Official Samsung PNXXE7000 - PNXXE8000 owners thread - Page 124 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 4310 Old 03-03-2013, 07:22 PM
Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Well for a update on searching for diff. tv i went to look at the Elite and it def is awesome but when i got home i started unplugging all my h.t. gear(oppo,pioneer elite avr) and i heard a small buzz coming from my subwoofer. I disconnected it and now all i hear is a faint buzz from the 60e7000 so i am thinking i may stick with it after all. I am gonna order another sub and i can deal with the small buzz from the tv now. I put the tv sound volume at 8 and can not hear the tv buzz inless i mute the tv,does this sound ok or should it not be heard at all?
evoll88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Icon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post

Well for a update on searching for diff. tv i went to look at the Elite and it def is awesome but when i got home i started unplugging all my h.t. gear(oppo,pioneer elite avr) and i heard a small buzz coming from my subwoofer. I disconnected it and now all i hear is a faint buzz from the 60e7000 so i am thinking i may stick with it after all. I am gonna order another sub and i can deal with the small buzz from the tv now. I put the tv sound volume at 8 and can not hear the tv buzz inless i mute the tv,does this sound ok or should it not be heard at all?
Many audio receivers have an electrical outlet on the back which is a switching power supply. If you plug your subwoofer into it, the sub will power on/off when you power your avr.

THE ALL MIGHTY MACACASIAH HAS SPOKEN!
Icon13 is offline  
post #3693 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Dino520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe a dumb question...Is there any alternative or substitute/swap out to the chicken foot stand? Thanks in advance..
Dino520 is offline  
post #3694 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 08:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino520 View Post

Maybe a dumb question...Is there any alternative or substitute/swap out to the chicken foot stand? Thanks in advance..
You can hang it on a wall.
htwaits is offline  
post #3695 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Dino520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uh...thanks...I knew that. But that's not what I have in mind. Might there be some kind of universal stand that it could be swapped for?
Dino520 is offline  
post #3696 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 09:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino520 View Post

Uh...thanks...I knew that. But that's not what I have in mind. Might there be some kind of universal stand that it could be swapped for?
Maybe but I've never heard of one. This should be a good place to find out.

You might contact Samsung to find out if any of their other models use a stand that will also fit yours. If so you could buy one as a replacement part.
htwaits is offline  
post #3697 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Dino520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good idea..Thanks.
Dino520 is offline  
post #3698 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 10:00 PM
Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icon13 View Post

Many audio receivers have an electrical outlet on the back which is a switching power supply. If you plug your subwoofer into it, the sub will power on/off when you power your avr.
Cool,i didnt know that and will check to see if mine does. Thanks for the info.
evoll88 is offline  
post #3699 of 4310 Old 03-04-2013, 10:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino520 View Post

Good idea..Thanks.
I hope that works because I will be very surprised it you find a third party stand.
htwaits is offline  
post #3700 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Icon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Maybe but I've never heard of one. This should be a good place to find out.

You might contact Samsung to find out if any of their other models use a stand that will also fit yours. If so you could buy one as a replacement part.
Actually, if you read the thread you will see that I use my old D series stand on my E series. My E was a replacement set, so I kept the D stand because the chicken foot did not fit my setup. The trick is that the plastic bracket (called a guide) that screws into the back of the TV and into the top of the stand of the E series also fits perfectly into the top of the D series stand. The holes line up flawlessly and the screws are identical. DO NOT ASK SAMSUNG BECAUSE THEY WILL DENY THAT THE STANDS ARE INTERCHANGEABLE, CITING IT TO BE LIABILITY, lol. BS, I beg to differ. Here is a link where you can order a brand new D series stand directly from Samsung (the D series guide is not included nor will you need it):

http://www.samsungparts.com/Default.aspx

However, it seems that most D stand models are out of stock and I do not see them restocking them anytime soon. What model & size do you have, Dino520?

*I would also assume that the E550 stand would work too. It looks the same as the D series stand, however I have no way to check. Just be sure to get the proper size as one works only for the 51 inch, and the other is for the two larger sizes (59 & 64 for 2011/ 60 & 64 for 2012).

THE ALL MIGHTY MACACASIAH HAS SPOKEN!
Icon13 is offline  
post #3701 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 01:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icon13 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Maybe but I've never heard of one. This should be a good place to find out.

You might contact Samsung to find out if any of their other models use a stand that will also fit yours. If so you could buy one as a replacement part.
Actually, if you read the thread you will see that I use my old D series stand on my E series.
Thanks for the solid information. That's what AVS is all about.

Maybe someone in the owner's thread for the D models has a stand that they will sell.

It seems like some try to read every post in any thread that they are active in, but I'm just here looking for owner's who have reported having their displays professionally calibrated. That's what the link in the signature area of my posts is about. smile.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #3702 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 01:13 AM
Member
 
Dino520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PN60e7000...on the way. Can you tell me which D series stands will work...A D series model number? Thanks.
Dino520 is offline  
post #3703 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 10:58 AM
Member
 
boondongle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Ebay has them for $70.

Amazon for $105.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SAMSUNG-PN51D7000FF-PLASMA-HDTV-BASE-STAND-BN96-18954B-/170751101511

Google Part # BN96-18954B for the 51" version.

Been tempted to get one myself.
boondongle is offline  
post #3704 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
Mallen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes they do.
Mallen1 is offline  
post #3705 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
Mallen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes the PN8000E has Smart Evolution.
Mallen1 is offline  
post #3706 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Icon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino520 View Post

PN60e7000...on the way. Can you tell me which D series stands will work...A D series model number? Thanks.
PN64D7000 and PN59D7000 both use the same stand and is the one that you need. You could probably use the PN60E550 / PN64E550 stand, but keep in mind it is black.

Update: So, I went ahead and called Samsungparts.com for you. Here is the part you need:

http://www.samsungparts.com/Products/Parts_and_Accessories/PID-BN96-18955B.aspx?model=

I stand corrected, you can still get out of stock items afterall. Samsungsparts.com will order the part once you place your order. The part will be shipped to them directly from Samsung within 3 to 5 business days, and then they will send it out to you. They do it this way because they no longer stock that item in the Samsungparts.com warehouse. You can also try calling 1-800-SAMSUNG to see if you can order the part direct for cheaper. YOU ARE WELCOME biggrin.gif

They can send my commission check in the mail, lol.

THE ALL MIGHTY MACACASIAH HAS SPOKEN!
Icon13 is offline  
post #3707 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 01:21 PM
Member
 
boondongle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
There's also this guy just a couple of threads away…. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1461786/anyone-need-parts#post_23044188
boondongle is offline  
post #3708 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Icon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Some of the lower end F series are for sale on Samsung.com, but with limited specs.

More info: http://pn64f8500.com/

THE ALL MIGHTY MACACASIAH HAS SPOKEN!
Icon13 is offline  
post #3709 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 05:08 PM
Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
For blu ray should cinema smooth be on or off??
evoll88 is offline  
post #3710 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post

For blu ray should cinema smooth be on or off??
I would never use that type of feature. It will kill most of the extra detail that Blu-ray brings you.
htwaits is offline  
post #3711 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 4,925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Its equivilent to 96hz on the panasonics

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #3712 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Member
 
badboy808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is dynamic mode the best Picture setting for Gaming? I have a PN51E8000??
badboy808 is offline  
post #3713 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 06:05 PM
Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I would never use that type of feature. It will kill most of the extra detail that Blu-ray brings you.
O wow i didnt know that,thanks for the help and i will turn it off.
evoll88 is offline  
post #3714 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 06:09 PM
Member
 
fajitamosaic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

Its equivilent to 96hz on the panasonics
So wouldn't that be a good thing, then? Less jerky motion?
fajitamosaic is offline  
post #3715 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 06:23 PM
Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I just started reading up on C.S. and some people are saying to turn it on that it doesnt hurt picture color/quality and is alot smoother,now i am confused if i should turn it on or off??
evoll88 is offline  
post #3716 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 06:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,709
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by evoll88 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I would never use that type of feature. It will kill most of the extra detail that Blu-ray brings you.
O wow i didnt know that,thanks for the help and i will turn it off.
Sitting too far away from your screen will also cause a loss of detail. The difference is that motion control will also make faces look like everyone is using heavy makeup much like what you might see if you watched afternoon Soaps. wink.gif
htwaits is offline  
post #3717 of 4310 Old 03-05-2013, 10:25 PM
Member
 
OfficialPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy808 View Post

Is dynamic mode the best Picture setting for Gaming? I have a PN51E8000??

Use game mode
Icon13 likes this.
OfficialPG is offline  
post #3718 of 4310 Old 03-06-2013, 12:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Icon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Sitting too far away from your screen will also cause a loss of detail. The difference is that motion control will also make faces look like everyone is using heavy makeup much like what you might see if you watched afternoon Soaps. wink.gif
Actually, I disagree. This is not a motion smoother and there are no interpolated frames. CS should be on. It just repeats each frame 4 times (96hz /4:4 pulldown) to remove flicker caused by 24 fps and motion jerking caused by 3:2 pulldown conversion @ 60hz. It is the only way to watch movies in their native form (because 96hz is a multiple of 24). When CS is off your 24p movies will be coverted to 60hz by adding 3:2 pulldown (even though the screen says 24hz with CS off; that is what the incoming signal is and not what you see on the screen). Coverting to 3:2 pulldown @ 60hz because you have CS off is not native and is altering the original blu-ray source. Samsung could have easily designed CS to operate @ 24hz (1:1 pulldown) instead, but at that slow of a refresh rate the picture would flicker.

People often get CS confused with motion smoother/dejudder of LCD due to "smooth" being in the title. wink.gif


THE ALL MIGHTY MACACASIAH HAS SPOKEN!
Icon13 is offline  
post #3719 of 4310 Old 03-06-2013, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
icelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy808 View Post

Is dynamic mode the best Picture setting for Gaming? I have a PN51E8000??

"Gaming mode" found under the System Settings submenu will work on every input, even component. It will disable most of the advanced processing features to reduce the inherent Display Lag in a plasma TV (or any other modern HDTV for that matter).

For further reference see here:
http://www.displaylag.com/how-to-enable-game-mode-on-your-hdtv/

In addition Samsung provides a "PC mode" that further decreases the display lag on their plasma TV's. However the general consensus is that this mode only works on the PC/DVI HDMI input, which on your TV should be HDMI 1. If you wish to use this mode make sure you are connected to HDMI 1, press the Device Input button on the remote, highlight HDMI 1 and then press the Tools button. From there select Rename (or Edit) and then select PC from the available list.

Do note that using HDMI 1 means you lose the Audio Return Channel functionality that is included with HDMI 2. Personally I get around this by using a $20 HDMI splitter from Monoprice so I can game on HDMI 1 and do everything else on HDMI 2.

Regardless, as a recent E7000 series owner, I would highly recommend you turn down the Cell light and Contrast settings when gaming until the TV has a good 300 hours on it to minimize the potential of Image Retention. Even with limiting my gaming sessions to 2 or 3 hours at a time with the TV set to Game Mode and Standard Picture settings I experienced very noticeable IR on the lower right hand corner of the display where Black Ops 2 shows a constant white on black graphic during gameplay. I was able to effectively remove this IR prior to returning the TV, but it took days of alternate programming. If you can game happily with the Cell light at 18 (or 1 or 2 less) and Contrast down around 60 until the plasma cells age I think that is a prudent preventative measure to take.
icelt is offline  
post #3720 of 4310 Old 03-06-2013, 08:40 AM
Member
 
cerchiarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icon13 View Post

I use the Plex app all the time. I am surprised nobody mentioned it. By far the best app out there! It is far superior to the built in media player. It can fix aspect ratios, including in 3d. Not only does it stream your media wirelessly from cpu to tv, but it downloads the cover art and movie/show info into its media library. Slick, indeed.

Did you ever find out if there was a work around to get cinema smooth enabled for Plex?
cerchiarax is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn60e6500 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Slim Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off