Official Samsung PNXXE7000 - PNXXE8000 owners thread - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Powerage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding E7 vs 8000
I asked a lower level samsung tech a rather simple question regarding the 2012 plasma line he couldn't answer. I think his supervisor may have been a little embarrassed as I received a call from a top tier engineer. He confidently stated that in his opinion the E8000 employs the Best "Picture Quality Technology" samsung has ever manufactured. he also stated the reasons why. Better processor aids in more fluid movement & video processing. Slightly different panel resulting in "richer blacks".

I did a little footwork & visited bb magnolia room & compared the E7-8000. I found the E8000 had deeper black & slightly more detail. For these reasons I chose the E8000. The price difference was negligible. For what its worth I have no need for the Voice/PC features although comforting to know it has a good processor if needed in the future. I build an HTPC about every 2 years so Picture/Performance are my only concerns. Hope this helps some who are on the fence like I was.
Powerage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 06:08 AM
Member
 
ricard2798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok, i have a really dumb question... Butbtrust me there is reason behind it. If someone gave u a choice between the 51" e7000 and e8000. And they say the price will be the SAME ( best buy messed in my favor)... Would u keep the 8000 or return it and get a 7000? and i agree, the voice and motion controls are gimmicky and dont work too precise.... Thank God for the harmony remote!
ricard2798 is offline  
post #2253 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

I have the 60e7000 and i did something really dumb and started trying to get into the Service Menu because I read somewhere about it maybe fixing my wifi not connecting. I know this is going to sound dumb but I was going thru the menu and didn't realize the arrow keys would change certain settings. I think I messed with a lot of the settings. There was some setting called hdmi auto cal or something and I also hit that. My picture looks really wierd now. It's really dark and has a really bad red tint.
Is there any possible way to return the service menu settings to default. I tried all the reset options and they didn't work.
I feel really dumb.

I know this is a huge favor to ask but would anyone be willing to take some photos of there service menu.

There is also a option to back it up to USB.

I know this is a big favor and I can understand if nobody will do it. I feel so dumb I messed with the service menu.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2254 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:40 PM
Member
 
swillis55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ON, CAN
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Why not just do a factory reset within the service menu?
swillis55 is offline  
post #2255 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

I know this is a huge favor to ask but would anyone be willing to take some photos of there service menu.
There is also a option to back it up to USB.
I know this is a big favor and I can understand if nobody will do it. I feel so dumb I messed with the service menu.

Try asking on craigs list for help.
could be a guy right down your street that would be happy to come over and help.
sonyfan is offline  
post #2256 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by swillis55 View Post

Why not just do a factory reset within the service menu?

I tried that but some of the settings are still not returning. I really messed something up. I was able to get a normal picture but thats with brightness at 100 when I would get the same picture before with brightness at 45. I still have a red tint also. I messed with the light output somehow. There are 2 factory resets in the service menu and I tried them both.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2257 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

Try asking on craigs list for help.
could be a guy right down your street that would be happy to come over and help.

Ya I was thinking about just paying and getting it fully calibrated. Would a professional calibrator be able to reverse what I did? Could I have caused permanent damage?
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2258 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
dad0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricard2798 View Post

Ok, i have a really dumb question... Butbtrust me there is reason behind it. If someone gave u a choice between the 51" e7000 and e8000. And they say the price will be the SAME ( best buy messed in my favor)... Would u keep the 8000 or return it and get a 7000? and i agree, the voice and motion controls are gimmicky and dont work too precise.... Thank God for the harmony remote!

Obviously go with the 8000. The only people saying the PQ on the 7000 is better are 7000 owners. Also, don't forget that the 8000 has the evolution kit upgradability, while the 7000 does not.

TC-P65VT50
Marantz NR1403
Bose Acoustimass 10
Panasonic BDT220 Blu Ray Player
dad0118 is offline  
post #2259 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad0118 View Post

Obviously go with the 8000. The only people saying the PQ on the 7000 is better are 7000 owners. Also, don't forget that the 8000 has the evolution kit upgradability, while the 7000 does not.

I have the 60 inch 7000 and mine has the evolution kit. There is a sticker that says it right where it is with a picture on how to remove it. I'm not saying the 7000 is the same but it does have the kit. Since I messed up my tv I am thinking of returning and upgrading to the 8000.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2260 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I keep thinking about going with the 6500. A couple reviews said the video processing wasn't as good as 8000 but that it had more shadow detail. That's the only problem I have with this tv and if the 6500 has same blacks with better detail it might be perfect. I have to find the review where I read that.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2261 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
PeterG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

I keep thinking about going with the 6500. A couple reviews said the video processing wasn't as good as 8000 but that it had more shadow detail. That's the only problem I have with this tv and if the 6500 has same blacks with better detail it might be perfect. I have to find the review where I read that.

The review was in this thread I believe - On Cnet where there were reviews of both the 6500 and the 8000. These were done by two different calibrators.

Here is a bit:

"Side by side with the E8000 it was apparent that the two TVs were almost identical aside from the E6500's superior shadow detail. The E6500's edge in shadow detail could be explained by differences in calibration -- when we experimented by using the +1 gamma setting on the E8000, its shadow detail improved. That said, the E8000 also supposedly offers a "Local Contrast Enhancer" that might be affecting its shadow detail adversely. ".

Remember these are two different TVs with the normal mass production variance between models (even though they are slightly different but the panels are essentially the same).

By the way, in what mode did you attempt to adjust your TV (before you went into the SM). Movie or Standard?
PeterG is offline  
post #2262 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterG View Post

The review was in this thread I believe - On Cnet where there were reviews of both the 6500 and the 8000. These were done by two different calibrators.
Here is a bit:
"Side by side with the E8000 it was apparent that the two TVs were almost identical aside from the E6500's superior shadow detail. The E6500's edge in shadow detail could be explained by differences in calibration -- when we experimented by using the +1 gamma setting on the E8000, its shadow detail improved. That said, the E8000 also supposedly offers a "Local Contrast Enhancer" that might be affecting its shadow detail adversely. ".
Remember these are two different TVs with the normal mass production variance between models (even though they are slightly different but the panels are essentially the same).
By the way, in what mode did you attempt to adjust your TV (before you went into the SM). Movie or Standard?

I adjusted the settings in movie mode.

I wasn't trying to calibrate it. My set will not connect to my wifi. Ethernet works but no wifi. I read in the middle of this thread somewhere that someone went into the service menu and backed out and it fixed his internet issues. So I figured I would try it. Once I got into the menu I got curious and looked at all the settings. At one point I pushed the arrow buttons and it changed some settings. I also hit some hdmi auto calibrate setting which changed the picture and then at the end said failed. I think this is where the changes happened. I had no business going in there and I feel really dumb now.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2263 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
dad0118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Question - is the e8000 able to create the "soap opera" effect similar to the samsung LEDs? I saw a "Cinema Smooth" option on the floor modle and i wasn't sure if that is what it was for.

TC-P65VT50
Marantz NR1403
Bose Acoustimass 10
Panasonic BDT220 Blu Ray Player
dad0118 is offline  
post #2264 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad0118 View Post

Question - is the e8000 able to create the "soap opera" effect similar to the samsung LEDs? I saw a "Cinema Smooth" option on the floor modle and i wasn't sure if that is what it was for.
The cinema smooth is for watching 1080p content with proper film cadence 1080p/24p. I believe that it is content sensitive and can playback at 48hz,96hz and 120hz without the soap opera effect or motion artifact related to the interpolation technology of LED/LCD.
Dr.Shankenstein is online now  
post #2265 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post

The cinema smooth is for watching 1080p content with proper film cadence 1080p/24p. I believe that it is content sensitive and can playback at 48hz,96hz and 120hz without the soap opera effect or motion artifact related to the interpolation technology of LED/LCD.

Dr. what is the progress on your blob/clouds and how many hours on the set now?
Also how is the shadow detail and heat output?
My shadow detail and heat level is now normal after more than 800 hours!
shadow detail was was little to nothing when it was new.
sonyfan is offline  
post #2266 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

Dr. what is the progress on your blob/clouds and how many hours on the set now?
Also how is the shadow detail and heat output?
My shadow detail and heat level is now normal after more than 800 hours!
shadow detail was was little to nothing when it was new.

Do you guys really think the shadow detail improves over time. I really love this tv but dark scenes aren't that great. I only have about 60 hours on it. This tv would be perfect if it improved a little bit. I don't see why that would happen.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2267 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
PeterG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

Dr. what is the progress on your blob/clouds and how many hours on the set now?
Also how is the shadow detail and heat output?
My shadow detail and heat level is now normal after more than 800 hours!
shadow detail was was little to nothing when it was new.

What is your size and model number Sonyfan?
PeterG is offline  
post #2268 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

I adjusted the settings in movie mode.
I wasn't trying to calibrate it. My set will not connect to my wifi. Ethernet works but no wifi. I read in the middle of this thread somewhere that someone went into the service menu and backed out and it fixed his internet issues. So I figured I would try it. Once I got into the menu I got curious and looked at all the settings. At one point I pushed the arrow buttons and it changed some settings. I also hit some hdmi auto calibrate setting which changed the picture and then at the end said failed. I think this is where the changes happened. I had no business going in there and I feel really dumb now.


Read these posts from the D series calibration thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333561/samsung-d7000-d8000-settings-calibration-thread/1620#post_21329469

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333561/samsung-d7000-d8000-settings-calibration-thread/1620#post_21329776


There is a long thread about this over in the calibration forum but I can't find it right now.


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2269 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Powerage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad0118 View Post

Question - is the e8000 able to create the "soap opera" effect similar to the samsung LEDs? I saw a "Cinema Smooth" option on the floor modle and i wasn't sure if that is what it was for.

No Unfortunately Its Not what it sounds like. Its for 24-FPS Mode. I miss that feature also. On my Panasonic plasma its called "Motion Smoother" I use it often.

Regardless the E8000 has very smooth video motion out of the box so no smoother really needed. The PND7000 I had before this was not nearly this smooth neither was the E7000 I demo'd.
Powerage is offline  
post #2270 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterG View Post

What is your size and model number Sonyfan?

I have the E450 43". Dish HD and DVR 95% of the time.
Now I have an amazing picture and people who see it don't believe it's only a 720.
that's the best part, the reaction. LOL...........
sonyfan is offline  
post #2271 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Read these posts from the D series calibration thread.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333561/samsung-d7000-d8000-settings-calibration-thread/1620#post_21329469
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333561/samsung-d7000-d8000-settings-calibration-thread/1620#post_21329776
There is a long thread about this over in the calibration forum but I can't find it right now.
Larry

Thanks a lot. I think this is exactly what I did. I am going to read it now.

The only other option I messed up was something called front color, not font color but front color. Would changing that affect the picture at all.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2272 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

Thanks a lot. I think this is exactly what I did. I am going to read it now.
The only other option I messed up was something called front color, not font color but front color. Would changing that affect the picture at all.


I don't know about the 'front color' item. I have too strong a technical background to start playing with such vaguely named controls.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2273 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

I don't know about the 'front color' item. I have too strong a technical background to start playing with such vaguely named controls.
Larry

I obviously made a mistake and I'm not looking for any sympathy. I feel really stupid. I just figured that maybe I could get some help from this thread. Thank you for the last links.

I can also try and help someone if they need to know where something is in the service menu. Now that I have already messed something up I know that the arrows will change the values. Before i try and get everything back to normal if someone has a question I can check the service menu for you.

There are some really cool slides and test patterns in the service menu.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2274 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I ran a lot of the slides from the service menu and this tv is very uniform with hardly any banding or DSE.

Also I have been watching whatever I want without breaking it in and I have also watched a lot of ESPN and Yankees and there are no signs of IR at all. If the shadow detail was better this would be the perfect tv. Except for the mild buzzing I hear which is kind of annoying but the tv is amazing I think it's worth it.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2275 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
BTW, according to the service manuals for the D7000 and D8000, the default setting for 'front color' is "P-W-Vio."


Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2276 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Read these posts from the D series calibration thread.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333561/samsung-d7000-d8000-settings-calibration-thread/1620#post_21329469
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1333561/samsung-d7000-d8000-settings-calibration-thread/1620#post_21329776
There is a long thread about this over in the calibration forum but I can't find it right now.
Larry

That was really cool. Thanks. I put the checkerboard pattern in full screen on my pc and connected it to the input I messed up and did the hdmi calibration and now it says success. I am going to see if the picture is better now. Thanks a lot for your help.
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2277 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

BTW, according to the service manuals for the D7000 and D8000, the default setting for 'front color' is "P-W-Vio."
Larry

I just changed it to that so hopefully it's the right one. Thanks so much for the help. You helped me a lot. I am never going back into the SM Menu. lesson learned.

Also I think my "Type" changed under the MAIN Screen in SM. It now says 60H2UF0E. Does that mean anything to you?
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2278 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

That was really cool. Thanks. I put the checkerboard pattern in full screen on my pc and connected it to the input I messed up and did the hdmi calibration and now it says success. I am going to see if the picture is better now. Thanks a lot for your help.


As long as your PC does not have any color management active, that should work.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2279 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

I just changed it to that so hopefully it's the right one. Thanks so much for the help. You helped me a lot. I am never going back into the SM Menu. lesson learned.
Also I think my "Type" changed under the MAIN Screen in SM. It now says 60H2UF0E. Does that mean anything to you?

Again, for the D7000/D8000, 'Type' should be xxDSCrD -- where xx is the screen size.

Wow, you certainly made a lot of "mistakes."biggrin.gif

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2280 of 4325 Old 08-16-2012, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

As long as your PC does not have any color management active, that should work.
Larry

I don't know if it had any color management but it was the only way I could keep it on the correct input. The USB stick changed the input.
strong island 1 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn60e6500 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Slim Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off