Samsung 2012 PNxxE450 Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 307 Old 07-16-2013, 03:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
]Skintone is to do with white balance.My tv out of the box the skin tones looked oversaturatedl red.Most people are using close too your settings,and the thread is defenitely died...Most people use close too your settings.I'm using for Bright room- brightness 44 contrast 70 gamma+1....For dark room-brightness a few below where dithering speckles start (can't remember number) contrast 83 gamma 0.All other settings same as you except 'hdmi black level low' on mine. And sharp 18 cell 20...You could try warm1 if warm2 is too red. Hours are in service menu Not reccomended going in there.

Edit 4 Latest brightroom setting bright 57 contrast 80 gamma 0 ,another bright 60 contrast 80 gamma-1
Vic12345 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 307 Old 07-16-2013, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks Vic
Lion Rider is offline  
post #273 of 307 Old 07-17-2013, 12:39 PM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How to get the most accurate color possible without calling a calibrator ? (the term calibrator is foreign in my country / I don't think any exist at all) . I'm trying ctmaudi setup here . but I don't know if it's supposed to be accurate or not . I pick this up rather than the new f4500 because the input lag is better here (I'm a gamer) buy people are saying over there that the new f4500 picture is very good . it kinda made me regret my decision if it's true.also.I'm mainly using my laptop to watch movies and do other stuff . and while browsing through the setting I found this .
and well, messing around with it could greatly affect how stuff looks on screen . man, dealing with tv setup is problematic enough. do I have to tinker with it too ? or just leave it on default ?

Oh yeah I just got the tv and I noticed when I turned it on it didn't take me to the screen where you're supposed to enter the setup (like time and date etc . Basically the screen when you factory reset it) . Is everyone like this or I actually got a used tv instead of a brand new tv ? Thanks

Oh btw my tv looked like a slightly dimmer ipad 2 (at max brightness setting) using ctmaudi setup . I dunno if I should be happy or not considering it's the screen I look at everyday . I was hoping something incredible and different based on everyone's review

Also when I connect my laptop through hdmi it says 60hz . Shouldn't it be 600hz ?

And damn I just noticed it's PS 43e450 paim not PN 43e450 . Is there any difference ?I'm literally stressed right now that I may get an inferior product with more input lag (I dunno if it's my controller or pc but I've been having problems with rhythm game)

If anyone see this please reply . I really need answers . Thanks a lot smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #274 of 307 Old 07-18-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Bneund
First your tv is PS43E450 because Samsung classify their products by regions. PN is mostly for North America, PS for Europe, Asia & Africa.
Plasmas appear dimmer compared to LEDs but they have deeper contrast, good color and excellent off axis picture.
I have had a chance to compare both E & F series and I didn't see much of a difference in PQ, though none was calibrated.
Just feed your Tv some quality signal and enjoy.
Lion Rider is offline  
post #275 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 02:45 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #276 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 02:45 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #277 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 02:45 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #278 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 02:46 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #279 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 02:47 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #280 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 03:07 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #281 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 03:07 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply . Does anyone know what's the later firmware for the ps model and where to find them ? If it's true it's not that much different than the f4500 model then I'm relieved because the e450 has better input lag smile.gif
bneundh is offline  
post #282 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 03:10 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for posting repeatedly .there's an error I have to click submit repeatedly because I think it's not posted.I don't know how to delete it , can it be deleted ?
bneundh is offline  
post #283 of 307 Old 07-19-2013, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Think it said earlier the PS and PN, have. Different firmwares.Try going to the Samsung website or read earlier in this thread might help.Sorry I don't know much about it other than if your tv is working fine than stick with present firmware....To delete posts hit the x on your post
Vic12345 is offline  
post #284 of 307 Old 08-20-2013, 11:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
cel20
Cont83or higher
Brt44
Shp20
Tint50/50
col55
gam+1, if brights washed out 0
Col spc auto
flesh -3
warm1 probably best
noise reduction off

ycc on cablebox,native resolution, and(allow 1080i,720p,480p)

Best I can come up with at this point


*******less washed out whites setting*****
Cont85
Brt50
Gamma -1
Color55
Flesh -3
Vic12345 is offline  
post #285 of 307 Old 08-21-2013, 08:52 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Movie mode right ? What about the white balance ?
bneundh is offline  
post #286 of 307 Old 08-22-2013, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Movie mode yes
I changed white balance in serv menu so it would not work on yours.If you use warm2 you have too lower the red gain and redbias to get rid of too much red.You should EDIT see SOME,but not much red throughout the grayscale(color control at zero) in a pitch black room later in the evening.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #287 of 307 Old 08-30-2013, 07:47 AM
Member
 
bneundh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a computer or ps3 ? Does the setting works ? I'm confused right now because my blacks are grey . Or are they supposed to be grey ? if I use rgb full on both, the blacks are clipped and the dpshadow detail are significantly lost . But if I used limited, it's normal but compared to full the blacks are far less black , almost grey-ish ..
bneundh is offline  
post #288 of 307 Old 08-30-2013, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
.
Lion Rider is offline  
post #289 of 307 Old 08-31-2013, 01:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Bneundh-No computer here.With your brightness around 45 on the tv the blacks should be dark black(or around where the dithering starts on a black screen).The blacks should NOT be gray


EDIT- I've tried gamma -1 and +1 and keep going back to 0 on mine.


Edit- having problems with washed out picture.trying different settings
Cell20
Cont85
Brt43
Shp12
Col54-57
Gamma0
Dynamic cont low
Blacktone dark

*these settings work better in a dark room

EDIT- Ive finally come to the conclusion that this tv set needs too look good when the abl is highly active(as it screws the picture up) when the screen has large areas of light areas covering most of screen.Once you get the bright areas all good with gains,then the dark areas cuts.My all white screen is gray but has a slight red or pinkish color(not red,yellow,green,blue,blue green,magenta)in a black room..I with a white google screen and gray bars pattern moved the ipad brightness level from 3/4s all the way down in segments and tried matching it too all the different various screens on the tv.So everything looks the same,then made the tv a little less blue as ipad1 is a bit too blue.So far so good.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #290 of 307 Old 09-07-2013, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Vic are you using any calibration disc or meter?
Lion Rider is offline  
post #291 of 307 Old 09-07-2013, 11:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Lion-No I just compare it to the iPad like I decsribed.If you turn the color to zero and watch bright commercials or anything that's bright and washed out.When looking in the washed out and brightest luminous white areas it needs to all look the same color and the right color 6500k or close..You need some reference to compare it too.You CANT do it by eyes.I've tried and drove myself and nuts for years tweaking it every night,and had some horrible results....Out of the box mine had magenta/red skin colors on warm2.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #292 of 307 Old 09-09-2013, 03:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Changed again.Ive learned its not just about it looking good when abl is fully active and bright screens.If I adjust it for that I end up with a dynamic like high contrast picture with overly luminous bright whites and dark blacks,but short on red yellow rich sunlike glow you need.Needs more red and less blue.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #293 of 307 Old 09-09-2013, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
.
Lion Rider is offline  
post #294 of 307 Old 09-09-2013, 04:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does yours have red/magenta skintones at about color 50 on warm2?
Vic12345 is offline  
post #295 of 307 Old 09-09-2013, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
.
Lion Rider is offline  
post #296 of 307 Old 09-09-2013, 11:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vic12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I think I read one time that the bigger Size was not as bright as the smaller size.The same model.

Some programs have a red push and some dont.some programs the lightning/grayscale/gamma are all different.Throw in the plasma abl and things look inconsistent.
Vic12345 is offline  
post #297 of 307 Old 09-28-2013, 06:02 AM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
.
Lion Rider is offline  
post #298 of 307 Old 09-29-2013, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Gary E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fellow enthusiasts,

I am long time member who is an infrequent poster. I initially joined this great forum while doing research for my first HD television purchase and received outstanding information and guidance that led to a successful decision.

I have owned a Toshiba 40H80 since mid 2001, calibrated by Gregg and has served me without issue for all these years. Recently, the old lady has begun to show her age. The drifts in convergence are more frequent and the inability to properly align the outer gridlines is slowly creeping in towards the center.

Most frustrating however is the set’s restriction of only component inputs, preventing connections to newer appliances and video cards. This coupled with the lack of an internal tuner and the increasing scarcity of stand alone set top boxes, should my current LG STB fail, has exhausted my tolerance of these shortcomings and provoked the quest for a replacement.

So once again I began the mission of researching for the acquisition of a new unit and once again I turned to my favorite place AVS. With a handful of aspirin I began reading all I could find about recent technology. The swirl of information was overwhelming. LCD vs LED vs plasma caused me to incur countless hours of squinting as my rapidly aging brain, interpreted the data.

I stumbled upon the threads touting the Samsung plasma model PN51E4500. On paper, it fit the arbitrary criteria I had established in my mind and I took a trip to Walmart (who had it on sale) to see the physical set. I brought it home and placed it temporarily in my HT to put it through its paces and see how it performed in my environment.

Now I am far from an expert and remembering that I am upgrading from a primitive HD television, I was blown away by the image this set produces right out of the box. Being ‘old school’, I did a few minor adjustments (turned down contrast, brightness) and tweaked a few other settings to produce an acceptable image while allowing the unit to ‘break in’.

A few of the concerns I had regarding this 720p choice were:
1.My viewing distance is 7 feet
2.How will it handle broadcast 1080i signals?
3.Display quality of HD files (720p/1080p) streamed from my PC.
Of these concerns, only the PC streaming required a bit of additional effort to produce a result I was pleased with. By creating a custom resolution setting of 1366 x 768 @120 hz (Ge8600gt video card) the streaming files displayed in breathtaking clarity.

For about half the cost (<$500.00) of the dinosaur it is replacing, it appears as if the research information and my selection were correct . Now if this unit provides the longevity of the Toshiba RPTV, the decision will be impeccable. I intend to attain an extended warranty (via Walmart) as a longevity ‘hedge bet’ insurance policy.

Just as stated within the threads on this great forum, this Samsung PN51E4500 television appears to be a truly a phenomenal unit at a bargain price.

Regards,
-Gary

-Gary
Gary E is offline  
post #299 of 307 Old 09-29-2013, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I won the 43 last night any new user tips?

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #300 of 307 Old 09-29-2013, 08:02 PM
Member
 
Lion Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
.
Lion Rider is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn43e450 43 Inch Class Plasma 450 Series Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off