Samsung D series FBr fix discussion - Page 36 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
nunz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will try to access the service menu and if I succeed will try the FW update. If not using Cinema Smooth for Blu-ray movies seems to correct it, at the expense of higher black levels. Not as noticable on HD CableTV content so I could probably live with it. Can still return to Amazon if not happy.

Thanks!
nunz56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
karussellbremser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys, i guess that my question has already been answered, but to be honest i don't want to read 36 pages.

i have a german ps51d550 with the latest firmware T-MST4DEUC-1026.0
does the update procedure work on my tv? (i'm asking because the fw-version for my tv mentioned in the first post is 1019.5 and i'm not sure if this downgrade is possible).
yes or no is enough. thx guys!
karussellbremser is offline  
post #1053 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,539
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 327
downgrade is not possible but logic board update will work on your model. make sure you read the caution statement.

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is online now  
post #1054 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
nunz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

try going into the service menu the normal way (power off-mute-1-8-2-power on) and then connect with emulator and press factory-3speed

Just tried this method and nothing happened. When I go to the SVC Menu I don't see a "Logic USB DL" option.

I do have a "T-CON USB Download" that is grayed out.

Tried repeating the process, (power off-mute-1-8-2-power on) and then close and restart the emulator and press factory-3speed. No luck.

Any ideas?
nunz56 is offline  
post #1055 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,539
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Sounds like factory remote may have been disabled in your FW. Anybody else with 1016.2 can verify it still works? (remember, your user menu values will be reset)

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is online now  
post #1056 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Sounds like factory remote may have been disabled in your FW. Anybody else with 1016.2 can verify it still works? (remember, your user menu values will be reset)


That's exactly what has happened. I updated my 64D7000 to 1016.2 to take advantage of the better SD picture quality. Late last night, I tried the emulator and it will not access the service menu with this new firmware version. Be aware -- update the logic before installing 1016.2 on the D7000 models.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1057 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,539
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 327
This is probably the case for all models, samsung is apparently watching these boards.

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is online now  
post #1058 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
nunz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm stuck with the "pops" at this point? No way to go back to an older version I suspect?
nunz56 is offline  
post #1059 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,539
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 327
nope, I think you are stuck. Samsung originally dealt with this issue by distributing firmware upgrades to those who wanted them through service requests but would not provide downgrades. You can try telling them you'll return the TV unless they fix it.

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is online now  
post #1060 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
nunz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

nope, I think you are stuck. Samsung originally dealt with this issue by distributing firmware upgrades to those who wanted them through service requests but would not provide downgrades. You can try telling them you'll return the TV unless they fix it.

May return to Amazon for a new one and start over, without doing the 1016.2 update from the start. That's a pain but may be worth it.
OR
I could keep this one and hope Samsung will provide a fix in some future SW\\Firmware update, if they're "watching" the boards. What do you think the chances of that are?

Thanks for all the Help!
nunz56 is offline  
post #1061 of 1617 Old 05-16-2012, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
kanpol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And here I was thinking "Wow pretty cool of samsung to be giving us an update when the new models are already out." Quack, sneaky bastards.
kanpol is offline  
post #1062 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
MisterPlasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Optimization message means you are good to go.

Thank you
MisterPlasma is offline  
post #1063 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunz56 View Post

May return to Amazon for a new one and start over, without doing the 1016.2 update from the start. That's a pain but may be worth it.
OR
I could keep this one and hope Samsung will provide a fix in some future SW\\Firmware update, if they're "watching" the boards. What do you think the chances of that are?

Thanks for all the Help!

Slim to zero, IMO. Last I heard, people weren't having much (any?) luck even getting the firmware fix from Samsung. Could be they stopped distributing it for some reason. What we do know is it was never a reliable install because it was failing to perform the logic upgrade on many people's sets. Maybe they gave up on it, but who knows.

Your best bet is to see if Amazon will exchange it for the pops or some other defect you come up with. Taking it up with Samsung support is an exercise in frustration, but can sometimes get results.
AvidHiker is offline  
post #1064 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
nunz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

Slim to zero, IMO. Last I heard, people weren't having much (any?) luck even getting the firmware fix from Samsung. Could be they stopped distributing it for some reason. What we do know is it was never a reliable install because it was failing to perform the logic upgrade on many people's sets. Maybe they gave up on it, but who knows.

Your best bet is to see if Amazon will exchange it for the pops or some other defect you come up with. Taking it up with Samsung support is an exercise in frustration, but can sometimes get results.

Your correct is stating "Samsung support is an exercise in frustration, but can sometimes get results".

Just spent half the morning getting nowhere with Tier 1 support people and waiting for Tier 2 support to call me back! They finally agreed to send a service tech out to "fix the problem". Scheduled for next Tuesday. We'll see what happens then!
nunz56 is offline  
post #1065 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yep, they'll keep you jumping through hoops. Good luck, and keep us posted.
AvidHiker is offline  
post #1066 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 12:39 PM
Member
 
overdrive79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I am lucky enough to be renovating my living room over the past 2 weeks, so I may have missed out on the mandatory firnware update that Samsumg just released. So when I finish my floor next weekend and put everything back, I supposed I should I try the FBR fix before reconnecting to the internet. I notice the FBR (mainly on blurays as others have mentioned). I didn't think it bothered me much except that the black levels get a little greyer when all of the lights are out, levels a little closer to my C550 until a brighter scene comes on or I turn on a light. I know this is one of those things that will annoy me more over time.

I may have to give the fix a try before I get locked out of it for good.
overdrive79 is offline  
post #1067 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The firmware update isn't mandatory, you can always choose not to install it. I don't like auto updates and actually prefer to update via USB.

Now to decide if I want to loose the utility of the service remote for better SD picture quality. Guess I don't have any use for the service remote anyway...

Larry, can you comment further on this SD enhancement? Is it worth it?
AvidHiker is offline  
post #1068 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Which fw removes the service remote? I just updated my 6500 set

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #1069 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Which fw removes the service remote? I just updated my 6500 set


From the Samsung US support site:
Quote:


Upgrade File(USB type) (Firmware) (ver.1016.2)

1. Title 2011 PDP Firmware
2. Applicable Model D6450, D6500, D6900, D7000
3. Carrier or Corporate Customer All Customers
4. Description This firmware makes TV available for 3D explore and new MLB TV. This firmware improves picture quality on SD pictures.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1070 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Shucks

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #1071 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Icon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 53
So, how do you know what features the fw updates change/enhance, Larry? Would love to know what I am actually installing on my set.

THE ALL MIGHTY MACACASIAH HAS SPOKEN!
Icon13 is offline  
post #1072 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dude read his last post, two before yours...

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #1073 of 1617 Old 05-17-2012, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

The firmware update isn't mandatory, you can always choose not to install it. I don't like auto updates and actually prefer to update via USB.

Now to decide if I want to loose the utility of the service remote for better SD picture quality. Guess I don't have any use for the service remote anyway...

Larry, can you comment further on this SD enhancement? Is it worth it?


Hiker,

Yes, there is a visible improvement in the SD picture. My D7000 now displays SD sources almost, although still not quite, as good as my 2009 Panasonics. It is a gratifying departure from the relentless quick-step movement toward transforming a high definition TV into a game player, app server, and internet browser.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #1074 of 1617 Old 05-18-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AvidHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Thanks, I think I'll have to say bye bye ruSamsungTVCommunicator.
AvidHiker is offline  
post #1075 of 1617 Old 05-22-2012, 06:05 AM
Member
 
N3kKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So would doing the 1016.2 update on my 6500 be a good idea? I have the 1014.6 from the first post right now.
N3kKo is offline  
post #1076 of 1617 Old 05-22-2012, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,539
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 327
It's fine if your logic board is showing the updated version.

-----

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
zoyd is online now  
post #1077 of 1617 Old 05-22-2012, 06:27 AM
Member
 
N3kKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

It's fine if your logic board is showing the updated version.

Okay. So it really is not necessary if my update was successful before.
N3kKo is offline  
post #1078 of 1617 Old 05-22-2012, 07:32 AM
Newbie
 
avtimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else with the ruSamsungTVCommunicator.exe still installed on their computers - getting virus/trojan warnings?

My version of Norton is suddenly saying this file contains Trojan.Komodola (during the full system scan). I haven't rerun this app since I fixed my tv back in Jan...

This page makes it sound a bit scarey...

http://securityresponse.symantec.com...646-99&tabid=2

However I checked the registry and the items it claims should have been created/modified do not appear to have been...
avtimbo is offline  
post #1079 of 1617 Old 05-23-2012, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
nunz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunz56 View Post

Your correct is stating "Samsung support is an exercise in frustration, but can sometimes get results".

Just spent half the morning getting nowhere with Tier 1 support people and waiting for Tier 2 support to call me back! They finally agreed to send a service tech out to "fix the problem". Scheduled for next Tuesday. We'll see what happens then!

Just wanted to give an update to my SW 1016.2 problem.
I decided to return this one to Amazon instead of having Samsung tech come and "fix" it. Took the path of least resistance!

Got the new one today and checked for the "pops". This one had them also. Checked the Logic firmware:11-06-07 and SW: 1012.1.

Followed Zoyds pg.1 instructions and was able to communicate with the TV this time and preformed the update.

Success! Before FW:11-06-07 After FW:11-11-04.
Still at SW:1012.1 Checked for "pops" again, ALL GONE!

Special Thanks to Zoyd & Larry for their Help with this!!

One final question. At this point would you recommend updating to the latest SW (1016.2) or staying on my current version (1012.1)? Any advantage\\disadvantage?
nunz56 is offline  
post #1080 of 1617 Old 05-23-2012, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Johnny20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have a 59D7000 and unfortunately downloaded the 1016.2 software before trying the emulator, so I can't use it to upgrade the logic board on my set. When I spoke with Samsung, they actually said there had been no reported problems with FBr, and almost implied that I was crazy to insist that they had been sending owners of these sets a software fix for the logic board via USB flash drives! They said a 2nd level CS rep would call me, but that never happened. I've had the set since last July and really don't want to return it. What options do people like me have to fix this problem? Has anybody had a service tech come to their home to fix the logic board software, and was there a cost involved?
Johnny20 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Bd D6500 Za D6500 Serivce Blue Ray Disc Player 3d Stereo
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off