Official Panasonic ST50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 334 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9991 of 9999 Old 08-15-2014, 04:40 PM
Member
 
gbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I get 720p as well. Though I never checked before so I don't know if it ever gave me anything else.
gbeck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9992 of 9999 Old 08-15-2014, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Iron Condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my ST50 just all of a sudden stopped working, I got what appears to be a 13 blinks error code.

Not sure what to do now.
Iron Condor is offline  
post #9993 of 9999 Old 08-16-2014, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeck View Post
I get 720p as well. Though I never checked before so I don't know if it ever gave me anything else.
I guess it's confirmed that the firmware update they pushed out doesn't allow higher than 720p streams on the Netflix app now. You're supposed to get 1080p on Super HD videos.

Feel free to call Panasonic Customer Call Center at (800)211-7262. The hours of operation are Monday through Friday 9 AM to 9 PM. Saturday and Sunday 10 AM to 7 PM Eastern Standard Time.

The department that handles Netflix inquiries would have to create a case for you and escalate it with the necessary information they need to resolve the issue and come out with a firmware update fix. But this is only possible if enough cases are opened. If not, we'll be stuck at 720p for the life of the TV.
Trendsetter88 is offline  
post #9994 of 9999 Old 08-21-2014, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
jaymerkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Peters, Mo.
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed that Netflix was only hitting 720p after reading it on here. Maybe this was their fix for the constant speed changes and flickering at every speed change that was happening?
jaymerkramer is offline  
post #9995 of 9999 Old 08-22-2014, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaymerkramer View Post
I just noticed that Netflix was only hitting 720p after reading it on here. Maybe this was their fix for the constant speed changes and flickering at every speed change that was happening?
I would said limiting streams to 720p on a 1080p TV is more of a downgrade, than a fix. It kind of defeats the purpose of having a 1080p set.

DLNA seems to be giving issues now as well with this new firmware. It can't detect my NAS drive instantly anymore like it used to--takes about five minutes or so to show up now.

Panasonic really needs to fix this firmware update. Please call so they can open a case and provide a true fix. The more calls/complaints they get the better. If they don't get any complaints we'll be stuck on 720p for the life of the TV.
Trendsetter88 is offline  
post #9996 of 9999 Old 08-23-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
rpm1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello im been trying to have a little help because my tv start to develop a big red tint circule in the middle and on the edges have a green blobs after some work i try to make some improvement into service menu and it goes ok but,,,, i didnt grote the original settings on the service menu could anyone help me find those settings..............
rpm1990 is offline  
post #9997 of 9999 Old 08-24-2014, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'd love to chime in here. I can absolutely confirm I used to have constant 1080p before the upgrade (I always used to check). I have not had it once since the upgrade.

However, calling Panasonic proved useless. After trying to blame my internet connection (a crisp 50Mbps) and netflix itself, he said that it must be an issue with netflix and NOT the panasonic TV. Real earth-shattering analysis. He did not seem knowledgable, but instead just reading off a screen.

It angers me because they take no accountability for something as black and white as a feature that worked fine before their upgrade, and now no longer works. Let's face it, 1080p and netflix is something that is heavily advertised as a feature, and a reason we bought the TV. It's not like we're asking for some obscure fix. I feel like calling back to get a supervisor, but I feel that will be equally useless.

What makes them blaming my ISP/connecton speed even more laughable is that my ISP - RCN - has an arrangement with Netflix to get a direct connection for its customers, meaning even better speeds. This is an issue with the TV - plain and simple.

Last edited by apa9999; 08-24-2014 at 07:57 AM.
apa9999 is offline  
post #9998 of 9999 Old 08-24-2014, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
gomess023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Whats up guys, this questions is more dedicated to the people who game with their st50s. Specifically the new consoles. Ps4 just added the deep color setting.

I can't remember the settings on ps3. Not really sure what it does. Do you guys keep it on auto or off? If you guys turn it on by switching to auto so proper setting be set corresponding in the ps4 and tv. Example. Rgb and y/pbr/cb are both set to auto for me, which I think defaults to limited. Have you guys fiddled around with this?
gomess023 is offline  
post #9999 of 9999 Old 08-24-2014, 01:58 PM
Member
 
roadwarrior980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have the PS4 and the ST50 and for a short time I turned deep color to on and it seemed to work without issue and I could've sworn there was some minor improvement, but it seemed to cause some handshake issues with the hdmi connection, and periodically i would see white specs on the screen. So I left it off.

I can't remember if auto had the same results or not but from my understanding the ST50 is not deep color capable. Or does it have to do with the version of HDMI cable you use? That could have also been my issue but I never really looked into it.

I leave mine off to avoid any issues, but am interested to know if anyone has been successful in using it

The PS4 and ST50, along with the Sony STR DN840 are the best setup I've had for home theater in 15 years. Granted there are always ways to improve and upgrade but I've been very impressed with PA and AQ and periodically will do minor adjustments to certain settings to see if I notice any improvements. I can remember when my ideal setup was a 40" Sony Trinitron with an Aiwa stereo hooked up to it and a DVD player. Now even cheap soundbars and LCDs and LEDs can give you a pretty good setup for almost any setting

Last edited by roadwarrior980; 08-24-2014 at 02:05 PM.
roadwarrior980 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55st50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60st50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off