TV Tuner on Plasma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-08-2011, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
christnp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be a ridiculous question, but does a Plasma TV usually have a TV tuner? In particular, I'm looking at the Panny P42ST30, but I can't find in its specs that it has a built-in tuner (even though I'd think that was standard on a TV). Thoughts?
christnp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-08-2011, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by christnp View Post

This may be a ridiculous question, but does a Plasma TV usually have a TV tuner? In particular, I'm looking at the Panny P42ST30, but I can't find in its specs that it has a built-in tuner (even though I'd think that was standard on a TV). Thoughts?

Yes it has ATSC and, I believe, NTSC & QAM. I use the ATSC tuner for digital OTA. TVs have tuners, monitors do not.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-08-2011, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Integrated ATSC Tuner Yes under Technical Specs

http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e...702#tabsection

However I have a friend has a plasma with no tuner (monitor) so perhaps this is more common with plasma sets vs leds?

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-08-2011, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
christnp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Possumgirl View Post

Yes it has ATSC and, I believe, NTSC & QAM. I use the ATSC tuner for digital OTA. TVs have tuners, monitors do not.

That is what I thought and this is one reason I would purchase the TV vs a Monitor (I currenlty use a monitor, but sold my PC tuner card)... and this is why I was sure my question was rediculous; but for the life of me I could not find that information (granted, I was only looking on Amazon ). Thanks for the link too!
christnp is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-08-2011, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
For future reference, if the device is marketed as a TV set it must have at least an ATSC (ota) digital tuner. Most also have QAM digital tuners that will access unscrambled digital cable channels. If the device is marketed as a monitor it is not required to have a tuner. Commercial plasmas meant for use in stores etc. usually are classified as monitors.

Steve S.
Steve S is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-09-2011, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
rxheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panny doesn't (on the 2010 model anyway) have any support for any on-screen guide whatsoever (TVGOS or PSIP etc).
So, really not the most OTA-friendly brand, even for models you pay a few thousand dollars. Pressing the INFo button on the remote will only give you part of the title of what's on right now (but no program description and even the title is limited to something like 15 characters).

I emailed them about it and was told to F off.
rxheaven is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-09-2011, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
christnp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

For future reference, if the device is marketed as a TV set it must have at least an ATSC (ota) digital tuner. Most also have QAM digital tuners that will access unscrambled digital cable channels. If the device is marketed as a monitor it is not required to have a tuner. Commercial plasmas meant for use in stores etc. usually are classified as monitors.

Yeah, I thought it was just standard that a TV had a tuner -- but then I saw one advertised as having a built-in tuner (which some monitors will say, but this was advertised as a TV). So then I got worried
christnp is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-09-2011, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by rxheaven View Post

Panny doesn't (on the 2010 model anyway) have any support for any on-screen guide whatsoever (TVGOS or PSIP etc).
So, really not the most OTA-friendly brand, even for models you pay a few thousand dollars. Pressing the INFo button on the remote will only give you part of the title of what's on right now (but no program description and even the title is limited to something like 15 characters).

I emailed them about it and was told to F off.

That is the very reason I choose Samsung over Panasonic for OTA viewers. Complete program information and channel list built in. No cable box, only OTA antenna.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-10-2011, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
rxheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya, OTA wasn't a priority when I bought the TV, but now I use 95% of my TV viewing through OTA, the remaining 5% with cable STB.
So, it's annoying. I don't understand why they won't at least have an APP for it. I have all those APPs, there's even more than one weather app (accuweather and another one) but nothing for TV programming.
That blows )o:

I am shopping for a very cheap (probably LCD even) TV for the bedroom. It certainly will not be a Panny.
rxheaven is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-10-2011, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Samsung PN43D450 makes a good bedroom TV.
tylerSC is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off