Samsung D series FBr fix discussion - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
ampogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For reference:

SW version before: 11-02-22
Logic SW CheckSum: 0x200C

SW version after: 11-11-04
Logic SW CheckSum after: 0xF54E

tv software version: 1015 (before and after)
ampogo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Mouse,

Thanks for the information. It looks like I may be barking up the wrong tree on this one.

My 64D7000 using the 64DS_ITO_Deepblack.bin file had:

Logic SW Version 11-06-07 before the upgrade and 11-11-04 after
Logic SW CheckSum 0x2E12 before the upgrade and 0x3796 after

My firmware version is T-MST5AUSC-1015.0. No alpha suffix. My Panel Version is DS.


WRT to factory reset: Anytime you exit the service mode, most of the user menu is reset to factory defaults when the TV is powered back up.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #213 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Ampogo,

What model and size?

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #214 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 08:19 PM
Newbie
 
Squints's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upgrade Sucess

PN59D6900 (Canada)
DS Panel
T_MST5AUSC-1015.0, BT-Q
Original Logic: 11-02-11 0XFE92
Updated Logic 11-11-04 0XB165

*Had to use the 59DS_ITOless_DeepBlack Tried the
59DS_ITO_DeepBlack but kept coming up with "No Match" *

Used the D7000 method as described in this post

Thank You!!

Will add to the spreadsheet!


*edit: won't let me add to spreadsheet for some reason?*
Squints is offline  
post #215 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
ampogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will have to add the information to the spreadsheet when I get a chance

For reference:
Model Code: PN64D7000 Panel: DS
SW version before: 11-02-22
Logic SW CheckSum: 0x200C
SW version after: 11-11-04
Logic SW CheckSum after: 0xF54E

tv software version: T-MST5AUSC-1015.0, BT-G
Successfully updated with 64DS_ITOless_DeepBlack.bin
ampogo is offline  
post #216 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Joe333x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I was one of the people who updated the f\\w on my PN64D8000 and did not get optimizing so my Logic Board stayed 11-06-07 and I still experienced brightness pops. Just checked the forums today and seen there was a way to manually update the board which is funny because I remember seeing the USB d\\l option in the mute 7 3 7 enter menu and was wondering if there was a way and what do you know someone figured it out! So I used the "64DS_ITO_Deepblack.bin" file and the first time I tried it said "upgrading" and then said "failed" put the drive back in my PC copied the files over again and Success! I ran a scene that I seen pops in before I updated and after and to my surprise I did not see one pop. Also all my settings stay intact for anyone wondering. I'm very happy, thank you zoyd!

Logic sw before 11-06-07
Logic sw after 11-11-04

Logic checksum before 0x2E12
Logic checksum after 0x3796

I will update on spread sheet
(Edit: I can not add to the spread sheet)
Joe333x is offline  
post #217 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 09:07 PM
Member
 
killerz298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a reason everyone is doing it like this and not just using the regular firmware update I see others talking about? I have a PN59D6500 and PN51D6500 USA models. Is there a simple firmware update I can throw on a USB stick and update my sets? If so, could someone link them for me? I think I read someone said it was the same update as for the 7000 series?
killerz298 is offline  
post #218 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
mightymouseusf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
WRT to factory reset: Anytime you exit the service mode, most of the user menu is reset to factory defaults when the TV is powered back up.

Larry[/quote]

Ahh ok that makes sense.

I've not seen any pops in the last 2hrs of watching. I think I might be all set! I can finally stop playing around with these settings and just enjoy the set. Well at least until I have Avical come and calibrate it next month. I'll be sure to post my results on the calibration forum. Thanks again for all the help guys.
mightymouseusf is offline  
post #219 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Flash311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Larry, just FYI, my firmware contained the alpha suffix at the end and I was able to upgrade the logic SW using the 59DS_ITO_Deepblack.bin file.
Flash311 is offline  
post #220 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 09:36 PM
LSx
Member
 
LSx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUdukes07 View Post

Do any other owners of the D7000/D8000 watch a lot of hockey? Do you have similar issues as discussed a few posts up?

Mine is a 64D7000 and I watch a ton of hockey - I only see the brightness flashes from photography, my panel does not dim and brighten(enough for me to notice maybe) when the camera pans on and off the ice. Really watching hockey is the time when I am most happy with this TV, it's when I watch a letterbox movie that the brightness pops drive me insane.
LSx is offline  
post #221 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Flash311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post

Did the hockey brightness changes improve at all for you after this FBr update or did it only help pops in darker scenes?

No change at all with hockey brightness dimming after the logic update.

JMUdukes, it's a tough call, it could depend on the panel. You may be bothered by it or you may not even notice it, or you may just have to get to the acceptance stage like I did (I skipped the depression stage, it is only a tv, right?). I'm at the point now where I'm just gonna deal with it and be happy most of the other concerns I had have now been addressed.
Flash311 is offline  
post #222 of 1617 Old 01-31-2012, 10:24 PM
Newbie
 
B6S4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question, I was able to successfully update the logic board on my PN64D8000 however my firmware remained the same at 1024.3. Is there a way to install the 1024.8 update?
B6S4 is offline  
post #223 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 134
I have a somewhat related question.
Can you perform the mod converting the D550 to a D6500, and then apply the FBr fix? If yes, in what order, fix first then mod, or vice versa?
Thanks,
John

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #224 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 04:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by B6S4 View Post

Quick question, I was able to successfully update the logic board on my PN64D8000 however my firmware remained the same at 1024.3. Is there a way to install the 1024.8 update?

You can install 1024.8 over the logic board update, it won't affect it.

@dsskid: either order, they are independent.
zoyd is online now  
post #225 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

You can install 1024.8 over the logic board update, it won't affect it.

@dsskid: either order, they are independent.

Thank you for your quick response zoyd.

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #226 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 06:21 AM
Member
 
ejewels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

Is this method "approved" by Samsung? Is this the same as getting the 2 USB sticks in the mail? Seems as tho if there is a fix like this... wouldn't Samsung commercialize it for the public and make it much easier for everyone to utilize the FBr fix?
ejewels is offline  
post #227 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 06:27 AM
Member
 
MikeK78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still waiting for someone to try it on a 550 I've put off my Samsung service call as I want to try this first.

Mike
MikeK78 is offline  
post #228 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 07:26 AM
Member
 
p4t1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have successfully updated my European (Nordic) 59D7005 following zoyd`s description.
I had no problems what so ever doing this.

The best part is, it fixed the pops as far as I can tell

Will continue to look for them, but it seems to be working.
I´m now on 11-11-04 with European firmware version 1019.

Thank you zoyd!!
p4t1 is offline  
post #229 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #230 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chikoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejewels View Post

Hey Guys,

Is this method "approved" by Samsung? Is this the same as getting the 2 USB sticks in the mail? Seems as tho if there is a fix like this... wouldn't Samsung commercialize it for the public and make it much easier for everyone to utilize the FBr fix?

For all I know, Zoyd is Samsung helping the discerning viewers out!
chikoo is offline  
post #231 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 09:50 AM
Member
 
joedoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ph
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey zoyd I have a question, if samsung puts out a new update at their site can I still install it over my current firmware with this fix? And if I can update, will it reset this fix? Thanks
joedoed is offline  
post #232 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
yes, you can install new firmware without problem. The fix will not be altered unless Samsung specifically includes timing board updates in future firmware. I doubt they will but you never know.
zoyd is online now  
post #233 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 10:32 AM
Member
 
joedoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ph
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks zoyd anyway I just succesfully updated my 51d550c1r (asian version DF panel) My new logic FW is 11-11-12. Will test now if i can still see the pops . By the way it only said upgrading, success then it rebooted there is no optimizing.
joedoed is offline  
post #234 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,451
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 314
zoyd is online now  
post #235 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 11:06 AM
Member
 
joedoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ph
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok just checked the movies that really annoyed me even with the latest asian 1021.1 FW that reduced the number of pops for some other movies/shows. Now with this fix the pops are 101% gone! Thanks zoyd, now I can re watch LOTR and star wars with out the screen flashing me

PS - my previous logic fw was 11-23-2 before this fix
joedoed is offline  
post #236 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Mark the Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Zoyd for president! Logic board upgrade and no pops!

I did upgrade to 1024 via the web update beforehand.
Mark the Red is offline  
post #237 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 11:52 AM
Member
 
MikeK78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoed View Post

Thanks zoyd anyway I just succesfully updated my 51d550c1r (asian version DF panel) My new logic FW is 11-11-12. Will test now if i can still see the pops . By the way it only said upgrading, success then it rebooted there is no optimizing.

Did you do the full firmware upgrade or did you do the manual logic board update after a failed full firmware upgrade?

Mike
MikeK78 is offline  
post #238 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I haven't experienced a directional buzz before, maybe there is a single component that is poorly damped or loose. I don't know how one would fix that without tearing it open and identifying the source (or get a new panel and hope it doesn't happen again). I can tell you that mine is more or less the same as my old panny, I can hear it during bright scenes from any location provided the sound is off. As soon as the sound is at normal level I don't hear it.

My buzz is also super directional, and I've heard others on here say the same. It's source is on the rear of the panel but the screen seems to direct the sound primarily dead-ahead. Even moving my head a couple of inches improves, or worsens, it.
javanpohl is offline  
post #239 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I have 59d550, if I have time I'll try it tonight.
javanpohl is offline  
post #240 of 1617 Old 02-01-2012, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chikoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post

My buzz is also super directional, and I've heard others on here say the same. It's source is on the rear of the panel but the screen seems to direct the sound primarily dead-ahead. Even moving my head a couple of inches improves, or worsens, it.

+1 same here.
chikoo is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Bd D7000 3d Blu Ray Disc Player Silver , Samsung Bd D6500 Za D6500 Serivce Blue Ray Disc Player 3d Stereo
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off