Samsung 2012 PNxxE450 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 309 Old 02-16-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Not much info on them yet. Just came out. Thinking of picking one up for a bedroom tv (43in). Trying to find out the difference from the D series. It says improved black level, but thats all Ive seen so far. I wonder how the buzz is, and if it has brightness pops.

Seen them at a few websites and HHGregg for $499.

There is a very basic review out there, but cant link it.


Updated info.

Picked up the PN43E450 for a bedroom tv. Here is my quick review.

Happy to report no brightness pops, and no excesive buzzing (its there, but you cant hear it unless you are dead center, close, and are trying to hear it). For a low end plasma, has a better then average picture quality and black levels. Speakers actualy arent bad either. Plenty enough for a bedroom TV, though youll obviously want a real surround setup for a living room or home theater setup.

Was able to get mine for $405 + tax. Going rate is $499, and sale prices are about $449. At $450 or less, I dont think there is another TV better in the price range.



Pictures

Stand Installation











Ports




Remote and Items






Out Of Box






After 15min Simple Calibration







Ill try to get some better pictures later. There are lines that show up in the pictures, and not sure why.



15 minute calibration settings with Lagom test, for no ambient light bedroom viewing. Using HDMI from laptop output with Intel HD3000, 1920x1080 @ 60Hz (letting the TV down-convert).

Mode - Movie
Cell Light - 14
Contrast - 93
Brightness - 44
Sharpness - 0
Color - 55
R/G Tint - 50/50

Color Space - Native

White Balance
RO - 21
GO - 28
BO - 22
RG - 20
GG - 27
BG - 23

Gamma - -1
Dynamic Contrast - Off
Black Tone - Off
Flesh Tone - 0

Color Tone - Warm1
Size - Screen Fit
Digital Noise Filter - Off
HDMI Black Level - Low
Film Mode - Off
CTM Audi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 309 Old 02-17-2012, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just wanted to follow up on this. I got someone I know to buy one of these and hooked it up for them. Its a really nice looking set, no brightness pops or buzzing in the short time I watched it. Didnt have any good material to work with though.

Not sure how much better it is over the D450, having only seen them in stores. But I do feel there is a difference, though small.

I plan to pick one up soon for my bedroom. I just dont think there is a better TV in the price range.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #3 of 309 Old 02-18-2012, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks good, wonder if you can enter service menu and change it to an e7000, etc.
badmeng is offline  
post #4 of 309 Old 02-18-2012, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post

Looks good, wonder if you can enter service menu and change it to an e7000, etc.

As far as I know, that was just for the D550, this is the new 450 720P 2D line.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #5 of 309 Old 02-18-2012, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The D450/D490 you can go into the service menu and change it to a d7000 to get day/night modes and the 10 pt greyscale. Also you can get cinema smooth. If you can do this on the e450 this year this will make it definitely best bang for your buck model.
badmeng is offline  
post #6 of 309 Old 02-19-2012, 03:55 PM
Member
 
SleepyBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM Audi View Post

I plan to pick one up soon for my bedroom. I just dont think there is a better TV in the price range.

Would appreciate some pictures of this set. Don't really trust the stock photos or the specs which usually has errors.

From the stock photos, it looks like they changed the stand of the E450 to a thicker foot. Also, it looks like they removed one of the component inputs, down to 2x HDMI, 1x component (shared composite). Can someone verify this?

The E490 stock pictures looks pretty much the same as the D490, but in the specs they also seemed to have removed 1x component + VGA input. They also seemed to have added LAN input though.
SleepyBum is offline  
post #7 of 309 Old 02-19-2012, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SleepyBum View Post

Would appreciate some pictures of this set. Don't really trust the stock photos or the specs which usually has errors.

From the stock photos, it looks like they changed the stand of the E450 to a thicker foot. Also, it looks like they removed one of the component inputs, down to 2x HDMI, 1x component (shared composite). Can someone verify this?

The E490 stock pictures looks pretty much the same as the D490, but in the specs they also seemed to have removed 1x component + VGA input. They also seemed to have added LAN input though.

Im not sure what all the D series had or looked like. The person I set it up for had it mounted, so I didnt get a good look at the stand. Its a big rectangle type though.

One Component input, 2 HDMI, and one or two composite, didnt check those.

Picture quality is good for the size and price range. Screen is very reflective, so have it in a dark room. Itll be in my bedroom where I only watch stuff at night, so Im not worried about that.

Im happy to report that I watched 24hz 1080P blu-ray on it tonight with HDMI set to "low", and there is no brightness pops. Also, no audible buzzing either.

Needs some calibration out of the box. Skin tones are a little orange-ish, but not as bad as many. I didnt really have anything to calibrate with, so did some basic cell light, brightness, contrast, etc... stuff and got a pretty nice picture. Blacks seemed to blend, didnt have enough time or tools though to get the contrast and brightness fully right.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #8 of 309 Old 02-20-2012, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bought one tonight, Ill have it setup in a bit.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #9 of 309 Old 02-20-2012, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Added a short review and some pics.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #10 of 309 Old 02-21-2012, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Matt Stieg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is that a non-swivel base? Not sure why Samsung would do that, seems like a minor step backwards in design compared to last year's.
Matt Stieg is offline  
post #11 of 309 Old 02-21-2012, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Stieg View Post

So is that a non-swivel base? Not sure why Samsung would do that, seems like a minor step backwards in design compared to last year's.

No swivel. Im guessing cut back on that to save cost for the other upgrades. Thats why it still sells for the same price.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #12 of 309 Old 02-25-2012, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
badmeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ctm - how is the set?
badmeng is offline  
post #13 of 309 Old 02-25-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post

Ctm - how is the set?

I like it more then the LN46C630 I had. Black levels are much better. Colors are good, everything on it is "good" or better. I think its a great deal.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #14 of 309 Old 02-25-2012, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 92
They have apparently lowered the lines of resolution from the D450, as the 51E450 now has 1024x768 native resolution vs 1360x768 for the D450. Not sure if this has a major impact on picture quality, but if it is important to you, then you may want to hurry and get a D450 while there are still some available on closeout.
tylerSC is online now  
post #15 of 309 Old 02-25-2012, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

They have apparently lowered the lines of resolution from the D450, as the 51E450 now has 1024x768 native resolution vs 1360x768 for the D450. Not sure if this has a major impact on picture quality, but if it is important to you, then you may want to hurry and get a D450 while there are still some available on closeout.

A few months ago when I was looking at the D series, they had 1024x768 as well. Some sources incorectly listed them as 1360x768. The large sizes may have had 1360x768, but not the 43. If they did, I would asume the same would have carried over as the difference are minor.

It still accepts a 1080P signal too. Just down-converts it, and does so without messing up the aspect ratio.
CTM Audi is offline  
post #16 of 309 Old 02-26-2012, 01:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 92
The 43D450 has 1024x768, and the 51D450 has 1360x768. Apparently, the 51E450 is changing to 1020x768, but not sure if this will have a major impact upon pic quality. Just wondering, will have to go check one out in the store.
tylerSC is online now  
post #17 of 309 Old 02-26-2012, 05:35 AM
Member
 
SleepyBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the pictures CTM Audi, really appreciate it. Just wondering are there any inputs (HDMI, USB) on the sides of the panel?

The E450/E490 has popped up on Samsung's Office Site.

NEW 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV PN51E490B4F
NEW 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 450 Series TV PN51E450A1F

Looks like the native res for the 51" set is 1024x768 now, which I hope is really a typo. Looked at the User Manual for the PN51E450 and it also states 1024x768. They don't seem to have a proper user manual for the E490.

This is disappointing for me because I intend to use this for HTPC purposes, and want 1-to-1 pixel mapping (square pixels). Panasonic went to 1024x768 for their 46/50" 720p sets couple years back. Guess Samsung finally moved to a lower res panel to reduce cost and power consumption as well.

It also looks like they removed one of the component inputs for the E4xx series as well, but didn't seem to add any extra HDMI inputs. For the E490 they list 2 HDMI which I hope is an error because the D490 had 3 HDMI (2 back/1 side). It looks like they might have removed the VGA input as well, which is very useful, but added a LAN input which I personally don't have much use for.

I guess I might pick up the older PN51D490 if the price on it drops some more, back to around BF levels. Or else spent some extra money and step up to 1080p panel E530 or Panasonic ST50 series.
SleepyBum is offline  
post #18 of 309 Old 03-12-2012, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
PTN 39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the review have a 42 inch nad 54 inch high end PANNYS but gonna pick up the 51 inch model of this tv for my GF's bedroom 20 inch's from 12 ft doesnt cut it for me LOL!
PTN 39 is offline  
post #19 of 309 Old 04-02-2012, 11:17 PM
Member
 
assm0de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by SleepyBum View Post

Looks like the native res for the 51" set is 1024x768 now, which I hope is really a typo.

I believe it was the same last year where they incorrectly published 1024x768 as the resolution for the 51D450. I can't see the logic in building a whole new production line for a lower resolution TV which frankly will not even be viewable at that size, and as a result will sell far less units. I'm willing to bet it is the same 1366x768 panel as they are using on the 51D450 but with updated firmware, probably with the FBr fixed/optimised as the rest of the E range and D range is with the latest logic board f/w.

What I need is someone with 51E450 logic board f/w to extract it so that I can put it on my 51D450
assm0de is offline  
post #20 of 309 Old 04-03-2012, 12:50 AM
Newbie
 
frankqfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My friend has the 51" from HH Gregg at $599.

Used the Rock Band 2 guitar for XBox 360 over HDMI to do autocalibration, video input lag was 35ms with game mode on and 31ms with game mode off. Go figure.

The specs say non square pixels and I looked at them really closely and think I could tell they were wider than squares, but maybe I was seeing what I thought I should be seeing.

I wouldn't buy a set with non square pixels but I admit for just watching HDTV both his 51" and a 1024x768 Panasonic 42" plasma I watch sometimes are great looking.

I am going to bring over the Aladdin DVD to run THX optimizer and will report calibration. I am even thinking of spending $6 on the blue filter glasses that work with the THX optimizer. Any opinions on whether it would be $6 well spent?
frankqfrank is offline  
post #21 of 309 Old 04-03-2012, 07:53 AM
Member
 
stamfordmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to thank everyone for there great posts, by reading this forum I decided to go with the Samsung 51inch plasma PN51E450. My only question now is since this is a gift for my dad who's in his 60's and is upgrading from a 30 inch CRT, should I bother with calibration? will he really know the difference? Also my dad wants to hang the TV but the manual says to buy the wall mount kit separately, he wants it on the wall for the Masters this Thursday so I don't have time to get something online, does anyone have a good reccomendation for a VESA 400x400 wall bracket set that I could get at Best Buy or walmart?
Thanks in advance, again just a great forum, I can't thank everyone enough
stamfordmike is offline  
post #22 of 309 Old 04-03-2012, 09:22 PM
Member
 
assm0de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankqfrank View Post

I am even thinking of spending $6 on the blue filter glasses that work with the THX optimizer. Any opinions on whether it would be $6 well spent?

Waste of time. So you get blue luminance accurate, the others will still all be out by a factor that only a 3D CMS can fix. And even then, there will still be nonlinearities in luminance and/or saturation tracking of any or all of those colours from 0-100% which would need to be accounted for. And you still have no idea what is going on with white balance or gamma tracking.

The only result that is worth investing in is a meter that is guaranteed to read accurate colour from your display and then run it through a full 10 point + 3D CMS calibration on various patterns types at various picture levels to get an accurate impression of how the display is actually producing colour. Only then will you be satisfied with the appearance of all content. But, this is nearly impossible to achieve, all displays have their flaws.
assm0de is offline  
post #23 of 309 Old 04-13-2012, 11:49 AM
Member
 
adrenalin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

The 43D450 has 1024x768, and the 51D450 has 1360x768. Apparently, the 51E450 is changing to 1020x768, but not sure if this will have a major impact upon pic quality. Just wondering, will have to go check one out in the store.

Im about to pick up a PN51D450 or PN51E450 and not sure which I should get. I did a search but not much pops up. How can you tell the difference in store?
adrenalin is offline  
post #24 of 309 Old 04-14-2012, 01:44 PM
Member
 
adrenalin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post

The D450/D490 you can go into the service menu and change it to a d7000 to get day/night modes and the 10 pt greyscale. Also you can get cinema smooth. If you can do this on the e450 this year this will make it definitely best bang for your buck model.


Has anyone tried this on the e450 yet? I need a TV like tonight lol

Down to 51" d450 or e450
adrenalin is offline  
post #25 of 309 Old 04-14-2012, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
They still haven't fixed the "dirty screen" problem. It's a shame, because everything else about these sets are wonderful for the price.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #26 of 309 Old 04-15-2012, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post

They still haven't fixed the "dirty screen" problem. It's a shame, because everything else about these sets are wonderful for the price.

What would that be? Between mine and the one my friend got, neither screen looks "dirty".
CTM Audi is offline  
post #27 of 309 Old 04-16-2012, 02:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM Audi View Post

What would that be? Between mine and the one my friend got, neither screen looks "dirty".

Turn on the scrolling feature. If yours has this problem, you'll notice what looks like fingerprints or dirt on the white parts of the screen.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #28 of 309 Old 04-16-2012, 11:43 AM
Member
 
adrenalin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badmeng View Post

The D450/D490 you can go into the service menu and change it to a d7000 to get day/night modes and the 10 pt greyscale. Also you can get cinema smooth. If you can do this on the e450 this year this will make it definitely best bang for your buck model.


Will one of you guys check this for me, jeez help a brother out?
adrenalin is offline  
post #29 of 309 Old 04-17-2012, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Porschefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up one of these at Best Buy last night. Price was $480, which is about what they are going for in other places, but apparently not the best price ever.

This is my first plasma TV. I've always thought that plasma displays looked great and I wanted to try one. I got the 43" version for use as a bedroom TV. It looks really nice so far. I was worried about not having full 1080p resolution, but in actuality at a viewing distance of about 8-9 feet in the bedroom, there is no way I can see any pixels or screen door effect.

I do have a couple of questions. First is about calibration. I don't want to spend $200 to have it professionally calibrated, so I'm going to use the settings listed by the OP (thanks!) and go from there. If anyone has any tips on do-it-yourself calibration, I'd like to try it.

Second question: I run this TV through a Yamaha AV receiver and it works fine. However, when it's hooked up like this, there is NO sound from the TV speakers themselves. With two other TV's I have had running through the AV receivers the TV sound/speakers are still working. If I run the sound test on the Samsung's menu, the speakers ARE working. I just want to make sure that the TV is functional on its own in case I want to sell it someday. Samsung tech support says that it's a function of the receiver and Best Buy geek said some TV's work this way--if sound is coming from a receiver the TV's speakers are shut off.

I have Best Buy's 30-day window to return or exchange. I'm mulling over turning it in for the 51-inch 1080p model, but we'll see.

Thanks in advance for any info/pointers.

Best regards,

Stephen T. Porter
ABQ, NM
Porschefan is offline  
post #30 of 309 Old 04-18-2012, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CTM Audi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Check the sound settings to see if they are set to disabled. Also, it may be the source or way the reciever is sending the audio.

When I set up my laptop, I originally had it hooked to a reciever then going to a tv, and had it setup for DTS-HD/Dolby TrueHD, 24bit 192khz sound, and had to disable all that in order to get sound from this tv. So maybe the source is outputting something the tv cant pass?
CTM Audi is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn43e450 43 Inch Class Plasma 450 Series Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn43e450 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off