LG 50PA6500 and LG 60PA6500 Plasmas - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1288 Old 05-28-2012, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Turrican4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 188
http://*********************/images/...st%20ratio.pdf

Now look at that MLL with the PM9700 (0.034 cd/m2). Not bad for an untuned LG out of the box. It's in the same ballpark as the Panasonic GW10 from 2009 and ANSI is even better. (0.052 cd/m2)

I wonder, if the PA6500 has the same kind of MLL?

ChadB, when will you get your hands on the PA6500??

Prof. Dr. Turrican M.D.
Turrican4D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1288 Old 05-28-2012, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Gimpy2k7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthx View Post

Does it mean that 50PA6500 supports Audio Return Channel (ARC)? And the HDMI cable is version 1.4?

I have no idea as I don't have the 50


Quote:
Originally Posted by cjsiv View Post

I thought exactly the same way until I returned it and hung a Samsung in its place. There is no comparison. Everything down to the unboxing was better. Less dithering. Handles motion better. Less IR. It has that "wow factor" out of the box that none of the LGs I tried could ever get. This is a 5 series so cost is only slightly more than the LG. I went through 3 LG plasmas this year and they all had issues.

Well every Samsung display me or my family has owned has failed. In some instances more than once. Thus the company is absolutely not going to get any business from me.
Gimpy2k7 is offline  
post #183 of 1288 Old 05-29-2012, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
stealthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your answer. 50 and 60PA6500 should be the same. Well yours 60" has hdmi 1.4 with ARC?

It looks like even LG doesn't know what is inside. Only somebody with TV at home can test real function.
stealthx is offline  
post #184 of 1288 Old 05-29-2012, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Helpmelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turrican4D View Post


Now look at that MLL with the PM9700 (0.034 cd/m2). Not bad for an untuned LG out of the box. It's in the same ballpark as the Panasonic GW10 from 2009 and ANSI is even better. (0.052 cd/m2)

I wonder, if the PA6500 has the same kind of MLL?

ChadB, when will you get your hands on the PA6500??

Your link isn't working.
Helpmelord is offline  
post #185 of 1288 Old 05-29-2012, 02:42 PM
OM3
Newbie
 
OM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question about over the air setup and this TV. Do I need to buy an ATSC tuner + an antenna? Or with somthing like "The Leaf" indoor antenna (highly rated on amazon) work fine directy connected to it?

Thanks
OM3 is offline  
post #186 of 1288 Old 05-29-2012, 03:06 PM
Member
 
travbedaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthx View Post

Thank you for your answer. 50 and 60PA6500 should be the same. Well yours 60" has hdmi 1.4 with ARC?

It looks like even LG doesn't know what is inside. Only somebody with TV at home can test real function.

I have a 60PM6700 and hdmi 1 supports ARC but only states in the owners manual and on the hdmi outlet itself it shows (ARC), I looked at the 60PA6500's manual and it says nothing about it, and the pics they show of hdmi 1-3 don't say ARC on the either. So I'd prolly say it doesn't support it.
travbedaman is offline  
post #187 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 03:47 PM
Member
 
fairwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 50PA6500 now has close to 100 hours run time and I decided to blow the dust off a RCA digital audio receiver that came with a sub woofer, one central speaker and 4 outer speakers, front and rear.

I decided I would go whole hog and buy a digital cable (toslink). Do the internal crappy speakers in the TV go mute when I plug in the toslink? Lots of complaints in reviews regarding the POS sound and after suffering thru a few BD disks I have to agree.

Still a great TV but those speakers??? Anything else I should be doing along with this upgrade that has skipped this 80+ brain?
fairwood is offline  
post #188 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 04:52 PM
Member
 
brody76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairwood View Post

My 50PA6500 now has close to 100 hours run time and I decided to blow the dust off a RCA digital audio receiver that came with a sub woofer, one central speaker and 4 outer speakers, front and rear.

I decided I would go whole hog and buy a digital cable (toslink). Do the internal crappy speakers in the TV go mute when I plug in the toslink? Lots of complaints in reviews regarding the POS sound and after suffering thru a few BD disks I have to agree.

Still a great TV but those speakers??? Anything else I should be doing along with this upgrade that has skipped this 80+ brain?

If I remember well you can turn the speakers off in the sound menu.
brody76 is offline  
post #189 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
wallijonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by OM3 View Post

Do I need to buy an ATSC tuner + an antenna? Or with something like "The Leaf" indoor antenna (highly rated on amazon) work fine directly connected to it?

No, your built in HDTV tuner is fine.

I use rabbit ears for my OTA HD reception. I will be going to a roof antenna.

Start here: http://www.antennaweb.org/

If very directional look at mileage then choose an antenna accordingly.
wallijonn is offline  
post #190 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
wallijonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pittdawg View Post

Fry's brick and mortar store has had it on sale for $799 for almost two weeks now...that's where I got mine

My Fry's ad stated that it was an LG 60PV450, not the 60PA6500.
wallijonn is offline  
post #191 of 1288 Old 05-30-2012, 07:43 PM
OM3
Newbie
 
OM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallijonn View Post

No, your built in HDTV tuner is fine.

I use rabbit ears for my OTA HD reception. I will be going to a roof antenna.

Start here: http://www.antennaweb.org/

If very directional look at mileage then choose an antenna accordingly.


Thanks....I'm looking at "cutting the cord" by adding OTA HD TV along with Netflix and Hulu Plus running on a Roku. So far it looks promising. Love my PA6500 - plasma is amazing. I previously had a Samsung LN46C610 LCD that died @ 23 months - only 1 year warranty - grrr.
OM3 is offline  
post #192 of 1288 Old 05-31-2012, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
fluch.des.ingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

some of you had the same question about Audio Return Channel Support on the PA 6500. I read the spec PDF and the Manual and there is nothing listed related to the Audio Return Channel Support.

So I wrote the LG support an E-Mail and they sad that the HDMI 1 port has the Audio Return Channel function and it should be labled at the HDMI 1 port.

Can someone confirm that information?

My 50 PA6500 is arriving in 2 weeks and I'm planning to buy an AV-Reciever and it would be cool to know it the ARC is working on this Plasma.

Is somone able to calibrate the PA6500 with an calibration tool or to valuate the ISFccc calibration data that are postet in this forum?
Nobody said something how they get to this data, especially the IRE Gamma correction.

Some Pics and Input Lag test compared to my CRT Monitor are following round about the 17th of may.

Greets from Germany
fluch.des.ingo is offline  
post #193 of 1288 Old 05-31-2012, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 42
My US-market 60PA6500 does not mention ARC near any of the HDMI ports.
skriefal is offline  
post #194 of 1288 Old 05-31-2012, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Pittdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallijonn View Post

My Fry's ad stated that it was an LG 60PV450, not the 60PA6500.

If you read my post, I indicated I purchased a LG 60PA5500. It has been mentioned several times that it is widely believed there are no real differences between the PA5500 and PA6500.
Pittdawg is offline  
post #195 of 1288 Old 06-01-2012, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
rfin16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you know if the 50PA6500 has regular audio out for these of us with external speakers connected without the digital audio cable? Thank you for letting me know.
rfin16 is offline  
post #196 of 1288 Old 06-01-2012, 09:01 AM
Member
 
brody76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfin16 View Post

Do you know if the 50PA6500 has regular audio out for these of us with external speakers connected without the digital audio cable? Thank you for letting me know.

Nope, only digital out (optical).
At least on my 50PA6500.
brody76 is offline  
post #197 of 1288 Old 06-01-2012, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
Shotgun Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallijonn View Post

My Fry's ad stated that it was an LG 60PV450, not the 60PA6500.

Sorry for the late reply. You are correct in that the ad was for the older model. However I went to the store and asked to purchase that model, they said it was sold out and only had the floor model. After he looked into his computer he said he had another model for the same price so I jumped on it. I did indeed get the 60PA5500 not the 60PA6500 for $799.

Only downside is the Silicon Valley stores force you to purchase local delivery on plasma's for 60". So I had to pay $60 for delivery.
Shotgun Si is offline  
post #198 of 1288 Old 06-01-2012, 04:15 PM
Member
 
fairwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since most if not all posters here agree that the internal speakers on the PA6500 suck I dug out my old RCA receiver and bought an optical digital cable from Radio Shack today. I hooked up the 3 front speakers as a fast test, plugged in the optical cable from the TV out to the receiver optical input.
I shut off the internal speakers but no sound no matter what I tried. The speakers and receiver are working fine for AM and FM radio and probably for CD DVD etc.

In a bit of a panic or pi$$ off I googled various terms and sites and the answer to another poster's question about the same problem said that you have to connect the optical cable directly from the cable box to the receiver.
Seemed a bit unusual but I did that and still no sound. The Motorola 4616 cable box has an optical socket labled Optical SPDIF but the cable end fitted perfectly. These bazillion acronyms are a PITA. Any hope for me (the rest of us?).
fairwood is offline  
post #199 of 1288 Old 06-01-2012, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Is your old RCA receiver capable of decoding a Dolby Digital (AC-3) encoded digital signal?

Also, the receiver may need to be told to "map" the digital input to one of the named inputs (DVD, TV, etc). If so, and you haven't done that, then it's probably ignoring the digital input and is instead using the analog input.
skriefal is offline  
post #200 of 1288 Old 06-02-2012, 06:26 AM
Member
 
fairwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@skriefal: Is your old RCA receiver capable of decoding a Dolby Digital (AC-3) encoded digital signal? Yes it recognizes Dolby 3 and it is not really that old, maybe 5 years.

the receiver may need to be told to "map" the digital input to one of the named inputs (DVD, TV, etc). If so, and you haven't done that, then it's probably ignoring the digital input and is instead using the analog input I have no idea to what you are referring, it is Greek to me. As far as using the analog input the cable tv signal is entirely HD digital. There is no more analog tv broadcast in Canada for many months now.

As an aside, what the heck is LG's Triple XD Engine? Can't find a simple description of what is is, only advertizing gobbledy gook.
fairwood is offline  
post #201 of 1288 Old 06-02-2012, 12:49 PM
Member
 
fairwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YESSSS !!!!!! Finally got the receiver to listen to me. TV setting is now on digital and all is fine. Now if only the cable company would repair the constant breakup of picture ... 2 hours and counting. But that is another story. Thanks to all who took the time to respond.
skriefal had it right all along.
fairwood is offline  
post #202 of 1288 Old 06-02-2012, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairwood View Post

I have no idea to what you are referring, it is Greek to me. As far as using the analog input the cable tv signal is entirely HD digital. There is no more analog tv broadcast in Canada for many months now.

That's a reference to the RCA receiver's analog audio input... which is entirely unrelated to analog versus digital broadcasts. But it looks like you already figured that out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fairwood View Post

As an aside, what the heck is LG's Triple XD Engine? Can't find a simple description of what is is, only advertizing gobbledy gook.

Looks like typical marketing gibberish. But I did find the following snippet at http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=21431416
LG’s own TRIPLE XD Engine further contributes to the strengths of the OLED display panel through its three core capabilities. The TRIPLE XD Engine’s Dynamic Color Enhancer provides superior color reproduction, while the Contrast Optimizer and the Resolution Upscaler fine tune the OLED TV’s ability to present even the finest details in dramatic fashion. So... two things that you probably want to turn off, plus one (upscaler) that you might actually wish to use.
skriefal is offline  
post #203 of 1288 Old 06-03-2012, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
stealthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is true that optical cable doesn't support Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD? I hope somebody will test Audio Return Channel (ARC) on his 50PA6500 and let us know. I asked LG about ARC and got two answers NO and YES.
stealthx is offline  
post #204 of 1288 Old 06-03-2012, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
Hatedsalesman172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guru, I would say that the IR is going to be an issue with this model line. Ive noticed it runs a bit more hot than that of a Panny or Samsung, I would say try turning the brightness down to help drop the chance of it happening.
Hatedsalesman172 is offline  
post #205 of 1288 Old 06-03-2012, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
Hatedsalesman172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I can tell all the new LG's do not not have ARC, I work for BBY and tried setting up an audio demo with a receiver that has arc and I could not get the sound from the tv to a sound bar...
Hatedsalesman172 is offline  
post #206 of 1288 Old 06-03-2012, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
Refnoredcard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthx View Post

It is true that optical cable doesn't support Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD? I hope somebody will test Audio Return Channel (ARC) on his 50PA6500 and let us know. I asked LG about ARC and got two answers NO and YES.

I can't test ARC as it is usually defined since my AV receiver does not do HDMI. However, with my blu-ray connected to the LG 50PA6500 via HDMI and then sound via optical out from the LG to my AV receiver, I do NOT get DTS passed through, only Dolby II. So I use the optical from my blu-ray to the receiver to get DTS. So like someone else replied, I think not to your question...don't rely on the LG to pass DTS.

Sent from my iTurboencabulator
Refnoredcard is offline  
post #207 of 1288 Old 06-03-2012, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthx View Post

It is true that optical cable doesn't support Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD? I hope somebody will test Audio Return Channel (ARC) on his 50PA6500 and let us know. I asked LG about ARC and got two answers NO and YES.

S/PDIF connections do not support any of the newer audio formats -- Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby True HD, DTS-HD HR, DTS-HD MA, etc. The S/PDIF standard was defined before those formats existed, and it will probably not be updated -- TPTB don't want the high-quality formats travelling over an unencrypted S/PDIF carrier. The piracy bogeyman, and all that.

S/PDIF is used for both optical (TOSlink) and coaxial digital connections. So NO, optical digital cables do not support TrueHD or DTS-HD.

But it's not clear why this would matter to you. You wouldn't get TrueHD, DTS-HD, etc, from your TV anyway. Those formats aren't used for broadcast. And for Blu-ray use, run the HDMI cable through your receiver first.
skriefal is offline  
post #208 of 1288 Old 06-03-2012, 10:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatedsalesman172 View Post

Hey guru, I would say that the IR is going to be an issue with this model line. Ive noticed it runs a bit more hot than that of a Panny or Samsung, I would say try turning the brightness down to help drop the chance of it happening.

How would you say the overall quality and picture quality compares to the panny 60ut50? Is the Panasonic worth the extra dough?
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #209 of 1288 Old 06-04-2012, 12:58 AM
Member
 
pcgeek543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeakybirnbaum View Post


How would you say the overall quality and picture quality compares to the panny 60ut50? Is the Panasonic worth the extra dough?

The UT50 is practically the same picture quality as the ST50 minus the louvre filter and pro menu,the UT however does still have the two point wb adjustment in the service menu. Hope that is somewhat helpful. I love my UT50.
pcgeek543 is offline  
post #210 of 1288 Old 06-04-2012, 01:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcgeek543 View Post

The UT50 is practically the same picture quality as the ST50 minus the louvre filter and pro menu,the UT however does still have the two point wb adjustment in the service menu. Hope that is somewhat helpful. I love my UT50.

I was talking about the LG vs the Panny UT50 but that's also good to know. I'm liking the Panasonics but if I could get the LG for $600 less and it's not horrible that's quite a bit of cash.

I have a Mitsubishi 2009 65C9 DLP which I like but we have a wood stove and it's always dusty and I'm always scared it's going to explode so I'm thinking I'll sell it on craigslist and go down 5 inches and get a plasma.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 60 Inch Pa6500 Plasma Hdtv , Lg 50pa6500 Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off