Weak Signal from HDMI - General Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-24-2012, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Not sure if this is the right forum to ask, but what the heck. I have a Samsung Plasma (A550), and a friend of mine has a more recent Samsung Plasma (can't recall the model).

Both of us have intermittent issues whereby while watching cable (can't recall if it happens any other time) we get "weak signal" indicators on the TV, where the screen goes blank but sound can still be heard clearly.

I was assuming it was likely the cable box, but wonder as well if it might be a handshake issue or the HDMI cable itself.

But then got to thinking, if it was a handshake issue or the HDMI cable, wouldn't I get no signal at all vs being able to hear sound but not see video? I.e., either a signal from the source box passes through or it doesn't, versus one aspect of the signal coming through (audio) while video doesn't?

I know, I could just try swapping cables but in my case it happens maybe a couple times a week and it would be a pain to change cables (TV is mounted and access to the rear panel is a pain), so figured what the heck, I'd ask first...

Thanks.

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-24-2012, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Bay'Los Angeles California.
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 26
poor service from cable company.
the message is from the box

Loving D65
CalWldLif is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-24-2012, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalWldLif View Post

poor service from cable company.
the message is from the box

From the box? Looks like a Samsung message to me. Ie. same one as the "no signal" message when there is a handshake issue.

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-21-2013, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
Vegemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is your Samsung TV giving you the message as does mine.

I only have the problem when viewing from my PC. The DirecTV DVR never has the issue.

When the PC does cause the problem, the DVR won't revive the picture, I have to turn off the TV and back on again to get the picture back after I receive that message.

Hopefully we'll see a solution here. I'll keep working on it.
Vegemeister is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off