Official Panasonic ST50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk] - Page 336 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10051 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 04:36 AM
Member
 
Muddeprived's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My P50ST50's internet features are fubar, especially the netflix application. Sometimes it just freezes and won't open the app and all I can do is reset all settings to factory and go through setup all over again. It's annoying so I just use my PS4's internet apps now.
Muddeprived is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10052 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 06:07 AM
Member
 
sven1olaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemrb View Post
Thanks for your input. Also, anyone know what the post prep Dnice settings are for the 55 model? Using Cnet's recommended calibration settings right now and have heard Dnice's are the best. Can't seem to locate them though.
These are DNice's POST PREP settings.


Default
North American TC-PxxST50 Reference Settings

*****Note: These settings are designed exclusively to be used on North American TC-PxxST50 displays after completing the Panel Prep procedure listed in post #1 . Please do not use these settings unless you have follow post #1 100%*****

Picture
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 76
Brightness: 56
Color: 43
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm2
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off


Pro Settings
Colorspace: Normal

W/B High R: -7
W/B High G: 0
W/B High B: -2
W/B Low R: +12
W/B Low G: 0
W/B Low B: +3

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.6 (50/55" models) 2.4 (60/65" models)
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

HDMI Settings
***Leave all settings in this menu at their default***


Advance Picture
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 PullDown: Auto

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition mediocre minds..." A. Einstein
sven1olaf is offline  
post #10053 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 06:09 AM
Member
 
sven1olaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
These are DNice's settings BEFORE ANY PREP, straight outta the box.

North American TC-PxxST50 Non Panel Prep User Settings

*****Note: These settings are designed for North American TC-PxxST50 owners who choose not to do the Panel Prep precedure listed in post #1 . Use these setting immediately after taking the display out of the box.

*****IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED YOU FOLLOW THE PANEL PREP PROCEDURE AND USE THE TC-PxxST50 REFERENCE SETTINGS DUE TO THE GRAYSCALE SHIFTING RED WITHIN THE FIRST 100 HOURS OF USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!****

Picture
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 78
Brightness: 56
Color: 45
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm2
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off


Pro Settings
Colorspace: Normal

W/B High R: +1
W/B High G: 0
W/B High B: +2
W/B Low R: +12
W/B Low G: 0
W/B Low B: +4

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.6 (50/55" models) 2.4 (60/65" models)
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

HDMI Settings
***Leave all settings in this menu at their default***


Advance Picture
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 PullDown: Auto

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition mediocre minds..." A. Einstein
sven1olaf is offline  
post #10054 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
GatorRican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sven1olaf View Post
These are DNice's settings BEFORE ANY PREP, straight outta the box.

North American TC-PxxST50 Non Panel Prep User Settings

*****Note: These settings are designed for North American TC-PxxST50 owners who choose not to do the Panel Prep precedure listed in post #1 . Use these setting immediately after taking the display out of the box.

*****IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED YOU FOLLOW THE PANEL PREP PROCEDURE AND USE THE TC-PxxST50 REFERENCE SETTINGS DUE TO THE GRAYSCALE SHIFTING RED WITHIN THE FIRST 100 HOURS OF USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!****

Picture
Picture Mode: Custom
Contrast: 78
Brightness: 56
Color: 45
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color Temp: Warm2
Photo Enhancement: Off
C.A.T.S: Off
Video NR: Off


Pro Settings
Colorspace: Normal

W/B High R: +1
W/B High G: 0
W/B High B: +2
W/B Low R: +12
W/B Low G: 0
W/B Low B: +4

Black Extension: 0
Gamma Adjustment: 2.6 (50/55" models) 2.4 (60/65" models)
Panel Brightness: Mid
Contour Emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

HDMI Settings
***Leave all settings in this menu at their default***


Advance Picture
Block NR: Off
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion Smoother: Off
Black Level: Light
3:2 PullDown: Auto
I never did the prep/slides. Now that I've owned my set since Nov 2012, should I try the POST PREP settings or should I try the BEFORE ANY PREP settings?

I currently use the Cnet settings and I am enjoying those. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

TV: Panasonic TC-P55ST50
BluRay: Panasonic DMP-BDT 220
Audio: Sony HT-CT100 (Currently testing Vizio SB4051)
Gaming: PS4
PSN: Rican21
GatorRican is offline  
post #10055 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 08:16 AM
Member
 
sven1olaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GatorRican View Post
I never did the prep/slides. Now that I've owned my set since Nov 2012, should I try the POST PREP settings or should I try the BEFORE ANY PREP settings?

I currently use the Cnet settings and I am enjoying those. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Can you post your cnet settings.

In my experience the DNice settings are far superior to any other settings. I would try the non prep settings and see what you think.

Then try the post prep settings and see if you like them more. But, in your position I would use the non prepped settings.

I ran the slides and have been running the post prep settings since I got mine back in '12. The only thing that I changed is the gamma. I dropped it to 2.2 from the assigned 2.4 in his settings, and this could just be because of ambient lighting.

Recently I got my hands on a Spears and Munsil calibration disc, http://www.amazon.com/Spears-Munsil-.../dp/B00CKWI13O, and noticed that there are some color space and clipping issues when you really dive into it.

I'm pretty sure I'm the only one who notices anything wrong because everyone is always saying how awesome it looks.

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition mediocre minds..." A. Einstein
sven1olaf is offline  
post #10056 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
GatorRican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Cnet's settings

--Picture menu
Picture mode: Custom
Contrast: +82
Brightness: +60
Color: +46
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color temp: Warm 2
Color mgmt: Off [grayed out]
C.A.T.S.: Off
Video NR: Off

-- Pro settings submenu
Color space: Normal
W/B high R: +10
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +3
W/B low R: +4
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: -2
Black extension: 0
Gamma adjustment: 2.6
Panel brightness: Mid
Contour emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

-- Aspect adjustments submenu
Screen format: Full
HD size: Size 2
H size: [grayed out]
Zoom adjustments: [grayed out]

-- HDMI settings: [no change from default]

--Advanced picture submenu
3D Y/C filter: Off [grayed out]
Color matrix: HD [grayed out]
Block NR: Off [grayed out]
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion smoother: Off
Black level: Light
3:2 pulldown: On
24p Direct in: 60Hz


http://www.cnet.com/forums/discussio...ttings-559444/

Cnet settings above
sven1olaf likes this.

TV: Panasonic TC-P55ST50
BluRay: Panasonic DMP-BDT 220
Audio: Sony HT-CT100 (Currently testing Vizio SB4051)
Gaming: PS4
PSN: Rican21

Last edited by GatorRican; 12-21-2015 at 08:31 AM.
GatorRican is offline  
post #10057 of 10074 Old 12-21-2015, 11:00 AM
Member
 
sven1olaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GatorRican View Post
Cnet's settings

--Picture menu
Picture mode: Custom
Contrast: +82
Brightness: +60
Color: +46
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color temp: Warm 2
Color mgmt: Off [grayed out]
C.A.T.S.: Off
Video NR: Off

-- Pro settings submenu
Color space: Normal
W/B high R: +10
W/B high G: 0
W/B high B: +3
W/B low R: +4
W/B low G: 0
W/B low B: -2
Black extension: 0
Gamma adjustment: 2.6
Panel brightness: Mid
Contour emphasis: Off
AGC: 0

-- Aspect adjustments submenu
Screen format: Full
HD size: Size 2
H size: [grayed out]
Zoom adjustments: [grayed out]

-- HDMI settings: [no change from default]

--Advanced picture submenu
3D Y/C filter: Off [grayed out]
Color matrix: HD [grayed out]
Block NR: Off [grayed out]
Mosquito NR: Off
Motion smoother: Off
Black level: Light
3:2 pulldown: On
24p Direct in: 60Hz


http://www.cnet.com/forums/discussio...ttings-559444/

Cnet settings above
thank you.

Fyi, those settings are for the 55" panel. There are variations between the sizes that have been found.

I'm working on compiling as much cal data as I can find and then working on coming up with a set of ranges to utilize.

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition mediocre minds..." A. Einstein
sven1olaf is offline  
post #10058 of 10074 Old 12-25-2015, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
KurtCocain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys, what about the 50 inch European version of the set? What is the latest and greatest on the settings? I have been using it with True Cinema and I do not think I see the settings mentioned above.
KurtCocain is offline  
post #10059 of 10074 Old 12-27-2015, 12:26 PM
Member
 
jshukers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Xmas Lights Line of Death?

Got a vertical Green, red and white line running from the top of my 65" ST50 on the right side of my screen. Is this serviceable? It's out of warranty. Sorry if this has been covered.

Thnx for any suggestions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	plasma line.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	1144826  
jshukers is offline  
post #10060 of 10074 Old 01-06-2016, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A 'New' ST50 owner here. I picked up a used 60" ST50 on craigslist, about 1800hrs on the panel, but in flawless condition (he even had the box still). This is replacing a 55" ST30 I had.

Used D-nices settings as a base to start and then slightly tweaked. Im using Warm1 instead of 2, as others have said for whatever reason Warm2 is very very warm looking, far beyond what my ST30 was.

The ST50's blacks a noticeably darker. Overall it can output a good deal more light than the ST30, which is welcome. But has anyone noticed that going from Low to Mid Panel Brightness (or back) results in virtually no difference?

Im very pleased with the upgrade, considering it only cost me $150 between what I paid and what I sold my ST30 for.
Evan Trent is offline  
post #10061 of 10074 Old 01-06-2016, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A 'New' ST50 owner here. I picked up a used 60" ST50 on craigslist, about 1800hrs on the panel, but in flawless condition (he even had the box still). This is replacing a 55" ST30 I had.

Used D-nices settings as a base to start and then slightly tweaked. Im using Warm1 instead of 2, as others have said for whatever reason Warm2 is very very warm looking, far beyond what my ST30 was.

The ST50's blacks are noticeably darker. It also seems to handle color gradients much better than the ST30, with less banding occurring. Overall it can output a good deal more light than the ST30, which is welcome. But has anyone noticed that going from Low to Mid Panel Brightness (or back) results in virtually no difference?

Im very pleased with the upgrade, considering it only cost me $150 between what I paid and what I sold my ST30 for.
Evan Trent is offline  
post #10062 of 10074 Old 01-06-2016, 07:25 AM
Member
 
sven1olaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Trent View Post
A 'New' ST50 owner here. I picked up a used 60" ST50 on craigslist, about 1800hrs on the panel, but in flawless condition (he even had the box still). This is replacing a 55" ST30 I had.

Used D-nices settings as a base to start and then slightly tweaked. Im using Warm1 instead of 2, as others have said for whatever reason Warm2 is very very warm looking, far beyond what my ST30 was.

The ST50's blacks a noticeably darker. Overall it can output a good deal more light than the ST30, which is welcome. But has anyone noticed that going from Low to Mid Panel Brightness (or back) results in virtually no difference?

Im very pleased with the upgrade, considering it only cost me $150 between what I paid and what I sold my ST30 for.
I have not found any need to adjust the panel brightness (low, mid, high) setting. There is plenty of brightness available without having to effect the baseline. Try lowering your gamma to 2.2, or lower if needed, instead.

I find that warm 2, with appropriate color adjustment and brightness/contrast settings, looks the best. Warm 1 seems overly flat and washed out.

Did you use a calibration disk, or just eyeball it?

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition mediocre minds..." A. Einstein
sven1olaf is offline  
post #10063 of 10074 Old 01-06-2016, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sven1olaf View Post
I have not found any need to adjust the panel brightness (low, mid, high) setting. There is plenty of brightness available without having to effect the baseline. Try lowering your gamma to 2.2, or lower if needed, instead.

I find that warm 2, with appropriate color adjustment and brightness/contrast settings, looks the best. Warm 1 seems overly flat and washed out.

Did you use a calibration disk, or just eyeball it?
Agreed on the Panel Brightness, it was more just an observation than anything, I left at Mid per D-Nice's settings,.

I used a Calibration disc to further tweak D-Nice's settings. I could never get Warm 2 to come out as I would like and again it was dramatically different than the ST30 on the Warm 2 setting. Maybe some kind of panel variation.

Overall really happy with how it is, the deeper blacks and the increase in brightness really made a nice upgrade over an already good ST30 (I use this in light controlled environment so the ST30 never struggled due to natural light)
Evan Trent is offline  
post #10064 of 10074 Old 01-19-2016, 08:20 AM
Member
 
sven1olaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Trent View Post
Agreed on the Panel Brightness, it was more just an observation than anything, I left at Mid per D-Nice's settings,.

I used a Calibration disc to further tweak D-Nice's settings. I could never get Warm 2 to come out as I would like and again it was dramatically different than the ST30 on the Warm 2 setting. Maybe some kind of panel variation.

Overall really happy with how it is, the deeper blacks and the increase in brightness really made a nice upgrade over an already good ST30 (I use this in light controlled environment so the ST30 never struggled due to natural light)

there are for sure differences in the panels between the ST30 and ST50. My only regrets about my ST50 is that I couldn't get a ZT50. But with 4k on the rise, I'm sure I'll be in the market for one of those within the next couple of years.

"Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition mediocre minds..." A. Einstein
sven1olaf is offline  
post #10065 of 10074 Old 01-28-2016, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by sven1olaf View Post
My only regrets about my ST50 is that I couldn't get a ZT50. But with 4k on the rise, I'm sure I'll be in the market for one of those within the next couple of years.

I remember when the reviews of the ST50 came out it was agreed that the set bested the previous model ZT. That was good enough for me.


I was an early adopter when HD panels first came out and over-paid on what turned out to be a crummy display. Now I just wait for the market to mature a bit and then get the middle of the road set.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #10066 of 10074 Old 02-02-2016, 06:32 AM
Member
 
Amays32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dish HD and 60st50

Does anyone else who is still active on this thread have an ST50 and Dish Network? I am not at all satisfied with the picture quality and it has me questioning the TV but it has to be the source because video games and blurays look phenomenal. I am coming over from DirecTV to save a few bucks but it might have been a mistake.

PSN: amays32
Amays32 is offline  
post #10067 of 10074 Old 04-12-2016, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amays32 View Post
Does anyone else who is still active on this thread have an ST50 and Dish Network? I am not at all satisfied with the picture quality and it has me questioning the TV but it has to be the source because video games and blurays look phenomenal. I am coming over from DirecTV to save a few bucks but it might have been a mistake.
60st50 here with Dish. I've always been happy with it, but considering a Vizio p65 soon. I don't own a Bluray. Regular HD content looks great.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Last edited by tcat; 04-17-2016 at 03:26 PM.
tcat is online now  
post #10068 of 10074 Old 05-02-2016, 12:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powers16 View Post
I was reading the Official Panasonic VT50 forums about input lag on that panel as well. Someone in that thread talked about how he was able to reduce the input lag in custom mode by disabling Viera Link and bluetooth settings. I disabled Viera Link and tested this myself and it DOES seem to reduce input lag enough in custom mode to make games playable in that mode. This may be strictly placebo effect happening here but it really did feel like it made a difference. Could anyone else test this as well? And does anyone know how to disable bluetooth on the ST50?
Did anyone ever get to the bottom of this?

And Powers16, do you play multiplayer PC FPS games (e.g. Counterstrike) on your ST50? If so, how's it perform?
plasmasomanychoices is offline  
post #10069 of 10074 Old 05-02-2016, 03:29 AM
Newbie
 
izlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Official Panasonic ST50 Series Discussion Thread [No Street Price Talk]

Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmasomanychoices View Post
Did anyone ever get to the bottom of this?

And Powers16, do you play multiplayer PC FPS games (e.g. Counterstrike) on your ST50? If so, how's it perform?
Did you try Game mode? It's stated in the manual that because image is not processed in game mode there's zero latency.

I don't believe that Viera link and/or Bluetooth settings affect latency.

Last edited by izlu; 05-02-2016 at 03:46 AM.
izlu is offline  
post #10070 of 10074 Old 05-05-2016, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by izlu View Post
Did you try Game mode? It's stated in the manual that because image is not processed in game mode there's zero latency.

I don't believe that Viera link and/or Bluetooth settings affect latency.
I don't actually have an ST50, was thinking about getting one.

Anyone know how it compares with the G10?

As far as I can tell here's what I've gleaned:

ST50
-better picture quality (more accurate colors / wider gamut)
-better blacks
-perhaps slightly worse motion resolution (900 vs G10's full 1080 lines)
-softer picture
-input lag is supposed to be fast, but then again, it has been measured as slow as 48ms (Bodnar rating) by a UK reviewer. However hdtvtest.co.uk (16ms via stopwatch) and displaylag.com both indicate similar measurements (40ms via bodnar)

G10
-worse blacks, although perhaps improved by the $50 widget
-less accurate colors
-better motion res
-much sharper picture
-negligible input lag, if you believe hdtvtest.co.uk -- they measured it at an astounding 10-15ms ("up to 21 ms faster than a reference display that measures 30ms vs a CRT")

Input lag is unfortunately a dealbreaker---even if I had enough money, it's not super practical to switch TVs every time I wanna game instead of watching media
plasmasomanychoices is offline  
post #10071 of 10074 Old 05-05-2016, 09:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
edit: and now I see the edit option, and also managed to double post my addendum. lol.

Last edited by plasmasomanychoices; 05-05-2016 at 09:54 PM.
plasmasomanychoices is offline  
post #10072 of 10074 Old 05-05-2016, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmasomanychoices View Post
I don't actually have an ST50, was thinking about getting one.

Anyone know how it compares with the G10?

As far as I can tell here's what I've gleaned:

ST50
-better picture quality (more accurate colors / wider gamut)
-better blacks
-perhaps slightly worse motion resolution (900 vs G10's full 1080 lines)
-softer picture
-input lag is supposed to be fast, but then again, it has been measured as slow as 48ms (Bodnar rating) by a UK reviewer. However hdtvtest.co.uk (16ms via stopwatch) and displaylag.com both indicate similar measurements (40ms via bodnar)

G10
-worse blacks, although perhaps improved by the $50 widget
-less accurate colors
-better motion res
-much sharper picture
-negligible input lag, if you believe hdtvtest.co.uk -- they measured it at an astounding 10-15ms ("up to 21 ms faster than a reference display that measures 30ms vs a CRT")

Input lag is unfortunately a dealbreaker---even if I had enough money, it's not super practical to switch TVs every time I wanna game instead of watching media
Sorry for the double post, I can't ifgure out how to edit my old one.

One addition: the G10 almost feels like it was made to be a computer monitor, the picture is super crisp.

Also, supposedly the ST50 is much more vulnerable to burn in. As someone who has played 4-5 hours of a single game on my G10, I've only ONCE seen image retention, and it went away after 45 minutes of a different game
plasmasomanychoices is offline  
post #10073 of 10074 Old 05-22-2016, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
TC-P60ST50 - Physically cracked screen & 7 blink. Any chance of fix?

First off, I apologize if there's a more appropriate place to post this. I've done some reading and it seems like this may be the right place. Please feel free to redirect me if needed.

My 2 year old son threw a metal beater for a triangle (musical instrument) and it struck the screen tip first and as soon as it happened, the tv shut itself off and is now doing the 7 blink of death. What's odd to me is that, while there's a small dent in the glass and some short cracks emanating from it, I'm surprised it'd completely kill the TV. I assumed that maybe the colors could be off there or that some pixels could be ruined, but it visually isn't catastrophic looking damage.

I've done some reading, and it seems like SC board replacement is a common suggestion. But, I'm skeptical that replacing that board would necessarily solve my issue. Is the screen being (slightly) cracked a death sentence (would it just short out any replacement board or not power up?)? If a replacement board would at least render the display functional (but with a crack), I'd be willing to go that route for use in a spare room.

Any advice or feedback would be greatly appreciated. I'm just technical enough to be dangerous, so if there's a way I can test the existing boards to figure out if some/all are bad I'm willing to give it a whirl. Similarly, if I'm best off just getting a new TV and selling off some of the internal components I'd do that too.

Thanks!
Killboy314 is offline  
post #10074 of 10074 Old 07-22-2016, 10:35 AM
Member
 
norman.bradford@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killboy314 View Post
First off, I apologize if there's a more appropriate place to post this. I've done some reading and it seems like this may be the right place. Please feel free to redirect me if needed.

My 2 year old son threw a metal beater for a triangle (musical instrument) and it struck the screen tip first and as soon as it happened, the tv shut itself off and is now doing the 7 blink of death. What's odd to me is that, while there's a small dent in the glass and some short cracks emanating from it, I'm surprised it'd completely kill the TV. I assumed that maybe the colors could be off there or that some pixels could be ruined, but it visually isn't catastrophic looking damage.

I've done some reading, and it seems like SC board replacement is a common suggestion. But, I'm skeptical that replacing that board would necessarily solve my issue. Is the screen being (slightly) cracked a death sentence (would it just short out any replacement board or not power up?)? If a replacement board would at least render the display functional (but with a crack), I'd be willing to go that route for use in a spare room.

Any advice or feedback would be greatly appreciated. I'm just technical enough to be dangerous, so if there's a way I can test the existing boards to figure out if some/all are bad I'm willing to give it a whirl. Similarly, if I'm best off just getting a new TV and selling off some of the internal components I'd do that too.

Thanks!
I need ur parts or I'll sell u my panel.... The HDMI board needs replaced, I have been using component input; unstable red
image just started, so the main board needs replaced. Your parts in my TV.

Thanks,
Norm
norman.bradford@ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Viera Tc P65st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic , Displays , Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Viera Tc P55st50 55 Inch Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P50st50 Plasma Tv , Panasonic Viera Tc P60st50 Plasma Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off