Then just follow the instructions.
I tried this program and i can connect. I can enter Informational menu with FAY command
I issue second command to get into Service menu with command FACS01 and it fails with ERRor. Anyone had this issue? @makaveddie81

and since i'm not in service menu but informational menu there is no Panel -1 adj +


5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Connecting to COM1...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Connect Succeeded
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command ISN...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = XXX
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command failed
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command OSDS01...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = OSDS01
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command INP...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = INPS83
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Sending Command QST...
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command reply = ERR
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Command failed
5/10/2017 11:19:15 PM Index was outside the bounds of the array.
5/10/2017 11:19:21 PM Sending Command FAY...
5/10/2017 11:19:22 PM Command reply = FAY

5/10/2017 11:19:51 PM Sending Command FACS01...
5/10/2017 11:19:51 PM Command reply = ERR
5/10/2017 11:19:51 PM Command failed

5/10/2017 11:20:01 PM Exiting...

Last edited by stewieHD; 05-10-2017 at 09:57 PM.
stewieHD is offline  
post #2956 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 10:03 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
makaveddie81 said the the post/link below that it needs to be kuro command program not Kuro control but i can't access that link.
I guess i'll wait for him to replay unless someone has this and can share

makaveddie81 : "Shameless plug, but Kuro Control only works with the 101fd, 141fd, 500M and 600M. My Kuro Command program works with those and the 111fd, 151fd, 5010 and 6020 and is much simpler (does not issue any commands after connecting), and easier to use."

Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)
stewieHD is offline  
post #2957 of 2970 Old 05-10-2017, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
makaveddie81 said the the post/link below that it needs to be kuro command program not Kuro control but i can't access that link.
I guess i'll wait for him to replay unless someone has this and can share

makaveddie81 : "Shameless plug, but Kuro Control only works with the 101fd, 141fd, 500M and 600M. My Kuro Command program works with those and the 111fd, 151fd, 5010 and 6020 and is much simpler (does not issue any commands after connecting), and easier to use."

Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)
I did not know that. Sorry about that.
stewieHD likes this.
Test Ickles is online now  
post #2958 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Based on the red tint issue "compiled research" with our Kuro panels what is the consensus:

  • red tint will eventually happen on all Pioneer Kuro panels? (hour count)

  • limited to certain models?

  • limited to a certain production run/build date/month (February to April 2009 build panels)


Thanks
Edllguy is offline  
post #2959 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
makaveddie81 said the the post/link below that it needs to be kuro command program not Kuro control but i can't access that link.
I guess i'll wait for him to replay unless someone has this and can share

makaveddie81 : "Shameless plug, but Kuro Control only works with the 101fd, 141fd, 500M and 600M. My Kuro Command program works with those and the 111fd, 151fd, 5010 and 6020 and is much simpler (does not issue any commands after connecting), and easier to use."

Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)
Check your PMs
stewieHD likes this.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2960 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edllguy View Post
Based on the red tint issue "compiled research" with our Kuro panels what is the consensus:

  • red tint will eventually happen on all Pioneer Kuro panels? (hour count)

  • limited to certain models?

  • limited to a certain production run/build date/month (February to April 2009 build panels)


Thanks
Chalk me up for the 1st option.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2961 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 12:54 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys i was able to figure it out and i applied values from tubby497 post. It did remove red tint but now i have green-bluish tint and some magenta pixels rain, they change positioning not constant. I will post pic below but magenta pixels not really visible in pic.

I see my factory values were on high side on almost all settings. Perhaps i lowered mine too low. Not sure why rst p was at 13

Help with dialing this in would be greatly appreciated, maybe with those that have 111fd @makaveddie81 @pg_ice @ShockFett @hitman @tubby497

My 111fd (16,390 hrs) 2009 Feb factory voltage settings:

VOL SUS: 128
VOL OFFSET: 140
VOL RST P: 013
VOL XPOFS1: 085
VOL XPOFS2: 047
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 143
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 128
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 172
VOL YKNOFSA D: 128



New voltage settings: Red tint remove but now hove green-bluish tint with magenta rain pixels here and there
VOL RST P: 1
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 88
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 78
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 99



Last edited by stewieHD; 05-11-2017 at 01:22 PM.
stewieHD is offline  
post #2962 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Raise S1 S3 S4 10 clicks each , if misfires do not go away raise 10 more clicks each until you find the sweet spot
stewieHD likes this.
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2963 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 02:00 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post
Raise S1 S3 S4 10 clicks each , if misfires do not go away raise 10 more clicks each until you find the sweet spot
Is that in reference to magenta rain? what about green tint ? thank you very much for help

Ok so... s1 and s3 seems to have no effect on rain, s4 does in itself it seems when adjusting. Adjusting it on dark knight blu ray now lol

VOL RST P: 1 - it seems this adjustment in itself got rid of red tint. SEEMS is key word meaning my perception.
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 98
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 88
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 145 (this got rid of rain pretty much. much smoother now) Can this number deviate from rest so much or not really and they should go up in tandem?

Rain and magenta pixs are out but green hue prevails tho

Last edited by stewieHD; 05-11-2017 at 02:25 PM.
stewieHD is offline  
post #2964 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
Is that in reference to magenta rain? what about green tint ? thank you very much for help

Ok so... s1 and s3 seems to have no effect on rain, s4 does in itself it seems when adjusting. Adjusting it on dark knight blu ray now lol

VOL RST P: 1
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 98
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 88
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 145 (this got rid of rain pretty much. much smoother now) Can this number deviate from rest so much or not really and they should go up in tandem?

Rain and magenta pixs are out but green hue prevails tho
you need to maintain the factory spacing between S 1 S3 and S 4 , that may be why you have green tint , you are way out on the factory spacing , a better way may be to return S1 S3 S4 back to original setting and adjust down with the YSA D as this moves S1 S3 S4 all at the same time and the same amount , lower YSA D from 128 to say 98 and see how that looks
stewieHD likes this.
qwknuf6 is online now  
post #2965 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
Is that in reference to magenta rain? what about green tint ? thank you very much for help

Ok so... s1 and s3 seems to have no effect on rain, s4 does in itself it seems when adjusting. Adjusting it on dark knight blu ray now lol

VOL RST P: 1 - it seems this adjustment in itself got rid of red tint. SEEMS is key word meaning my perception.
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 98
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 88
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 145 (this got rid of rain pretty much. much smoother now) Can this number deviate from rest so much or not really and they should go up in tandem?

Rain and magenta pixs are out but green hue prevails tho
Those three voltages should all be adjusted simultaneously, as straying from the factory separation causes other underlying issues.

You're better off just setting them back to default and simply lowering YKNOFSD instead, since its a master control for the three.

You also went way too low on those voltages. If anything, 30 ticks from default is the lowest that you should go. If red tint persists after 30 tick reduction, a pulse meter reset will be the way to go (though you will lose your factory grayscale which in turns affects any existing calibration) unless you offset them manually or automatically with a program I developed.
stewieHD likes this.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2966 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 03:12 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aahhhhhh got it. Much appreciate it. It's day light so can't test now but will test at night tonight. I reset those values to 30 clicks below my factory setting. Thank you.

Current setting is:

VOL RST P: 1 (is this light output = luminescence?) My was at 13. Really high.
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 113
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 98
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 142 (if i take this number to 130 let's say the rain seems to introduce itself, so this number seems to cause "picture noise" if dropped below 130ish 120ish level)

VOL YKNOFSA D: 128
stewieHD is offline  
post #2967 of 2970 Old 05-11-2017, 06:28 PM
Member
 
stewieHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where do i find 111fd ranges for fsa d and fs1 fs3 and fs4. I just downloaded service manual but can't find it in there.
What i'm thinking of doing is restoring all values to factory preset with exception of RSTP 1
Then dropping FSA D to lowest factory level and work my way up from there. Saw few post where fsa d worked better for some but also saw post not to touch it. Not touching it refers to when 1, 3, 4 where adjusted then don't touch it but can be if those were untouched correct? I would rather stay on safe side.

The picture i posted was from 500m panel so not sure if those ranges are same or different. Sorry if i'm asking obvious things to you guys. It's hard to read 2500 posts in one day lol

Testing
fs1 = 108
fs3 =93
fs4 = 137

Edit
Red tint is definitely gone.

Pioneer Kuro Elite PRO-111FD - ISF

Last edited by stewieHD; 05-11-2017 at 07:23 PM.
stewieHD is offline  
post #2968 of 2970 Old 05-12-2017, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewieHD View Post
Where do i find 111fd ranges for fsa d and fs1 fs3 and fs4. I just downloaded service manual but can't find it in there.
What i'm thinking of doing is restoring all values to factory preset with exception of RSTP 1
Then dropping FSA D to lowest factory level and work my way up from there. Saw few post where fsa d worked better for some but also saw post not to touch it. Not touching it refers to when 1, 3, 4 where adjusted then don't touch it but can be if those were untouched correct? I would rather stay on safe side.

The picture i posted was from 500m panel so not sure if those ranges are same or different. Sorry if i'm asking obvious things to you guys. It's hard to read 2500 posts in one day lol

Testing
fs1 = 108
fs3 =93
fs4 = 137

Edit
Red tint is definitely gone.
500M and 111fd use different voltage offsets so don't plug in the numbers from a 500M on your 111fd.

You would make your life easier if you set fs1, fs3 and fs4 to default and simply adjust yknofsad. Setting those three to default and yknofsad to 93 would give you the same results as the settings you posted above.

Then you could simply work your way up raising yknofsad in 5 tick increments.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #2969 of 2970 Old Yesterday, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 12
PRO-101 17K Hours

My Directv DVR went into screen saver yesterday (black background, bouncing logo) and I really saw the reddish blacks.

What program do I need and what protocol/settings for my model? This thread covered a lot of models and I need to know what to do!

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #2970 of 2970 Old Today, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
My Directv DVR went into screen saver yesterday (black background, bouncing logo) and I really saw the reddish blacks.

What program do I need and what protocol/settings for my model? This thread covered a lot of models and I need to know what to do!

thx

bob
I followed this for my KRP-600m. Kuro Control works for 101.
Pioneer KRP-500M step-by-step Red Tint Removal Guide (Non Reset panels)
Test Ickles is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Pdp 6020fd 60 Inch Class Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Pioneer Pdp 5020fd 50 Inch 1080p Kuro Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off