Official Samsung PNXXE7000 - PNXXE8000 owners thread - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 4311 Old 08-25-2012, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Cev214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It might be in my head but am watching netflix right now and the pictures seems a bit better after the update,wat u think shank?
Cev214 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 4311 Old 08-25-2012, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My Verizon FIOS box has an option to set color space to either RGB or YCC 4-4-4. Does anyone know which is the better choice to send to the E7000 and why? So far in limited tresting I can't see much difference. Thanks
jav1 is offline  
post #2433 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUdukes07 View Post

Ugh, this doesn't sound good for what I'm hoping turns into an E series replacement from Samsung. My D series is borderline unwatchable now for almost anything but sports so it's disappointing to hear that the E series will be a step down from the PQ I once had with my D series.
Also, sonyfan - shouldn't you change your name? samsungfan would seem to fit better since you are always on here hyping their products.
I had a D8000 before a board went bad causing 3" thick black bars to appear and I can say for me the E series is better IMHO, the black level are improved, the filter is much better for any lit room and the motion performance in gaming is way better. May have slightly less peak brightness, but I have not notice in a theater environment. I grow to love this set more everyday and do not regret moving from the ST50.
Dr.Shankenstein is online now  
post #2434 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
liquidsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bluetooth Mouse & Keybaord

Has anyone had any luck connecting bluetooth devices to their TV? I've been trying to connect a Microsoft keyboard and an Apple magic mouse to no avail. For example, with the mouse, I will make it discoverable, then access the TVs menu>system>device settings>mouse. It will search for the mouse and actually find it. But, when I click "pair & connect" it thinks for about 2 minutes before saying "cannot connect. make sure your device is powered on" or something to that effect.

Anyone know the key?
liquidsense is offline  
post #2435 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidHiker View Post

You should be dropping blue gain way more than you are here. These settings will give the artificial blue-whites that people have been conditioned to prefer, but which are nowhere near accurate and really destroy the mood of many films.

My whites are spot on as normal.
I moved BO and BG up and down but but it's the same
results of getting a yellow/amber tint or blue/purple tint.
BG remains at 23 and and BO at 22, for my panel those
settings are correct.
I can imagine with the 60"/64" they would be too high
as they are brighter, etc.
sonyfan is offline  
post #2436 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post

I had a D8000 before a board went bad causing 3" thick black bars to appear and I can say for me the E series is better IMHO, the black level are improved, the filter is much better for any lit room and the motion performance in gaming is way better. May have slightly less peak brightness, but I have not notice in a theater environment. I grow to love this set more everyday and do not regret moving from the ST50.

Last night I watched parts of FANTASIA in the dark with Gamma at -3, contrast 93, Brightness 35.
It looked 3D in some scenes!
Fantastic considering I used component cables and the dvd is the full screen 16:9 version.
sonyfan is offline  
post #2437 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

My whites are spot on as normal.
I moved BO and BG up and down but but it's the same
results of getting a yellow/amber tint or blue/purple tint.
BG remains at 23 and and BO at 22, for my panel those
settings are correct.
I can imagine with the 60"/64" they would be too high
as they are brighter, etc.


Without a meter, you have no way at all to know whether or not the settings are "spot on."

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2438 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryInRI View Post

Without a meter, you have no way at all to know whether or not the settings are "spot on."
Larry

Larry you and your meter should get a room..........
sonyfan is offline  
post #2439 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 02:59 PM
Member
 
Siryak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Meh...To be honest I don't really care about being "spot on" personally. I just set my TVs/Monitors to what looks good to me and call it a day.
Siryak is offline  
post #2440 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonyfan View Post

Larry you and your meter should get a room..........


My meters and I are very comfortable, thank you.smile.gif

Sony, it must be marvelous to not know what you don't know and don't care that you don't know what you don't know.biggrin.gif

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2441 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
folklore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No I have noticed the same thing. Picture is objectively better since 1028.1 firmware update on my PN64D8000...

Just ask my wife ; )
folklore is offline  
post #2442 of 4311 Old 08-26-2012, 09:38 PM
Member
 
badboy808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What Picture Settings are you all using For your E8000? I tried the CNET settins but to me they appeared to dark and I put it back on Dynamic which I like the best.
badboy808 is offline  
post #2443 of 4311 Old 08-27-2012, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
sonyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy808 View Post

What Picture Settings are you all using For your E8000? I tried the CNET settins but to me they appeared to dark and I put it back on Dynamic which I like the best.

Try this.
I only use Movie Mode.

Movie - Mode
Cell Light 20
Sharpness 0
Size - Screen Fit
Brightness 50 daytime / 40 for evening and 35 to 30 for a dark room
Contrast 100 daytime / 97 for evening and 95 to 90 for a dark room
Color 51
R/G Tint 50/50
Color Space - Native
Gamma -1 for night (0 for daytime
Dynamic Contrast - off
Black Tone - Darkest
Flesh Tone - 0
Color Tone - Warm1
Digital Noise Filter - Off
sonyfan is offline  
post #2444 of 4311 Old 08-27-2012, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Not sure if this is going to be the right spot but here it goes.

The Sumsung and the Panasonic both have multiple HDMI inputs. How are you using them? Isn't the ARC one enough if you are using an amp with audio/video pass through even when the amp is off?

I ask becasue I'm getting ready to run the cables in the wall and plan on having two HDMI cables but am considering is there a reason to run a third. I'm installing the second as only a spare as far as I know.

FWIW I'm posting it here because I am leaning towards the E7000 and have been reading this thread on a regular basis.
DrewM is offline  
post #2445 of 4311 Old 08-27-2012, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
liquidsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsense View Post

Bluetooth Mouse & Keybaord
Has anyone had any luck connecting bluetooth devices to their TV? I've been trying to connect a Microsoft keyboard and an Apple magic mouse to no avail. For example, with the mouse, I will make it discoverable, then access the TVs menu>system>device settings>mouse. It will search for the mouse and actually find it. But, when I click "pair & connect" it thinks for about 2 minutes before saying "cannot connect. make sure your device is powered on" or something to that effect.
Anyone know the key?

I realize that I am in a minority when speaking about utilizing the SmartHub functions of the TV. I actually don't use it for anything other than YouTube at the moment. I found that surfing YouTube can be a really fun activity when you have guests over. So, I've been fiddling around with connecting a mouse and keyboard to the TV. While I had difficulty getting bluetooth to work, I was able to easily connect a mouse or keyboard to the TV using the stock USB input on the back of the TV. What really confused me, however, is that the keyboard and mouse (while working just fine for most things), are unresponsive in the YouTube application. The only way to input text in the YouTube app is to navigate around the onscreen keyboard with the directional buttons on the remote. That seems very short-sighted to me.
liquidsense is offline  
post #2446 of 4311 Old 08-27-2012, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
ferl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidsense View Post

The only way to input text in the YouTube app is to navigate around the onscreen keyboard with the directional buttons on the remote. That seems very short-sighted to me.

I think they've hosed up the app. I haven't used anything in smart hub other than Netflix for well over a month or more. I just tried YouTube and the app updated. It looks different and I thought I was able to use both iOS and Android to get to the search box and enter text in the past. Now the YouTube app won't let me navigate to the search box.

ferl is offline  
post #2447 of 4311 Old 08-27-2012, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
djtoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there a way to get the 8000 smart remote to do page down for a guide? and to get the channel buttons to work for cable boxes and not just the normal tv option. I dont understand why tv's offer the best features for just the normal TV input which what 2% of people use...
djtoodles is offline  
post #2448 of 4311 Old 08-27-2012, 11:26 PM
Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.i just tried cnet`s settings on my Samsung PS51D535 and i have tested alot of settings but cnet`s is the best i have tried.but had too tweak it slightly with DVE Hd.contrast at 88.brightness at 56.color at 48.and it looks so good.














Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Klipsch RF-62 Mk1-Onkyo TX-NR616-Panasonic DMP-BDT110-Pioneer BDP-120-Xbox 360 250GB
shield1280 is offline  
post #2449 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
PeterG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I purchased my PN51E8000 on Monday and despite my questions regarding new or refurbished (separate thread) I have noticed one issue when using the scrolling bars. The set is in Movie Mode and all Dynamic Contrast,Black Tone, Digital Noise filter and Mpeg noise filter etc are set to off. I have lowered my contrast while the set is "new" to about 70 and brightness is at 45.

Now here is my question. When running the scrolling bar, in the white/higher IRE sections just at the bottom left and botton right I see dithering, almost columns on the right with a darker area and the dancing pixels. As the lighter area of the bar scrolls towards the center there is no dithering. When it gets to the left hand side I see the dancing pixels towards the bottom but not extending as high as on the right.

Any comments on this?
PeterG is offline  
post #2450 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
djtoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to use the Cnet settings for the e8000 and the last setting for Film mode is greyed out. anyone know how i can change that to cinema smooth?

Also did anyone else notice after changing the settings that text appeared almost blurry on a cable guide?
djtoodles is offline  
post #2451 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by djtoodles View Post

I am trying to use the Cnet settings for the e8000 and the last setting for Film mode is greyed out. anyone know how i can change that to cinema smooth?

Also did anyone else notice after changing the settings that text appeared almost blurry on a cable guide?

Cinema smooth is only possible with 24p content.

lovinthehd is offline  
post #2452 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
djtoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ahhh. gotcha. What about the rest of the settings that might have caused blurry text? I have the exact settings from the cnet thread. anyone know what might be causing the blurred text? If i change to any other picture mode the text gets clear again.
djtoodles is offline  
post #2453 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by djtoodles View Post

ahhh. gotcha. What about the rest of the settings that might have caused blurry text? I have the exact settings from the cnet thread. anyone know what might be causing the blurred text? If i change to any other picture mode the text gets clear again.

Other people's settings, let alone calibrations, may not work well on your set. The panels aren't identical...

lovinthehd is offline  
post #2454 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
djtoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah the picture looks great I am just wondering if anyone knows if its just 1 setting i need to change to get the text to not look blurry.
djtoodles is offline  
post #2455 of 4311 Old 08-29-2012, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
PeterG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterG View Post

I purchased my PN51E8000 on Monday and despite my questions regarding new or refurbished (separate thread) I have noticed one issue when using the scrolling bars. The set is in Movie Mode and all Dynamic Contrast,Black Tone, Digital Noise filter and Mpeg noise filter etc are set to off. I have lowered my contrast while the set is "new" to about 70 and brightness is at 45.
Now here is my question. When running the scrolling bar, in the white/higher IRE sections just at the bottom left and botton right I see dithering, almost columns on the right with a darker area and the dancing pixels. As the lighter area of the bar scrolls towards the center there is no dithering. When it gets to the left hand side I see the dancing pixels towards the bottom but not extending as high as on the right.
Any comments on this?


Here is a quick photo taken while running the scrolling bar. You can see the two "bars" there and when moving (obviously) you will see the dithering with the dancing pixels. Is this something with Samsung's scrolling bar app or is this just something peculiar to my particular set?

PeterG is offline  
post #2456 of 4311 Old 08-30-2012, 06:44 AM
Member
 
cchaou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone nice post me a link to calibrated settings for 64E8000? Id really appreciate it, thanks!
cchaou is offline  
post #2457 of 4311 Old 08-30-2012, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
ferl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchaou View Post

Could someone nice post me a link to calibrated settings for 64E8000? Id really appreciate it, thanks!

Here's the 60e8000. http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-561058/samsung-pn60e8000-picture-settings/?tag=contentBody;threadListing

ferl is offline  
post #2458 of 4311 Old 08-30-2012, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Can someone tell me if the MLL for the 60 inch E7000/8000 panels are the same as the 64 inch panels?

Also, does anyone know if the MLL of the E550 panels are close to same as the E7000/8000 panels? I'm really looking into getting one of these samsung panels and don't really need one with an AR filter, so if I could save money and get an E550 with similar pq then that would be ideal.
guvadc is offline  
post #2459 of 4311 Old 08-30-2012, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
Flipadelphia26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was trying to watch a HBO 3D onDemand movie the other day. My TV wouldn't let me switch the 3D option to 3D side by side. The format HBO was using. Only 2D-3D convert. all it showed was 2 windows side by side in 3d convert. Sup with that?
Flipadelphia26 is offline  
post #2460 of 4311 Old 08-30-2012, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
liquidsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TV is dead.

Well, after only one month, the TV completely died on me. TV will not start or respond at all. Service tech is on his way.

EDIT 1: My girlfriend told me that there was some "update" available. I checked Samsung's website and I understand that there was a firmware update available as of August 24, 2012. Do you think this has anything to do with the update? Did anyone else have the problem?

EDIT 2: There are countless threads and posts online about how firmware updates bricked Samsung TVs and primarily the D7000 series. This is ridiculous.

EDIT 3: Samsung is sending out a technician. For those that are curious, yes, I unplugged the TV for an extended period of time to no avail. I also swapped power cords, as well as power outlets. I also tried disconnecting all inputs other than power. I also tried pressing "mute>2>5>8>exit" as some had suggested in another thread. None of that worked.

Edit 4:
Just had the most bizarre conversation with a "supervisor" in the Samsung technical department. She told me that Samsung recommends that users never update their TVs unless there is a specific problem(s) that needs to be resolved. In fact, as she said, "most of the time, firmware updates will hurt your TV if you apply them when there is no specific problem with your TV." eek.gif I was completely mind-boggled by that statement and I called her out on it. Why on earth would Samsung issue an update that would harm most of their TVs? She stood by her answer. Looks like I won't be getting any help from her.
liquidsense is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn60e6500 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Slim Plasma Hdtv , Plasma Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off