Official Panasonic ST50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 238 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 9988 Old 11-22-2012, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Lebowski View Post

I know that trick helps pretty well but is it really normal that for instance after every Formula 1 race that lasts only couple of hours I need to run white screen for 100 hours to get rid of F1 logo?
I never had such issues with my previous plasma.
My local service engineer insist they need to dismantle the whole unit and take some measurements to be able to judge if it is even faulty by their criteria. It sound to me like they think there could be some kind of a voltage adjustment to fix this.

I´m suffering with same problem.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1397245/official-panasonic-st50-series-discussion-thread-no-street-price-talk/6900#post_22584935

Service took set week ago and they still waiting answer from Panasonic what to do.
Seems that there are few units which are more sensible to IR/burn-in than others.
Had also two Panasonic plasma models before ST50 and not ever this kind of problem.

At first Panasonic (Finland) said IR not belongs under warranty, but like you said it´s really not normal that you have to clear screen 100 hours after few hours gaming or watching channel where is bright opaque channel logo.
Made reclamation to customer protection and now service examine is it faulty (out of factory specs) or not.
If they still not accept to repair it I´m going to take this case under customer law processing.

edit:
Just got e-mail from service that Panasonic agreed to fix my set by replacing new panel cool.gif

So there´s no sense to drive cleaning 100 hours if you have burn-in just after few hour TV watching, panel is faulty and belongs under warranty.
Make73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 9988 Old 11-22-2012, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
thanks man i guess i jumped the gun but i was so excited and want the slides to finish
gomess023 is offline  
post #7113 of 9988 Old 11-22-2012, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
question? after the slides are done should i set the pixel orbiter back on and use hd size 1 or hd size 2 with pixel orbiter off? I will be gaming and watching nba alot in hd on this.
gomess023 is offline  
post #7114 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Will these ps3 3d glasses work
With the st50 ? http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/playstation-3-sony-playstation-3-3d-glasses-99021/10183192.aspx?lang=en-CA&pcname=&sku=10183192&path=24c9a52b4d42d9dd9ffab01e77292613en02

If not what is the best ones that work on these that are also cheaper than the regular panny ones?
gomess023 is offline  
post #7115 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomess023 View Post

...ones that work on these that are also cheaper than the regular panny ones?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SAMSUNG-3D-TV-Glasses-SSG-P41002-1-Pack-2-glasses-/200786747614
Make73 is offline  
post #7116 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 05:58 AM
Member
 
grik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Are those the latest tech in 3d glasses? or just the best for the buck?
What i mean is, are there any that can get me a better quality picture, or these ones are using the best there is? Iv read that there are different generations on Active 3d Glasses.
Thanks for the link nice price
grik is offline  
post #7117 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3Orion View Post

Getting ready to pull the trigger on the 55ST50 during Black Friday/Cyber Monday as I don't really think the price will drop much more during Xmas. I'm trying to decide who to purchase from. I'm looking at Amazon, BB, Cleveland Plasma, Paul's TV. Price and ability and ease of returning for issues such as buzzing, dead pixels, etc are huge factors. I'd appreciate advice and purchase experiences.
*Does Amazon charge for return, say if the set buzzes? If so, how much?
No charge.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #7118 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by grik View Post

Are those the latest tech in 3d glasses? or just the best for the buck?
What i mean is, are there any that can get me a better quality picture, or these ones are using the best there is? Iv read that there are different generations on Active 3d Glasses.
Thanks for the link nice price

I bought those just because of low price, works great with TX-P55ST50Y set.
grik likes this.
Make73 is offline  
post #7119 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 07:04 AM
ugk
Member
 
ugk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone bought their TV through Amazon? This is the 2nd day I've had someone call me from whoever Amazon uses to ship their TV to reschedule my delivery. I'm getting pretty pissed off as I've had to take time off work to make sure I can get the TV delivered.
ugk is offline  
post #7120 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post

Here are my settings after calibrating my 65ST50's grayscale using HCFR and my i1D3 colorimeter:
Picture mode: Custom
Contrast: 83
Brightness: 56
Color: 50
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color temp: Warm2
Color space: Normal
W/B high R: +2
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +7
W/B low R: +6
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: 0
Black extension: 0
Gamma adjustment: 2.2
Panel brightness: Mid
Contour emphasis: Off
AGC: 0
Here are the resulting calibration graphs -- grayscale tracking is really, really good (and it was actually very good before calibration just using Warm2 and default settings). All of my DeltaE readings are less than 7 except at IRE 0 which is meaningless since the colorimeter's measurement was garbage at that level:





My TV is less than a week old so I'll redo the calibration in a month or so once I get some more hours on it. Also, I didn't mess with the "Color" or "Tint" settings (i.e. I simply left then at their defaults) so maybe my post-calibration settings would've been a little different if I'd ran the standard Avia-style calibration disc.

Will you please post back what your new settings are after another calibration with more hours? I also have a 65" and would be curious how much the red (and others) changes, thanks.
mgrotel is offline  
post #7121 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So what the best option hd size 1 or 2
gomess023 is offline  
post #7122 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugk View Post

Has anyone bought their TV through Amazon? This is the 2nd day I've had someone call me from whoever Amazon uses to ship their TV to reschedule my delivery. I'm getting pretty pissed off as I've had to take time off work to make sure I can get the TV delivered.

Did you not choose their free Scheduled Delivery option where you pick your own delivery date and time window? If not, you're at the mercy of their local delivery contractor and you have no recourse with Amazon. There's usually no such problem with scheduled delivery.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7123 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomess023 View Post

question? after the slides are done should i set the pixel orbiter back on and use hd size 1 or hd size 2 with pixel orbiter off? I will be gaming and watching nba alot in hd on this.

The Pixel Orbiter is useless - it doesn't really do anything to prevent or reduce the chances of getting IR and is basically just a placebo. There's no good reason to use it.

Use HD Size 2. HD Size 1 zooms the image resulting in about 5% overscan. Everybody uses HD Size 2.
gomess023 likes this.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #7124 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post

Will you please post back what your new settings are after another calibration with more hours? I also have a 65" and would be curious how much the red (and others) changes, thanks.
You bet.
Schwa is online now  
post #7125 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 10:50 AM
Member
 
gbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugk View Post

Has anyone bought their TV through Amazon? This is the 2nd day I've had someone call me from whoever Amazon uses to ship their TV to reschedule my delivery. I'm getting pretty pissed off as I've had to take time off work to make sure I can get the TV delivered.

Yes, I just ordered mine on Saturday through Amazon. The Scheduled Delivery was set for Wed from 9 - noon. On Tuesday I received an email from Pilot Shipping saying that there's been a delay and someone would be in touch with me in a few days to reschedule! I called Pilot and got a nice lady on the line and she just said that it would be in the afternoon and not the morning. The next day (Wednesday, the day of delivery), I got a call from Pilot saying it hadn't arrived, and they'd have to schedule something for Friday or Saturday. I called back and got the nice lady again and she said they didn't know that she was watching for it and that we had talked before so she did some checking and said that they should be getting it in, but it may be delivered later that day. She made sure and went to the dock to find it, and got it to a driver and they made the delivery at about 6:15pm Wednesday night. So it got here on the right day, just a little late, so I was happy. It helps to get a nice lady on the phone who will look out for you :-). The guys who delivered it brought it down to my basement, assembled the stand, put the TV on it and lifted it into place and we turned it on to make sure everything worked before they left.
gbeck is offline  
post #7126 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Jeremyd5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I'm about to buy a 50 inch ST50 and am wondering what kind of wall mount to get. I want one that will securely hold the HDTV but if possible I'd like to be able to swivel it horizontally/vertically so I can position it next to the center channel.
Jeremyd5 is offline  
post #7127 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ive been running the set for 20 or so hours and its getting kinda hot. should i turn it off for a bit? or will that mess up the panel prep
gomess023 is offline  
post #7128 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 12:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,700
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomess023 View Post

Ive been running the set for 20 or so hours and its getting kinda hot. should i turn it off for a bit? or will that mess up the panel prep
Tuning the set off will not effect any preparation that you're doing.

On the other hand there's no problem leaving it on unless you have a defective unit. If it is defective, then it's in your best interest to find out as soon as possible.
htwaits is online now  
post #7129 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 01:16 PM
Member
 
tvaddicted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: eastern great lakes
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeck View Post

Yes, I just ordered mine on Saturday through Amazon. The Scheduled Delivery was set for Wed from 9 - noon. On Tuesday I received an email from Pilot Shipping saying that there's been a delay and someone would be in touch with me in a few days to reschedule! I called Pilot and got a nice lady on the line and she just said that it would be in the afternoon and not the morning. The next day (Wednesday, the day of delivery), I got a call from Pilot saying it hadn't arrived, and they'd have to schedule something for Friday or Saturday. I called back and got the nice lady again and she said they didn't know that she was watching for it and that we had talked before so she did some checking and said that they should be getting it in, but it may be delivered later that day. She made sure and went to the dock to find it, and got it to a driver and they made the delivery at about 6:15pm Wednesday night. So it got here on the right day, just a little late, so I was happy. It helps to get a nice lady on the phone who will look out for you :-). The guys who delivered it brought it down to my basement, assembled the stand, put the TV on it and lifted it into place and we turned it on to make sure everything worked before they left.

Amazon itself is very easy to deal with especially if your product is deffective. I would not hesitate to deal with them again.

However, they deal with shipping companies that can sub out work, so please be aware that not all delivery companies are the same, and unless you want to pay for the white glove treatment, it can go differently. I had the free ship option, delivery was confirmed the day before by phone [ this was not pilot, but a subbed out service] and the guys showed up close to the sceduled time, brought it into my home, took the panel out of the box, and I plugged it into my sat reciever. They said it was all they were responsible for. I was happy It was in great shape and worked, but I also had to enlist some help to mount the stand and lift it on to the entertainment console. Maybe a big tip might get more, I don't know. Save all your packing in case it has to go back, as you are responsible for re-boxing it.

tvaddicted
tvaddicted is offline  
post #7130 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Disto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgrotel View Post

Will you please post back what your new settings are after another calibration with more hours? I also have a 65" and would be curious how much the red (and others) changes, thanks.
My 65" lost more than 5 clicks of blue between the 300 and 500 hour mark... That is to say I had to bring up the blue high about +5 to get it back to grey.

-Tony
Disto is offline  
post #7131 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is it okay for the set to get a little hot during the prep like in front of it it is a little hot
gomess023 is offline  
post #7132 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disto View Post

My 65" lost more than 5 clicks of blue between the 300 and 500 hour mark... That is to say I had to bring up the blue high about +5 to get it back to grey.

Wow! Would I be best to just get the Disney WOW disc to calibrate on my set?
mgrotel is offline  
post #7133 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Bigjoemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Qvc.com has the 55inch st50's for 5 easy payment of 333.00 a month.. Qvc is really good at shipping electronics in one piece
Bigjoemeat is offline  
post #7134 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Little bit of banding during the grey slides is that normal? I mean like something i would have to actively seek out to notice
gomess023 is offline  
post #7135 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 08:44 PM
ugk
Member
 
ugk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeck View Post

Yes, I just ordered mine on Saturday through Amazon. The Scheduled Delivery was set for Wed from 9 - noon. On Tuesday I received an email from Pilot Shipping saying that there's been a delay and someone would be in touch with me in a few days to reschedule! I called Pilot and got a nice lady on the line and she just said that it would be in the afternoon and not the morning. The next day (Wednesday, the day of delivery), I got a call from Pilot saying it hadn't arrived, and they'd have to schedule something for Friday or Saturday. I called back and got the nice lady again and she said they didn't know that she was watching for it and that we had talked before so she did some checking and said that they should be getting it in, but it may be delivered later that day. She made sure and went to the dock to find it, and got it to a driver and they made the delivery at about 6:15pm Wednesday night. So it got here on the right day, just a little late, so I was happy. It helps to get a nice lady on the phone who will look out for you :-). The guys who delivered it brought it down to my basement, assembled the stand, put the TV on it and lifted it into place and we turned it on to make sure everything worked before they left.

Yeah, Pilot isn't here, it's some other company I've never heard of. I finally called Amazon after they told me they weren't gonna deliver the TV till Monday even though they got the TV on Wednesday eek.gif Suddenly Saturday morning delivery is available rolleyes.gif All is right in the world now and hopefully I'll have all Saturday to watch college football on my new ST50 smile.gif
ugk is offline  
post #7136 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 08:56 PM
Member
 
Hermolicious84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjoemeat View Post

Qvc.com has the 55inch st50's for 5 easy payment of 333.00 a month.. Qvc is really good at shipping electronics in one piece

The 55"? Amazon has it for $1149 (a difference of $516) and you can sign up for the Amazon store card and get it with 24 months 0% financing. QVC is known for a lot of things, and "good prices" isn't one of them.

EDIT: Realized this isn't the ST50 deals thread. I apologize.
Hermolicious84 is offline  
post #7137 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:11 PM
Member
 
smith987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the st50 do 1080p over component cables on the xbox 360?
smith987 is offline  
post #7138 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dierkdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomess023 View Post

Little bit of banding during the grey slides is that normal? I mean like something i would have to actively seek out to notice

In all likelihood, Yes.

Our 60ST50 had some minor screen uniformity issues when new - including an area of Yellowish discoloration, visible only on certain gray slides - but these essentially dissipated well before our "New Panel Aging Routine" was completed. (The yellow tinted area has completely vanished.)

Based upon experience with several 2011 panels, + this 2012 one, it makes sense to run a panel fairly aggressively before the Return Period expires.
Dierkdr is offline  
post #7139 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Hermolicious84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smith987 View Post

Can the st50 do 1080p over component cables on the xbox 360?

I've read otherwise, but from my experience, yes. My brother has an older 360 without an HDMI port, and he is able to select 1080P in the video settings. Also, our Samsung DLP states that the resolution of the component connection is 1080P.
Hermolicious84 is offline  
post #7140 of 9988 Old 11-23-2012, 09:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dierkdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by smith987 View Post

Can the st50 do 1080p over component cables on the xbox 360?

Thought that Component Video only passed 1080i or 720p.

The ST50, of course, will display either of these in the panel's native 1080p resolution.
Dierkdr is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55st50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60st50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off