Samsung 2012 PNxxE450 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Samsung 2012 PNxxE450 Thread

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Garage Grunge's Avatar Garage Grunge
02:15 PM Liked: 10
post #91 of 318
08-10-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

with the UK review of the e6500 they got 16ms when they changed the input label to 'PC'.
What brand and size of tv are you referring to? That model is not one that I mentioned. I am considering the lg 504500 and the samsung50inch e450
sonyfan's Avatar sonyfan
02:35 PM Liked: 20
post #92 of 318
08-10-2012 | Posts: 577
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garage Grunge View Post

What brand and size of tv are you referring to? That model is not one that I mentioned. I am considering the lg 504500 and the samsung50inch e450

it was the 60" Samsung E6500 and the same thing can be done (change the input label to 'PC') on the E450.
Garage Grunge's Avatar Garage Grunge
04:09 PM Liked: 10
post #93 of 318
08-10-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

it was the 60" Samsung E6500 and the same thing can be done (change the input label to 'PC') on the E450.
That is a 1080 tv and was probably tested with a native 1080p native device. The problem that occurs is xbox games are made in 720p im not sure what exact resolution they are made but the lag could come from the xbox due to it having to scale the image to 1024x768 which is the native resolution of these tvs.
sonyfan's Avatar sonyfan
04:18 PM Liked: 20
post #94 of 318
08-10-2012 | Posts: 577
Joined: Jun 2005
When a 60hz signal is input.............

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/samsung-ps60e6500-ps51e6500-201207262022.htm?page=Performance
Garage Grunge's Avatar Garage Grunge
09:43 PM Liked: 10
post #95 of 318
08-10-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

When a 60hz signal is input.............
http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/samsung-ps60e6500-ps51e6500-201207262022.htm?page=Performance
Appreciate the link you gave me, unfortunately I had already headed to the store to pick up the lg. I went with the lg because it had a vga input. I am completely satisfied with the speed and lack of input lag. So far I am 100pct satisfied with the lg.
Scitty's Avatar Scitty
09:30 AM Liked: 10
post #96 of 318
08-11-2012 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garage Grunge View Post

Which model do you have? If you would be willing to run the input lag test that would be cool. Just hook up your pc to it and run the timer with milliseconds (just google input lag test timer) then take a snapshot of both screens. Also if you have the samsung does it have a vga input?

Mine is PS51E450A1W There is no VGA input, just PC in via HDMI. Isnt that the best way anyway? I can't do the input lag, sorry camera is with the misses! lol
Garage Grunge's Avatar Garage Grunge
11:50 AM Liked: 10
post #97 of 318
08-11-2012 | Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scitty View Post

Mine is PS51E450A1W There is no VGA input, just PC in via HDMI. Isnt that the best way anyway? I can't do the input lag, sorry camera is with the misses! lol
The vga cables allow for you to set the xbox to output to the tv's native resolution and cuts out all or most processing the tv uses to enhance the picture aka (input lag).
Scitty's Avatar Scitty
04:51 AM Liked: 10
post #98 of 318
08-12-2012 | Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2012
Oh right, did not know that. I know VGA supports HUGE resolutions.
topraider's Avatar topraider
03:22 PM Liked: 10
post #99 of 318
08-21-2012 | Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2010
Ok getting back on my set up on my 3 Samsung PN43E450 thanks for all the previous input on this. First off if you need a great wall mount from "Chief" is one of best.
I got all 3 setup pretty close to what CTI AUDI did and Sonyfan did. I decided to use "standard mode" because most of the time I will use these TV's to watch sports on them,
also in my living room it is a little bright. I know everyone is using "movie mode" but picture on DIrecTv for sports seems to look better. I will show you my settings I did at the bottom of the post. On my DirecTv boxes I am using native and allow the broadcast on all the station's resolution. Another thing about my setup some people are complaining about the pixels on the screen but I have mine setup on the wall at a 15 degree angle also I am watching a distance of about 12-13 feet away from it, and you can not notice this at all. That's what I was afraid of when I bought these TV's in the first place.

One problem I am is my HTPC setup the display resolution on this part of the setup I am not happy with. I want to use the Samsung 43" in the middle for the computer and I also use my Samsung 50" on the bottom for the HTPC also but for some reason, I cannot split up the resolution for both TV's even though I have 2 graphics cards setup in crossfire mode. On my old Sony plasma 42" TV I could use the top TV and the bottom TV with differnt resolutions. I have tried every thing to sync the 2 but the problem I keep having the resolution has to be either the Samsung 43" 1024x768 and the Samsung 50" becomes 1024x768 or the Samsung 50" 1920x1200 and the Samsung 43" in 1920x1200 looks like crap.

Still working with my XBOX360 settings unfortunately I have to use the componet setup for this..... not enough HDMI inputs. Trying to dial this in.

Over all these TV's for the price at $399 are a great price and value...This a picture of the setup I am using .....took with my phone.




Here's the setting I am using:

Mode - Standard
Cell Light 18
Brightness 50 daytime
Contrast 100 daytime
Sharpness 0
Color 50
R/G Tint 50/50
Color Space - Native
Gamma +1
Dynamic Contrast - off
Black Tone - Darkest
Flesh Tone - 0
Color Tone - Warm1
Size -16:9
Digital Noise Filter - Off

Thanks to 'CTM Audi'.
RO - 21
GO - 25
BO - 22
RG - 20
GG - 25
BG - 23
aaamerjee's Avatar aaamerjee
01:28 PM Liked: 10
post #100 of 318
08-28-2012 | Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2012
Hello guys. A quick question. What exactly is the difference between the 43" D450 and E450 of the same size? I know that E series is for 2012 and D for 2011, but are there any improvements/changes in the E450 model from the D450 model? As a matter of fact, where I live, I have found the E450 to be cheaper than the D450. Shouldn't the newer model be more expensive? I am quite inclined towards buying the E450 because it is relatively cheaper, but at the same time I do not want to miss out on any cool features that the D version has (if any) over the E version.
eeee87's Avatar eeee87
05:00 AM Liked: 11
post #101 of 318
09-18-2012 | Posts: 72
Joined: Jun 2011
via cnet
http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-573416/samsung-pn51e450-picture-settings/

-Picture menu
Mode: Movie
Cell light: 14
Contrast: 91
Brightness: 46
Sharpness: 0
Color: 51
Tint: G50/R50

Advanced settings submenu
Color space: Native
White Balance [see below]
Gamma: +1
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh tone: 0 [grayed out]
Motion Lighting: Off

White Balance submenu
R-Offset: 26
G-Offset: 25
B-Offset: 25
R-Gain: 22
G-Gain: 24
B-Gain: 25

--Picture options submenu
Color tone: Warm2
Size: 16:9
HDMI black level: Normal [grayed out]
Film mode: Off [grayed out]
Screen Burn protection [default values]
sonyfan's Avatar sonyfan
12:50 PM Liked: 20
post #102 of 318
09-18-2012 | Posts: 577
Joined: Jun 2005
Those CNET settings look horrible on my E450.
The Cell Light should ALWAYS be at the max of 20.
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
03:56 PM Liked: 20
post #103 of 318
09-25-2012 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
Can someone with the 43E450 tell me the width of the stand please. I know the depth is about 10 inchs. I just need to know the width.
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
03:18 AM Liked: 11
post #104 of 318
09-26-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
Hi, I got the Samsung pn43e450a1fxzc for 399 a few days ago, on the 21 of September at my local furniture store.

So here is my setting, I tried to use the DVD calibration disk from the calibration forum here at avsforum and the TV looked bland.
Then I tried the settings in this thread, all of them, and it still looked a bit bland to me.
So I opened up the calibration disk again and went to the pattern that shows the bar ramp of red, green, blue, cyan, magenta and calibrated the red, green, blue gain so the bars were seen and I cranked up the color so it looks not so dull, and it worked.
Before that I set the brightness and contrast, and the color and hue, then I set the rgb gain as I described.
I tried all the settings with extra dark black and dynamic contrast etc, and the below settings is the best I could find.

So here you go, here's the settings that I was so happy with I had to register to post them here;
Settings moved to new post.


The TV looks nice, but there is no lcd look, it looks different than a lcd which is the only kind of monitor I used before today. It looks nice, just different than lcd does.
Its a large TV but I sit around 5 feet or a bit more from it and it is not too large for me.
The Ferrite Filters need to be looped twice, and are too big to fit snug around the cable, so you have to loop the cable in the Ferrite Filters and then snap it shut.
I ran the DVD stickied at the top of this forum on the TV for about 100 hours.
It's not a heavy TV, and it is pretty thin.
There is a buzz noise from the TV, but I did not hear it while playing the web browser on the TV, and while playing the blu ray I couldn't hear the buzz sound.
There was one dead pixel but it got fixed somehow and I can't find it anymore.
The remote doesn't have a switch to previous input, that works.
Overall I am happy with my 399 purchase, it looks nice and it works. biggrin.gif
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
03:19 AM Liked: 11
post #105 of 318
09-26-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpearce023 View Post

Can someone with the 43E450 tell me the width of the stand please. I know the depth is about 10 inchs. I just need to know the width.

It's a bit over a foot and a half at my guesstimate
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
12:52 PM Liked: 20
post #106 of 318
09-26-2012 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by forsureman View Post

It's a bit over a foot and a half at my guesstimate

Ok thanks, I'm trying to make sure it wont hang over the sides of the cable box that I'm going to set it on top of. Its for a bedroom and that's the only place I can put it is on top of the cable box.
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
02:10 AM Liked: 11
post #107 of 318
09-27-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
One other thing I would like to add to my review is the ABL is bad and in my playstation 3 web browser white web pages are not white but a dim dark white.

ABL is on all plasma TV's this year. So white web pages definitely look white in lcd, but dark shady white in this plasma model.

I tested it with movie mode, dynamic mode, standard mode.
I tried every setting on the TV but nothing made any difference.

Also changing the hdmi 1 name to PC gives a new mode, "entertain", it's supposed to have low lag.
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
03:19 PM Liked: 11
post #108 of 318
09-27-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
I put the changing color DVD on again till I got to 200 hours mrt.

I also tested the watts the TV used using the kill-a-watt meter on "watt" setting.
Playing a blu ray the watts stayed around 110, dipping to the 80's and spiking to the 180's.
Just on the playstation 3 screen it was 180's, but I bought a wallpaper and was using that instead of the default playstation 3 screen.

The watts were tested using the settings I posted before.
ViggySmalls's Avatar ViggySmalls
08:03 AM Liked: 10
post #109 of 318
09-28-2012 | Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2012
Hey Everyone. Thanks for all the very useful reviews, advice, opinions, and expertise.

I just picked up the PN43E450 a couple days ago. Went into BestBuy with every intention of buying a Samsung LED, but after checking out this plasma (and it's price), I couldn't resist. Got it home and it looks great. I upgraded from a 27" Magnasonic CRT which I found on the street, so needless to say I have been very pleased with my new TV, except for one small issue: buzzing.

I have read buzzing can be an issue with plasmas, but I was just wondering what other people are experiencing with this particular set. The buzzing I am noticing is a low hum/buzz that seems to be coming off the entire screen. I sit about 7'-8' directly in front of the TV which is sitting on a stand about half a foot from the wall. I usually have the volume set around 15, and I can hardly make out the buzz during louder scenes, but during quite ones it is noticeable enough to be slightly bothersome. For example, when playing Halo I didn't notice the buzzing what-so-ever, but when watching baseball I could definitely notice it.

I have a feeling I may be particularly sensitive to sound at this frequency. My roommate said he could hear it when he went up close to the screen, but said it didn't bother him at all when sitting on the couch. This makes me believe that the TV is working normally.

Basically I am wondering what sort of buzzing levels are normall for this TV and if anyone has any advice or opinions on what I can do about it. Will I get use to it eventually? Is there anything I can do to reduce buzz? Or should I return it ASAP?

Thanks in advance for the help!
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
12:07 PM Liked: 11
post #110 of 318
09-28-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
When I put it on I hear it, and standard is louder than movie mode I think.

But the TV has 200 hours on it and I don't hear it after it's been on for a while.
offthatop's Avatar offthatop
03:02 AM Liked: 10
post #111 of 318
09-29-2012 | Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2011
Anyone have suggestions for ps3 settings? i hooked my ps3 up and turned on game mode and played black ops and it looked like crap
eeee87's Avatar eeee87
07:45 AM Liked: 11
post #112 of 318
09-29-2012 | Posts: 72
Joined: Jun 2011
chnage your ps3 input to pc
video resolution 720p
rgb range full



when you watch blurays youll have the options to tweak picture settings, when gaming most will be blurred out
just remeber your contrast and brightness settings for other inputs and youll be good to go
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
01:51 PM Liked: 11
post #113 of 318
09-29-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by offthatop View Post

Anyone have suggestions for ps3 settings? i hooked my ps3 up and turned on game mode and played black ops and it looked like crap

Settings moved to new post.
ViggySmalls's Avatar ViggySmalls
11:00 AM Liked: 10
post #114 of 318
10-01-2012 | Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2012
Well unforunately I think I am going to have to switch to LCD/LED. I exchanged my PN43E450 for another one in the exact same model, brought it home, and I had the same problem with the buzzing/humming/whinning. Bringing it back tonight and am going with a LCD/LED. I will have to accept the inferior picture quality in order to rid myself of the buzzing.

I guess I am just particularly sensitive and annoyed with this type of sound. Sitting 7' directly in front of the screen, the noise was really annoying and I don't think I can learn to live with it. Hopefully everyone else either doesn't hear it, or can learn to deal with the noise because other than that it was a fantastic TV.
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
03:39 AM Liked: 11
post #115 of 318
10-07-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
I'm posting this because I updated my posts settings movie mode post #104, game mode post #113.

I notice the TV hum for a bit after I try to adjust the settings, or when I put the TV on, but when in PC mode the TV hums really bad and it hurts my ears. But after a while I don't hear it when in movie mode.
ctrav's Avatar ctrav
07:43 PM Liked: 10
post #116 of 318
10-08-2012 | Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 2012
I just picked up this set and it is a nice addition to the new media room. Can someone help with my issue:

Hooked up thru Denono receiver via optical on a 3.1 set up for now. The sound primarily comes thru the right speaker and very faint thru the center and left. All speakers played well on previous set with same connections. Also plays well via iPod. I have tried another optical cable with same result and even went so far as to hook up old Pionerr with same results of strong/normal right channel and weak center and left channel........

Any suggestions? Thanks.......
forsureman's Avatar forsureman
03:07 AM Liked: 11
post #117 of 318
10-09-2012 | Posts: 112
Joined: Sep 2012
Movie mode settings, for movies and TV.

mode; movie
cell light; 20
contrast; 98
brightness; 67
sharpness; 14
color; 48
tint; g39/r61
color space; native
R offset; 15
G offset; 5
B offset; 15
red gain; 50
green gain; 38
blue gain; 50
gamma; +2
dynamic contrast; off
black tone; off
flesh tone (set while watching tv); 4
color tone; standard
size; 16:9
digital noise filter; off
HDMI black level; low
film mode; off
game mode; off
eco sensor; off

Game mode settings, for PS3 games.
mode; standard
cell light; 20
contrast; 100
brightness; 69
sharpness; 14
color; 35
tint; g39/r61
color space; native
R offset; 15
G offset; 5
B offset; 15
red gain; 33
green gain; 21
blue gain; 33
gamma; +2
dynamic contrast; off
black tone; off
flesh tone (set while watching tv); 1
color tone; standard
size; 16:9
digital noise filter; off
HDMI black level (set while playing a game); low
film mode; off
game mode; on
eco sensor; off

ps3 setting used with this TV, for blu ray films;
resolution; 480p, 720p, (1080i and 1080p are unchecked)
RGB full range; limited
super white; off
deep color output; automatic
video output format (HDMI); RGB
1080p 24Hz output (HDMI); off
upscaler; full screen

______________

I have been busy tweaking my settings for a few hours today and made sure they look good before sharing them with you now.
The settings were in two different posts before but since I updated them today I decided to keep my settings in one post.

And to to ctrav, I don't use a receiver, I use the Logitech 5.1 speakers and spdif to my ps3, so I can't help with your problem. However, I set the middle speaker louder than the surround speakers so I can hear the actors better. Maybe you can try that..
Gmash's Avatar Gmash
08:13 AM Liked: 99
post #118 of 318
10-10-2012 | Posts: 595
Joined: Aug 2012
Weird, I don't hear any sound from mine at all. I would think keeping your contrast and cell light cranked up all the way like that is just asking for IR, especially if your TV is new.
Also, I have mine hooked up to my Yamaha 671 with optical cable and no problems. You might need to return your TV.
aaamerjee's Avatar aaamerjee
09:23 AM Liked: 10
post #119 of 318
10-12-2012 | Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2012
Hello. I purchased the Samsung PS43E470 a few weeks back. I usually use the TV to watch movies right from my laptop through an HDMI cable, since I don't have a Blu-Ray player. I have noticed that most of the picture tweaking options (that are otherwise available in component or antenna input) are not available when I am watching movies from my laptop on the TV. As a result, I don't get (or atleast I don't THINK I get) the kind of PQ most of the people here get. Any help?
whipit's Avatar whipit
11:09 AM Liked: 70
post #120 of 318
10-12-2012 | Posts: 1,483
Joined: Dec 2009
Have you tried renaming the hdmi port to 'PC' ? I believe that changes the ports processing, lower lag and maybe different color gamut.
Tags: Samsung Pn43e450 43 Inch Class Plasma 450 Series Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3