The OFFICIAL SAMSUNG PNXXE6500 OWNERS THREAD - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 426 Old 04-09-2012, 04:43 PM
Member
 
juched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gstrein View Post


The 2011 3D glasses model 3050GB came with my PN64E8000,.so these are indded 2011 models and they obviously work on the 2012 E8000. I think some are getting the newer 1400GB model 3D glasses which are the actual 2012 models. The 2012 model glasses appear to be a bit smaller and a tad less weight but one person noted that the 3050GB's fit him better and had better eye coverage...

Thank you. Samsung said they are looking to replace my buzzing d550 with a 2012 model and I had already purchased the glasses.
juched is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 426 Old 04-15-2012, 06:17 AM
Member
 
panman40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheez this thread is sloooooow lol, Surely some of you guys are buying the E6500 series over the 8000 LOL
panman40 is offline  
post #63 of 426 Old 04-16-2012, 01:59 AM
Member
 
samsungLE40B650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Panasonic threads are full of post, why the Samsung treads are so empty? I want a comparison E6500 to ST50. I want to decide which to buy.
EricST likes this.

P *a *n *a *s *o *n *i *c ** S *T *W *5 *0
samsungLE40B650 is offline  
post #64 of 426 Old 04-19-2012, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Bnjmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung is replacing my screen due to 2 dead pixels, next to each other. Took a while and I only found out due to online service chat with Samsung as I only got the answering machine with the local service center.

Does anyone have any calibration settings?

Thanks.
Bnjmn is offline  
post #65 of 426 Old 04-20-2012, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Bnjmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panel replaced, looks great and a bit less buzz.
Bnjmn is offline  
post #66 of 426 Old 04-21-2012, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
TranZella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 51" E6500 for almost a month now, and the brightness, or "hockey" pops are very annoying. Is this a common issue with plasmas in general, or should I think about returning the TV?
TranZella is offline  
post #67 of 426 Old 04-22-2012, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
pdps & hockey are a known issue, use your pdp for everything else. get yourself a led to watch the NHL.
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #68 of 426 Old 04-25-2012, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Bnjmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
up...anyone have any calibration settings? Any reason why settings for the E7000 and E8000 would not work (once they materialize)?

Thanks.
Bnjmn is offline  
post #69 of 426 Old 04-26-2012, 11:23 PM
Member
 
panman40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anymore 6500 owners yet ?
panman40 is offline  
post #70 of 426 Old 04-27-2012, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
TranZella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bnjmn View Post

up...anyone have any calibration settings? Any reason why settings for the E7000 and E8000 would not work (once they materialize)?

Thanks.

I'm going to apply the CNet E8000 calibration settings to my 51" E6500, then pop in my WOW disc and make any adjustments if needed. I'll try and post these settings once I'm done...but for what it's worth, I'm by no stretch an expert in this arena...

On a side note..does anybody have any more information regarding the firmware 1009.3 upgrade? What exactly does it fix/improve?

Thanks!
TranZella is offline  
post #71 of 426 Old 04-30-2012, 09:46 AM
Member
 
llkindt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed that in movie scenes where images move across the screen or the camera pans, objects are no where near smooth? I was watching Cars lastnight and in scenes where they panned across the grandstands the seats seem to jump across the screen in very small increments rather than "flow" smoothly. I've also noticed, i forget the movie, but A semi was driving across the screen and it was so choppy that I couldnt even read the names on the truck. I've tried every possible setting change between the Directv box and the tv without any improvement. Even tried swapping out the hdmi cable from one source to another.

Cheers

llkindt is offline  
post #72 of 426 Old 04-30-2012, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Chi-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't seen that problem at all on my E6500, it's incredibly smooth. The only times it gets choppy is when there's a problem with the feed through my cable, but it's obvious that's the problem as it gets all pixilated as well.
Chi-Guy is offline  
post #73 of 426 Old 05-01-2012, 09:41 AM
Member
 
llkindt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I watch, say, a regular tv show it looks great. But when I watch a movie I notice it quite a bit, especially cartoon movies with the kids. I have a 98-99 percent signal on the Directv feed so I doubt thats the problem. I have auto 1 engaged with the Directv box set to Native and screen size set at screen fit. I also deselected all deinterlacing processing thru Directv so I would only feed a Progressive signal but it doesnt help. I may give Abt a call and see if I cant go to their store and see if the display model will reproduct what im seeing.

Cheers

llkindt is offline  
post #74 of 426 Old 05-01-2012, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
dandaniel250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
someone help me to decide between 51e6500 and 51d7000 (150 euro cheaper)
dandaniel250 is offline  
post #75 of 426 Old 05-02-2012, 02:22 AM
Newbie
 
dandaniel250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandaniel250 View Post

someone help me to decide between 51e6500 and 51d7000 (150 euro cheaper)

nobody>?
dandaniel250 is offline  
post #76 of 426 Old 05-03-2012, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Bnjmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PQ is he same, I wouldn't pay for any of the add'l features but I have a HTPC.
Bnjmn is offline  
post #77 of 426 Old 05-03-2012, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Chi-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandaniel250 View Post

someone help me to decide between 51e6500 and 51d7000 (150 euro cheaper)

I would only go with the E7000 if you plan on using the internet and other apps a lot. The dual core processor that comes with the E7000 will improve the performance of the apps. It also comes with slightly better speakers. I have an HTPC and AVR with external speakers so I went with the E6500 instead.
Chi-Guy is offline  
post #78 of 426 Old 05-04-2012, 08:26 AM
Member
 
jmamhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I thought I would throw my thoughts out on the 6500. I am new to plasma but have been following forum for couple months now. I am no pro and am not a lover/hater of any brand. I bought the Panasonic P60ST50 but am having a hard time with it so bought the Samsung 6500

I have had the Samsung PN60E6500 for a week now. Did 4 days of panel prep and have just started watching it.

1. I have no buzzing (or it's low enough I can't hear it). I have been listening for it as I have read about Samsung and the issues with buzzing. Thats good news.

2. I am really enjoying most of the PQ compared to the P60ST50 sitting right next to it. I can't get comfortable with the darkness/grayness of the Panasonic. I am continually trying to tweak settings that work for me. I do notice that the dark detail is slightly better on the ST50 but Sammy seems to have a little more color and brightness that my untrained eye enjoys (not blinding LCD brightness). This goes against 99% of the reviews for the ST50 - frustrating

3. Samsung looks sleek. Love the edge and way the screen melts into it.

4. Reflection is pretty nice on the 6500, better than the 550 I had for a short period of time in the same room. I have sliding glass doors in the back of my den with blinds closed and the reflection is there until you turn TV on picture looks great. The ST appears to have a better anti-reflection system but when watching it, the Sammy doesn't have an issue.

5. My only issue (hopefully stays this way) with the 6500 is that Netflix will not play... I goto into Smarthub, launch it and it appears to start then get a generic message saying can not access Netflix. Other apps work (Hulu, YouTube etc) and I have used both wireless and wired. Samsung says call netflix, netflix says call Samsung. Arrggh. Netflix says if i am seeing the message, I am connecting to them, it's a problem on the TV and the app configuration. Netflix is big for my house so this will cause me to exchange. It streams from other devices onto tv (xbox, BR) but I would refer to use just 1 device. Anyone encounter issues with Samsung and netflix like this? ******UPDATED**** 05/09/12 - Netflix works - I reset my router (ASUS RT-N66U), changed my wireless password and name, then reconnected the TV to wireless and Netflix worked.
EricST likes this.
jmamhd is offline  
post #79 of 426 Old 05-04-2012, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Jtm79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmamhd View Post

I thought I would throw my thoughts out on the 6500. I am new to plasma but have been following forum for couple months now. I am no pro and am not a lover/hater of any brand. I bought the Panasonic P60ST50 but am having a hard time with it so bought the Samsung 6500

I have had the Samsung PN60E6500 for a week now. Did 4 days of panel prep and have just started watching it.

1. I have no buzzing (or it's low enough I can't hear it). I have been listening for it as I have read about Samsung and the issues with buzzing. Thats good news.

2. I am really enjoying most of the PQ compared to the P60ST50 sitting right next to it. I can't get comfortable with the darkness/grayness of the Panasonic. I am continually trying to tweak settings that work for me. I do notice that the dark detail is slightly better on the ST50 but Sammy seems to have a little more color and brightness that my untrained eye enjoys (not blinding LCD brightness). This goes against 99% of the reviews for the ST50 - frustrating

3. Samsung looks sleek. Love the edge and way the screen melts into it.

4. Reflection is pretty nice on the 6500, better than the 550 I had for a short period of time in the same room. I have sliding glass doors in the back of my den with blinds closed and the reflection is there until you turn TV on picture looks great. The ST appears to have a better anti-reflection system but when watching it, the Sammy doesn't have an issue.

5. My only issue (hopefully stays this way) with the 6500 is that Netflix will not play... I goto into Smarthub, launch it and it appears to start then get a generic message saying can not access Netflix. Other apps work (Hulu, YouTube etc) and I have used both wireless and wired. Samsung says call netflix, netflix says call Samsung. Arrggh. Netflix says if i am seeing the message, I am connecting to them, it's a problem on the TV and the app configuration. Netflix is big for my house so this will cause me to exchange. It streams from other devices onto tv (xbox, BR) but I would refer to use just 1 device. Anyone encounter issues with Samsung and netflix like this?

Just a few observations.

Very interesting that you find the E6500 more brighter than ST50. Do you have any image retention? So reflections are not problem? I have D555 and the reflections are the main issue for me to change it. Also dont like black leves and need bigger :P Did you test 3D on those, which one had brighter 3D picture?
Jtm79 is offline  
post #80 of 426 Old 05-04-2012, 10:06 AM
Member
 
jmamhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Jtm79
I have not encountered any image retention on either sets. I am a little paranoid about it so I haven't left anything on very long, say a paused show or anything like that but I have played xbox MW3 for a couple hours and no issue at all. After the panel prep, I watch a movie that wasn't full screen and no problem. As for reflection, without a doubt there is more in the 6500 compared to the ST50 but doesn't seem to be an issue when watching various scenes. The ST50 has louver filter/panel which, to me, seem better. Sorry haven't compared 3-d but will this weekend.
jmamhd is offline  
post #81 of 426 Old 05-04-2012, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Jtm79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok Does none of the have dse(dirty screen effect)? My 51D555 has pretty bad and its very obvious when watching hockey. I want my next screen to me as uniform as possible.
Jtm79 is offline  
post #82 of 426 Old 05-08-2012, 03:58 PM
Member
 
anony73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can any owners verify if this TV has the Smart Evolution expansion slot?
anony73 is offline  
post #83 of 426 Old 05-09-2012, 05:26 AM
Member
 
jmamhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by anony73 View Post

Can any owners verify if this TV has the Smart Evolution expansion slot?

I will look this evening but am pretty sure it does not. Thanks
jmamhd is offline  
post #84 of 426 Old 05-09-2012, 05:29 AM
Member
 
jmamhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was watching Mission Impossible last night on my E6500 and thought these scenes where sweet. It's just a droid camera
LL
LL
EricST likes this.
jmamhd is offline  
post #85 of 426 Old 05-10-2012, 12:13 PM
Member
 
panman40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmamhd View Post

I was watching Mission Impossible last night on my E6500 and thought these scenes where sweet. It's just a droid camera

Very Nice , There does not seem to be many owners of the E6500 posting on this thread, There are a few in the 7/8000.

Would like to see more general feedback on the 6500 .
panman40 is offline  
post #86 of 426 Old 05-14-2012, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Bnjmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure why we have a 6500 thread - should be merged into the 7/8k threads since the panel/pq are common.
Bnjmn is offline  
post #87 of 426 Old 05-14-2012, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
jbgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by llkindt View Post

Has anyone noticed that in movie scenes where images move across the screen or the camera pans, objects are no where near smooth? I was watching Cars lastnight and in scenes where they panned across the grandstands the seats seem to jump across the screen in very small increments rather than "flow" smoothly. I've also noticed, i forget the movie, but A semi was driving across the screen and it was so choppy that I couldnt even read the names on the truck. I've tried every possible setting change between the Directv box and the tv without any improvement. Even tried swapping out the hdmi cable from one source to another.

Cheers

I noticed this on the E6500, E7000, and E8000 when I went to my local store (Paul's TV) on Friday. The movie playing was Up and you can definitely make out a choppiness as the house flies through the sky. The rep there told me it was because Samsung doesn't have as high quality video processor as Panasonic and tried to push me towards the Panasonics. Was he talking out of his ass or is this true? Would turning on the Cinema Smooth, or whatever it's called, option have solved this?
jbgordon is offline  
post #88 of 426 Old 05-19-2012, 04:39 AM
Newbie
 
DeputyMoniker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered my PN51E6500. Anybody know for sure if this is compliant with their whole "Full HD 3D Glasses Initiative?" I can't find anything saying it is or isn't...so I assume it isn't.
DeputyMoniker is offline  
post #89 of 426 Old 05-19-2012, 06:06 AM
Member
 
William_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope someone could help me out here as there isn't alot of info on the E6500; does it have a built in microphone? I'm not crazy about a TV with integrated WiFi AND microphone

and just making sure, it doesn't include a camera either, correct?

"I'd only recommend a plasma over an LCD if you watch movies, tv shows or play videogames"
William_D is offline  
post #90 of 426 Old 05-20-2012, 09:35 AM
Member
 
panman40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by William_D View Post

Hope someone could help me out here as there isn't alot of info on the E6500; does it have a built in microphone? I'm not crazy about a TV with integrated WiFi AND microphone

and just making sure, it doesn't include a camera either, correct?

As far as i know it has Built in Wifi but no Camera or Microphone.
panman40 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51e6500 51 Inch 1080p 600hz 3d Slim Plasma Hdtv , Samsung Pn60e6500 60 Inch 1080p 600 Hz 3d Slim Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off